Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2025 and 11/18/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (US 20200391515 A1).
Hayashi discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 1, An image forming apparatus (“printer system 1”, Figure 1) comprising:
an image forming device (“printing unit 40”, Figure 2) that forms an image on a recording medium using a recording agent (Paragraph [0028] describes how the “printing unit 40” prints on the “medium M”.);
a control device (“control device 11”, Figure 2) that includes a processor (Paragraph [0027] describes how the “control device 11” includes a “CPU”) and functions as a controller that controls an operation of the image forming device to perform printing by executing a control program by the processor (Paragraph [0027] describes how the “control device 11” controls each unit of the “printer 10”.);
container loading devices (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) that are detachably loaded with a plurality of recording agent containers (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5. Referred to as the “storing body 110” as described in paragraph [0053].) in a container loading mechanism (“mounting base 130”, Figure 4) on which the respective recording agent containers (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5) each containing recording agents of the same color are mounted (Paragraph [0058] describes how the “storing body 110”, which is the general reference for each “first storing body 111” and “second storing body 112”, is mounted to the “mounting base 130”.);
a container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) that opens and closes a loading port (“connector 140”, Figures 5) of the container loading device which is provided in each of the container loading devices (Paragraph [0042] describes how the “cover 150” is disposed to cover the “connector 140” of each “story body 110”.); and
a cover opening/closing sensor (“detector 151”, Figure 5) that detects the opening and closing of the container cover (Paragraphs [0055] and [0074] describe how the “detector 151” detects the position of the “cover 150”.),
wherein the controller (“control device 11”, Figure 2) executes a stop process for stopping use of the recording agent container (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5. Referred to as the “storing body 110” as described in paragraph [0053].) to stop printing when the recording agent container (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5. Referred to as the “storing body 110” as described in paragraph [0053].) loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with a container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) which has been opened is in use when the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) is opened during printing on the basis of an open/closed state of the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) detected by the cover opening/closing sensor (“detector 151”, Figure 5) and a usage state of the recording agent container (Paragraphs [0089]-[0090] describe how the “detector 151” detects when the “cover 150” moves to expose the “connector 140” in an “open state” and sends a signal to the “control device 11”. Once the signal reaches the “control device 11”, the supply to the “printer 10” from the “storing body 110” is automatically stopped.), and
the controller (“control device 11”, Figure 2) does not execute the stop process to stop the printing when the recording agent container (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5. Referred to as the “storing body 110” as described in paragraph [0053].) loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with a container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) which has been opened is not in use (Paragraphs [0089]-[0090] describes how the “control device 11” only stops the supply of ink from the specific “storing body 110” that is not covered and switches the supply source to the “second storing body 112” of the “story bodies 110” that contains the same color as the “storing body 110” that was uncovered. Paragraph [0093] further explains how the “printer 10” is not stopped when the switch occurs.).
Regarding claim 3, the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when the recording agent container (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5. Referred to as the “storing body 110” as described in paragraph [0053].) loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) open is in use, but there is another recording agent container (“second storing body 112”, Figure 5) that is not in an empty state, contains a recording agent of the same color as the recording agent contained in the recording agent container (“first storing body 111”, Figure 5), and is loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) closed, the controller (“control device 11”, Figure 2) executes the stop process for the recording agent container (“first storing body 111”, Figure 5) loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with the container cover open, and continues the printing by using the other recording agent container (Paragraphs [0090] describes an example of how the “black ink in the storing body 111K” becomes empty, which prompts the “cover 150” to be moved to an “open state”. The “control device 11” receives the signal from the “detector 151” about the “open state” and automatically stops the supply from the “black ink in the storing body 111K” and switches the supply to the “storing body 112K”, which holds the same color and closes the “cover 150”, so printing can be continued.)
Regarding claim 4, the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising an operation device that receives an instruction from a user, wherein, in accordance with contents of the instruction received by the operation device (Paragraph [0088] describes how the process of switching the supply to the “printer 10” is automatic or switched by a manual operation of the “user”.), the controller (“control device 11”, Figure 2) executes, as a process performed when the recording agent container (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5. Referred to as the “storing body 110” as described in paragraph [0053].) loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) open is in use, either (i) a process of executing a stop process for stopping use of the recording agent container loaded in the container loading device with the container cover open to stop printing, or (ii) a process of executing the stop process for the recording agent container (“first storing body 111” and “ second storing body 112”, Figure 5. Referred to as the “storing body 110” as described in paragraph [0053].) loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) open when there is another recording agent container (“second storing body 112”, Figure 5) that contains a recording agent of the same color as the recording agent contained in the recording agent container (“first storing body 111”, Figure 5) loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) open and is not in an empty state where the recording agent container (“second storing body 112”, Figure 5) is loaded in the container loading device (“liquid supply device 100”, Figure 1) with the container cover (“cover 150”, Figures 5-7) closed, and continuing the printing by using the other recording agent container (Paragraphs [0090] describes an example of how the “black ink in the storing body 111K” becomes empty, which prompts the “cover 150” to be moved to an “open state”. The “control device 11” receives the signal from the “detector 151” about the “open state” and automatically stops the supply from the “black ink in the storing body 111K” and switches the supply to the “storing body 112K”, which holds the same color and closes the “cover 150”, so printing can be continued.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 20200391515 A1) in view of Yokomizo (US 20210120136 A1).
Hayashi discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 2, wherein the container cover is opened during printing
Hayashi fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 2, when the container cover is opened during printing, the controller executes a notification process for notifying a user of the opening
However, Yokomizo discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 2, when the container cover is opened during printing, the controller executes a notification process for notifying a user of the opening (Paragraphs [0038] and [0062]-[0063] describes how the “CPU 3201”, when notified by the “detection sensor 1029” when the “front cover 231” is opened, displays a screen indicating that the cover is opened.).
Hayashi and Yokomizo are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming apparatus taught by Hayashi to also apply when the container cover is opened during printing, the controller executes a notification process for notifying a user of the opening taught by Yokomizo. This would have been done for the purpose of notifying the user if the cover is open (Yokomizo, paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 20200391515 A1) in view of Tadaki (JP 2007301933 A).
Hayashi discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 5, wherein there is a controller (“control device 11”, Figure 2)
Hayashi fails to disclose the following limitations:
Regarding claim 5, wherein the controller prioritizes a recording agent container with the shortest period until its use expiration date or a recording agent container with the least remaining amount of recording agent among the plurality of recording agent containers that contain recording agents of the same color, and uses the prioritized recording agent container for printing.
However, Tadaki discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claim 5, wherein the controller prioritizes a recording agent container with the shortest period until its use expiration date or a recording agent container with the least remaining amount of recording agent among the plurality of recording agent containers that contain recording agents of the same color, and uses the prioritized recording agent container for printing. (Paragraph [0014] describes how the manufacturing date information of the “ink tanks”, all the same color, are read by the CPU and how when one ink tank is about to expire, the ink in that specific ink tank is prioritized and used first.)
Hayashi and Tadaki are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming apparatus taught by Hayashi to also apply wherein the controller prioritizes a recording agent container with the shortest period until its use expiration date or a recording agent container with the least remaining amount of recording agent among the plurality of recording agent containers that contain recording agents of the same color, and uses the prioritized recording agent container for printing taught by Tadaki. This would have been done for the purpose of not wasting ink (Tadaki, paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Acting Supervisory Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2853