DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-16 and Species A, Figures 13-16 in the reply filed on June 9, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the substructures of Species B, C, and D are not mutually exclusive. This is found persuasive and Species B, C, and D will be considered with the elected Species.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse to the election requirement between the device and the process of manufacturing in the reply filed on June 9, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “resilient member” of Claims 3, 4, 11, and 12 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, it is unclear what is meant by “the bracket receiving structure comprising a cavity structured to detachably retain an orthodontic bracket including a bonding surface for bonding to a tooth of the patient’s teeth engaged with the alignment body.” It is unclear what element includes the “bonding surface for bonding a tooth.” The sentence structure is such that it is unclear if the “bonding surface” is included in the bracket receiving structure or the orthodontic bracket. Appropriate punctuation or re-phrasing of the claimed elements should be applied to add clarity to the limitations claimed.
Claims 8 and 16 recite the limitation "the orthodontic bracket" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on Claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall ( US 2017/0325911).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 4, and 9, 11, and 12, Marshall discloses an orthodontic device (Figure 1A, 10) comprising a an alignment body (20), a support member (38A) comprising a bracket receiving structure (40A and 40B), the bracket receiving structure comprising a cavity (40A) structured to detachably retain an orthodontic bracket (finger 40A resiliently engages with an arch wire slot of the bracket as described in [0025]) including a bonding surface for bonding to a tooth of the patient’s teeth engaged with the alignment body (as seen in Figure 1A), and a positioning mechanism (14, 28, and 30 taken together) connected to the alignment body and the support member, the positioning mechanism being structured to allow movement of the bracket receiving structure to a bonding position to permit the bonding of the bonding surface to the tooth engaged with the alignment body, and the positioning mechanism being structured to allow movement of the bracket receiving structure to a non-bonding position away from the tooth (as seen in Figures 4 and 5). Marshall further discloses that the positioning mechanism further comprises a resilient member biasing the bracket receiving structure toward the non-binding position (as seen in Figure 5, when bar 96 is secured between bar guides 98, the bracket receiving structure would be biased in the non-binding position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the moveable bracket structure of the embodiment of Figures 4 and 5 with the device of Figures 1A and 1B as Marshall teaches that the features of the examples of the embodiments can be combined ([0040]).
Additionally, Marshall discloses that the positioning mechanism comprises a first member (30) connected to the alignment body and a second member (14) connected to the support member where the first member includes an interior space (space between 14 and 28 would receive a portion of the second member during movement during pivoting motion) receiving a portion of the second member with the resilient member (28) between the first member and the second member within the interior space (see Figure 1A).
Marshall also discloses a recess in the alignment body structured to engage portions of a plurality of a patient’s teeth (as seen in Figure 1A, tray 12 has recesses in surface 16 that engage the portions of the tooth with a use for a plurality of teeth as described in [0006]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Marshall discloses that the positioning mechanism comprises a lock mechanism (32) structured to lock the positioning mechanism with the bracket receiving structure in the bonding position and lock the positioning mechanism with the bracket receiving structure in the non-bonding position (as described in [0023]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Marshall discloses that the recesses are structured to receive at least occlusal surfaces of the patient’s teeth (as seen in Figure 1A, the recesses in the surface 16 conform to the occlusal surface of the teeth).
Regarding Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15, and the device of Marshall is capable of being created from trays that are created from a 3D scan and the device is capable of being made by an additive manufacturing process and the recesses comprise receiving contours structured to receive at least occlusal surfaces of the patient’s teeth and depicted in a three-dimensional model of the patient’s dentition such that the bracket receiving structure, when in the bonding position, is structured to place the bonding surface of the bracket for bonding to the tooth depicted in the three-dimensional model of the patient’s dentition. Please note: as Claims 6 and 7 do not add structure to the claims as they are product by process limitations (see MPEP 2113).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Marshall discloses that an orthodontic bracket (26) is detachably retained in the cavity (as seen in Figure 1A, cavity 40A retains the bracket, and as the bracket is a separate element it is capable of being detached).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
9/8/2026