DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5, 7-31 are now pending of record in that claims 1, 3, 7, 15 and 29 are unelected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 8-9, 18-27, 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Fukunaga (JPH462750).
In an alternatively, claim(s) 2, 4-5, 8-9, 18-27, 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaga (JPH462750) in view of Althues et al (WO2018210723) or Michell et al (US 7295423).
Fukunaga discloses the claimed method of manufacturing a double-sided dry electrode for an energy storage device, comprising:
forming a first film 2’ from a first dry electrode material 1 (see Fig. 2 as reproduced below);
transferring the first film 2’ to a first calendering location (at location between A and B, see Fig. 2);
calendering the first film 2’ at the first calendering location between A and B to form a first compacted film 2 (see Fig. 2);
transferring the first compacted film 2 to a first compressing location (see between E and F rollers of Fig. 1);
compressing the first compacted film at the first compressing location to form a first dry electrode film 2 (see Fig. 2, after exit roller A and B);
forming a second film 2’ from a second dry electrode material 1 (see Fig. 2, after enter I and J location);
transferring the second film 2’ to a second calendering location (see Fig. 2, location between entry point of C and D);
calendering the second film 2’at the second calendering location (e.g., entry point between C and D) to form a second compacted film 2 (see Fig. 2);
transferring the second compacted film 2 to a second compressing location (between C and D);
compressing the second compacted film 2 at the second compressing location to form a second dry electrode film (see Fig. 2);
laminating the first dry electrode film 2 to a first side of a current collector 4; and
laminating the second dry electrode film 2 to a second side of the current collector 4 (see Fig. 2);
wherein the current collector laminated with the first dry electrode film and the second dry electrode film forms the double-sided dry electrode 4 (see Figs. 2-3, respectively).
Therefore, the above process associated with the roller system is met by the Fukunaga alone.
If it is argued that the Fukunaga does not teach the specific of “wherein the current collector laminated with the first dry electrode film and the second dry electrode film forms the double-sided dry electrode 4” then applicant refer to either of Althues et al or Michell et al for such material configurations above (see Fig. 2 of Althues or discussion under col. 8, lines 5-23 of the Mitchell for discloses of double sided dry electrodes). Therefore, an ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to employ the welly known dry electrode materials associated with the forming double dry electrodes as taught by the Mitchell onto invention of Fukunaga in order to facilitate the fabrication process the motivation for the combination can be obtained from Mitchell (see Althues under the description lines 1-2 or Mitchell, about col. 4, lines 15-20).
As applied to claim 31, that claim 31 is clearly anticipated by the Fukunaga refers to Fig. 3 and similar discussion as set forth in claim 2 above, since claim 31 is a broadly version of claim 2.
The modified Fukunaga /Althues et al further discloses, regarding,
Claim 4, wherein at least one of the first dry electrode material and the second dry electrode material is in a powder (see discussed under the description lines 1-2 for the teachings of the first and the second electrodes is in powder mixture).
Limitations of claims 5, 8-9 is/are also met by the modified Fukunaga/Althues (see Fig. 2 of either reference which depicts that at least one of the first compacted film 2, the second compacted film 2, the first dry electrode film, and the second dry electrode film is self- supporting, respectively).
Limitations of claims 10-14 is/are also met by the Fukunaga (see Fig. 2, which depicts such density configuration as well as curvature configurations as set forth in these claims where a density of the second compacted film is less than a density of the second dry electrode film because the second dry electrode film has been compression twice thus the density of a second compacted film is less than a density of the second dry electrode film (see process of Fig. 2 of the Fukunaga).
As per claim 14, refer to Fig. 2 of the Fukunaga et al for such teaching of wherein a radius of curvature of the first compacted film 2’ is less than a radius of curvature of the first dry electrode film 2 since the roller set G and H has smaller radius than the set of A and B roller as discloses by the Fukunaga et al.
Similar to claim 14 above applied to claim 16 (see Fig. 2 of the Fukunaga as compare rollers I and J versus rollers C and D, respectively.
Limitations of claims 18-26 is/are also met by the process as disclosed by the Fukunaga, since no further inventive method features existed in the above claims (see various embodiment process e.g., Figs. 1-3 of the Fukunaga which depicts the lamination process includes that as in above claim where the laminating the first electrode film 2 to the first side of the current collector 3 occurs simultaneously with the laminating the second electrode film 2 to the second side of the current collector 3 in a simultaneously matters.
As applied to claims 27-28, 30, refers to Fig. 3 of the Fukunaga for the teaching of compressing the first compacted film comprises iteratively compressing the first compacted film (see Fig. 3, and that as in claim 28 where the first compacted film at least a second time, respectively through at least 3 pairs set of rollers).
Conclusion
/MINH N TRINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729 mt