DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 19/185,645 originally filed 04/22/2025. The amendment presented on 03/13/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 14, and 20 is hereby acknowledged.
Currently Claim(s) 1-20 are pending.
Previous Claim Objections
The claims were previously objected to for minor informalities. The office thanks the applicant for addressing these concerns as the claims have been amended to overcome this objection and consequently the previous objection is now hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., various direct connections) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005). In this particular case, Applicants’ claims simply suggested that features are “selectively connected” as the prior art teaches the ability of the circuit to “selectively connect” the various elements. Specifics of the circuit are not currently claimed in the independent claim and The Office previously objected to, for example, Claim 5 which provides greater connection details that are not taught in the prior art. The Office recommends Applicant provide the language of, for example, 5, 6, 11 or 18 into the independent claims to overcome the current rejection. After review, Applicants arguments are not found persuasive and the rejection will be currently maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, 13-17, are 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. WIPO Publication No. 2022/183442 A1 published 09/09/2022 hereinafter Huang.
***For convenience and purposes of translation, the corresponding US reference of Huang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0384880 A1 will be used for citation purposes.***
Consider Claim 1:
Huang discloses a drive circuit, applicable to a touch screen, the touch screen comprising a drive electrode, the drive circuit comprising: (Huang, [0006], See Abstract.)
a first node configured to provide a first positive voltage; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item Vdd.)
a second node configured to provide a first negative voltage; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item -Vdd.)
a ground node; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item GND.)
an energy storage capacitor comprising a first terminal and a second terminal; and (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 items Cs1 Cs2.)
a switch circuit configured to control the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be selectively connected to the ground node and selectively connected to the drive electrode, and control the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be selectively connected to the ground node and selectively connected to the drive electrode. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0042], “As shown in FIG. 3, it is a schematic structural diagram of another touch driving circuit provided by an embodiment of the present application. The touch driving circuit 20 includes a switching circuit 201, and a first input end of the switching circuit 201 is connected to a first positive voltage V.sub.DD, a second input end is connected to a ground terminal GND through a first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, a third input end is connected to the ground terminal GND, a fourth input end is connected to the ground terminal GND through a second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, a fifth input end is connected to a first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and an output end is connected to a touch electrode. Both the first positive voltage V.sub.DD and the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD are power supply voltages generated by a power supply voltage generation circuit.”)
Consider Claim 2:
Huang discloses the drive circuit according to claim 1, wherein the switch circuit is configured to control, in a first phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the first node to charge the drive electrode via the first node, so that voltage of the drive electrode equals the first positive voltage; control, in a second phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to store charges released from the drive electrode in the energy storage capacitor, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a second positive voltage; control, in a third phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the ground node, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals zero voltage; control, in a fourth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to transfer charges from the energy storage capacitor to the drive electrode, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a second negative voltage; and control, in a fifth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the second node to charge the drive electrode via the second node, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals the first negative voltage, wherein the second positive voltage is lower than the first positive voltage and higher than the zero voltage; and the second negative voltage is higher than the first negative voltage and lower than the zero voltage. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0050], “During the first period of time, only the first switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage V.sub.DD. During the second period of time, only the second switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage V.sub.C1. During the third period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the fourth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2. During the fifth period of time, only the fifth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and the touch electrode is charged with the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD. During the sixth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2 During the seventh period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the eighth period of time, the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage”)
Consider Claim 3:
Huang discloses the drive circuit according to claim 2, wherein the switch circuit controls the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the second phase; and the switch circuit controls the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the fourth phase. (Huang, [0053], “As shown in FIG. 5, it is a schematic diagram of the principle of charging and discharging a touch electrode by a touch driving circuit during a first period of time φ1 and a second period of time φ2 provided by an embodiment of the present application. The voltage value at the two ends of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 has substantially tended to stabilize. It can be seen that during the first period of time φ1, the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L of the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, and the voltage at the two ends of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 is stabilized at a voltage value V.sub.C1_1; during the second period of time φ2, the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L of the touch electrode transfers positive charges to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, so that voltages at the two ends of the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 are both stabilized at a voltage value V.sub.C1_2, and the voltage value V.sub.C1_2 is slightly higher than the voltage value V.sub.C1_1.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Huang discloses the drive circuit according to claim 3, wherein the switch circuit is further configured to control, in a sixth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to store the charges released from the drive electrode in the energy storage capacitor, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a third negative voltage; control, in a seventh phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the ground node, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals the zero voltage; and control, in an eighth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to transfer charges from the energy storage capacitor to the drive electrode, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a third positive voltage, wherein the switch circuit controls the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the sixth phase; and the switch circuit controls the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the eighth phase. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0050], “During the first period of time, only the first switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage V.sub.DD. During the second period of time, only the second switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage V.sub.C1. During the third period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the fourth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2. During the fifth period of time, only the fifth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and the touch electrode is charged with the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD. During the sixth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2 During the seventh period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the eighth period of time, the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage”)
Consider Claim 9:
Huang discloses the drive circuit according to claim 2, wherein the switch circuit controls the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the second phase; and the switch circuit controls the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the second node in the fourth phase. (Huang, [0053], “As shown in FIG. 5, it is a schematic diagram of the principle of charging and discharging a touch electrode by a touch driving circuit during a first period of time φ1 and a second period of time φ2 provided by an embodiment of the present application. The voltage value at the two ends of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 has substantially tended to stabilize. It can be seen that during the first period of time φ1, the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L of the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, and the voltage at the two ends of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 is stabilized at a voltage value V.sub.C1_1; during the second period of time φ2, the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L of the touch electrode transfers positive charges to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, so that voltages at the two ends of the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 are both stabilized at a voltage value V.sub.C1_2, and the voltage value V.sub.C1_2 is slightly higher than the voltage value V.sub.C1_1.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Huang discloses the drive circuit according to claim 9, wherein the switch circuit is further configured to control, in a sixth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to store the charges released from the drive electrode in the energy storage capacitor, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a third negative voltage; control, in a seventh phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the ground node, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals the zero voltage; and control, in an eighth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to transfer charges from the energy storage capacitor to the drive electrode, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a third positive voltage, wherein the switch circuit controls the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the sixth phase; and the switch circuit controls the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the first node in the eighth phase. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0050], “During the first period of time, only the first switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage V.sub.DD. During the second period of time, only the second switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage V.sub.C1. During the third period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the fourth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2. During the fifth period of time, only the fifth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and the touch electrode is charged with the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD. During the sixth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2 During the seventh period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the eighth period of time, the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage”)
Consider Claim 13:
Huang discloses the drive circuit according to claim 1, wherein a capacitance value of the energy storage capacitor is larger than a capacitance value of an equivalent capacitance of the drive electrode to ground. (Huang, [0040], “When a capacitance value of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 is much greater than a capacitance value of the capacitor C.sub.L, the second positive voltage V.sub.C1 is approximately equal to V.sub.DD/2, and therefore, during the above discharging process of the touch electrode, loss on the resistor R.sub.L is approximately equal to ¼*C.sub.L*V.sub.DD2*ƒ, and is only 50% of that of the traditional touch driving circuit shown in FIG. 1. Specifically, if the capacitance value of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 is 30 times greater than the capacitance value of the capacitor C.sub.L, it can be determined that the capacitance value of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 is much greater than the capacitance value of the capacitor C.sub.L; preferably, the capacitance value of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 can be made 50-100 times greater than the capacitance value of the capacitor C.sub.L.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Huang discloses a touch drive apparatus, comprising a drive circuit applicable to a touch screen, the touch screen comprising a drive electrode, the drive circuit comprising: (Huang, [0006], “In view of this, embodiments of the present application provide a touch driving circuit, a driving chip, and a touch display device, so as to reduce driving power consumption.”)
a first node configured to provide a first positive voltage; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item Vdd.)
a second node configured to provide a first negative voltage; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item -Vdd.)
a ground node; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item GND.)
an energy storage capacitor comprising a first terminal and a second terminal; and (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 items Cs1 Cs2.)
a switch circuit configured to control the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be selectively connected to the ground node and selectively connected to the drive electrode, and control the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be selectively connected to the ground node and selectively connected to the drive electrode. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0042], “As shown in FIG. 3, it is a schematic structural diagram of another touch driving circuit provided by an embodiment of the present application. The touch driving circuit 20 includes a switching circuit 201, and a first input end of the switching circuit 201 is connected to a first positive voltage V.sub.DD, a second input end is connected to a ground terminal GND through a first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, a third input end is connected to the ground terminal GND, a fourth input end is connected to the ground terminal GND through a second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, a fifth input end is connected to a first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and an output end is connected to a touch electrode. Both the first positive voltage V.sub.DD and the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD are power supply voltages generated by a power supply voltage generation circuit.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Huang discloses the touch drive apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the switch circuit is configured to control, in a first phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the first node to charge the drive electrode via the first node, so that voltage of the drive electrode equals the first positive voltage; control, in a second phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to store charges released from the drive electrode in the energy storage capacitor, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a second positive voltage; control, in a third phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the ground node, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals zero voltage; control, in a fourth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to transfer charges from the energy storage capacitor to the drive electrode, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a second negative voltage; and control, in a fifth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the second node to charge the drive electrode via the second node, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals the first negative voltage, wherein the second positive voltage is lower than the first positive voltage and higher than the zero voltage; and the second negative voltage is higher than the first negative voltage and lower than the zero voltage. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0050], “During the first period of time, only the first switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage V.sub.DD. During the second period of time, only the second switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage V.sub.C1. During the third period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the fourth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2. During the fifth period of time, only the fifth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and the touch electrode is charged with the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD. During the sixth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2 During the seventh period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the eighth period of time, the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage”)
Consider Claim 16:
Huang discloses the touch drive apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the switch circuit controls the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the second phase; and the switch circuit controls the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the fourth phase. (Huang, [0053], “As shown in FIG. 5, it is a schematic diagram of the principle of charging and discharging a touch electrode by a touch driving circuit during a first period of time φ1 and a second period of time φ2 provided by an embodiment of the present application. The voltage value at the two ends of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 has substantially tended to stabilize. It can be seen that during the first period of time φ1, the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L of the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, and the voltage at the two ends of the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 is stabilized at a voltage value V.sub.C1_1; during the second period of time φ2, the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L of the touch electrode transfers positive charges to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, so that voltages at the two ends of the equivalent capacitor C.sub.L and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 are both stabilized at a voltage value V.sub.C1_2, and the voltage value V.sub.C1_2 is slightly higher than the voltage value V.sub.C1_1.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Huang discloses the touch drive apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the switch circuit is further configured to control, in a sixth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to store the charges released from the drive electrode in the energy storage capacitor, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a third negative voltage; control, in a seventh phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the ground node, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals the zero voltage; and control, in an eighth phase, the drive electrode to be connected to the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to transfer charges from the energy storage capacitor to the drive electrode, so that the voltage of the drive electrode equals a third positive voltage, wherein the switch circuit controls the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the sixth phase; and the switch circuit controls the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be connected to the ground node in the eighth phase. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0050], “During the first period of time, only the first switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is charged with the first positive voltage V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first positive voltage V.sub.DD. During the second period of time, only the second switching circuit is turned on, and the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage V.sub.C1. During the third period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the fourth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2. During the fifth period of time, only the fifth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and the touch electrode is charged with the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD. During the sixth period of time, only the fourth switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, and the second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2 stores the charges released by the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second negative voltage V.sub.C2 During the seventh period of time, only the third switching circuit is turned on, the touch electrode is connected to the ground terminal GND, and the touch electrode is discharged to the ground, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the zero voltage. During the eighth period of time, the touch electrode is connected to the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, and the first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1 transfers the stored charges to the touch electrode, so that the voltage at the two ends of the touch electrode is equal to the second positive voltage”)
Consider Claim 19:
Huang discloses the touch drive apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the switch circuit of the drive circuit is formed on a bare chip, (Huang, [0096], “An embodiment of the present application provides a touch driving chip, and the touch driving chip includes the touch driving circuit provided in the above embodiments.”)
wherein the energy storage capacitor and the bare chip are encapsulated together, or the energy storage capacitor is arranged outside encapsulation of the bare chip. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0042], “As shown in FIG. 3, it is a schematic structural diagram of another touch driving circuit provided by an embodiment of the present application. The touch driving circuit 20 includes a switching circuit 201, and a first input end of the switching circuit 201 is connected to a first positive voltage V.sub.DD, a second input end is connected to a ground terminal GND through a first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, a third input end is connected to the ground terminal GND, a fourth input end is connected to the ground terminal GND through a second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, a fifth input end is connected to a first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and an output end is connected to a touch electrode. Both the first positive voltage V.sub.DD and the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD are power supply voltages generated by a power supply voltage generation circuit.”)
Consider Claim 20:
Huang discloses an electronic device, comprising (Huang, See Abstract.)
a touch screen and a touch drive apparatus, the touch drive apparatus comprising a drive circuit applicable to a touch screen, the touch screen comprising a drive electrode, the drive circuit comprising: (Huang, [0006], “In view of this, embodiments of the present application provide a touch driving circuit, a driving chip, and a touch display device, so as to reduce driving power consumption.”)
a first node configured to provide a first positive voltage; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item Vdd.)
a second node configured to provide a first negative voltage; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item -Vdd.)
a ground node; (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 item GND.)
an energy storage capacitor comprising a first terminal and a second terminal; and (Huang, [0042-0089], See Fig. 3 items Cs1 Cs2.)
a switch circuit configured to control the first terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be selectively connected to the ground node and selectively connected to the drive electrode, and control the second terminal of the energy storage capacitor to be selectively connected to the ground node and selectively connected to the drive electrode. (Huang, [0042-0089], [0042], “As shown in FIG. 3, it is a schematic structural diagram of another touch driving circuit provided by an embodiment of the present application. The touch driving circuit 20 includes a switching circuit 201, and a first input end of the switching circuit 201 is connected to a first positive voltage V.sub.DD, a second input end is connected to a ground terminal GND through a first energy storage capacitor C.sub.S1, a third input end is connected to the ground terminal GND, a fourth input end is connected to the ground terminal GND through a second energy storage capacitor C.sub.S2, a fifth input end is connected to a first negative voltage −V.sub.DD, and an output end is connected to a touch electrode. Both the first positive voltage V.sub.DD and the first negative voltage −V.sub.DD are power supply voltages generated by a power supply voltage generation circuit.”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Further depending claims 7-8, 12, depend from the above claims and are objected under similar rationale. Further Claim 20 would be allowable pending similar language is added from objected claims 5, 6, 11 and 18 pending no further issues.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Granting of After Final Interviews: “Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search should be denied.” See MPEP § 713.09.
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626