DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention III comprising claims 8-22 in the reply file on January 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on April 22, 2025 are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
Non-Functional Language:
Regarding claim 11:
The phrase “wherein the information includes at least one of a history and a projected history of physical transactions related to the natural resource” is non- functional descriptive material as it only describes the information. This phrase does not affect how the positively recited steps are performed nor does it provide an operational connection to the rest of the claim.
Regarding claim 12:
The phrase “wherein the information includes a projected production date.” is non- functional descriptive material as it only describes the information. This phrase does not affect how the positively recited steps are performed nor does it provide an operational connection to the rest of the claim.
Regarding claim 13:
The phrase “wherein the information includes completed physical steps associated with at least one of mining, production, harvest, concentration, refining, and transportation steps undergone by the natural resource” is non- functional descriptive material as it only describes the information. This phrase does not affect how the positively recited steps are performed nor does it provide an operational connection to the rest of the claim.
Regarding claim 14:
The phrase “wherein the information includes scheduled or estimated physical steps associated with at least one of mining, production, harvest, concentration, refining, transportation, and delivery steps to be performed pursuant to monetization of the natural resource” is non- functional descriptive material as it only describes the information. This phrase does not affect how the positively recited steps are performed nor does it provide an operational connection to the rest of the claim.
Regarding claim 16:
The phrase “wherein the NFT carries data corresponding to: at least one physical step corresponding to a future action indicated for economic monetization of the natural resource.” is non- functional descriptive material as it only describes the information. This phrase does not affect how the positively recited steps are performed nor does it provide an operational connection to the rest of the claim.
Regarding claim 17:
The phrase “wherein the NFT carries data corresponding to: at least one physical step corresponding to a completed action made pursuant to economic monetization of the natural resource.” is non- functional descriptive material as it only describes the information. This phrase does not affect how the positively recited steps are performed nor does it provide an operational connection to the rest of the claim.
Regarding claim 18: The phrase “produced from within defined metes and bounds of an owned, claimed, or leased rights holding.” is non-functional descriptive material. The phrase describes how a potential commodity material was produced. However, this phrase does not affect the positively recited steps of claim 8.
It has been held that non-functional descriptive material will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.
Examiner has provided prior art, where available, for these intended use and/or non-functional phrases/limitations, however, these phrases/limitations will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability. Accordingly, the prior art is only provided in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites and is directed to a judicial exception to patentability (i.e., an abstract idea) and does not provide an integration of the recited abstract idea into a practical application nor include an inventive concept that is “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea to which the claim is directed. MPEP §2106.
In determining subject matter eligibility in an Alice rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101, it is first determined as Step 1 whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of an invention (i.e., a process, a machine, a manufacture, or a composition of matter). MPEP §2106.03.
Here, the claims are directed to the statutory category of a method/process (Claims 8-22). Therefore, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong 1. MPEP §2106.
Under a Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis, it must be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within one or more enumerated categories of patent ineligible subject matter that amounts to a judicial exception to patentability. MPEP §2106.04. Independent Claim 8 is selected as being representative of the independent claims in the instant application. Claim 8 recites:
A computer method for obtaining an interest in a natural resource, comprising:
receiving, from a server computer via a network onto a local computing device, first data indicating an availability of a distributed ledger non-fungible token (NFT) representing an interest in a natural resource;
displaying, on an electronic display operatively coupled to the local computing device, a graphical user interface including a listing representing the NFT, and a transaction object for receiving a command from a user to purchase the NFT;
receiving, from the user via a user interface and the transaction object, a command to exchange a cryptographic currency quantity for the NFT;
transmitting second data corresponding to the command to exchange the cryptographic currency quantity for the NFT from the local device to the server computer via the network;
receiving, from the server computer via the network, third data indicating that the cryptographic currency quantity is transferred from and the NFT is transferred to one or more electronic wallets controlled by the user; and
causing the graphical user interface to display an updated balance carried by the one or more electronic wallets, the updated balance including a reduction in a cryptographic currency balance from the one or more electronic wallets and an addition of the NFT to the one or more electronic wallets;
wherein the NFT carries an electronic contract serving as proof of ownership of the interest in the natural resource.
Here, the claims recite an abstract idea, or combination of abstract ideas of facilitating the purchase of a digital asset representing an ownership interest. The claim achieves this by displaying a listing, receiving a command to purchase, exchanging currency and updating wallet balances. The claim achieves this by establishing communication with a terminal device, receiving, from the termina device a request comprising terminal data, generating an encrypted data exchange payload, validating the payload and receiving indication that the exchange was successfully completed. This concept/abstract idea, which is identified in the bolded sections seen above, falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping because it describes a commercial or legal interactions (e.g., a digital asset transaction).
Accordingly, it is determined that the claims recite an abstract idea since they fall within one or more of the three enumerated categories of patent ineligible subject matter. MPEP §2106.04.
Since it is determined that the claim(s) contain a judicial exception, it must then be determined, under Step 2A, Prong 2, whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of the exception. MPEP §2106.04. In order to make this determination, the additional element(s) are analyzed to determine if the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of that exception. Here claim 8 recite the additional element of a server computer, a network, a local computing device, a distributed ledger non-fungible token (NFT), an electronic display, a user interface and electronic wallets. These additional elements are all recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception, or a portion thereof, using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, Examiner finds no indication in the Specification, that the operations recited in the independent claims require any specialized computer hardware or other inventive computer components, i.e., a particular machine, invoke any allegedly inventive programming, or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. Furthermore, there is no indication in the claim(s) that the use of a server computer, a network, a local computing device, a distributed ledger non-fungible token (NFT), an electronic display, a user interface and electronic wallets in combination with the abstract idea leads to an improvement of the processor, memory, another technology, or to a technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Looking at the elements as a combination does not add anything more than the elements analyzed individually. Examiner further notes that even though the claims may not preempt all forms of the abstraction, this alone, does not make them any less abstract.
When analyzed under step 2B, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a generic computing component (e.g., a server computer, a network, a local computing device, a distributed ledger non-fungible token (NFT), an electronic display, a user interface and electronic wallets) to implement the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept or significantly more than the judicial exception. Considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements recited in the claim(s) add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately.
Therefore, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 and are not patent eligible. Dependent claims 9-22 when analyzed are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea.
Dependent claims 9 and 15 further refine the abstract idea by indicating that an information is request is received at the user interface, this request cause displaying data corresponding to the information related to the contract. These claims fail to include any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 10-14 further refine the abstract idea by describing the transaction object (i.e., is the information request) and further describing the information. These claims fail to include any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 16-17 further refine the abstract idea by describing the NFT. These claims fail to include any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 18 further refine the abstract idea by describing the data indicating the availability of the NFT. This claim fails to include any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 19 further refine the abstract idea by indicating that the balance is updated and displayed. This claim fails to include any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 20-21 further refine the abstract idea by receiving and causing display of data corresponding to the information related to the electronic contract includes receiving data fetched from a distributed file system and receiving data fetched from a FileCoin server. These claims fail to include any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 22 further refine the abstract idea by indicating that receiving and causing display of data corresponding to the information related to the electronic contract includes receiving data referenced from a distributed ledger transaction carrying an encrypted storage location; and fetching data from the storage location. This claim fails to include any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
In summary, the dependent claims considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas itself. The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Accordingly, it is determined that all claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 and are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiklof et al. U.S Patent Publication No. 2021/0241243 A1, hereinafter “Wiklof” in view of Wager et el. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0024818 A1, hereinafter “Wager”.
Regarding claim 8: Wiklof disclose: A computer method for obtaining an interest in a natural resource, comprising:
receiving, from a server computer via a network onto a local computing device, first data indicating an availability of a distributed ledger non-fungible token (NFT) representing an interest in [a proprietary rights asset] (See at least Wiklof, Fig. 5; [0083]; establish a user account for a proprietary rights exchange using a networked electronic device via a GUI provided by a server computer.)
displaying, on an electronic display operatively coupled to the local computing device, a graphical user interface including a listing representing the NFT, and a transaction object for receiving a command from a user to purchase the NFT; (See at least Wiklof, Fig. 5; [0006]; includes presenting a plurality of groups of proprietary rights assets as icons in a graphical user interface (GUI))
receiving, from the user via a user interface and the transaction object, a command to exchange a cryptographic currency quantity for the NFT; (See at least Wiklof, Fig. 5; [0005-0006]; [0127]; [0238] receiving a graphical selection of a particular proprietary rights asset from a user via the GUI; receiving a verified request from a user, via the GUI, to swap a cryptographic currency, a second proprietary rights asset blockchain token corresponding to a second proprietary rights asset token, or an exchange token for a proprietary rights asset blockchain token; In one embodiment, the graphical user interface 2402 includes a proceed button 2412.)
transmitting second data corresponding to the command to exchange the cryptographic currency quantity for the NFT from the local device to the server computer via the network; (See at least Wiklof, [0091-0092]; transmitting a command to a server computer to initiate a transaction to swap a cryptographic currency or exchange token for the offered proprietary rights asset 710.)
receiving, from the server computer via the network, third data indicating that the cryptographic currency quantity is transferred from and the NFT is transferred to one or more electronic wallets controlled by the user; and (See at least Wiklof, Fig. 6; Fig. 13; [0006]; [0010]; and making an indication of a change in proprietary rights asset balance in the user wallet via the GUI.)
causing the graphical user interface to display an updated balance carried by the one or more electronic wallets, the updated balance including a reduction in a cryptographic currency balance from the one or more electronic wallets and an addition of the NFT to the one or more electronic wallets; (See at least Wiklof, Fig. 7; Fig. 13; display the user cryptographic currency and blockchain token balance in the gui)
wherein the NFT carries an electronic contract serving as proof of ownership of the interest in [a proprietary rights asset]. (See at least Wiklof, Fig. 12; [0004] For example, he issued proprietary rights asset tokens and/or proprietary rights license tokens may carry a contract (e.g., a smart contract) corresponding to a binding contract, such as an assignment of rights, via the plurality of proprietary rights asset tokens, to a subsequently identified party or parties.)
Wiklof disclose verified request from a user, via the GUI, to swap a cryptographic currency, a second proprietary rights asset blockchain token corresponding to a second proprietary rights asset token, or an exchange token for a proprietary rights asset blockchain token; In one embodiment, the graphical user interface 2402 includes a proceed button 2412. Wiklof, [0127]; [0238]. Wiklof does not explicitly disclose that data corresponding to proof is data of natural resource rights.
Wager, on the other hand teaches that it was known in the art using tokens to assign rights to commodities (e.g., natural resources). (See at least Wager, [0029].)
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself, that is, in the substitution of the type of assets rights (e.g., proprietary rights, natural resource rights) the method(s) is/are performed on. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 8. The combination further disclose wherein displaying the graphical user interface on the electronic display includes displaying an information request object for receiving a command to display information related to the electronic contract serving as the proof of ownership of the interest in the natural resource; and (See at least Wiklof, [0061] The smart contract may include the commitment to sell at least a portion of the proprietary rights asset tokens at the committed bid price, according to an embodiment. Additionally or alternatively, displaying at least summary information about a proprietary rights asset from step 102 of FIG. 1 may include displaying a committed selling price. The smart contract may include the commitment to sell at least a portion of the proprietary rights asset tokens at the committed selling price, according to another embodiment.)
further comprising receiving and causing display of data corresponding to the information related to the electronic contract responsive to receiving actuation of the information request object and transmission of the activation to the server computer. (See at least Wiklof, [0061] The smart contract may include the commitment to sell at least a portion of the proprietary rights asset tokens at the committed bid price, according to an embodiment. Additionally or alternatively, displaying at least summary information about a proprietary rights asset from step 102 of FIG. 1 may include displaying a committed selling price. The smart contract may include the commitment to sell at least a portion of the proprietary rights asset tokens at the committed selling price, according to another embodiment.)
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination further disclose wherein the transaction object and the information request object are the same object. (See at least Wiklof, [0237] the graphical user interface 2402 includes a proceed button 2412.)
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination further disclose wherein receiving and causing display of data corresponding to the information related to the electronic contract responsive to receiving actuation of the information request object and transmission of the activation to the server computer includes receiving information read from the NFT. (See at least Wiklof, Abs.; Fig. 13; display, on a GUI, the enforcement funding corresponding to a token or the population of tokens.)
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 8. The combination further disclose wherein the NFT carries data corresponding to: at least one physical step corresponding to a future action indicated for economic monetization of the natural resource. (See at least Wiklof, [0124] According to an embodiment, step 1206 includes displaying an allocation of funds received in exchange for the proprietary rights asset blockchain token, including an allocation for possible future enforcement of IP rights corresponding to the proprietary rights asset.)
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 8. The combination further disclose; wherein the NFT carries data corresponding to: at least one physical step corresponding to a completed action made pursuant to economic monetization of the natural resource. (See at least Wiklof, [0124] According to an embodiment, step 1206 includes displaying an allocation of funds received in exchange for the proprietary rights asset blockchain token, including an allocation for possible future enforcement of IP rights corresponding to the proprietary rights asset.)
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the method of claim 8. The combination further disclose wherein receiving the first data indicating the availability of the distributed ledger non-fungible token includes receiving data indicating the availability of the distributed ledger nonfungible token representing a fractional value of at least a potential commodity material produced from within defined metes and bounds of an owned, claimed, or leased rights holding. (See at least Wiklof, [0115]; may include offering a fractional interest in the proprietary rights asset if the user credential meets the credential requirement, via the user interface. The fractional interest may include a fractional ownership interest or a fractional economic interest.)
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiklof and Wager as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2019/0354967A1).
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination does not explicitly disclose, However Lee teaches; wherein the information includes at least one of a history and a projected history of physical transactions related to the natural resource. (See at least Lee, [0136] The processor 250 performs an operation corresponding to the contract condition for the smart contract searched by the decentralized application 120 in accordance with the request of the user and displays the interface screen representing information on the fulfilled contract history or the fulfilled contract result.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wiklof and include Lee’s teachings in order to allow users to evaluate the natural resource.
Regarding claim 12: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 11. The combination do not explicitly disclose; however Lee teaches wherein the information includes a projected production date. (See at least Lee, [0136] The processor 250 performs an operation corresponding to the contract condition for the smart contract searched by the decentralized application 120 in accordance with the request of the user and displays the interface screen representing information on the fulfilled contract history or the fulfilled contract result.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wiklof and include Lee’s teachings in order to allow users to evaluate the natural resource.
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination do not explicitly disclose, However Lee teaches, wherein the information includes completed physical steps associated with at least one of mining, production, harvest, concentration, refining, and transportation steps undergone by the natural resource. (See at least Lee, [0136] The processor 250 performs an operation corresponding to the contract condition for the smart contract searched by the decentralized application 120 in accordance with the request of the user and displays the interface screen representing information on the fulfilled contract history or the fulfilled contract result.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wiklof and include Lee’s teachings in order to allow users to evaluate the natural resource.
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination do not explicitly disclose, However Lee teaches wherein the information includes scheduled or estimated physical steps associated with at least one of mining, production, harvest, concentration, refining, transportation, and delivery steps to be performed pursuant to monetization of the natural resource. (See at least Lee, [0136] The processor 250 performs an operation corresponding to the contract condition for the smart contract searched by the decentralized application 120 in accordance with the request of the user and displays the interface screen representing information on the fulfilled contract history or the fulfilled contract result.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wiklof and include Lee’s teachings in order to allow users to evaluate the natural resource.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiklof as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hoersten (US 20190305943 A1).
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 8. The combination further disclose wherein causing the graphical user interface to display an updated balance carried by the at least one electronic wallet (See at least Wiklof, Fig 6; [0006]; [0090]; indicate a change in cryptographic currency balance in the GUI; includes making an indication 706 of a change in proprietary rights asset token balance in the user wallet via the GUI, according to an embodiment.)
The combination do not explicitly disclose, however Hoersten, on the other hand teaches includes displaying at least partial content of a hierarchical deterministic (HD) wallet. (See at least Hoersten [0041] addition to the display screen (800 in FIGS. 8 and 900 in FIG. 9, respectively), the computing devices may comprise one or more processors, memory registers, network interface controllers, and an application (e.g., a deterministic wallet application) and transmission component (e.g., email, text, or other application or way for transmitting or communicating information that is coextensive with the processor) for communicating the extended public key.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Hoersten’s teachings in order to ensure accuracy, security, and user experience.
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiklof as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hoersten (US 2019/0317936 A1).
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination do not explicitly disclose; however Keskar teaches; wherein receiving and causing display of data corresponding to the information related to the electronic contract includes receiving data fetched from a distributed file system. (See at least Keskar, Abs.; [0038]; [0053] Each of the plurality of blockchains is configured for a communication with the distributed file system storage using the one or more standard method calls of the default system smart contract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Keskar’s teachings in order to offer superior reliability, scalability, and speed.
Regarding claim 21: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination do not explicitly disclose; however Keskar teaches wherein receiving and causing display of data corresponding to the information related to the electronic contract includes receiving data fetched from a FileCoin server. (See at least Keskar, Abs.; [0038]; [0053] Each of the plurality of blockchains is configured for a communication with the distributed file system storage using the one or more standard method calls of the default system smart contract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Keskar’s teachings in order to offer superior reliability, scalability, and speed.
Regarding claim 22: The combination of Wiklof and Wager disclose the computer method according to claim 9. The combination do not explicitly disclose; however Keskar teaches wherein receiving and causing display of data corresponding to the information related to the electronic contract includes receiving data referenced from a distributed ledger transaction carrying an encrypted storage location; and fetching data from the storage location. (See at least Keskar, Abs.; [0038]; [0053] Each of the plurality of blockchains is configured for a communication with the distributed file system storage using the one or more standard method calls of the default system smart contract; Prior to writing an information on the distributed file storage system, each of the plurality of blockchains uses its private key to encrypt the information. This ensures the information is always stored in secure form on the distributed file storage system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Keskar’s teachings in order to offer superior reliability, scalability, and speed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cella (US 20220198562 A1)The extent of the rights including access, licensing, ownership and/or other suitable rights associated with the NFT may be specified by the knowledge provider in the smart contract. For example, a patent assignee may mint a patent NFT with complete ownership rights including the right to sue for infringement. Further, NFTs may be coded to contain exhaustive, publicly verifiable metadata and data about transaction history. [0354]
Blaikie (US 20220309542 A1)A unique improvement is provided around the NFT creation and minting process when an inaudible tone or signal is embedded into a virtual item providing an additional indicator of item authenticity and validity that may be used to license, track or limit usage of an NFT once it has been purchased. In this example the tone is unique to the NFT and cannot be replicated outside of the single use tone or modifiable tone assigned to each NFT. The precious asset may represent any number of virtual or physical assets or items that are valuable, collectible, or have monetary, intrinsic, or sentimental value. The precious asset may also represent crude, raw, processed/refined, or other land, crops, natural resources (e.g., gold, gems, metal, rare earth elements or materials, etc.), mined or unmined precious metals or gems or other materials or items. In some instances, the item is additionally documented with an RFID, tone, inaudible tone, chip, sticker, or other additional tracking device which may be used to provide additional authenticity and item verification. [0176]; [0202].
/K.G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/EDUARDO CASTILHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3698