DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 21, 2025 and May 18, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings have been considered and accepted by the examiner.
Specification
The title, abstract, and specification have been considered and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPub 2009/0240897 to Kajigaya.
Regarding claim 1, Kajigaya discloses a memory system, comprising:
a first bank group communicatively connected to a first internal bus, wherein the first internal bus is configured to communicatively connect to a first input/out (IO) (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 44-48, a memory bank MB1 is connected by lines to a route switching circuit through to one of four input/output ports A,B,C, and D);
a second bank group communicatively connected to a second internal bus (see fig. 1 and paragraph 44-48, a second memory bank MB2 is connected by its own lines to the route switching circuit);
a channel selection device configured to selectively communicatively connect the second internal bus to the first IO in a first operation mode or a second IO in a second operation mode in response to the memory system receiving a mode register write command configured to cause the memory system to operate in the first operation mode or the second operation mode (see fig. 2 and paragraph 21 and 57, the route switching circuit can connect different memory banks to different IO ports based on a control signal from an external circuit).
Regarding claim 11, Kajigaya discloses a method for operating a memory system, comprising:
receiving a mode register write command configured to cause the memory system to operate in a first operation mode or second operation mode (see paragraph 57, a control signal for setting a route is input as a command from an external circuit); and
selectively communicatively connecting a second internal bus to a first input/output in the first operation mode or a second IO in the second operation mode in response to the memory system receiving the mode register write command configured to cause the memory system to operate in the first operation mode or the second operation mode (see fig. 2 and paragraph 21 and 57, the route switching circuit can connect different memory banks to different IO ports based on a control signal from an external circuit), wherein the memory system comprises a first bank group communicatively connected to a first internal bus and a second bank group communicatively connected to a second internal bus (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 44-48, a memory bank MB1 and a second memory bank MB2 are connected by their own lines to the route switching circuit), and wherein the first internal bus is configured to communicatively connect to a first IO (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 44-48, a memory bank MB1 is connected by lines to a route switching circuit through to one of four input/output ports A,B,C, and D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajigaya in view of US 7,221,617 to Flach et al. (“Flach”).
As applied in the rejections above, Kajigaya discloses a memory system and method for selectively connecting memory bank groups to IO ports. Kajigaya does not disclose a prefetch memory associated with a first bank group. Flach discloses a memory system wherein a memory bank group has a connected prefetch register (see fig. 1 and col. 7, lines 12-31 of Flach). It would have been obvious at the time the application was filed for the first bank group of Kajigaya to include a prefetch register of Flach in order to improve access time by enabling prefetching of data bits.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the first IO includes a first channel data bus and the second IO includes a second channel data bus, wherein the first internal data bus having a larger bit width than the first channel data bus, and the second internal data bus having a same bit width as the first internal data bus.
Conclusion
/DANIEL D TSUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132