DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by O’Shea, US Pub. 2014/0233166.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, O’Shea discloses a card 100 comprising: a flexible substrate 210; a processor 154 coupled to the flexible substrate 210; a distortion detection element coupled to the processor and operable to detect an amount of flexure of the flexible substrate (par. 0029); and an indicator 123 coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to activate the indicator to provide a visual indication representative of the amount of flexure detected by the distortion detection element (see Fig. 1-2; par. 0023-0024 and 0029-0030).
Regarding claim 2, O’Shea discloses a card 100 comprising: a substrate 210; a plurality of displays 104, 106, 108, 122, 156 coupled to the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of displays is independently operable to display dynamic information (see Fig. 1, each displays different information); and a processor coupled to the plurality of displays, wherein the processor is configured to individually control the plurality of displays to present different dynamic information simultaneously (see Fig. 1, each displays different information). see Fig. 1-2; par. 0023-0024 and 0029-0030.
Regarding claim 3, O’Shea discloses a card 100 comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) chip 160; a plurality of electromagnetic field generators 170-174 operable to communicate electromagnetic signals representing magnetic stripe data (par. 0042-0043); and a detector 166 coupled to the IC chip 160, wherein the detector is operable to detect the presence of an external interface device, and wherein the IC chip 160 is configured to activate at least one of the electromagnetic field generators in response to the detected presence of the external interface device (par. 0045-0046). (See Fig. 1-2; par. 0023-0024 and 0029-0030).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the distortion detection element comprises a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) sensor (par. 0029).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the distortion detection element is a MEMS capacitor (par. 0029).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the indicator comprises a multicolored light emitting diode (LED) 123 (par. 0029).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the LED emits different colors based on different degrees of flexure (par. 0029).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the flexible substrate comprises a flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (par. 0031).
Regarding claim 9, wherein at least one of the plurality of displays is a bi-stable display (par.0025).
Regarding claim 10, wherein at least one of the plurality of displays is a thin film transistor (TFT) array (par. 0035).
Regarding claim 11, wherein at least one of the plurality of displays is touch sensitive (par. 0035).
Regarding claim 12, further comprising at least one input button 110-118 coupled to the processor and operable to accept user input (par. 0027, 0046).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the at least one input button is responsive to at least one of mechanical distortion, contact, and proximity (par. 0027).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the detector is operable to detect a magnetic stripe reader (par. 0045).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the detector comprises a proximity sensor (par. 0044).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the IC chip is configured to selectively determine information exposed to the external interface device (par. 0044-0046).
Regarding claim 17, further comprising at least one battery 158 coupled to supply operational power to the IC chip and the electromagnetic field generators (par. 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the electromagnetic field generators comprise a plurality of coils (par. 0042).
Regarding claim 19, wherein each coil encircles a material selected from the group consisting of magnetic materials and non-magnetic materials (par. 0042).
Regarding claim 20, further comprising a personalization layer configured to provide a conductive communication path to the IC chip (conductive pads are used for communication with IC chip, Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cloutier et al, US Pub. 10,482,363, disclose systems and methods for detection mechanisms for magnetic cards and devices. Yen et al, US Patent No. 9,852,368, discloses an advanced loyalty applications for powered card devices.
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876