DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Resnick (US Publication Number 2009/0037778).
4. As per claims 1 and 10, Resnick teaches a method and memory device (100, figure 1), comprising: a sensor embedded in the memory device (114, figure 1), wherein the memory device includes a memory array (memory banks 110, figure 1) and the sensor and wherein the sensor is configured to generate, based at least in part on a characteristic of the memory device, a signal from the sensor embedded in the memory device (memory device 100, including memory banks and associated voltages 160 and 162 to generate a signal for the sensor with a resistor stack to generate a temperature estimate based on a comparison of voltages, paragraphs 23, and 27); and a sensor output (output controller 136 with associated output 138, figure 1) coupled to the sensor and to another device to transmit data represent signal generated by the sensor to the another device (A/D converter 132 receives analog temperature signal, converts to digital and outputs via register 118 via bus 119 to output controller 136, figure 1, paragraphs 24 and 28).
5. As per claim 2, Resnick teaches a method, further comprising receiving, by a controller coupled to the memory device, a request from the another device for the signal from the sensor embedded in the memory device (mode registers 112 coupled to temp sensor 114, command error module 120 and an output controller 136, figure 1, digital value sensed on memory device and coupled to data bus 212, figure 6, paragraphs 22 and 45).
6. As per claims 3 and 13, Resnick teaches a method and device, wherein the sensor comprises a temperature sensor and wherein the sensor output is configured to transfer the signal indicating a temperature of an environment of the another device from the sensor to the another device (temperature sensor 112 coupled to voltage 160/162 and threshold comparator 130 which is further coupled to 136, figure 1, paragraph 23, threshold comparator 130 outputs a single bit high or low value indicates whether the sensed temperature on memory device 100 as compared to threshold temperature, paragraph 24, memory interface 252 receive high or low value to request receive digital value of sensed on memory device, paragraph 44, figure 6).
7. As per claims 5 and 15, Resnick teaches a method and device, wherein the sensor comprises a timer and further comprising transmitting, from the timer, the signal indicating a time corresponding to the another device (timing mechanism, paragraphs 31 to 33, which allow for output to be accordingly processed and then sent along 252 for another device, figure 6).
8. As per claim 6, Resnick teaches a device, further including transmitting the signal representing the sensor data generated by the sensor from the memory device to the another device via a sensor output coupled to the sensor and the another device (pathway of 136 to 138 to output pin to memory interface 252, figures 1 and 6, paragraphs 23 and 24).
9. As per claim 7, Resnick teaches a device, further including transmitting the signal representing the sensor data generated by the sensor from the memory device to the another device via a data output (pathway of 136 to 138 to output pin to memory interface 252, figures 1 and 6, paragraphs 23 and 24).
10. As per claim 8, Resnick teaches a device, further comprising generating a command from a controller coupled to the memory device to transmit the signal from the sensor responsive to the controller detecting a change in an environment of the another device (mode registers 112 configured to request outputs from sensor 114 and command error module 120 then select a signal to be coupled to the output controller 138, figure 1, paragraph 22 where initially mode register 112 enables sensor 114 and it senses a temperature at location, paragraph 27).
11. As per claim 9, Resnick teaches a device, further comprising: receiving, by the another device, the signal from the sensor embedded in the memory device; and initiating, by the another device, an indication that a value included in the signal is greater than or equal to a threshold (threshold comparator 130, output controller 136, memory interface 252, figures 1 and 6, where threshold temperature received and output a single bit, high or low indicating comparison to threshold, paragraphs 24, 44, and 46).
12. As per claim 11, Resnick teaches a device, wherein the sensor embedded in the memory device includes volatile memory media, and collects data corresponding to an environment of the another device (memory device 100, DRAM/SDRAM, paragraph 19 and accordingly with output functionality see in figure 6).
13. As per claim 12, Resnick teaches a device, wherein the sensor output is dedicated to the sensor embedded in the memory device (output controller output 138 coupled to memory interface 252 as dedicated output pin for memory device 100, figures 1 and 6, paragraph 28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Resnick in view of Cornwell et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0092249, hereinafter “Cornwell”).
16. As per claims 4 and 14, Resnick does not appear to explicitly disclose a method and device, wherein the sensor comprises a motion sensor and further comprising transmitting, from the motion sensor, the signal indicating a motion in an environment of the another device.
However, Cornwell teaches a method and device, wherein the sensor comprises a motion sensor (410, figure 4, 610, figure 6) and further comprising transmitting, from the motion sensor, the signal indicating a motion in an environment of the another device (accelerometer coupled to memory for movements, paragraphs 42, 43, 44, figures 4 and 6).
Resnick and Cornwell are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory sensor handling
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Resnick and Cornwell before him or her, to modify the sensors of Resnick to include the enhanced data of Cornwell because it would allow for enhance data integration into the system.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance data integrity (paragraphs 3 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Cornwell with Resnick to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
17. Claims 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Resnick in view of Wyatt (US Publication Number 2007/0191993).
18. As per claim 16, Resnick teaches a system, comprising: a device (254, figure 6); and a memory device (250, figure 6, 100, figure 1, paragraph 43) coupled to the device, the memory device comprising: a memory array (memory banks 110, figure 1); a sensor embedded in the memory device (114, figure 1); a number of register (mode registers coupled to the temperature sensor to store sensor data, 112, figure 1) coupled to the sensor to collect data from the sensor (112 to 114, figure 1); a controller to transmit a command to read one or more of the plurality of registers (A/D converter 132 receives analog temperature signal, converts to digital and outputs via register 118 via bus 119 to output controller 136, figure 1, paragraphs 24 and 28); and a data output coupled to the number of registers to transmit the data from the number of registers to the device (pathway of 136 to 138 to output pin to memory interface 252, figures 1 and 6, paragraphs 23 and 24).
Resnick does not appear to explicitly disclose a number of sensors embedded in the memory device; a number of registers each respectively coupled to one of the number of sensors to collect data from one or more of the plurality of sensors; a controller to transmit a command to read one or more of the plurality of registers; and a data output coupled to the number of registers to transmit the data from the number of registers to the device.
However, Wyatt teaches a number of sensors embedded in the memory device (140/142/146/148, figure 1, 230/234/236/238, figure 2); a number of registers each respectively coupled to one of the number of sensors to collect data from one or more of the plurality of sensors (302, figure 3, registers are mapped to the sensors, paragraph 32); a controller to transmit a command to read one or more of the plurality of registers (controller 210, assists in the plurality of registers data handling, paragraph 28); and a data output coupled to the number of registers to transmit the data from the number of registers to the device (data from registers is processed to output, figure 3, paragraphs 32 – 34).
Resnick and Wyatt are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory sensor handling
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Resnick and Wyatt before him or her, to modify the sensor and register structure of Resnick to include the multiple sensors and multiple registers of Wyatt because it would allow for enhance data integration into the system.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance data integrity (paragraphs 3 – 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wyatt with Resnick to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
19. Resnick modified by the teachings of Wyatt as seen in claim 16 above, as per claim 17, Resnick teaches a system, wherein the memory device includes Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM) (paragraph 43) and the plurality of sensors are at least one of a temperature sensor, a motion sensor, an oscillator, a timer, or a combination thereof (temperature sensor 114, and timer, paragraphs 31 - 33).
20. Resnick modified by the teachings of Wyatt as seen in claim 16 above, as per claim 18, Wyatt teaches a system, wherein the data collected from the one or more plurality of sensors are values related to respective operations of respective sensors of the plurality of sensors (320, figure 3, paragraph 36).
21. Resnick modified by the teachings of Wyatt as seen in claim 16 above, as per claim 19, Wyatt teaches a system, further comprising an input/output logic to transmit the values related to the respective operations of respective sensors of the plurality of sensors to the device (temperature collection logic 214, figure 2, paragraph 29).
22. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Resnick in view of Wyatt further in view of Swierk et al. (US Publication Number 2018/0232031, hereinafter “Swierk”).
23. As per claim 20, Resnick/Wyatt does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein: the device is coupled to an Internet of Things (IoT) device; and the IoT device initiates an operation responsive to the transmission of the data from the plurality of registers to the device.
However, Swierk teaches disclose wherein: the device is coupled to an Internet of Things (IoT) device; and the IoT device initiates an operation responsive to the transmission of the data from the plurality of registers to the device (IoT devices utilized to handle sensor data, figure 1, paragraphs 22, 47).
Resnick/Wyatt and Swierk are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory sensor handling
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Resnick/Wyatt and Swierk before him or her, to modify the sensor utilization of Resnick/Wyatt to include the IoT handling of Swierk because it would allow for enhance data integration into the system.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance data utilization (paragraphs 16 and 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk with Resnick/Wyatt to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
Conclusion
24. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saifuddin teaches motion and temperature sensing for a DRAM system, paragraphs 70. Cerafogli/Chen/Cox/Egerer/Hou/Kanda/Lee have teachings of sensors with associated registers handling data to be utilized by an external device. Mehta has teachings of IoT device sensors for temperature monitoring.
AH
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184