DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ilan (IL 289441 A; “Ilan”).
Regarding claim 1:
A flywheel (10; FIG. 1A) comprising:
two or more clamping plates (60; alternatively 60, 20A, 20B) including a bottom clamping plate and a top clamping plate (¶ [0034]; “each securing member 60 faces outer face 21 of a respective one of first plate 20A and second plate 20B”; FIG. 1A depicts clamping plates 60 on the very top and very bottom of the unit), the bottom clamp plate being physically distanced from the top clamping plate (depicted in FIG. 1A, see MPEP § 2125; ¶ [0034]; “each securing member 60 faces outer face 21 of a respective one of first plate 20A and second plate 20B”; FIG. 1A depicts clamping plates 60 on the very top and very bottom of the unit i.e. physically distanced in the axial direction),
two or more axles (30) including a top axle and a bottom axle (¶ [0034], “each shaft 30 is secured to a respective securing member 60 and extends therefrom”; FIG. 1A depicts one axle on the top clamping plate and one axle on the bottom clamping plate), the bottom axle being physically disconnected from the top axle (¶ [0034], “each shaft” indicating separate shafts i.e. physically disconnected shafts), the bottom axle being connected with the bottom [top] clamping plate and the top axle being connected with the top clamping plate (¶ [0034], “Each shaft 30 extends from a respective one of first plate 20Aand second plate 20B”; FIG. 1A depicts the bottom axle 30 connected with the bottom clamp plate 20B, and the top axle 30 connected with the top clamp plate 20A);
wherein the top clamping plate includes an axle-interaction structure that engages a plate-interaction structure of the top axle (¶ 34, “each shaft 30 is secured to a respective securing member 60a and extends therefrom” i.e. the axle and clamping plate have interaction structures as claimed), the axle- interaction structure transferring torque between the top axle and the top clamping plate (¶ 38, “In operation, shafts 30 are secured to respective rotating assemblies (not shown) that allow flywheel assembly 10 to be rotated about rotational axis” i.e. the interaction structures transfer torque as claimed), the axle-interaction structure including one or more structural features formed in or on the top clamping plate (¶¶ 34, 38 describe the axle being “secured” to the clamping plate in a way that transfers torque indicating that the clamping plate has a means to be rotatably fixed thereto i.e. “one or more structural features” as claimed), the flywheel including an axis of rotation through the top axle and the bottom axle (at 35 in FIG. 1A); and
a plurality of fasteners (70) coupling the top clamping plate with the bottom clamping plate (¶ [0035] describes fasteners 70 using a “screw mechanism” which causes a clamping force on the massive plates 20 via the clamping plates 60).
Regarding claim 10:
The flywheel of claim 1, wherein: the top clamping plate includes a plurality of perforations (65, 90) positioned radially outward from the top axle, the plurality of perforations including a first set of perforations in which the plurality of fasteners are positioned (¶ 35), the plurality of perforations including a second set of perforations in which none of the plurality of fasteners are positioned (90; FIG. 1A depicts perforations 90 having no fasteners installed therein; see ¶ 37, “holes 90 are utilized to compensate for any irregularities of flywheel assembly 10 which cause the center of mass to not be at the centroid thereof. It is noted that the shape of each hole 90 may not be uniform and may exhibit a plurality of cross-sections of different shapes and/or 30 diameters.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilan in view of Paquien (U.S. P.G. Publication No. 2018/0216699 A1; “Paquien”).
Regarding claim 2-6, Ilan discloses the flywheel of claim 1, see above, but does not expressly disclose that the axle-interaction structure includes: a recess at the axis of rotation of the top clamping plate, the top axle extending into the recess at least partially through the top clamping plate, the recess extending at least partially through the top clamping plate, the axle-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel; and the plate-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel, the recess is an oval shaped recess in the top clamping plate; and the plate-interaction structure is an oval shape matching the oval shaped recess, wherein: the axle-interaction structure of the top clamping plate includes a first ridged contact area; and the plate-interaction structure includes a second ridged contact area matching the first ridged contact area, and wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom axle.
Paquien teaches that an axle-interaction structure (depicted in FIG. 3A) includes: a recess at the axis of rotation of top clamping plate (24), a top axle (12) extending into the recess at least partially through the top clamping plate (depicted in FIG. 3A), the recess extending at least partially through the top clamping plate (depicted in FIG. 3A), the axle-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel (¶ 32, “The bearing surfaces 30, 31 may have various profiles, cylindrical, frustoconical, fluted, oblong, elliptical, with a key groove facing a groove produced on the crankshaft,” i.e. asymmetrical; ¶ 27, “the end portion 12 of the crankshaft is substantially longer and the flywheel is slid onto a second bearing surface 31 through a central bore, the inwardly turned radial surface of which is complementary to the surface of the second, cylindrical, bearing surface 31, fluted or other” i.e. the shape of the bore/axle-interaction structure is complementary to the shape of the axle shape/plate interaction structure); and the plate-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel (¶ 32, supra), the recess is an oval shaped recess (¶¶ 32, 27 supra, elliptical shape is oval) in the top clamping plate; and the plate-interaction structure is an oval shape matching the oval shaped recess (¶¶ 32, 27 supra, elliptical shape is oval), wherein: the axle-interaction structure of the top clamping plate includes a first ridged contact area (¶ 32 supra, the “fluted” or “key” profile indicating ridges on the contact area); and the plate-interaction structure includes a second ridged contact area matching the first ridged contact area (¶ 32 supra, the “fluted” or “key” profile indicating ridges on the contact area), and wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom (FIG. 3A depicts fasteners 16 accommodated within recesses on the axle that face toward the bottom side) for increasing the transmission of the torque and limiting the shearing of the fixing screws (¶ 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Ilan such that the axle-interaction structure includes: a recess at the axis of rotation of the top clamping plate, the top axle extending into the recess at least partially through the top clamping plate, the recess extending at least partially through the top clamping plate, the axle-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel; and the plate-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel, the recess is an oval shaped recess in the top clamping plate; and the plate-interaction structure is an oval shape matching the oval shaped recess, wherein: the axle-interaction structure of the top clamping plate includes a first ridged contact area; and the plate-interaction structure includes a second ridged contact area matching the first ridged contact area, and wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom side, as taught by Paquien, for increasing the transmission of the torque and limiting the shearing of the fixing screws.
Ilan as modified above further teaches the following:
. Regarding claim 6 (continued):
The flywheel of claim 1wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom axle (FIG. 3A depicts fasteners 16 accommodated within recesses on the axle that face toward the bottom side/bottom axle).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilan in view of Sun et al. (U.S. P.G. Publication No. 2016/0377147 A1; “Sun”).
Ilan discloses:
Regarding claim 11:
A flywheel (10; FIG. 1A) comprising:
two or more clamping plates (60; alternatively 60, 20A, 20B) including a bottom clamping plate and a top clamping plate (¶ [0034]; “each securing member 60 faces outer face 21 of a respective one of first plate 20A and second plate 20B”; FIG. 1A depicts clamping plates 60 on the very top and very bottom of the unit), the bottom clamp plate being physically distanced from the top clamping plate (depicted in FIG. 1A, see MPEP § 2125; ¶ [0034]; “each securing member 60 faces outer face 21 of a respective one of first plate 20A and second plate 20B”; FIG. 1A depicts clamping plates 60 on the very top and very bottom of the unit i.e. physically distanced in the axial direction),
two or more axles (30) including a top axle and a bottom axle (¶ [0034], “each shaft 30 is secured to a respective securing member 60 and extends therefrom”; FIG. 1A depicts one axle on the top clamping plate and one axle on the bottom clamping plate), the bottom axle being physically disconnected from the top axle (¶ [0034], “each shaft” indicating separate shafts i.e. physically disconnected shafts), the bottom axle being connected with the bottom [top] clamping plate and the top axle being connected with the top clamping plate (¶ [0034], “Each shaft 30 extends from a respective one of first plate 20Aand second plate 20B”; FIG. 1A depicts the bottom axle 30 connected with the bottom clamp plate 20B, and the top axle 30 connected with the top clamp plate 20A);
wherein the top clamping plate includes an axle-interaction structure that engages a plate-interaction structure of the top axle (¶ 34, “each shaft 30 is secured to a respective securing member 60a and extends therefrom” i.e. the axle and clamping plate have interaction structures as claimed), the axle- interaction structure transferring torque between the top axle and the top clamping plate (¶ 38, “In operation, shafts 30 are secured to respective rotating assemblies (not shown) that allow flywheel assembly 10 to be rotated about rotational axis” i.e. the interaction structures transfer torque as claimed), the axle-interaction structure including one or more structural features formed in or on the top clamping plate (¶¶ 34, 38 describe the axle being “secured” to the clamping plate in a way that transfers torque indicating that the clamping plate has a means to be rotatably fixed thereto i.e. “one or more structural features” as claimed), the flywheel including an axis of rotation through the top axle and the bottom axle (at 35 in FIG. 1A); and
a plurality of fasteners (70) coupling the top clamping plate with the bottom clamping plate (¶ [0035] describes fasteners 70 using a “screw mechanism” which causes a clamping force on the massive plates 20 via the clamping plates 60).
However, Ilan does not expressly disclose a mechanical-energy storage unit comprising a motor coupled with the top axle, an enclosure holding the motor, a bottom bearing that interacts with the bottom axle, and a top bearing that interacts with the top axle.
Sun teaches a mechanical-energy storage unit (130) comprising a motor coupled with a top axle (¶ [0026], “The electromagnetic rotor of a motor/alternator may also be installed on one, or both, of the stub shafts [227, 229]”; see shafts 229, 227 being the top and bottom axle, respectively), an enclosure holding the motor (¶ 23, “Motor/alternator 140 couples to the flywheel either directly” i.e. enclosure 201 holds the motor 140 via direct coupling), a bottom bearing (207) that interacts with the bottom axle (FIG. 2A depicts bottom bearing 207 interacting with bottom axle 227), and a tope bearing (215) interacts with a top axle (FIG. 2A depicts top bearing 215 interacting with top axle 229) to configure the device to be assembled offsite, transported safely, and installed with relatively few steps (¶ [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Ilan to include a mechanical-energy storage unit comprising a motor coupled with the top axle, an enclosure holding the motor, a bottom bearing that interacts with the bottom axle, and a top bearing that interacts with the top axle, as taught by Sun, to configure the device to be assembled offsite, transported safely, and installed with relatively few steps.
Ilan as modified above further teaches the following:
Regarding claim 20:
The flywheel of claim 11, wherein: the top clamping plate includes a plurality of perforations (65, 90) positioned radially outward from the top axle, the plurality of perforations including a first set of perforations in which the plurality of fasteners are positioned (¶ 35), the plurality of perforations including a second set of perforations in which none of the plurality of fasteners are positioned (90; FIG. 1A depicts perforations 90 having no fasteners installed therein; see ¶ 37, “holes 90 are utilized to compensate for any irregularities of flywheel assembly 10 which cause the center of mass to not be at the centroid thereof. It is noted that the shape of each hole 90 may not be uniform and may exhibit a plurality of cross-sections of different shapes and/or 30 diameters.”).
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilan in view of Sun, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Paquien.
Regarding claims 12-16, Ilan as modified above teaches the flywheel of claim 11, see above, but does not expressly disclose that the axle-interaction structure includes: a recess at the axis of rotation of the top clamping plate, the top axle extending into the recess at least partially through the top clamping plate, the recess extending at least partially through the top clamping plate, the axle-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel; and the plate-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel, the recess is an oval shaped recess in the top clamping plate; and the plate-interaction structure is an oval shape matching the oval shaped recess, wherein: the axle-interaction structure of the top clamping plate includes a first ridged contact area; and the plate-interaction structure includes a second ridged contact area matching the first ridged contact area, and wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom axle.
Paquien teaches that an axle-interaction structure (depicted in FIG. 3A) includes: a recess at the axis of rotation of top clamping plate (24), a top axle (12) extending into the recess at least partially through the top clamping plate (depicted in FIG. 3A), the recess extending at least partially through the top clamping plate (depicted in FIG. 3A), the axle-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel (¶ 32, “The bearing surfaces 30, 31 may have various profiles, cylindrical, frustoconical, fluted, oblong, elliptical, with a key groove facing a groove produced on the crankshaft,” i.e. asymmetrical; ¶ 27, “the end portion 12 of the crankshaft is substantially longer and the flywheel is slid onto a second bearing surface 31 through a central bore, the inwardly turned radial surface of which is complementary to the surface of the second, cylindrical, bearing surface 31, fluted or other” i.e. the shape of the bore/axle-interaction structure is complementary to the shape of the axle shape/plate interaction structure); and the plate-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel (¶ 32, supra), the recess is an oval shaped recess (¶¶ 32, 27 supra, elliptical shape is oval) in the top clamping plate; and the plate-interaction structure is an oval shape matching the oval shaped recess (¶¶ 32, 27 supra, elliptical shape is oval), wherein: the axle-interaction structure of the top clamping plate includes a first ridged contact area (¶ 32 supra, the “fluted” or “key” profile indicating ridges on the contact area); and the plate-interaction structure includes a second ridged contact area matching the first ridged contact area (¶ 32 supra, the “fluted” or “key” profile indicating ridges on the contact area), and wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom (FIG. 3A depicts fasteners 16 accommodated within recesses on the axle that face toward the bottom side) for increasing the transmission of the torque and limiting the shearing of the fixing screws (¶ 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Ilan such that the axle-interaction structure includes: a recess at the axis of rotation of the top clamping plate, the top axle extending into the recess at least partially through the top clamping plate, the recess extending at least partially through the top clamping plate, the axle-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel; and the plate-interaction structure is rotationally asymmetrical about the axis of rotation of the flywheel, the recess is an oval shaped recess in the top clamping plate; and the plate-interaction structure is an oval shape matching the oval shaped recess, wherein: the axle-interaction structure of the top clamping plate includes a first ridged contact area; and the plate-interaction structure includes a second ridged contact area matching the first ridged contact area, and wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom side, as taught by Paquien, for increasing the transmission of the torque and limiting the shearing of the fixing screws.
Ilan as modified above further teaches the following:
. Regarding claim 16 (continued):
The flywheel of claim 11 wherein: the top axle includes a recess facing toward the bottom axle (FIG. 3A depicts fasteners 16 accommodated within recesses on the axle that face toward the bottom side/bottom axle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered and have required a new grounds of rejection is made in view of dkfj;a , as described supra. Applicant’s remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not deemed as persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ilan does not disclose wherein the top clamping plate includes an axle-interaction structure that engages a plate-interaction structure of the top axle, the axle- interaction structure transferring torque between the top axle and the top clamping plate, the axle-interaction structure including one or more structural features formed in or on the top clamping plate, the flywheel including an axis of rotation through the top axle and the bottom axle. Remarks at 9-10. In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ilan indeed discloses that the top clamping plate includes an axle-interaction structure that engages a plate-interaction structure of the top axle (¶ 34, “each shaft 30 is secured to a respective securing member 60a and extends therefrom” i.e. the axle and clamping plate have interaction structures as claimed), the axle- interaction structure transferring torque between the top axle and the top clamping plate (¶ 38, “In operation, shafts 30 are secured to respective rotating assemblies (not shown) that allow flywheel assembly 10 to be rotated about rotational axis” i.e. the interaction structures transfer torque as claimed), the axle-interaction structure including one or more structural features formed in or on the top clamping plate (¶¶ 34, 38 describe the axle being “secured” to the clamping plate in a way that transfers torque indicating that the clamping plate has a means to be rotatably fixed thereto i.e. “one or more structural features” as claimed), the flywheel including an axis of rotation through the top axle and the bottom axle (at 35 in FIG. 1A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656