Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR200356700Y1 to Park Dong-soon (hereinafter “Park”)
Regarding claims 1, 6, 8-9, 12, 16-18, 25. Park discloses a system/apparatus/method for application of a stimulation therapy to a patient (para 0021 “portable skin improving mask”, also system/method of using the device), the system comprising: a first set of one or more heat sources (para 0036 “thermal”, para 0058 “film heater 5”), wherein each of the first set of one or more heat sources are configured to apply heat therapy to a first eye of the patient; a first substrate comprising one or more electrodes, wherein each of the one or more electrodes are configured to deliver microcurrent stimulation therapy to the first eye of the patient (para 0036, 0051 “electric stimulation”, para 0058 “conductive electrode plate 4”); and a controller configured to control delivery of the microcurrent stimulation therapy via the one or more electrodes of the first substrate and the heat therapy via the first set of one or more heat sources to the first eye of the patient (para 0031 “switch”).
Regarding claim 6. Park discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each of the first set of one or more heat sources comprises one or more heating elements arranged to deliver heat to different sub-regions around the first eye (FIG. 1, para 0058 “film heater 5”).
Regarding claim 8. Park discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a reference or ground electrode placed on the patient to complete an electrical circuit for the microcurrent stimulation (para 0051 “, electric current is supplied to the skin by the conductive electrode plate 4 of the inner eye mask pack 2 to give an electric stimulation to the electrode.”; inherently included to complete the circuit and making the device operable).
Regarding claim 9. Park discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to operate each of the first set of one or more heat sources within an upper temperature limit to protect surrounding tissues (para 0045-0048 “the power supply unit P for supplying power to the heating” – any temperature could be considered to be “the upper temperature limit”)
Regarding claim 12. Park discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each of the first set of one or more heat sources is selected from the group consisting of resistive heating elements, infrared LEDs, laser diodes, or any combination thereof (para 0036 “film heater 5” which is a resistive heating element).
Regarding claims 16 and 25. Park discloses the system of claim 1 and claim 18, wherein the system further comprises: a second set of one or more heat sources, each configured to deliver heat therapy to a second eye to the patient (fig. 1); a second substrate comprising one or more electrodes, wherein each of the one or more electrodes are configured to deliver microcurrent stimulation therapy to the second eye of the patient (fig. 1); and a controller configured to control delivery of the microcurrent stimulation therapy via the one or more electrodes of the second substrate and the heat therapy via each of the second set of one or more heat sources to the second eye of the patient (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 11, 14-15, 19-21, 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of US 20180104514 to Gertner et al (hereinafter “Gertner”).
Regarding claim 2. Park discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising at least one temperature sensor operatively coupled to the controller and configured to measure a temperature at or near the first eye.
Gertner, from a similar field of endeavor teaches having a temperature sensing element (i.e., temperature sensor) to provide closed loop control of the heating based on the temperature (para 0547, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Gertner to provide the predictable result of controlling the heating of the device based on the temperature.
Regarding claim 3. Park as modified by Gertner renders obvious the system of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to adjust an operational parameter of each of the first set of one or more heat sources based on feedback from the temperature sensor to maintain a selected temperature threshold in the vicinity of the first eye (Gertner, para 0547).
Regarding claim 19. Park discloses the method of claim 18, but fails to disclose further comprising measuring a temperature at or near the first eye via at least one temperature sensor and adjusting a parameter of each of the first set of one or more heat sources based on feedback from the temperature sensor to maintain a selected temperature threshold.
Gertner, from a similar field of endeavor teaches having a temperature sensing element (i.e., temperature sensor) to provide closed loop control of the heating based on the temperature (para 0547, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Gertner to provide the predictable result of controlling the heating of the device based on the temperature.
Regarding claims 4 and 20. Park discloses the system of claims 1 and 18, wherein the controller is configured to deliver microcurrent stimulation [] at least part of the heat therapy provided by each of the first set of one or more heat sources (para 0036 “thermal and electric stimulation”). Park fails to explicitly disclose the two operations to be performed concurrently.
Gertner, from a similar field of endeavor teaches having a control box to set at least one of temperature, amplitude, etc., and different controls to be applied [], simultaneously (para 0265, 0473, 0476). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Gertner to provide the predictable result of controlling the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 5. Park discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to [] between at least one period of heat therapy provided by each of the first set of one or more heat sources and at least one period of microcurrent stimulation over multiple cycles (para 0036 “thermal and electric stimulation”). Park fails to explicitly disclose the two operations to be performed alternatively.
Gertner, from a similar field of endeavor teaches having a control box to set at least one of temperature, amplitude, etc., and different controls to be applied independently (para 0265, 0473, 0476). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Gertner to provide the predictable result of controlling the operation of the device.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Park discloses the system of claims 1 and 18, but fails to disclose wherein the controller is configured to initiate heat therapy at about 37.5 °C and increase a tissue temperature around the first eye to about 42 °C or 43 °C.
Gertner, from a similar field of endeavor teaches having a temperature sensing element (i.e., temperature sensor) to provide closed loop control of the heating based on the temperature, and to maintain a temperature between 40° C. and 47° C. (para 0035, 0547, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Gertner to provide the predictable result of controlling the heating of the device based on the temperature.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 11. Park as modified by Gertner renders obvious the system of claim 10 wherein the controller is further configured to ramp the temperature at about 1 °C every 20 seconds until the temperature around the first eye reaches said target range (para 0035). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In other words, it would have been obvious to modify/increase the temperature at a desired rate to provide the predictable result of improving user comfort.
Regarding claims 14 and 23. Park discloses the system of claims 1 and 18, wherein the controller is configured to provide a first period of heat application and a second period of heat application and change the location or activation pattern of each of the first set of one or more heat sources between the first and second periods.
Gertner, from a similar field of endeavor teaches having a control box to set at least one of temperature, amplitude, etc., and different controls to be applied [], simultaneously (para 0265, 0473, 0476). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Gertner to provide the predictable result of controlling the operation of the device.
It is further understood that modifying Park with the teachings of Gertner would render obvious controlling the two sides of the wearable device separately and independently to provide controlling the parameters for each eye based on desired treatment (i.e., first eye vs second eye) separately. See In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claims 15 and 24. Park as modified by Bertner renders obvious the system of claim 14 and 23, wherein the controller is configured to insert a rest period after the first period of heat therapy and before delivering the second period of heat therapy or microcurrent stimulation, thereby creating a sequenced therapy comprising heat, rest, and microcurrent stimulation phases (see rejection of claim 14 and 23 above; it is noted that the claim does not provide any details regarding the specific treatment, length of rest, length of each period, etc., therefore, any controlling and modulation of the parameters would read over the claimed limitations as currently recited.).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of US 20160121118 to Manfred et al. (hereinafter “Manfred”).
Regarding claim 7. Park discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the microcurrent stimulation delivered by the electrodes on the first substrate is characterized by a frequency between about 1 Hz and about 120 Hz and an amplitude up to about 20 mA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Gertner to provide the predictable result of using the known frequency to provide treatment.
Park as modified by Bertner renders obvious the limitations above obvious but fails to explicitly disclose the amplitude to be up to about 20 mA.
Manfred, from a similar field of endeavor, shows that it is known to provide treatments at various parameters including 50-80 hz, and amplitudes in the range from .1 to 10 mA. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Manfred to provide the predictable result of using the known parameters to provide a desired treatment.
Claim(s) 13 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of US 20060069420 A1 to Rademacher et al. (hereinafter “Rademacher”).
Regarding claims 13 and 22. Park discloses the system of claims 1 and 18, but fails to disclose wherein the heat therapy is delivered for a time duration between about 1 minute and about 30 minutes during at least one treatment session.
Rademacher, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it is known for treatment therapy to be about 20 minutes (para 0060). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Park with the teachings of Rademacher to provide the desired treatment.
Conclusion
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796