DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Chou, US 2013/0247336 A1. Chou discloses a connector (1) for a ball chain (21). The connector (1) comprising an arcuate bottom portion (see annotated figure 3) having a first end (at 101), a second end (at 103) opposite the first end, and a longitudinal centerline axis extending from the first end to the second end (see annotated figure 2). Chou’s connector has a plurality of ears comprising a first ear extending from the arcuate bottom portion and inward towards the longitudinal centerline axis and a second ear extending from the arcuate bottom portion, opposite the first ear laterally across the longitudinal centerline axis, wherein, with the connector in a secured configuration, the second ear overlaps the first ear to secure a first ball of the ball chain.
Regarding claim 23, one end of the connector has the first and second ears and the other end of the connector has the third and fourth ears (see annotated drawing figure 3 showing the first and second ear which are identical to the third and fourth ears on the other end of the connector).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou, US 2013/0247336 A1.
Regarding claim 24, Chou fails to disclose the claimed width of the connector being about .25 inches. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that bead chain connectors come in a variety of sizes depending on the use of the bead chains. And, that it is known to make these connectors with a width of about .25 inches. Furthermore, the specification fails to disclose any criticality associated with the width of the connector being about .25 inches. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make Chou’s connector with a width of about .25 inches to ensure the proper functioning of the connector in the environment it is to be used in.
Regarding claim 25, Chou fails to disclose the claimed first and second balls be of a size in a range of .15-.38 inches. However, the examiner takes official notice of the fact that bead chains and their ball sizes come in a variety of diameters depending on the use of the bead chains. And, that it is known to make these bead chains with a ball size in the range of .15-.38 inches. Furthermore, the specification fails to disclose any criticality associated with the size of the balls. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make Chou’s connector with a ball size with a diameter in the range of .15-.38 inches to ensure the proper functioning of the bead chain in the environment it is to be used in.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed. None of the prior art disclose a connector for a ball chain where the connector comprises an arcuate bottom portion having a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a longitudinal centerline axis extending from the first end to the second end, and a plurality of ears. The plurality of ears comprising a first ear extending from the arcuate bottom portion and inward towards the longitudinal centerline axis and a second ear extending from the arcuate bottom portion, opposite the first ear laterally across the longitudinal centerline axis. The connector has a plurality of configurations:
a first, unsecured configuration in which the first ear extends from the arcuate bottom portion inward towards the longitudinal centerline axis and the second ear extends from the arcuate bottom portion substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal centerline axis
a second, secured configuration in which the second ear is folded inward towards the first ear and the longitudinal centerline axis in order to overlap the first ear to secure a ball of the ball chain to the connector by the second ear overlapping the first ear in the secured configuration.
Claims 22 and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Greene discloses a ball chain connector having a tubular body with a central aperture sized for passage of the end ball of a ball chain therethrough, an aperture at each end of the connector body, and a slit connecting each end aperture to said central aperture for the insertion of a chain and ball into each end of the tubular body. A bendable tongue is formed integrally with one longitudinal edge of the central aperture, the tongue being normally in an upstanding position to clear the central aperture for insertion of the chain end balls therein, and being depressible after insertion of said balls, to a blocking position, in which it extends across the central aperture and prevents the inserted balls from being accidentally released therethrough.
Taubner discloses a beaded type chain connector includes an external shell and an internal cavity to secure beads from beaded type chains. The connector is made from a resilient material. The application of force to the beads that are secured within the connector results in the release of beads from the internal cavity when the force exceeds a threshold. The connector can be used as part of a safety device.
Hall discloses an ornamental bead chain with its ends connected by the usual snap connector.
Goodridge discloses a chain attachment for facilitating the adjustment of the length of the pull chains commonly used in connection with the pull switches of electric lamp sockets.
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677