Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,316,701. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent contains all the elements and/or equivalent elements of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220255839 to Dhanabalan.
Regarding claim 1, Dhanabalan teaches a device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
receiving network information comprising network topology information enabling determining a distance among a group of endpoint devices (¶ 2, 23-28, 97, 111, receiving topology information for determining distances among endpoints), ;
receiving user equipment information comprising a location of a user equipment (¶ 23-28, 97, 111, location of UEs);
measuring a latency between the user equipment and a first endpoint device of the group of endpoint devices resulting in a measured latency (¶ 3, 23-25, measurement of latency between devices);
adjusting the network topology information based on the measured latency and the distance among the group of endpoint devices resulting in an adjusted network topology (¶ 29, adjusting ranking of connections based on measured latency); and
selecting a second endpoint device from the group of endpoint devices based on the adjusted network topology (¶ 28, 97, 111, selection of endpoint devices to reduce latency).
Regarding claim 11,
Dhanabalan teaches:
wherein the device comprises a service provider device (¶ 3-4, 28, 97, 111, service provision devices).
Regarding claim 12, Dhanabalan teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving network information comprising network topology information enabling determining a distance among a group of endpoint devices (¶ 2, 23-28, 97, 111, receiving topology information for determining distances among endpoints);
receiving user equipment information comprising a location of a user equipment; measuring a latency between the user equipment and a first endpoint device of the group of endpoint devices resulting in a measured latency (¶ 3, 23-25, receiving information; measurement of latency between devices);
adjusting the network topology information based on the measured latency and the distance among the group of endpoint devices resulting in and adjusted network topology (¶ 29, adjusting ranking of connections based on measured latency);
determining whether each of the group of endpoint devices includes an instance of a service resulting in a first determination (¶ 23-24, determining network service between devices; ¶ 23-28, 97, 111, latency determination); and
selecting a second endpoint device from the group of endpoint devices based on the adjusted network topology, and based on the first determination (¶ 28, 97, 111, selection of endpoint devices to reduce latency).
Regarding claim 20, Dhanabalan teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processing system including a processor, network information comprising network topology information enabling determining a distance among a group of endpoint devices (¶ 2, 23-28, 97, 111, receiving topology information for determining distances among endpoints);
receiving, by the processing system, user equipment information comprising a location of a user equipment; measuring, by the processing system, a latency between the user equipment and a first endpoint device of the group of endpoint devices resulting in a measured latency (¶ 3, 23-25, receiving information; measurement of latency between devices);
adjusting, by the processing system, the network topology information based on the measured latency and the distance among the group of endpoint devices resulting in an adjusted network topology (¶ 29, adjusting ranking of connections based on measured latency);
determining, by the processing system, whether each of the group of endpoint devices includes instance of a service resulting in a first determination (¶ 23-24, determining network service between devices; ¶ 23-28, 97, 111, latency determination);
determining, by the processing system, a latency between the user equipment and each of the group of endpoint devices resulting in a group of latencies (¶ 23-29); and
selecting, by the processing system, a second endpoint device from the group of endpoint devices based on the group of latencies between the user equipment and each of the group of endpoint devices, based on the adjusted network topology, and based on the first determination (¶ 28, 97, 111, selection of endpoint devices to reduce latency).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-10, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanabalan in view of US 20210112296 to Mehta.
Regarding claim 2, 13,
Dhanabalan fails to teach but Mehta teaches:
determining that the measured latency between the user equipment and the first endpoint device does not correspond to a topological distance between the user equipment and the first endpoint device resulting in a determination (¶ 18, latency due to geographic distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Mehta. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Mehta would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating latency reduction (Mehta, ¶ 18).
Regarding claim 3, 14,
Dhanabalan fails to teach but Mehta teaches:
based on the determination, converting the measured latency to a constructive topological distance associated with the user equipment and the first endpoint device (¶ 18, converting latency into constructive topological distance for data transmission management). Motivation to include Mehta is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 4, 15,
Dhanabalan teaches:
adjusting the network topology information based on the measured latency resulting in adjusted network topology information (¶ 29, adjusting ranking of connections based on measured latency);
Regarding claim 5, 16,
Mehta teaches:
wherein the adjusting of the network topology information comprises replacing the topological distance between with the user equipment and the first endpoint device with the constructive topological distance associated with the user equipment and the first endpoint device (¶ 18). Motivation to include Mehta is the same as presented above.
Regarding claim 6, 17,
Dhanabalan teaches:
ranking the endpoint devices according to a ranking rule related to location of the user equipment and topological distance between the endpoint devices based on the adjusted network topology information (¶ 28, 97, 111).
Regarding claim 7, 18,
Dhanabalan teaches:
enabling access to ranks of the ranking to enable selection of a second endpoint device of the endpoint devices based on the ranks (¶ 28, 97, 111, accessing rankings; endpoint device selection).
Regarding claim 8, 19,
Dhanabalan teaches:
wherein the selecting of the second endpoint device from the group of endpoint devices comprises selecting the second endpoint device based on the ranks (¶ 28, 97, 111, selection of endpoint devices to reduce latency; see also fig. 4, fig. 1B; fig. 2A, ¶ 81,).
Regarding claim 9,
Dhanabalan teaches:
wherein the selecting of the second endpoint device from the group of endpoint devices comprises selecting the second endpoint device on whether each of the group of endpoint devices includes an instance of a service (¶ 23-29, 97, 111, selection of device where devices include instance of network service).
Regarding claim 10,
Dhanabalan teaches:
wherein the selecting of the second endpoint device reduces latency in performing the service (¶ 23, 28, 97, 111).
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: WO 02/17110 A1 to Ahuja.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445