DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2025 is being considered by the Examiner.
Disposition of the Claims
4. The instant application was effectively filed on May 14, 2024, wherein claims 1-8 and 13-16 are currently pending and claims 9-12 are withdrawn based on restriction/election requirement dated 12/17/2025.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. “calculation means for acquiring….”, “display control means for performing….”, “calculation means calculate the focal ratio….”, “display control means displays ….”, “display order determination means for determining….”, “selection means for selecting….”, “acquisition means for estimating….” And “focal calculation means for calculating….”
Furthermore, of all claim limitations as listed above which invokes 112(f), structural support is provided as detailed in Applicants specification disclosure.
see FIG. 4; all claimed “MEANS” as listed above corresponds to one or more processors as discussed in Para. [0118].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng et al. US PG-PUB 20230319401 A1 (hereinafter Feng).
Regarding claim 1, Feng teaches An image processing device (Para. [0045], [0065], [0068], [0072], [0091]; image capturing system such as camera) comprising: calculation means for acquiring information including a defocus range of a captured image from storage means in which information including the defocus range of the captured image is stored as incidental information of the captured image (Fig. 5 and Para. [0082]-[0083], [0085] and [0091]; defocus distance between each region corresponds to claimed defocus range; said defocus distance is stored in a lookup table), and calculating a focal ratio of the captured image based on the information including the defocus range (Fig. 5 and Para. [0071]-0091]; PSF estimation engine 560 may also receive optical information related to the second image, such as focal distance, focal ratio, the image capturing system 600 can determine a defocus distance between the first object 605 and the focal point 660 and a defocus distance between the second object 610 and the focal point 660. Using the defocus distances, image capturing system 600 can determine the PSF for each of the objects 605 and 610, as described above in FIG. 5); and display control means for performing display control of the captured image based on the focal ratio (Para. [0072]; When the image capturing system 200 is capturing the image, the image capturing system 200 may determine a focal ratio and then exposes an image sensor based on that focal ratio to generate an image. In some cases, the image capturing system 200 may control the focal ratio and display a snapshot or a preview image using a viewfinder. A user can perceive the viewfinder to operate the image capturing system 200 to focus on the correct subject of the image.).
Regarding claim 2, Feng teaches The image processing device according to claim 1, Feng further teaches wherein the defocus range of the captured image is a defocus range of an entire subject in the captured image, which is estimated using a defocus range estimation model (Fig. 5 and Para. [0071]-0091]; The PSF estimation engine 560 may receive the defocus distance values from the defocus distance engine 550 and look up a corresponding PSF 565 for each region 545 from the lookup table 562 based on each respective defocus distance. The lookup table 562 can be generated different mechanisms such as an iterative process or by training a machine learning model).
Regarding claim 3, Feng teaches The image processing device according to claim 1, Feng further teaches wherein the calculation means calculates the focal ratio according to the defocus range of the entire subject in the captured image (Fig. 5 and Para. [0072]; When the image capturing system 200 is capturing the image, the image capturing system 200 may determine a focal ratio and then exposes an image sensor based on that focal ratio to generate an image).
Regarding claim 4, Feng teaches The image processing device according to claim 1, Feng further teaches wherein the calculation means calculates the focal ratio based on the defocus range and a depth-of-field of the captured image (Para. [0071]-0091]; defocus distance and depth of field).
Regarding claim 5, Feng teaches The image processing device according to claim 1, Feng further teaches wherein the display control means displays the focal ratio on display means in association with the captured image (Para. [0072]; When the image capturing system 200 is capturing the image, the image capturing system 200 may determine a focal ratio and then exposes an image sensor based on that focal ratio to generate an image. In some cases, the image capturing system 200 may control the focal ratio and display a snapshot or a preview image using a viewfinder. A user can perceive the viewfinder to operate the image capturing system 200 to focus on the correct subject of the image.).
Regarding claim 13, Feng teaches An image processing method (Para. [0049], [0125]) comprising: acquiring information including a defocus range of a captured image from storage means in which information including the defocus range of the captured image is stored as incidental information of the captured image (Fig. 5 and Para. [0082]-[0083], [0085] and [0091]; defocus distance between each region corresponds to claimed defocus range; said defocus distance is stored in a lookup table), and calculating a focal ratio of the captured image based on the information including the defocus range (Fig. 5 and Para. [0071]-0091]; PSF estimation engine 560 may also receive optical information related to the second image, such as focal distance, focal ratio, the image capturing system 600 can determine a defocus distance between the first object 605 and the focal point 660 and a defocus distance between the second object 610 and the focal point 660. Using the defocus distances, image capturing system 600 can determine the PSF for each of the objects 605 and 610, as described above in FIG. 5); and performing display control of the captured image based on the calculated focal ratio (Para. [0072]; When the image capturing system 200 is capturing the image, the image capturing system 200 may determine a focal ratio and then exposes an image sensor based on that focal ratio to generate an image. In some cases, the image capturing system 200 may control the focal ratio and display a snapshot or a preview image using a viewfinder. A user can perceive the viewfinder to operate the image capturing system 200 to focus on the correct subject of the image).
Regarding claim 14, Feng teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Para. [0017], [0125]) configured to store a computer program comprising instructions for executing following processes: acquiring information including a defocus range of a captured image from storage means in which information including the defocus range of the captured image is stored as incidental information of the captured image (Fig. 5 and Para. [0082]-[0083], [0085] and [0091]; defocus distance between each region corresponds to claimed defocus range; said defocus distance is stored in a lookup table), and calculating a focal ratio of the captured image based on the information including the defocus range (Fig. 5 and Para. [0071]-0091]; PSF estimation engine 560 may also receive optical information related to the second image, such as focal distance, focal ratio, the image capturing system 600 can determine a defocus distance between the first object 605 and the focal point 660 and a defocus distance between the second object 610 and the focal point 660. Using the defocus distances, image capturing system 600 can determine the PSF for each of the objects 605 and 610, as described above in FIG. 5); and performing display control of the captured image based on the focal ratio (Para. [0072]; When the image capturing system 200 is capturing the image, the image capturing system 200 may determine a focal ratio and then exposes an image sensor based on that focal ratio to generate an image. In some cases, the image capturing system 200 may control the focal ratio and display a snapshot or a preview image using a viewfinder. A user can perceive the viewfinder to operate the image capturing system 200 to focus on the correct subject of the image).
Regarding claim 15, Feng teaches An image processing device (Para. [0045], [0065], [0068], [0072], [0091]; image capturing system such as camera) comprising: acquisition means for estimating a defocus range of a captured image and acquiring the estimated result as defocus range information (Fig. 5 and Para. [0071]-0091]; The PSF estimation engine 560 may receive the defocus distance values from the defocus distance engine 550 and look up a corresponding PSF 565 for each region 545 from the lookup table 562 based on each respective defocus distance. The lookup table 562 can be generated different mechanisms such as an iterative process or by training a machine learning model); and focal ratio calculation means for calculating a focal ratio of the captured image based on the defocus range information acquired by the acquisition means (Fig. 5 and Para. [0072]; When the image capturing system 200 is capturing the image, the image capturing system 200 may determine a focal ratio and then exposes an image sensor based on that focal ratio to generate an image).
Regarding claim 16, Feng teaches An image processing method (Para. [0049], [0125]) comprising: estimating a defocus range of a captured image and acquiring the estimated result as defocus range information (Fig. 5 and Para. [0071]-0091]; The PSF estimation engine 560 may receive the defocus distance values from the defocus distance engine 550 and look up a corresponding PSF 565 for each region 545 from the lookup table 562 based on each respective defocus distance. The lookup table 562 can be generated different mechanisms such as an iterative process or by training a machine learning model); and calculating a focal ratio of the captured image based on the defocus range information acquired in the acquisition process (Fig. 5 and Para. [0072]; When the image capturing system 200 is capturing the image, the image capturing system 200 may determine a focal ratio and then exposes an image sensor based on that focal ratio to generate an image).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AMY ONYEKABA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628