DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 15 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15 and 18 recites the limitation "and the encrypted snapshot downloaded…" in the first paragraph of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the new snapshot…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 –7 and 9 – 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiramshetti, (Shir), patent number: US 10 922 132 in view of Saad, publication number: US 2022/0083251.
As per claims 1, 15 and 18, Shir teaches a method, comprising:
downloading, to a target file system in a target region, an encrypted snapshot delta from an object storage of the target file system in the target region, the encrypted snapshot delta generated at a source file system of a source region (downloading encrypted snapshot deltas, col. 11, lines 51 - 65);
decrypting, by the target file system, the encrypted snapshot delta using a session encryption key (decrypting, col. 11, lines 51 - 65); and
applying the decrypted snapshot delta to a target snapshot of the target file system to create a new snapshot of the target file system (creating resources based on delta snapshots, col. 11, lines 51 - 65).
Shir does not teach downloading upon detection of at least some snapshot deltas from the source file system reaching the object storage before the source file system completes transmission of all of the snapshot deltas.
In an analogous art, Saad teaches downloading upon detection of at least some snapshot deltas from the source file system reaching the object storage before the source file system completes transmission of all of the snapshot deltas (downloading and restoring in parallel, [0010], backup being in discrete increments, [0012][0029][0039])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shir’s restoration system to include parallel restoration as described in Saad’s intelligent recovery system for the advantage of reduced downtime during recovery.
As per claims 2 and 16, the combination teaches wherein the encrypted snapshot comprises a difference between a first snapshot of the source file system and a second snapshot of the source file system (Shir: delta, col. 6, lines 53 – col. 7, line 5).
As per claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the new snapshot is a duplicate of the second snapshot (Shir: snapshot, col. 2, lines 17-31).
As per claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the encrypted snapshot delta is downloaded concurrently and asynchronously at a pace of the target file system (Saad: parallel download, [0039], accounting for bandwidth, [0013]).
As per claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the encrypted snapshot delta is encrypted using the session encryption key (Shir: encrypted, col. 2, lines 17 - 31).
As per claims 6 and 20, the combination teaches wherein the session encryption key is regenerated for each session (Shir: key, col. 2, lines 17 - 31).
As per claims 7 and 17, the combination teaches wherein a session starts in accordance with the second snapshot being created in the source file system, wherein the session ends in accordance with the new snapshot being created in the target file system (Saad: parallel download, [0039], accounting for bandwidth, [0013]).
As per claim 9, the combination teaches further comprising receiving the session encryption key from the source file system via a secured encryption process (Shir: key, col. 12, lines 60 – col. 13, line 6).
As per claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the encrypted snapshot delta is uploaded to the object store using a first upload thread of the source file system, wherein a second encrypted snapshot delta is uploaded to the object store using a second upload thread of the source file system, and wherein the first upload thread and the second upload thread operate in parallel (Saad: backup operations, [0010]).
As per claim 11, the combination teaches further comprising upon detecting a failure of the first upload thread of the source file system, continuing the uploading of the encrypted snapshot delta using a third upload thread of the source file system (Saad: parallel backup and recovery, [0010]).
As per claim 12, the combination teaches wherein the encrypted snapshot delta is downloaded using a first download thread of the target file system, wherein a second encrypted snapshot delta is downloaded using a second download thread of the target file system, and wherein the first download thread and the second download thread operate in parallel (Saad: recovery, [0012]).
As per claim 13, the combination teaches further comprising reversing roles of the source file system and the target file system (Saad: backup and recovery, [0010]).
As per claim 14, the combination teaches wherein reversing the roles comprises uploading new snapshot deltas from the target file system to a second object storage located in the source region and downloading the new snapshot deltas from the second object storage to the source file system (Saad: backup and recovery, [0010]).
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiramshetti (Shir), patent number: US 10 922 132 in view of Saad, publication number: US 2022/0083251 in further view of Wang, publication number: US 2022/0121365.
As per claims 8 and 19, the combination of Shir and Saad teach backing up and restoring data using encrypted deltas.
The combination does not teach wherein the differences between the first snapshot and the second snapshot comprise binary-tree (B-tree) keys and binary-tree (B-tree) values, and associated file data.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the differences between the first snapshot and the second snapshot comprise binary-tree (B-tree) keys and binary-tree (B-tree) values, and associated file data (B-tree mapping and key value pairs and metadata, [0119][0026][0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination of Shir and Saad to include comparing binary tree key value pairs as described in Wang’s snapshot storage system for the advantage of quick access during recover process.
Conclusion
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494