DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications for the present US application number 19/185,119 last filed on April 21st, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined, directed to MODIFICATION OF A SOCKET NETWORK NAMESPACE IN RESPONSE TO A SYSTEM CALL INTERCEPTION.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,251 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed scope is a variation of the same concept directed towards intercepting and modifying a system call that identifies a socket and a target destination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. US 2022/0012110 A1 to Dhillion et al. (referred to hereafter as “Dhillion”).
As to claim 1, Dhillion discloses a computer-implemented method for modifying a connection system call issued by a client application, the method comprising:
intercepting the connection system call, wherein the connection system call identifies a socket and a target destination (Dhillion discloses of a similar system that can intercept and modify the call and change the destination if needed, e.g., ¶¶ 34, 37-40);
generating one or more modified system call parameters based at least in part on the target destination (modifying the call involves changing the parameters related to the target destination, ¶¶ 26 and 39);
generating a new socket based on the one or more modified system call parameters (the modifications can involve changing the values of one or more parameters, e.g., ¶ 39); and
issuing a modified connection system call that specifies the new socket (generates a modified call to a different target destination, e.g., ¶¶ 39-40).
As to claim 2, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the new socket comprises:
sending a socket generation request to a system kernel (the request can go to the kernel for kernel level services, e.g., ¶¶ 37-38 and 48-50); and
receiving a file descriptor corresponding to the new socket (client gets the new file descriptor to the new socket from the kernel, e.g., ¶¶ 48-50).
As to claim 3, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the new socket is created using a first socket type that is different from a second socket type associated with the socket identified in the connection system call (the modification can alter the type of system call, e.g., ¶¶ 38 and 42).
As to claim 4, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more modified system call parameters comprises determining that the target destination is a local destination, and generating the new socket comprises generating a socket pair using a socketpair system call (a new socketpair() call for a local connection, e.g., ¶¶ 42 and 53).
As to claim 5, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more modified system call parameters comprises:
determining that the target destination is an external destination (external destinations can be determined and modified as well, by the system, e.g., ¶¶ 40 and 56); and
generating the new socket using a socket system call (e.g., ¶¶ 40, 53 and 56-57).
As to claim 6, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more modified system call parameters comprises:
transferring execution to a second namespace (modified to go to a second namespace, e.g., ¶ 42); and
generating the new socket in the second namespace (e.g., ¶ 42).
As to claim 7, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the second namespace is a network namespace corresponding to an IPv4 transition environment (Following claims 1 and 6, modifications can be re-directed to IPv4 transition namespaces, e.g., ¶¶ 36, 46, and 54).
As to claim 8, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more modified system call parameters comprises identifying a new target destination address that replaces the target destination (modifications can involve replacing the target destination, e.g., ¶¶ 39-40).
As to claim 9, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining a plurality of socket options associated with the socket identified in the connection system call (applying socket options, e.g., ¶ 55); and
applying the plurality of socket options to the new socket (e.g., ¶ 55).
As to claim 10, Dhillion further discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising notifying the client application that a connection has been successfully established using the new socket (e.g., ¶ 37).
As to claim 11, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 12, Dhillion further discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, wherein the operations further include replacing the socket identified in the connection system call with the new socket using an input/output (I/O) control operation (addfd() was described as an I/O control operation that the system manager can use when changing to a new socket, e.g., ¶ 59).
As to claim 13, Dhillion further discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 12, wherein the I/O control operation comprises calling a function with parameters that identify the new socket and the socket identified in the connection system call (Following claims 11 and 12, the addfd() can further involve parameters, e.g., ¶ 59).
As to claim 14, Dhillion further discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, wherein the client application is unaware that the socket specified in the connection system call has been replaced by the new socket (e.g., ¶ 61).
As to claim 15, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 16, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 17, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 4.
As to claim 18, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 5.
As to claim 19, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 20, see the similar corresponding rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
/X.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/EMMANUEL L MOISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2455