DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 11 of each of claims 8 and 18, “thee” should read --the--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiuchi et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0124991 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kiuchi teaches a foldable stand comprising: a first plate (2, Fig. 5) configured to support a mobile device (12); a second plate (1) rotatably connected to the first plate, wherein the second plate is configured to support the first plate; a supporting plate (4) coupled to the second plate; and a transmission device (7) on the second plate, wherein the transmission device is configured to abut against the supporting plate (at 8), wherein in response to rotation of the first plate relative to the second plate (via rotation N2 and N4), the transmission device is configured to drive the supporting plate to slide relative to the second plate (in the direction N1) (Para. 0073).
In regards to claim 10, Kiuchi teaches a thickness of a first end (at 8, Fig. 5) of the supporting plate (4) is less than thickness of a second end (i.e.; the distal end) of the supporting plate, the first end of the supporting plate is closer to the second end of the second plate (1) than the second end of the supporting plate.
In regards to claim 11, Kiuchi teaches a system comprising: a mobile device (12); and a foldable stand comprising: a first plate (2, Fig. 5) configured to support the mobile device; a second plate (1) rotatably connected to the first plate, wherein the second plate is configured to support the first plate; a supporting plate (4) coupled to the second plate; and a transmission device (7) on the second plate, wherein the transmission device is configured to abut against the supporting plate (at 8), wherein in response to rotation of the first plate relative to the second plate (via rotation N2 and N4), the transmission device is configured to drive the supporting plate to slide relative to the second plate (in the direction N1) (Para. 0073).
In regards to claim 20, Kiuchi teaches a thickness of a first end (at 8, Fig. 5) of the supporting plate (4) is less than thickness of a second end (i.e.; the distal end) of the supporting plate, the first end of the supporting plate is closer to the second end of the second plate (1) than the second end of the supporting plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiuchi et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0124991 A1).
In regards to claims 2 and 12, in the embodiment of Figure 5, Kiuchi does not particularly teach a first surface of the second plate comprises a first groove at an end of the second plate where the second plate is connected to the first plate, the supporting plate and the transmission device are both provided in the first groove, and the first groove is configured to limit movement of the supporting plate along a direction perpendicular to the surface of the second plate.
In the embodiment of Figures 2 and 3, Kiuchi teaches a first surface of the second plate (1) comprises a first groove (1c) at an end of the second plate where the second plate is connected to the first plate, the supporting plate (4) is provided in the first groove, and the first groove is configured to limit movement of the supporting plate along a direction perpendicular to the surface of the second plate. In addition, in the embodiment of Figure 5, the transmission device (7) is illustrated in the end of second plate.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Kiuchi’s device such that a first surface of the second plate comprises a first groove at an end of the second plate where the second plate is connected to the first plate, the supporting plate and the transmission device are both provided in the first groove, and the first groove is configured to limit movement of the supporting plate along a direction perpendicular to the surface of the second plate as taught by the different embodiment of Kiuchi. The motivation would be for the purpose of preventing interference with the moving parts of the transmission device.
In regards to claims 3 and 13, modified Kiuchi teaches in response to the rotation of the first plate relative to the second plate, at least part of the supporting plate is configured to extend out of the first groove to support the first plate (i.e.; out of 1c in the direction of N1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kiuchi is the closest prior art of record as discussed above. The prior art of record does not teach or suggest modifying Kiuchi to include the combination of structural and functional limitations of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the PTO-892 for additional prior art related to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631