DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2 lines 3-4, it appears that “the optical interference filter further comprises another set of layers, wherein the other set of layers comprises a fourth layer” should be “the optical interference filter further comprises another set of layers, wherein the another set of layers comprises a fourth layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2025, 11/07/2025 and 10/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ockenfuss (US 20180335557) in view of Rowlands et al. (US 20200209448, hereinafter “Rowlands”).
Regarding claim 1, Ockenfuss discloses an optical interference filter (Fig. 7C; Paras. [0015], [0055]), comprising:
a substrate (“Substrate”); and
a plurality of sets of layers (layers on “Substrate” in Fig. 7C) that are disposed on the substrate,
wherein a set of layers (layers in Fig. 7C) of the plurality of sets of layers, includes:
a first layer (“Ta2O5”), that comprises at least tantalum and oxygen, disposed directly on the substrate (Fig. 7C, Para. [0055] and [claim 11] teaching 762-1 and an optical filter associated with a set of sensor elements are being deposited onto a substrate) (the examiner considers a fabrication method using deposition indicates directly disposing the material);
a third layer (“Si:H”), that comprises at least hydrogen and silicon.
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the first layer; and
the third layer disposed directly on the second layer.
However, Rowlands teaches providing a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, between a first layer and a third layer (see Para. [0056] teaching providing AlN between Ta2O5 and Si:H) (the examiner considers AlN contacts Ta2O5 and Si:H, because AlN layer has to prevent interfacial absorption therebetween; see Para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify optical interference filter as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, to have a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the first layer; and the third layer disposed directly on the second layer, for the purpose of preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H that lowers the transmission percentage (Rowlands: Para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Ockenfuss further discloses wherein the first layer is disposed directly on a first surface of the substrate (see the upper surface of “Substrate”; Para. [0055])
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the optical interference filter further comprises another set of layers, wherein the another set of layers comprises a fourth layer disposed directly on a second surface of the substrate (see Claim objections above).
However, Rowlands teaches providing another set of layers, wherein the another set of layers comprises a fourth layer disposed directly on a second surface of the substrate (see Fig. 1A wherein 180 is provided on the lower surface of the substrate 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify optical interference filter as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, wherein the optical interference filter further comprises another set of layers, wherein the another set of layers comprises a fourth layer disposed directly on a second surface of the substrate, for the purpose of further providing a functionality such as anti-reflective or bandpass filtering (Rowlands: Para. [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Ockenfuss further discloses wherein the first layer comprises a tantalum pentoxide (Ta2O5) material (Fig. 7C; Para. [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the second layer comprises an aluminum nitride (AlN) material.
However, Rowlands teaches providing a second layer, that comprises an aluminum nitride (AlN) material, between a first layer and a second layer (Para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify optical interference filter as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, wherein the second layer comprises an aluminum nitride (AlN) material, for the purpose of preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H that lowers the transmission percentage (Rowlands: Para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Ockenfuss further discloses wherein the third layer comprises at least one of: a silicon (Si) material, a silicon and hydrogen (SiH) material, a hydrogenated silicon (Si:H) material, a hydrogenated silicon with helium (Si:H—He) material, a hydrogenated silicon with nitrogen (Si:H—N) material, an amorphous silicon (a Si) material, a silicon nitride (SiN) material, a germanium (Ge) material, a hydrogenated germanium (Ge:H) material, a silicon germanium (SiGe) material, a hydrogenated silicon germanium (SiGe:H) material, a silicon carbide (SiC) material, a hydrogenated silicon carbide (SiC:H) material, a niobium pentoxide (Nb2O5) material, a niobium titanium oxide (NbTiOx) material, a niobium tantalum pentoxide (Nb2-xTaxO5) material, a titanium dioxide (TiO2) material, an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) material, a zirconium oxide (ZrO2) material, an yttrium oxide (Y2O3) material, or a hafnium oxide (HfO2) material (Fig. 7C; Para. [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and Ockenfuss further discloses wherein each of the first layer and the third layer have a thickness in a range from 5 nanometers (nm) to 2000 nm (see Paras. [0025] and [0027] teaching the thickness of Si:H is 62.6 nm or 125.2 nm wherein the thickness may be selected based on a desired spectral range, and see [claim 8] and Para. [0055] teaching Si:H/Ta2O5 is quarter-wave stacks and an optical filter has a center wavelength of 932 nm, i.e., Ta2O5 may have a thickness of 932/(4*2.1) ≈ 110.95 nm).
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the second layer has a thickness in a range from 5 nanometers (nm) to 2000 nm.
However, Rowlands teaches the thickness of the second layer is very thin and it makes up a small proportion of the overall design thickness (Para. [0056]).
Because the thickness of Si:H and Ta2O5 is less than about 120 nm and the second layer makes up a small portion of the design thickness for preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, wherein the second layer has a thickness in a range from 5 nanometers (nm) to 2000 nm, for the purpose of using AlN layer for preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H that lowers the transmission percentage (Rowlands: Para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the second layer has a thickness in a range from 2 nanometers (nm) to 50 nm.
However, Rowlands teaches providing a second layer between a first layer and a second layer (Para. [0056]), wherein the thickness of the second layer is very thin and it makes up a small proportion of the overall design thickness (Para. [0056]).
Since the thickness of Si:H and Ta2O5 is less than about 120 nm and the second layer makes up a small portion of the design thickness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, wherein the second layer has a thickness in a range from 2 nanometers (nm) to 50 nm, for the purpose of using AlN layer for preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H that lowers the transmission percentage (Rowlands: Para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Ockenfuss discloses an optical interference filter (Fig. 7C; Paras. [0015], [0055]), comprising:
a substrate (“Substrate”);
a first set of layers (layers on “Substrate” in Fig. 7C) that are disposed on the substrate,
wherein the first set of layers includes:
a first layer (“Ta2O5”), that comprises at least tantalum and oxygen, disposed directly on the substrate (Fig. 7C and Para. [0055] and [claim 11] teaching 762-1 and the optical filter associated with a set of sensor elements are being deposited onto the substrate) (the examiner considers a fabrication method using deposition indicates directly disposing the material);
a third layer (“Si:H”), that comprises at least hydrogen and silicon; and
a second set of layers (another set of layers including Ta2O5 and Si:H on the first set of layers) disposed on the first set of layers.
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the first layer; and
the third layer disposed directly on the second layer.
However, Rowlands teaches providing a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, between a first layer and a third layer (see Para. [0056] teaching providing AlN between Ta2O5 and Si:H) (the examiner considers AlN contacts Ta2O5 and Si:H, because AlN layer has to prevent interfacial absorption therebetween; see Para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify optical interference filter as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, to have a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the first layer; and the third layer disposed directly on the second layer, for the purpose of preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H that lowers the transmission percentage (Rowlands: Para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, and Ockenfuss further discloses wherein the second set of layers includes:
a fourth layer (another Ta2O5 on the first set of layers in Fig. 7C) that comprises at least tantalum and oxygen, disposed directly on the third layer (see Fig. 7C and Para. [0055] and [claim 11] teaching 762-1 and the optical filter associated with a set of sensor elements are deposited onto the substrate) (the examiner considers a fabrication method using deposition indicates directly disposing the material);
a fifth layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the fourth layer; and
a sixth layer (another Si:H on the first set of layers in Fig. 7C), that comprises at least hydrogen and silicon.
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose a fifth layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the fourth layer; and
the sixth layer disposed directly on the fifth layer.
However, Rowlands teaches providing a fifth layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, between a fourth layer and a sixth layer (see Para. [0056] teaching providing AlN between Ta2O5 and Si:H) (the examiner considers AlN contacts Ta2O5 and Si:H, because AlN layer has to prevent interfacial absorption therebetween; see Para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify optical interference filter as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, to have a fifth layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the fourth layer; and the sixth layer disposed directly on the fifth layer, for the purpose of preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H that lowers the transmission percentage (Rowlands: Para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
In the Fig. 7C embodiment, Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the first layer has a same thickness as the fourth layer.
However, Ockenfuss teaches increasing or decreasing a thickness of layers to turn the multispectral filter (Paras. [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed by Ockenfuss, wherein the first layer has a same thickness as the fourth layer, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical characteristics of the multispectral filter (Ockenfuss: Paras. [0048], [0050]). Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II (A) and (B)).
Regarding claim 11, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
In the Fig. 7C embodiment, Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the second layer has a same thickness as the fifth layer.
However, Ockenfuss teaches increasing or decreasing a thickness of layers to turn the multispectral filter (Paras. [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed by Ockenfuss, wherein the second layer has a same thickness as the fifth layer, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical characteristics of the multispectral filter (Ockenfuss: Paras. [0048], [0050]). Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II (A) and (B)).
Regarding claim 12, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
In the Fig. 7C embodiment, Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the third layer has a same thickness as the sixth layer.
However, Ockenfuss teaches increasing or decreasing a thickness of layers to turn the multispectral filter (Paras. [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed by Ockenfuss, wherein the third layer has a same thickness as the sixth layer, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical characteristics of the multispectral filter (Ockenfuss: Paras. [0048], [0050]). Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II (A) and (B)).
Regarding claim 13, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
In the Fig. 7C embodiment, Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the first layer has a different thickness than the fourth layer.
However, Ockenfuss teaches increasing or decreasing a thickness of layers to turn the multispectral filter (Paras. [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed by Ockenfuss, wherein the first layer has a different thickness than the fourth layer, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical characteristics of the multispectral filter (Ockenfuss: Paras. [0048], [0050]). Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II (A) and (B)).
Regarding claim 14, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
In the Fig. 7C embodiment, Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the second layer has a different thickness than the fifth layer.
However, Ockenfuss teaches increasing or decreasing a thickness of layers to turn the multispectral filter (Paras. [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed by Ockenfuss, wherein the second layer has a different thickness than the fifth layer, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical characteristics of the multispectral filter (Ockenfuss: Paras. [0048], [0050]). Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II (A) and (B)).
Regarding claim 15, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
In the Fig. 7C embodiment, Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the third layer has a different thickness than the sixth layer.
However, Ockenfuss teaches increasing or decreasing a thickness of layers to turn the multispectral filter (Paras. [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed by Ockenfuss, wherein the third layer has a different thickness than the sixth layer, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical characteristics of the multispectral filter (Ockenfuss: Paras. [0048], [0050]). Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II (A) and (B)).
Regarding claim 16, Ockenfuss discloses a plurality of optical interference filters (Fig. 7C; Paras. [0015], [0055]), wherein each optical interference filter includes:
a substrate (“Substrate”); and
a plurality of sets of layers that are disposed on the substrate (Fig. 7C),
wherein a set of layers (a set of layers on “SUBSTRATE”), of the plurality of sets of layers, includes:
a first layer (see “a first layer” denoted by the examiner in Fig. 7C below), that comprises at least tantalum and oxygen (“Ta2O5”), disposed directly on the substrate (Fig. 7C, Para. [0055] and [claim 11] teaching 762-1 and an optical filter associated with a set of sensor elements are being deposited onto a substrate) (the examiner considers a fabrication method using deposition indicates directly disposing the material); and
a third layer (see “a third layer”), that comprises at least hydrogen and silicon (“Si:H”).
a second set of layers (another set of layers including Ta2O5 and Si:H on the first set of layers) disposed on the first set of layers.
Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the first layer; and
the third layer disposed directly on the second layer.
However, Rowlands teaches providing a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, between a first layer and a third layer (see Para. [0056] teaching providing AlN between Ta2O5 and Si:H) (the examiner considers AlN contacts Ta2O5 and Si:H, because AlN layer has to prevent interfacial absorption therebetween; see Para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify optical interference filter as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, to have a second layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, disposed directly on the first layer; and the third layer disposed directly on the second layer, for the purpose of preventing interfacial absorption between Ta2O5 and Si:H that lowers the transmission percentage (Rowlands: Para. [0056]).
Ockenfuss further fails to explicitly disclose a wafer.
However, Rowlands teaches a wafer (Par. [0044] “Additionally, or alternatively, optical filter coating portion 110 may be coated directly onto a detector or onto a set of silicon wafers”) comprising: a plurality of optical interference filters (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the optical interference filters as disclosed by Ockenfuss with the teachings of Rowlands, to have a wafer, for the purpose of considering a fabrication process (e.g., using photo-lithography, a lift-off process, and/or the like) (Rowlands: Para. [0044]).
< Figure 7C of Ockenfuss, annotated by the examiner>
Regarding claim 17, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 16 above, and Ockenfuss further discloses wherein the set of layers further includes:
a fourth layer (see “a fourth layer” above), that comprises at least silicon and oxygen (“SiO2”), disposed directly on the third layer (Fig. 7C, Para. [0055] and [claim 11] teaching 762-1 and an optical filter associated with a set of sensor elements are being deposited onto a substrate) (the examiner considers a fabrication method using deposition indicates directly disposing the material).
Regarding claim 20, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 17 above.
In the Fig. 7C embodiment, Ockenfuss does not explicitly disclose the second layer has a same thickness as the fourth layer.
However, Ockenfuss teaches increasing or decreasing a thickness of layers to turn the multispectral filter (Paras. [0048], [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed by Ockenfuss, wherein the second layer has a same thickness as the fourth layer, for the purpose of obtaining desired optical characteristics of the multispectral filter (Ockenfuss: Paras. [0048], [0050]). Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II (A) and (B)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, Ockenfuss as modified by Rowlands discloses the limitations of claim 17 above, and Ockenfuss further discloses wherein another set of layers, of the plurality of sets of layers, includes:
a fifth layer (“Ta2O5” layer above “a fourth layer” in Fig. 7C above), that comprises at least tantalum and oxygen; and
a seventh layer (“Si:H” layer above “a fourth layer” in Fig. 7C above), that comprises at least hydrogen and silicon.
And Rowlands teaches providing a sixth layer, that comprises at least aluminum and nitrogen, between a fifth layer and a seventh layer (Para. [0056] teaching providing AlN between Ta2O5 and Si:H) (the examiner considers AlN contacts Ta2O5 and Si:H, because AlN layer has to prevent interfacial absorption therebetween; see Para. [0056]).
However, Ockenfuss and Rowlands fail to explicitly disclose, in light of the specifications, “the fifth layer, disposed directly on the fourth layer; and the seventh layer, disposed directly on the sixth layer”. The examiner further considered Hendrix et al. (US 20140014838, hereinafter “Hendrix”), Moens et al. (US 20130120842, hereinafter “Moens”) and Chen et al. (US 20130040119, hereinafter “Chen”). However, the prior art of Ockenfuss, Rowlands, Hendrix, Moens and Chen, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 18.
Dependent claim 19 is allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 18.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871