DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “203”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 11-12, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (CN 103344451).
With regard to claim 1, Zheng discloses a system for in situ extraction of a material (figs. 1-2; para 0001), the system comprising: a deployable tube (air hose; para 0052) configured to direct a high pressure gas into the material to form a borehole and break up the material into smaller pieces of material (eg. para 0050); a deployable mast (14) configured to deploy into the borehole from a stowed configuration to a deployed configuration (para 0060); and a plurality of jets (15) supported at a free end of the deployable tube or a free end of the deployable mast (figs. 1-2) and configured to direct the smaller pieces of material through a channel of the deployable mast and into a reservoir (para 0051).
With regard to claim 3, Zheng further discloses the material is lunar regolith (para 0001).
With regard to claim 4, Zheng further discloses the deployable tube and the deployable mast are configured to deploy simultaneously (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, Zheng further discloses the plurality of jets are coupled with the free end of the deployable mast (figs. 1-2).
With regard to claim 6, Zheng further discloses a collection tube (17) coupling the deployable mast (fig. 1) and the reservoir (18), the plurality of jets configured to direct the smaller pieces of material through the collection tube and into the reservoir (para 0051).
With regard to claim 8, Zheng further discloses the system is configured to be coupled to a lander (paras 0001-0003).
With regard to claim 10, Zheng further discloses the deployable tube is coupled to the deployable mast (fig. 1).
With regard to method claims 11-12, 16, and 20 the claimed method of in-situ extraction of material would inherently be performed by the device to Zheng as taught above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 103344451) in view of Wen (2012/0216435).
With regard to claims 2 and 13, Zheng discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a skirt configured to surround the deployable mast on a surface of the material, the skirt comprising an opening configured to define an area for formation of the borehole.
Wen discloses a system/method for extraction of material comprising a skirt (1) configured to surround the deployable mast on a surface of the material, the skirt comprising an opening configured to define an area for formation of the borehole (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng and utilize a skirt as taught in Wen, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure containment of the material.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 103344451) in view of Barone (2010/0098520).
With regard to claim 7, Zheng discloses the invention substantially as claimed however the deployable tube is a metal tube, the metal tube configured to be stowed in a coiled configuration.
Barone discloses stowing a deployable tube in a coiled configuration (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng and utilize a coiled material as taught in Barone, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the size of the storage material.
With regard to the metal, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the tubing be any desired material, to include metal, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17-18 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 103344451).
With regard to claims 14-15, Zheng further discloses deploying a tube (13) downward toward the material and directing the high pressure gas through the tube (fig. 1; para 0052) wherein a free end of the metal tube is coupled with a free end of the mast (fig. 1).
Zheng fails to explicitly state the tube is metal. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the tubing be any desired material, to include metal, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
With regard to claim 17-18, Zheng discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state borehole comprises a depth of at least 1 meter nor the borehole comprises a diameter of at least 100 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the borehole be any desired size to include a depth of at least 1 meter and a diameter of at least 100 mm based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 103344451) in view of Daton-Lovett (2014/0230949).
With regard to claims 9 and 19, Zheng discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the deployable mast comprises an elongate band configured to deploy from a coiled shape in the stowed configuration to the deployed configuration with a helical, longitudinal shape.
Daton-Lovett discloses a deployable mast (para 0002) comprises an elongate band configured to deploy from a coiled shape in the stowed configuration to the deployed configuration with a helical, longitudinal shape (figs. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zheng and utilize a coiled material as taught in Daton-Lovett, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce the size of the storage material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
08/31/2026