CTNF 19/185,060 CTNF 88145 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In Reference to Claim 1 In lines 8-10 recites “control a current outputted by the first inverter circuit to the first motor, based on at least one of a received torque demand signal, a received throttle signal, and a received brake signal; or ” however it is not clear as to the scope of the claim is intending to recites since the recitation of “ or ” is recited after the first function of “control…” therefore it is not clear if the functions following the “ or ” such as “obtain…” and “control…” are optional or not. For the purposes of treating the claim under prior art, the language is interpreted as merely requiring the first “control” and “obtain…” and “control…” are optional. In Reference to Claim 6 In lines 2-3 recites “controlling a current outputted by an inverter circuit to a first motor based on at least one of a received torque demand signal, a received throttle signal, and a received brake signal; or ” however it is not clear as to the scope of the claim is intending to recites since the recitation of “ or ” is recited after the first step of “controlling…” therefore it is not clear if the steps following the “ or ” such as “obtaining…”, “calculating” and “controlling…” are optional or not For the purposes of treating the claim under prior art, the language is interpreted as merely requiring the first “controlling” and “obtaining…”, “calculating…” and “controlling…” are optional. In Reference to Claim 13 In lines 12-14 recites “control a current outputted by the first inverter circuit to the first motor, based on at least one of a received torque demand signal, a received throttle signal, and a received brake signal; or ” however it is not clear as to the scope of the claim is intending to recites since the recitation of “ or ” is recited after the first function of “control…” therefore it is not clear if the functions following the “ or ” such as “obtain…” and “control…” are optional or not. For the purposes of treating the claim under prior art, the language is interpreted as merely requiring the first “control” and “obtain…” and “control…” are optional. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 6-8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub No. US 2021/0253088 A1 to Oguro (Oguro) in view of Pub No. US 2013/0173100 A1 to Takagi (Takagi) . In Reference to Claim 1 Oguro teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below): A controller of a motor control module, the controller comprising: an input end of the controller is configured to receive a rotation velocity signal of a first motor (15f) (see at least Oguro Fig.1 and paragraphs [0035], “ The control apparatus 100 may communicate with components in the vehicle 1 including the inverters 17, the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f, the rear-wheel motor revolution sensor 21r, the vehicle speed sensor 23, and the accelerator operation sensor 25, for example. The communication between the control apparatus 100 and each of the components may be established by a controller area network (CAN) communication, for example ”); a communication end of the controller is configured to connect to a first communication bus and a secondary controller (see at least Oguro Fig.1 and paragraphs [0036] “ the function of the control apparatus 100 according to the example embodiment may be distributed to a plurality of control apparatuses. Still alternatively, the single control apparatus 100 may achieve a plurality of functions. In a case where the function of the control apparatus 100 is distributed to a plurality of control apparatuses, the plurality of control apparatuses may be coupled to each other via a communication bus such as a CAN ”); an output end of the controller is configured to output a control signal to control a first inverter circuit in the motor control module (see at least Oguro Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0041], ” The motor controller 121 may control an operation of each of the drive motors 15 by controlling an operation of each of the inverters 17. For example, the motor controller 121 may control electric power supply between the battery 19 and the front-wheel drive motor 15f by controlling an operation of a switching element in the inverter 17f. The driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b to be outputted from the front-wheel drive motor 15f may be thereby controlled. Further, the motor controller 121 may control electric power supply between the battery 19 and the rear-wheel drive motor 15r by controlling an operation of a switching element in the inverter 17r. The driving torque of the rear wheels 11c and 11d to be outputted from the rear-wheel drive motor 15r may be thereby controlled. As described above, the motor controller 121 may control the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b and the driving torque of the rear wheels 11c and 11d in a separate manner ”); wherein the controller (100) is configured to: control a current outputted by the first inverter circuit (17f) to the first motor (15f), based on at least one of a received torque demand signal, a received throttle signal, and a received brake signal (see at least Oguro Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0056] “ FIG. 4 illustrates the transitions of the quantities of states according to the comparative example in a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode upon a slip of the front wheels 11a and 11b. FIG. 4 illustrates the quantities of states including a four-wheel drive flag, driving torque (e.g., driving torque TF [N/m] of the front wheels 11a and 11b, driving torque TR [N/m] of the rear wheels 11c and 11d, a total torque TT [N/m] corresponding to the sum of the driving torque TF and the driving torque TR, and demanded torque TD [N/m] required to be generated in the vehicle 1), a yaw rate [deg/s] of the vehicle 1, and a steering angle [deg], for example. In the comparative example, the total torque TT is equal to the demanded torque TD ”); or obtain a vehicle velocity from the first communication bus (see at least Oguro Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0039] “ The acquiring unit 110 may acquire various pieces of data to be used in a process executed by the controller 120, and output the acquired data to the controller 120. For example, the acquiring unit 110 may acquire various pieces of data from the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f, the rear-wheel motor revolution sensor 21r, the vehicle speed sensor 23, and the accelerator operation sensor 25 ”); control the first inverter circuit (17f) in the motor control module to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) in response to the vehicle velocity and the rotation velocity signal of the first motor (15f) meeting a preset condition (slip ratio) (steps S101, S102) (see at least Oguro Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049] and [0050] “ In the determination process in Step S101, the controller 120 may specify the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b, for example. In a case where the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b is equal to or greater than a reference slip ratio, the controller 120 may determine that the front wheels 11a and 11b have slipped. The controller 120 may specify the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b on the basis of the results of the detection by the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f and the vehicle speed sensor 23. The reference slip ratio may be set so that a slip of any of the drive wheels 11 is appropriately determined. The reference slip ratio may be set as appropriate depending on the specifications of the vehicle 1 ” and “ In a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode in Step S102, the controller 120 performs the torque adjustment control that reduces the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b ”); and control the secondary controller to adjust a second current outputted by a second inverter circuit (17r), the second inverter circuit (17r) connecting the secondary controller to a second motor (15r) (S102) (see at least Oguro Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0050] “ In a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode in Step S102, the controller 120 performs the torque adjustment control that reduces the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b and adjusts the driving torque of the rear wheels 11c and 1 1to equal to or less than the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b, as described above. The torque adjustment control executed in association with the switching to the four-wheel drive mode is described in detail below ”). Oguro teaches that the controller can have plurality of control apparatuses however Oguro do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to having a secondary controller which is connect to the controller and controls the second motor (17r). However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a secondary controller which is connect to the controller and controls the second motor. For example, Takagi teaches to a secondary controller (53) which is connect to the controller (43) and controls the second motor (30) (see at least Takagi Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 25, 29, 31, 43-44). The substitution of one known element (controllers (first and second controllers) as shown in Takagi) for another (controller as shown in Oguro) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the controllers shown in Takagi would have yielded predictable results, namely, controlling the front and rear motors in Oguro to reduce the load on the motor when slip occurs. In Reference to Claim 2 The controller according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the communication end of the controller (100) is further configured to connect to a torque calculation module through a second communication bus, and the controller is further configured to: indicate the torque calculation module to stop sending the torque demand signal in response to the vehicle velocity and the rotation velocity signal of the first motor meeting the preset condition (see at least Oguro Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs [0065] and [0069] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example relation between the slip ratio and the grip force. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a longitudinal grip force or a component of the grip force in an advancing direction generally increases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 from 0% to about 20%, and then decreases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 ” and “ Note that, in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the total torque TT falls below the demanded torque TD at and after the time t21 as a result of the execution of the torque adjustment control ”); or stop responding to the torque demand signal sent by the torque calculation module in response to the vehicle velocity and the rotation velocity signal of the first motor meeting the preset condition (see at least Oguro Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs [0065] and [0069] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example relation between the slip ratio and the grip force. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a longitudinal grip force or a component of the grip force in an advancing direction generally increases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 from 0% to about 20%, and then decreases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 ” and “ Note that, in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the total torque TT falls below the demanded torque TD at and after the time t21 as a result of the execution of the torque adjustment control ” by adjusting to the slip). In Reference to Claim 3 The controller according to claim 2 (see rejection to claim 2 above), wherein the first communication bus is connected to the torque calculation module, and the controller (100) is further configured to: obtain, from the first communication bus, the torque demand signal sent by the torque calculation module; and control the inverter circuit in the motor control module to adjust the current output to the first motor (15f) in response to the torque demand signal sent by the torque calculation module (see at least Oguro Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs [0065] and [0069] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example relation between the slip ratio and the grip force. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a longitudinal grip force or a component of the grip force in an advancing direction generally increases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 from 0% to about 20%, and then decreases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 ” and “ Note that, in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the total torque TT falls below the demanded torque TD at and after the time t21 as a result of the execution of the torque adjustment control ” by adjusting to the slip). In Reference to Claim 4 The controller according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the input end of the controller (100) is further configured to connect to a throttle pedal and receive a throttle signal generated by triggering of the throttle pedal (see at least Oguro Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0033] “ The accelerator operation sensor 25 may detect the amount of accelerating operation performed by a driver (e.g., the depressing amount of a non-illustrated accelerator pedal) and output the result of the detection ”). In Reference to Claim 6 A motor control method for a controller in a motor control module, the method comprising: controlling a current outputted by an inverter circuit (17f) to a first motor (15f) based on at least one of a received torque demand signal, a received throttle signal, and a received brake signal (see at least Oguro Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0056] “ FIG. 4 illustrates the transitions of the quantities of states according to the comparative example in a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode upon a slip of the front wheels 11a and 11b. FIG. 4 illustrates the quantities of states including a four-wheel drive flag, driving torque (e.g., driving torque TF [N/m] of the front wheels 11a and 11b, driving torque TR [N/m] of the rear wheels 11c and 11d, a total torque TT [N/m] corresponding to the sum of the driving torque TF and the driving torque TR, and demanded torque TD [N/m] required to be generated in the vehicle 1), a yaw rate [deg/s] of the vehicle 1, and a steering angle [deg], for example. In the comparative example, the total torque TT is equal to the demanded torque TD ”); or obtaining a vehicle velocity from a first communication bus (see at least Oguro Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0039] “ The acquiring unit 110 may acquire various pieces of data to be used in a process executed by the controller 120, and output the acquired data to the controller 120. For example, the acquiring unit 110 may acquire various pieces of data from the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f, the rear-wheel motor revolution sensor 21r, the vehicle speed sensor 23, and the accelerator operation sensor 25 ”); calculating, based on the vehicle velocity and a rotation velocity signal of the first motor (15f), an actual slip ratio of a wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) (see at least Oguro Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049], “ The controller 120 may specify the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b on the basis of the results of the detection by the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f and the vehicle speed sensor 23. The reference slip ratio may be set so that a slip of any of the drive wheels 11 is appropriately determined. The reference slip ratio may be set as appropriate depending on the specifications of the vehicle 1 ”); controlling the inverter circuit (17f) in the motor control module to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) in response to a difference between the actual slip ratio and a target slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) being greater than a first preset threshold (steps S101, S102) (see at least Oguro Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049] and [0050] “ In the determination process in Step S101, the controller 120 may specify the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b, for example. In a case where the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b is equal to or greater than a reference slip ratio, the controller 120 may determine that the front wheels 11a and 11b have slipped. The controller 120 may specify the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b on the basis of the results of the detection by the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f and the vehicle speed sensor 23. The reference slip ratio may be set so that a slip of any of the drive wheels 11 is appropriately determined. The reference slip ratio may be set as appropriate depending on the specifications of the vehicle 1 ” and “ In a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode in Step S102, the controller 120 performs the torque adjustment control that reduces the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b ”); and controlling a secondary controller to adjust a second current outputted by a second inverter circuit (17r) connected to the secondary controller , the second inverter circuit (175) being connected to the secondary controller and a second motor (15r) (S102) (see at least Oguro Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0050] “ In a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode in Step S102, the controller 120 performs the torque adjustment control that reduces the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b and adjusts the driving torque of the rear wheels 11c and 1 1to equal to or less than the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b, as described above. The torque adjustment control executed in association with the switching to the four-wheel drive mode is described in detail below ”). Oguro teaches that the controller can have plurality of control apparatuses however Oguro do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to having a secondary controller which is connect to the controller and controls the second motor (17r). However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a secondary controller which is connect to the controller and controls the second motor. For example, Takagi teaches to a secondary controller (53) which is connect to the controller (43) and controls the second motor (30) (see at least Takagi Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 25, 29, 31, 43-44). The substitution of one known element (controllers (first and second controllers) as shown in Takagi) for another (controller as shown in Oguro) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the controllers shown in Takagi would have yielded predictable results, namely, controlling the front and rear motors in Oguro to reduce the load on the motor when slip occurs. In Reference to Claim 7 The motor control method according to claim 6 (see rejection to claim 6 above), wherein the controlling the secondary controller (#53 of Takagi) to adjust the second current outputted by the second inverter circuit (17r) further comprises: controlling the secondary controller (#53 of Takagi) to adjust the second current in response to the actual slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) being greater than the target slip ratio by a second preset threshold (see at least Takagi Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 25, 29, 31, 43-44) (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 56-76). In Reference to Claim 8 The motor control method according to claim 7 (see rejection to claim 7 above), wherein the motor control method further comprises: triggering a torque calculation module to perform a torque distribution on the controller (100) and the secondary controller (#53 of Takagi) in response to the actual slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) being greater than the target slip ratio by a third preset threshold (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraph [0065] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example relation between the slip ratio and the grip force. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a longitudinal grip force or a component of the grip force in an advancing direction generally increases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 from 0% to about 20%, and then decreases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11. Additionally, a lateral grip force or a component of the grip force in a direction perpendicular to the advancing direction generally reduces with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11. Thus, the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 may be controlled within a target range from, for example, about 10% to about 20% to maintain each of the longitudinal grip force and the lateral grip force at a high level. Therefore, in the torque adjustment control, the target slip ratio may be set to a value within the target range in which the grip force of the front wheels 11a and 11b is effectively recovered ”) (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 56-76). In Reference to Claim 13 Oguro teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below): An electric drive system, the electric drive system comprising: a motor control module comprising a first inverter circuit (17f) and a controller (100) coupled to the first inverter circuit (17f) (see at least Oguro Fig.1 and paragraphs [0020], “ With reference to FIG. 1, the vehicle 1 may include front wheels 11a and 11b, rear wheels 11c and 11d, a front differential unit 13f, a rear differential unit 13r, a front-wheel drive motor 15f, a rear-wheel drive motor 15r, inverters 17f and 17r, a battery 19, a front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f, a rear-wheel motor revolution sensor 21r, a vehicle speed sensor 23, an accelerator operation sensor 25, and the control apparatus 100 ”); and a first motor (15f) coupled to the controller (100) and coupled to the first inverter circuit (17f) (see at least Oguro Fig.1 and paragraphs [0020], “ With reference to FIG. 1, the vehicle 1 may include front wheels 11a and 11b, rear wheels 11c and 11d, a front differential unit 13f, a rear differential unit 13r, a front-wheel drive motor 15f, a rear-wheel drive motor 15r, inverters 17f and 17r, a battery 19, a front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f, a rear-wheel motor revolution sensor 21r, a vehicle speed sensor 23, an accelerator operation sensor 25, and the control apparatus 100 ”); the controller (100) comprising: an input end configured to receive a rotation velocity signal of the first motor (15f) (see at least Oguro Fig.1 and paragraphs [0035], “ The control apparatus 100 may communicate with components in the vehicle 1 including the inverters 17, the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f, the rear-wheel motor revolution sensor 21r, the vehicle speed sensor 23, and the accelerator operation sensor 25, for example. The communication between the control apparatus 100 and each of the components may be established by a controller area network (CAN) communication, for example ”); a communication end configured to connect to a first communication bus and a secondary controller (see at least Oguro Fig.1 and paragraphs [0036] “ the function of the control apparatus 100 according to the example embodiment may be distributed to a plurality of control apparatuses. Still alternatively, the single control apparatus 100 may achieve a plurality of functions. In a case where the function of the control apparatus 100 is distributed to a plurality of control apparatuses, the plurality of control apparatuses may be coupled to each other via a communication bus such as a CAN ”); and an output end configured to output a control signal to control the first inverter circuit in the motor control module (see at least Oguro Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0041], ” The motor controller 121 may control an operation of each of the drive motors 15 by controlling an operation of each of the inverters 17. For example, the motor controller 121 may control electric power supply between the battery 19 and the front-wheel drive motor 15f by controlling an operation of a switching element in the inverter 17f. The driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b to be outputted from the front-wheel drive motor 15f may be thereby controlled. Further, the motor controller 121 may control electric power supply between the battery 19 and the rear-wheel drive motor 15r by controlling an operation of a switching element in the inverter 17r. The driving torque of the rear wheels 11c and 11d to be outputted from the rear-wheel drive motor 15r may be thereby controlled. As described above, the motor controller 121 may control the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b and the driving torque of the rear wheels 11c and 11d in a separate manner ”); the controller (100) is configured to: control a current outputted by the first inverter circuit (17f) to the first motor (15f) based on at least one of a received torque demand signal, a received throttle signal, and a received brake signal (see at least Oguro Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0056] “ FIG. 4 illustrates the transitions of the quantities of states according to the comparative example in a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode upon a slip of the front wheels 11a and 11b. FIG. 4 illustrates the quantities of states including a four-wheel drive flag, driving torque (e.g., driving torque TF [N/m] of the front wheels 11a and 11b, driving torque TR [N/m] of the rear wheels 11c and 11d, a total torque TT [N/m] corresponding to the sum of the driving torque TF and the driving torque TR, and demanded torque TD [N/m] required to be generated in the vehicle 1), a yaw rate [deg/s] of the vehicle 1, and a steering angle [deg], for example. In the comparative example, the total torque TT is equal to the demanded torque TD ”); or obtain a vehicle velocity from the first communication bus (see at least Oguro Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0039] “ The acquiring unit 110 may acquire various pieces of data to be used in a process executed by the controller 120, and output the acquired data to the controller 120. For example, the acquiring unit 110 may acquire various pieces of data from the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f, the rear-wheel motor revolution sensor 21r, the vehicle speed sensor 23, and the accelerator operation sensor 25 ”); control the first inverter circuit (17f) in the motor control module to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) in response to the vehicle velocity and the rotation velocity signal of the first motor (15f) meeting a preset condition (slip ratio) (steps S101, S102) (see at least Oguro Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0049] and [0050] “ In the determination process in Step S101, the controller 120 may specify the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b, for example. In a case where the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b is equal to or greater than a reference slip ratio, the controller 120 may determine that the front wheels 11a and 11b have slipped. The controller 120 may specify the slip ratio of the front wheels 11a and 11b on the basis of the results of the detection by the front-wheel motor revolution sensor 21f and the vehicle speed sensor 23. The reference slip ratio may be set so that a slip of any of the drive wheels 11 is appropriately determined. The reference slip ratio may be set as appropriate depending on the specifications of the vehicle 1 ” and “ In a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode in Step S102, the controller 120 performs the torque adjustment control that reduces the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b ”); and control the secondary controller to adjust a second current outputted by a second inverter circuit (17r), the second inverter circuit (17r) connecting the secondary controller to a second motor (15r) (S102) (see at least Oguro Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0050] “ In a case where the drive mode is switched to the four-wheel drive mode in Step S102, the controller 120 performs the torque adjustment control that reduces the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b and adjusts the driving torque of the rear wheels 11c and 1 1to equal to or less than the driving torque of the front wheels 11a and 11b, as described above. The torque adjustment control executed in association with the switching to the four-wheel drive mode is described in detail below ”). Oguro teaches that the controller can have plurality of control apparatuses however Oguro do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to having a secondary controller which is connect to the controller and controls the second motor (17r). However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a secondary controller which is connect to the controller and controls the second motor. For example, Takagi teaches to a secondary controller (53) which is connect to the controller (43) and controls the second motor (30) (see at least Takagi Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 25, 29, 31, 43-44). The substitution of one known element (controllers (first and second controllers) as shown in Takagi) for another (controller as shown in Oguro) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the controllers shown in Takagi would have yielded predictable results, namely, controlling the front and rear motors in Oguro to reduce the load on the motor when slip occurs. In Reference to Claim 14 The electric drive system according to claim 13 (see rejection to claim 13 above), wherein the communication end of the controller is further configured to connect to a torque calculation module through a second communication bus, and the controller is further configured to: indicate the torque calculation module to stop sending the torque demand signal in response to the vehicle velocity and the rotation velocity signal of the first motor meeting the preset condition (see at least Oguro Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs [0065] and [0069] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example relation between the slip ratio and the grip force. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a longitudinal grip force or a component of the grip force in an advancing direction generally increases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 from 0% to about 20%, and then decreases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 ” and “ Note that, in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the total torque TT falls below the demanded torque TD at and after the time t21 as a result of the execution of the torque adjustment control ”); or stop responding to the torque demand signal sent by the torque calculation module in response to the vehicle velocity and the rotation velocity signal of the first motor meeting the preset condition (see at least Oguro Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs [0065] and [0069] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example relation between the slip ratio and the grip force. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a longitudinal grip force or a component of the grip force in an advancing direction generally increases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 from 0% to about 20%, and then decreases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 ” and “ Note that, in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the total torque TT falls below the demanded torque TD at and after the time t21 as a result of the execution of the torque adjustment control ” by adjusting to the slip). In Reference to Claim 15 The electric drive system according to claim 14 (see rejection to claim 14 above), wherein the first communication bus is connected to the torque calculation module, and the controller is further configured to: obtain, from the first communication bus, the torque demand signal sent by the torque calculation module; and control the inverter circuit in the motor control module to adjust the current output to the first motor (15f) in response to the torque demand signal sent by the torque calculation module (see at least Oguro Figs. 5-6 and paragraphs [0065] and [0069] “ FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example relation between the slip ratio and the grip force. As illustrated in FIG. 6, a longitudinal grip force or a component of the grip force in an advancing direction generally increases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 from 0% to about 20%, and then decreases with an increase in the slip ratio of the drive wheel 11 ” and “ Note that, in the example illustrated in FIG. 5, the total torque TT falls below the demanded torque TD at and after the time t21 as a result of the execution of the torque adjustment control ” by adjusting to the slip). In Reference to Claim 16 The electric drive system according to claim 13 (see rejection to claim 13 above), wherein the input end of the controller is further configured to connect to a throttle pedal and receive a throttle signal generated by triggering of the throttle pedal (see at least Oguro Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0033] “ The accelerator operation sensor 25 may detect the amount of accelerating operation performed by a driver (e.g., the depressing amount of a non-illustrated accelerator pedal) and output the result of the detection ”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguro in view of Takagi and further in view of Pub No. US 2019/0135264 A1 to Shin et. al. (Shin) . In Reference to Claim 5 Oguro in view of Takagi teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below): The controller according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above), wherein the input end of the controller (100) is further configured to connect to a brake pedal and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 35-36, 41, 49-50, 56 and 69). Oguro in view of Takagi do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to the controller (100) is further configured to connect to a brake pedal and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal. However, it is very well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the controller of the vehicle is configured to connect to a brake pedal and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal. For example, Shin teaches teach that the controller (165) of the vehicle is configured to connect to a brake pedal (152) and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal (152). Shin further teaches that having such structures provide braking control of the vehicle (see at least Shin Figs. 2 and 4 and paragraphs 76, 106, 138 and 249). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Oguro in view of Takagi to include the braking pedal as taught by Shin in order to provide braking control of the vehicle. In Reference to Claim 17 Oguro in view of Takagi teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below): The electric drive system according to claim 13 (see rejection to claim 13 above), wherein the input end of the controller (100) is further configured to connect to a brake pedal and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 35-36, 41, 49-50, 56 and 69). Oguro in view of Takagi do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to the controller (100) is further configured to connect to a brake pedal and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal. However, it is very well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the controller of the vehicle is configured to connect to a brake pedal and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal. For example, Shin teaches teach that the controller (165) of the vehicle is configured to connect to a brake pedal (152) and receive a brake signal generated by triggering of the brake pedal (152). Shin further teaches that having such structures provide braking control of the vehicle (see at least Shin Figs. 2 and 4 and paragraphs 76, 106, 138 and 249). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Oguro in view of Takagi to include the braking pedal as taught by Shin in order to provide braking control of the vehicle . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguro in view of Takagi and further in view of Pub No. US 2015/0343860 A1 to Lee (Lee) . In Reference to Claim 9 Oguro in view of Takagi teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below): The motor control method according to claim 6 (see rejection to claim 6 above), wherein the calculating the actual slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor further comprises: calculating a linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) based on the rotation velocity signal of the first motor (15f), a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor, and a transmission ratio of the first motor (15f) to the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f); and determining the actual slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) based on a ratio of the linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) to the vehicle velocity (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 35-36, 41, 49-50, 56 and 69). Oguro in view of Takagi do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to calculating a linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) based on the rotation velocity signal of the first motor (15f), a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor, and a transmission ratio of the first motor (15f) to the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f); and determining the actual slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) based on a ratio of the linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) to the vehicle velocity. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculating a linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor based on the rotation velocity signal of the first motor, a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor, and a transmission ratio of the first motor to the wheel corresponding to the first motor; and determining the actual slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor based on a ratio of the linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor to the vehicle velocity. For example, Lee teaches to calculating a linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the motor based on the rotation velocity signal of the motor, a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the motor, and a transmission ratio of the motor to the wheel corresponding to the motor; and determining the actual slip ratio of the wheel corresponding to the first motor based on a ratio of the linear velocity of the wheel corresponding to the motor to the vehicle velocity (see at least Lee Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 10-13, 16-19, 59-62). Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the known technique taught by Lee to system of Oguro would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system determine the slip of the wheels of Oguro to prevent further slippage by adjusting the operation of the motor. In Reference to Claim 12 Oguro in view of Takagi teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below): The motor control method according to claim 6 (see rejection to claim 6 above), wherein the controlling the first inverter circuit (17f) in the motor control module to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) comprises: obtaining a target rotation velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) based on the target slip ratio, the vehicle velocity, and a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor (15f); and controlling the first inverter circuit (17f) in the motor control module to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) based on the target rotation velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 35-36, 41, 49-50, 56 and 69). Oguro in view of Takagi do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to obtaining a target rotation velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor based on the target slip ratio, the vehicle velocity, and a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtaining a target rotation velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor based on the target slip ratio, the vehicle velocity, and a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor. For example, Lee teaches to obtaining a target rotation velocity of the wheel corresponding to the first motor based on the target slip ratio, the vehicle velocity, and a wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor (see at least Lee Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 10-13, 16-19, 59-62). Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that applying the known technique taught by Lee to system of Oguro would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved system, namely, a system determine the slip of the wheels of Oguro to prevent further slippage by adjusting the operation of the motor . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oguro in view of Takagi and further in view of Pub No. CN 113060147 A to Li et. al. (Li) . Examiner’s Note: Machine translation of CN 113060147 A to (Li) will be used in the rejection below. In Reference to Claim 10 Oguro in view of Takagi teaches (except for the bolded and italic recitations below): The motor control method according to claim 6 (see rejection to claim 6 above), wherein the controlling the first inverter circuit (17f) in the motor control module to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) comprises: controlling the first inverter circuit (17f) to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) in response to the difference between the actual slip ratio and the target slip ratio is greater than the first preset threshold and in response to an acceleration difference between a theoretical acceleration and an actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the motor (15f) is greater than a fourth preset threshold (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 35-36, 41, 49-50, 56 and 69). Oguro in view of Takagi do not explicitly teaches (bolded and italic recitations above) as to adjust the current outputted to the first motor (15f) in response to the difference between the actual slip ratio and the target slip ratio is greater than the first preset threshold and in response to an acceleration difference between a theoretical acceleration and an actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the motor (15f) is greater than a fourth preset threshold. However, it is known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the current outputted to the first motor in response to the difference between the actual slip ratio and the target slip ratio is greater than the first preset threshold and in response to an acceleration difference between a theoretical acceleration and an actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the motor is greater than a fourth preset threshold. For example, Li teaches to determine acceleration difference between a theoretical acceleration and an actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the motor is greater than a fourth preset threshold to determine the slip of the vehicle. Li further teaches that performing such step provides so as to accurately judge the wheel is in sliding condition (see at least Li Fig. 1 and pages 4-8). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Oguro in view of Takagi to include the steps of determine acceleration difference between a theoretical acceleration and an actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the motor is greater than a fourth preset threshold to determine the slip of the vehicle as taught by Li in order to accurately judge the wheel is in sliding condition. In Reference to Claim 11 The motor control method according to claim 10 (see rejection to claim 10 above), wherein before the responding to the acceleration difference between the theoretical acceleration and the actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the motor is greater than the fourth preset threshold, the motor control method further comprises: obtaining the theoretical acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) through calculation based on an angular acceleration of the first motor (15f), the wheel rolling radius corresponding to the first motor (15f), and the transmission ratio of the first motor (15f) to the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f); obtaining the actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f); and comparing the theoretical acceleration and the actual acceleration of the wheel corresponding to the first motor (15f) (see at least Oguro Figs. 1-6 and paragraphs 35-36, 41, 49-50, 56 and 69) (see at least Li Fig. 1 and pages 4-8) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pub No. US 2023/0347867 A1 to Ye (Ye) teaches to determine the wheel sip based on acceleration of the wheel. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRANDON DONGPA LEE whose telephone number is (571)270-3525. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aniss Chad can be reached at (571) 270-3832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRANDON D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662 May 15, 2026 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 2 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 3 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 5 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 6 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 7 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 8 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 9 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 10 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 11 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 12 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 13 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 14 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 15 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 16 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 17 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 18 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 19 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 20 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 21 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 22 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 23 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 24 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 25 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 26 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 27 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 28 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 29 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 30 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 31 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 19/185,060 Page 32 Art Unit: 3662