CTNF 19/185,170 CTNF 73040 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending. The IDSes, filed 4/30/25 and 9/26/25, have been considered. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: Systems, Methods, and Apparatus for Modifying a Data Structure . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Byun et al (US20210365183, “ By un”) . As to claim 1: Byun teaches a method (method of operation; 0006, 0017, 0018) comprising: operating, by at least one processor, a data structure (Fig. 1-3; memory system 110 includes controller 130 perform access to memory device 150, managed by a file system that includes log structure file system; 0060, 0116, 0117, 0109); receiving, by the at least one processor, from a storage device, using a memory access technique, information for a modification operation for the data structure (controller 130 in memory system 110 receives request from host 102, comprising host memory 106, which stores data to be sent to memory system 110 [0117], to perform segment recycling that can include a request to invalidate a logical block sent, perform garbage collection, or read/write to a logical block, all these accesses modify the file system; 0010-0014, 0018, 0042,0045, 0046, 0057, 0075, 0081, 0169); and performing, by the at least one processor, using the information, at least a portion of the modification operation (controller 130 in memory system 110 perform segment recycling that can include a request to invalidate a logical block sent, perform garbage collection, or read/write to a logical block; abstract, 0010-0014, 0018, 0042,0045, 0046, 0057, 0075, 0077, 0081, 0132, 0169). As to claim 2: Byun teaches the modification operation comprises a cleaning operation (segment recycling operation invalidates logical block addresses in victim segment, garbage collection is performed to free/reclaim the victim segment; 0017-0018). As to claim 3: Byun teaches the information comprises one or more blocks of data (request include logical blocks information; 0011, 0018); and the performing comprises merging a first portion of the one or more blocks of data and a second portion of the one or more blocks of data (perform write operation to target blocks, which adds/merge some new data to old/previously stored data; 0018, 0057, 0077, 0132). As to claim 4: Byun teaches the information comprises location information for one or more blocks of data (request include logical block addresses; 0018, 0139, 0141). As to claim 5: Byun teaches the information comprises first information about one or more first blocks of data (request information include logical addresses; 0018); and the performing comprises determining, based on the first information, second information for one or more second blocks of data (map logical addresses to physical addresses; 0141, 0096, 0098, 0099). As to claim 6: Byun taches the performing comprises: generating a result (perform operation [segment recycling, garbage collection, read, write]; 0018, 0043, 0045, 0046; receive indication that operation is successful; 0047); and transferring at least a portion of the result to the storage device (store data in memory device 150 and transmit indication of successful operation to external device; 0046-0047). As to claim 7: Byun teaches sending, from the at least one processor to the storage device, a fetch request (read request; 0046, 0041, 0057); and loading, at the storage device, based on the fetch request, at least a portion of the information from a storage medium to a memory (read from memory device 150 and write to memory 144; 0046, 0041, 0057). As to claim 8: Byun teaches a method (method of operation; 0006, 0017, 0018) comprising: operating, by at least one processor, a data structure (host 102 perform access to memory device managed by a file system that includes log structure file system; Fig. 2; 0010-0015, 0018, 0045-0047, 0109); sending, from the at least one processor, to a storage device, information for a modification operation for the data structure (host 102 sends recycling, invalidation, or read/write request to memory system 110; 0018, 0093); and performing, by the storage device, using the information, at least a portion of the modification operation (memory system 110, comprising controller 130, perform commands, sent from host, to perform segment recycling operation at target memory to free up victim segments; abstract, 0008, 0013, 0017, 0018; or perform write operation to requested logical block; 0018, 0057, 0075, 0077, 0132). As to claim 9: Byun teaches the modification operation comprises a cleaning operation (segment recycling operation invalidates logical block addresses in victim segment, garbage collection is performed to free/reclaim the victim segment; 0017-0018) . As to claim 10: Byun teaches the information for the modification operation comprises at least one of location information (request include logical block addresses; 0018, 0139, 0141), data size information, or valid data information. As to claim 11: Byun teaches the data structure comprises one or more blocks of data (memory system divided into blocks, managed by file system including a log structure file system; 0008, 0017, 0109); and the performing at least a portion of the modification operation comprises merging a first portion of the one or more blocks of data and a second portion of the one or more blocks of data (perform write operation to target blocks, which adds/merge some new data to old/previously stored data; 0018, 0057, 0077, 0132). As to claim 12: Byun teaches the information comprises first information about one or more blocks of data (request information include logical addresses; 0018), the method further comprising: sending, from the storage device to the at least one processor, second information about one or more blocks of data; and generating, by the at least one processor, based on the second information, the first information (map logical addresses to physical addresses; 0141, 0096, 0098, 0099). As to claim 13: Byun teaches the information comprises destination information for one or more blocks of merged data (target memory block; 0014, 0018), the method further comprising: sending, from the storage device to the at least one processor, source information for one or more blocks of data stored at the storage device (receive request with logical block address; 0141, 018, 0149); and generating, by the at least one processor, based on the source information, the destination information (map logical block address to physical address; 0141, 0096, 0098). As to claim 14: Byun teaches the data structure comprises one or more blocks of data (memory system divided into blocks, managed by file system including a log structure file system; 0008, 0017, 0109), the method further comprising: sending, from the at least one processor to the storage device, a fetch request (host sends read request to memory system; 0046, 0041, 0057); loading, at the storage device, based on the fetch request, from a storage medium to a memory, at least a portion of the one or more blocks of data (read from memory device 150 and write to memory 144; 0046, 0041, 0057); and performing the at least a portion of the modification operation on the at least a portion of the one or more blocks of data in the memory (memory system 110, comprising controller 130, perform commands, sent from host, to perform segment recycling operation at target memory to free up victim segments; abstract, 0008, 0013, 0017, 0018; or perform read/write operation to requested logical block; 0018, 0057, 0075, 0077, 0132). As to claim 15: Byun teaches a method (method of operation; 0006, 0017, 0018) comprising operating, by a processor at a host, a data structure (host 102 perform access to memory device managed by a file system that includes log structure file system; Fig. 2; 0010-0015, 0018, 0045-0047, 0109); storing, by the processor, in a memory at the host, based on a status of a portion of the data structure, the portion of the data structure (valid logical blocks to be stored identified by file system in bitmap of state information in host memory 106; 0122, 0135) store file system, log structure file system; 0109); receiving, by the processor, from a storage device, information for a modification operation for the data structure (receives request from host 102, comprising host memory 106, to perform segment recycling that can include a request to invalidate a target logical block, perform garbage collection, or write to a logical block, all these accesses modify the file system; 0010-0014, 0018, 0042,0045, 0046, 0057, 0075, 0081, 0169); and performing, by the processor, using the information and the portion of the data structure, at least a portion of the modification operation (controller 130 in memory system 110 perform segment recycling that can include a request to invalidate requested a logical block, perform garbage collection, or read/write to a logical block; abstract, 0010-0014, 0018, 0042,0045, 0046, 0057, 0075, 0077, 0081, 0132, 0169). As to claim 16: Byun teaches the status is based on an access of the portion of the data structure (state of ratio of dirty blocks; 004-0050). As to claim 17: Byun teaches the modification operation comprises a cleaning operation (segment recycling operation invalidates logical block addresses in victim segment, garbage collection is performed to free/reclaim the victim segment; 0017-0018). As to claim 18: Byun teaches the performing the at least a portion of the modification operation comprises merging the portion of the data structure and the information (perform write operation, which adds/merge new data to old/previously stored data; 0018, 0057, 0077, 0132). As to claim 19: Byun teaches the performing the at least a portion of the modification operation comprises generating a result, the method further comprising storing at least a portion of the result in the memory at the host (access is read access, data is sent back to host memory 106, which stores data read from memory system 110; 0117, 0164). As to claim 20: Byun teaches the performing the at least a portion of the modification operation comprises generating a result, the method further comprising sending at least a portion of the result to the storage device (access is a write access, data is stored in memory system 110; 0129, 0130, 0077, 0079). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THAN NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-4198. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00am -4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tim Vo can be reached at (571)272-3642. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THAN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 2 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 3 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 4 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 5 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 6 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 7 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 8 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 9 Art Unit: 2138 Application/Control Number: 19/185,170 Page 10 Art Unit: 2138