DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-20 are presented.
Claim 7 remains withdrawn.
The present Office action treats claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-15, and 17-20 on the merits.
The present Office action is a non-final rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks of 07/07/2026 are fully considered.
Regarding Claim Objections: Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically: upon review of the amendment of 07/07/2026 and Applicant’s remarks of 07/07/2026, and upon further review of the disclosure as filed, the claim objection as applied in the previous Office action is overcome.
Regarding Claim Rejections-35 U.S.C. §103: Applicant’s arguments are Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Vizy, US 6,023,857, newly cited] in view of [Sato, US 2019/0090583, previously cited], [Hurd, US 2020/0375307, previously cited], and [Falken, US 2019/0351592, previously cited].
Regarding claim 1:
Vizy discloses:
A method for manufacturing an aftermarket insole 26 insertable onto a sole 22 of or in a shoe 20, comprising:
providing a base (see annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below) having a shape for insertion onto the sole of or in the shoe (col. 4 lines 5-12; Figs. 3-8), the base including a lower surface (see annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below), an upper surface (see annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below) opposite the lower surface, and at least one cavity (that which receives 27; this cavity is visible in Figs. 3 and 6 – a below but is not identified with a callout for the sake of clarity) extending inward from the lower surface over only a part of the lower surface (i.e. the part of the lower surface where cavity receives 27) such that over a remaining part of the lower surface (i.e. the part of the lower surface that is outside the cavity that receives 27) the lower surface is a lowermost surface of the insole (as in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below), the at least one cavity being defined in part by a downward-facing surface (see annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below) recessed inward of the lower surface of the base,
the step of providing the base comprising forming each of the at least one cavity extending inward from the lower surface of the base while maintaining the upper surface of the base without cavities such that there are no cavities extending inward from the upper surface of the base (as in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below);
arranging a respective fluid cushion (i.e. “fluid filled bladder” of “resilient member 27”; col. 4 lines 1-2) at least partly in each of the at least one cavity (as in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below) to be peripherally surrounded by the base (as in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – a below),
whereby after the respective fluid cushion is arranged at least partly in each of the least one cavity, the aftermarket insole is then insertable onto the sole of or in the shoe (col. 1 lines 47-55; col. 3 lines 12-13; col. 3 lines 58-60; col. 4 lines 5-14; claim 6).
Vizy does not expressly disclose attaching a mesh to the upper surface of the base and which includes an upper surface that forms an uppermost surface of the insole;
whereby after the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base and the respective fluid cushion is arranged at least partly in each of the least one cavity, the aftermarket insole is then insertable onto the sole of or in the shoe.
However, Sato teaches (Fig. 6) a mesh 2b that opposes a base 3 such that it includes an upper surface that forms an uppermost surface of an insole (the insole being the combined 3 and 2b; Fig. 6). In Sato, the layer is contacting and therefore attached to the upper surface of base 3 (Fig. 6). Sato teaches the layer is “a flexible mesh fabric” and is suitable for “transferring the reaction force” between the wearer’s foot and the base structure underlying the layer (para 52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the method of Vizy such that it comprises a step of attaching a mesh to the upper surface of the base and which includes an upper surface that forms an uppermost surface of the insole, in the same manner that Sato’s mesh attached to the upper surface of its base, in order to yield a method for manufacturing an insole wherein the mesh is configured to transfer forces between foot and the cushion and also between the foot and the base, as suggested by Sato (para 52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that whereby after the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base and the respective fluid cushion is arranged at least partly in each of the least one cavity, the aftermarket insole is then insertable onto the sole of or in the shoe in order to preserve the capability of insole removability and replaceability, as described in Vizy col. 1 lines 48-55, after mesh attachment.
Vizy does not expressly disclose arranging a respective air cushion at least partly in each of the at least one cavity to be peripherally surrounded by the base, each respective air cushion including a sealing structure and lightweight foam pieces held in the at least one cavity by the sealing structure such that when in each of the at least one cavity, the respective air cushion defines part of the lowermost surface of the insole, the sealing structure comprising a membrane under the foam pieces;
attaching the membrane of each of the respective air cushions to the base around a periphery of the respective one of at least one cavity such that the lowermost surface of the insole is provided by a combination of a lower surface of the membrane of each of the respective air cushion and the lower surface of the base
whereby after the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base and the respective air cushion is arranged at least partly in each of the least one cavity, the aftermarket insole is then insertable onto the sole of or in the shoe.
As stated above, Vizy discloses the cushion is a fluid cushion and is silent as to whether said fluid is air, and is silent as to the specific structural elements(s) of said fluid cushion and how the surface(s) of any specific element(s) thereof is/are arranged.
And in further view of Vizy: Vizy teaches the “resilient member 27” comprising the fluid cushion “may be made of a material that exhibits characteristics of cushionability and support that are different from the rest of” the insole 26 (col. 3 lines 64-66)
However, Hurd teaches a method for manufacturing an insole 32, 36, 38 (i.e. the combined 32, 36, and 38) comprising providing a base 32 including a lower surface 60, an upper surface 58 opposite the lower surface, and at least one cavity 56 extending inward from the lower surface over only part of the lower surface (Figs. 3-5) such that over a remaining part of the lower surface, the lower surface is a lowermost surface of the insole (Figs. 3 and 6), the at least one cavity being defined in part by a downward-facing surface recessed inward of the lower surface 60 of the base (Figs. 3 and 6); arranging (“received within...cavit[y]”; para 109) a respective air (“air”; para 110; para 111) cushion 36 at least partly in each of the at least one cavity 56 to be peripherally surrounded by the base (Figs. 3-6), each respective air cushion including a sealing structure (the combined 68 and 70) and foam (“foam”; para 113) pieces 66 held in the at least one cavity (Figs. 3-5) by the sealing structure (para 109; Fig. 6) such that when in each of the at least one cavity, the respective air cushion 36 defines part of the lowermost surface of the insole (Figs. 2 and 6; para 112), wherein the sealing structure comprises a membrane 68, 70 (i.e. the combined 68 and 70) under the foam pieces (as in Fig. 6 wherein 70 is below foam pieces 66 as oriented in Fig. 6); and attaching (via locating it within the cavity; para 112; Fig. 6) the membrane to the base around a periphery of the respective one of at least one cavity (Fig. 6) such that the lowermost surface of the insole is provided by a combination of a lower surface of the membrane and the lower surface of the base (Figs. 2 and 6; para 112).
Hurd further teaches the cushion 36 is a “cushioning member 36” (para 109) “received within” cavity 56 “to provide a degree of cushioning during use” (para 109) whereby the foam pieces 66 are “used to enhance the functionality and cushioning characteristics that the material of the” insole provides (para 113); “Maintaining the barrier members 64 and, thus, the associated particulate matter 66 in a desired position relative to the midsole 32 and within the plurality of first cavities 54 and the plurality of second cavities 56 provides the midsole 32 and, thus, the article of footwear 10 with enhanced cushioning. Further, because the particulate matter 66 is free to move relative to and within each barrier member 64, the particulate matter 66 provides a degree of responsive and adaptive cushioning. For example, if during use of the article of footwear 10, forces are applied at the forefoot portion 66 during a running movement, downward forces imparted on the midsole 32 and, thus, the particulate matter 66 may cause the particulate matter 66 to move and shift around a user's foot, thereby providing adaptive and responsive cushioning during use of the article of footwear 10”; para 115.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its step of arranging the respective fluid cushion is a step of arranging a respective air cushion at least partly in each of the at least one cavity to be peripherally surrounded by the base, each respective air cushion including a sealing structure and foam pieces held in the at least one cavity by the sealing structure such that when in each of the at least one cavity, the respective air cushion defines part of the lowermost surface of the insole, the sealing structure comprising a membrane under the foam pieces; and further comprising a step of attaching the membrane of each of the respective air cushions to the base around a periphery of the respective one of at least one cavity such that the lowermost surface of the insole is provided by a combination of a lower surface of the membrane of each of the respective air cushion and the lower surface of the base in order to yield a method that results in an insole that is capable of providing adaptive and responsive cushioning during use, as suggested by Hurd (para 115)
Although the modified Vizy teaches foam pieces held in the at least one cavity by the sealing structure, the modified Vizy does not expressly disclose the foam pieces are lightweight foam pieces held in the at least one cavity by the sealing structure.
However, and in further view of Hurd: Hurd as embodied in para 6 teaches shoe sole foams “may vary in density” and that selection of an appropriate shoe sole foam will influence the physical properties of the sole. Therefore Hurd at least suggests shoe sole foam density can be optimized so as to achieve desired shoe sole properties.
Nevertheless, Falken teaches, in relation to shoe sole cushioning (para 14; Fig. 1), a material of construction that is a lightweight foam: “a lightweighted foam can be achieved. This is good for product applications that require a lightweight foam, such as in cushioning, footwear foams” (para 123).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its step of arranging a respective air cushion includes each respective air cushion including lightweight foam pieces held in the at least one cavity in order to yield a method that provides good cushioning to the cushion and insole, as suggested by Falken (para 123).
Lastly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that whereby after the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base and the respective air cushion is arranged at least partly in each of the least one cavity, the aftermarket insole is then insertable onto the sole of or in the shoe in order to preserve the capability of insole removability and replaceability, as described in Vizy col. 1 lines 48-55, after air cushion arrangement.
Regarding claim 3:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy 6 does not expressly disclose wherein the step of arranging a respective air cushion in each of the at least one cavity comprises placing foam pieces into the respective cavity and then sealing a membrane to the base around the respective cavity to form the sealing structure.
However and in further view of Hurd:
Hurd as embodied in Figs. 14-15 teaches a step of arranging a respective air cushion in a respective cavity comprises placing foam pieces 66 into the respective cavity 56b (“66 is inserted directly into...cavity 56 b”; para 129) and then sealing a membrane 78 to a base 32b around the respective cavity to form a sealing structure (“Once...66 is received within...cavity 56 b,” sealing membrane “78...attached to...surface 60 b...to retain” foam pieces “66 within the respective cavit[y]...56 b”; para 131).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its step of arranging a respective air cushion in each of the at least one cavity comprises placing foam pieces into the respective cavity and then sealing a membrane to the base around the respective cavity to form the sealing structure in order to yield a method that yields an insole whose foam pieces are securely held within the respective cavity. One of ordinary skill would expect the modified method to yield an insole having securely held foam pieces based on the teachings of Hurd in relation to Hurd Figs. 14-15.
Regarding claim 4:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 3, as set forth above.
The modified Vizy as applied to claim 3 above does not meet the limitation wherein the membrane is sealed to surfaces of the base around the respective cavity by glue.
However and in further view of Hurd:
Hurd teaches “Once...66 is received within...cavity 56 b,” sealing membrane “78...attached to...surface 60 b via an adhesive...to retain” foam pieces “66 within the respective cavit[y]...56 b” (para 131) such that Hurd teaches the membrane sealed to a surface of the base by glue. Hurd is silent as to whether or not membrane is sealed to plural surfaces of the base; however, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the objective of retaining foam pieces within the cavity would be achieved if the membrane were secured to plural surfaces of the base as opposed to only one surface of the base.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that wherein the membrane is sealed to surfaces of the base around the respective cavity by glue in order to yield a method that yields an insole whose foam pieces are securely held within the respective cavity.
Regarding claim 6:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose wherein the step of arranging a respective air cushion in each of the at least one cavity comprises forming the respective air cushion with the foam pieces enclosed within the sealing structure and then inserting the sealing structure into the cavity.
However and in further view of Hurd, Hurd teaches wherein the step of arranging a respective air cushion in each of the at least one cavity comprises forming the respective air cushion with the foam pieces enclosed within the sealing structure and then inserting the sealing structure into the cavity (“Once...66 is received within the...void...of...64,...64...installed in the midsole 32”; para 114).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its step of arranging a respective air cushion in each of the at least one cavity comprises forming the respective air cushion with the foam pieces enclosed within the sealing structure and then inserting the sealing structure into the cavity, as in Hurd, in order to yield the predictable result of a method that permits batch assembly of foam pieces within sealing structures in a first manufacturing process and/or location and further assembly of the combined foam pieces and sealing structure into cavity in a separate second manufacturing process and/or location.
Regarding claim 8:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy further discloses wherein each of the at least one cavity is defined in part by the downward-facing surface recessed inward of the lower surface of the base and a side surface (see annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – b below) at an angle to and extending around a periphery of the respective one of the downward-facing surfaces.
Regarding claim 9:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one cavity consists of first, second and third separate cavities.
In further view of Vizy:
Vizy teaches the resilient member 27 is “in the heel area...may include a similar resilient member in the forefoot area” (col. 3 lines 61-63). Thus Vizy at least suggests a first cavity (i.e. that which contains 27) and a second cavity (that which contains “a similar resilient member in the forefoot area”).
In further view of Hurd:
Hurd teaches (Fig. 36) three cavities: a first in a heel area, a second in a forefoot area, and a third in a midfoot area (Fig. 36).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the method of Vizy such that the at least one cavity consists of first, second and third separate cavities in order to yield a method that results in an insole that is capable of receiving a second and third cushions therein to providing adaptive and responsive cushioning in midfoot and forefoot areas of the insole, in addition to the heel area.
Regarding claim 11:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 9, as set forth above.
The modified Vizy further meets the limitation wherein the first (i.e. that which contains 27) cavity is defined in part by the downward-facing surface recessed inward of the lower surface of the base and a side surface (see annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – b presented in above treatment of claim 8) at an angle to and extending around a periphery of the respective one of the downward- facing surfaces, the respective air cushion comprises a first cushion (i.e. that of 27) situated at least partly in the first third cavity, the first air cushion being peripherally surrounded by the side surface of the first cavity (as in annotated Figs. 3 and 6 – b presented in above treatment of claim 8).
Vizy as applied to claim 9 does not expressly disclose each of the first, second and third cavities is defined in part by the downward-facing surface recessed inward of the lower surface of the base and a side surface at an angle to and extending around a periphery of the respective one of the downward- facing surfaces, the respective air cushion comprises first, second and third air cushions each situated at least partly in a respective one of the first, second and third cavities, each of the first, second and third air cushions being peripherally surrounded by the side surface of the respective one of the first, second and third cavities.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that each of its second and third cavities is defined in part by the downward-facing surface recessed inward of the lower surface of the base and a side surface at an angle to and extending around a periphery of the respective one of the downward- facing surfaces, the respective air cushion comprises second and third air cushions each situated at least partly in a respective one of the second and third cavities, each of the second and third air cushions being peripherally surrounded by the side surface of the respective one of the second and third cavities in order to yield a method that yields an insole that provides adaptive and responsive cushioning in midfoot and forefoot areas of the insole, in addition to the heel area.
Regarding claim 13:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose, the membrane is glued into the respective one of at least one cavity and thus attached to the base.
However and in further view of Hurd:
In Hurd Figs. 1-6, the membrane is within the cavity (Fig. 6). In further view of Hurd: Hurd Figs. 31-36 teaches a membrane 76 being glued to a surface of a base 32e and thus attached to the base (“76...attached to...surface 58 via...adhesive”; para 155).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its membrane being glued into the respective one of at least one cavity and thus attached to the base in order to yield a method that yields an insole whose foam pieces are securely held within the respective cavity.
Regarding claim 14:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose wherein the foam pieces are placed in the respective air cushion to enable them to be freely movable in or within the sealing structure.
However, and in further view of Hurd: Hurd teaches wherein the foam pieces are placed in the respective air cushion to enable them to be freely movable in or within the sealing structure (“66 is free to move relative to and within each barrier member 64, the particulate matter 66 provides a degree of responsive and adaptive cushioning. For example, if during use of the article of footwear 10, forces are applied at the forefoot portion 66 during a running movement, downward forces imparted on the midsole 32 and, thus, the particulate matter 66 may cause the particulate matter 66 to move and shift around a user's foot, thereby providing adaptive and responsive cushioning during use of the article of footwear 10”; para 115).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that the foam pieces are placed in the respective air cushion to enable them to be freely movable in or within the sealing structure in order to yield a method that yields an insole whose foam pieces are permitted to move and shift upon running to provide adaptive and/or responsive cushioning, as suggested by Hurd (para 115).
Regarding claim 17:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
The modified Vizy as applied to claim 17 above does not meet the limitation wherein the step of providing the base comprising structuring the base such that the insole, after the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base and the respective air cushion is arranged at least partly in each of the least one cavity, consists of at least one first region that each includes a portion of the mesh, the respective air cushion, and a portion of the base directly above the respective cavity and that extends to the upper surface of the base, and a second region that includes a remaining portion of the mesh and a remaining portion of the base extending from the lower surface of the base to the upper surface of the base, whereby in each one of the at least one first region of the insole, the insole provides support and/or cushioning to a foot of a user of the insole by a combination of the base, the mesh and the respective air cushion in the respective cavity, and in the second region of the insole, the insole provides support and/or cushioning to the foot of the user of the insole only by a combination of the base and the mesh.
As applied to claim 1 above, the modified Vizy meets the limitation “attaching a mesh to the upper surface of the base and which includes an upper surface that forms an uppermost surface of the insole” and is silent as to the specific extent of the mesh and whether or not it is specifically provided above the cavity and/or in a remaining portion.
However and in further view of Sato:
Sato teaches (Fig. 6) a mesh 2b that opposes a base 3 such that it includes an upper surface that forms an uppermost surface of an insole (the insole being the combined 3 and 2b; Fig. 6). In Sato, the layer is contacting and therefore attached to the upper surface of base 3 (Fig. 6). Sato teaches the layer is “a flexible mesh fabric” and is suitable for “transferring the reaction force” between the wearer’s foot and the base structure underlying the layer (para 52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that the step of providing the base comprising structuring the base such that the insole, after the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base and the respective air cushion is arranged at least partly in each of the least one cavity, consists of at least one first region that each includes a portion of the mesh, the respective air cushion, and a portion of the base directly above the respective cavity and that extends to the upper surface of the base, and a second region that includes a remaining portion of the mesh and a remaining portion of the base extending from the lower surface of the base to the upper surface of the base in order to yield a method that is capable of transferring reaction force between the wearer’s foot to the base and air cushion in the first region and between the wearer’s foot to the base in the second region. In adopting the modification, the limitation “whereby in each one of the at least one first region of the insole, the insole provides support and/or cushioning to a foot of a user of the insole by a combination of the base, the mesh and the respective air cushion in the respective cavity, and in the second region of the insole, the insole provides support and/or cushioning to the foot of the user of the insole only by a combination of the base and the mesh” would be met insofar as the method would result in an insole that is configured to provide support and/or cushioning as claimed because the combined base, mesh, and air cushion would be in the first region, and the combined base and mesh would be in the second region.
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Vizy, US 6,023,857], [Sato, US 2019/0090583], [Hurd, US 2020/0375307], and [Falken, US 2019/0351592] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Kirk, US 2017/0164685, previously cited].
Regarding claim 2:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose wherein the step of attaching the mesh to the upper surface of the base comprises gluing the mesh and the base together and then heat-pressing the mesh and base against one another.
However and in further view of Hurd: Hurd as embodied in Figs. 13-18 teaches attaching a substrate 38 to an underlying insole element 76 comprises gluing (“attached...via...adhesive”; para 132) the substrate 38 together with the underlying insole element 76. Thus Hurd at least suggests gluing insole components to one another.
However, Kirk teaches an insole for a shoe (Abstract) wherein “direct connection” between “first...element 260 and...second...element[] 270...by gluing and/or heat-pressing” (para 113).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its step of attaching the mesh to the upper surface of the base comprises gluing the mesh and the base together and then heat-pressing the mesh and base against one another in order to yield a method that results in an insole whose mesh and base are durably secured to each other.
Regarding claim 15:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy as applied to claim 1 above does not meet the limitation wherein the mesh has a peripheral shape that is the same as the peripheral shape of the base, whereby the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base over its entire periphery.
In further view of Hurd:
A substrate 38 of Hurd, which is overlying the base 32 of Hurd, has a peripheral shape that, as presented in Fig. 2, appears to substantially match a peripheral shape of base 32. Attention is drawn to stitching 40 which is attached to substrate 38 and appears to substantially match a peripheral shape of base 32. Hurd is not expressly to scale, and Hurd does not show the substrate 38 in every view thereof such that it cannot be determined from the drawings alone that the substrate 38 of Hurd has a peripheral shape that is the same as the peripheral shape of the base such that the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base over its entire periphery.
However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its mesh has a peripheral shape that is the same as the peripheral shape of the base, whereby the mesh is attached to the upper surface of the base over its entire periphery in order to yield a method yielding an insole whose mesh is capable of permitting the base and/or the cushions to be depressed by a wearer’s foot throughout the entirety of the upper surface of the base.
The modified Vizy as applied above does not expressly disclose and wherein the step of attaching the mesh to the upper surface of the base comprises gluing the mesh and the base together and then heat-pressing the mesh and base against one another
However and in further view of Hurd: Hurd as embodied in Figs. 13-18 teaches attaching a substrate 38 to an underlying insole element 76 comprises gluing (“attached...via...adhesive”; para 132) the substrate 38 together with the underlying insole element 76. Thus Hurd at least suggests gluing insole components to one another.
However, Kirk teaches an insole for a shoe (Abstract) wherein “direct connection” between “first...element 260 and...second...element[] 270...by gluing and/or heat-pressing” (para 113).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its step of attaching the mesh to the upper surface of the base comprises gluing the mesh and the base together and then heat-pressing the mesh and base against one another in order to yield a method that results in an insole whose mesh and base are durably secured to each other.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Vizy, US 6,023,857], [Sato, US 2019/0090583], [Hurd, US 2020/0375307], and [Falken, US 2019/0351592] as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of [Kirk, US 2017/0164685].
Regarding claim 5:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 3, as set forth above.
Hurd does not expressly disclose wherein the membrane is sealed to surfaces of the base around the respective cavity by heat or pressure.
However, Kirk teaches an insole for a shoe (Abstract) wherein “direct connection” between “first...element 260 and...second...element[] 270...by gluing and/or heat-pressing” (para 113).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that the membrane is sealed to surfaces of the base around the respective cavity by heat or pressure in order to yield a method that results in an insole whose membrane and base are durably secured to each other.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Vizy, US 6,023,857], [Sato, US 2019/0090583], [Hurd, US 2020/0375307], and [Falken, US 2019/0351592] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of [Sanders, US 2015/0040427, previously cited].
Regarding claim 18:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 3, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose further comprising forming an anti-slip structure on an upper surface of the mesh, whereby when a user's foot is on the upper surface of the mesh, relative movement between the user's foot and the mesh is reduced by the anti-slip structure.
However, Sanders teaches forming (i.e. screen printing) an anti-slip structure 22 on an upper surface of an insole, whereby when a user’s foot is on the upper surface, relative movement between the user’s foot and the mesh is reduced by the anti-slip structure: “shoe insole covering 10 further includes a plurality of raised dots 22 at the inner portion 16 to provide additional grip to the footwear”; para 28; “insole...10 comprises a plurality of raised rubberized or silicon dots 22...The plurality of raised dots 22 are rubberized screen printed. The plurality of raised dots...enhance the grip...the plurality of raised dots 22 located at the inner portion 24 of the top portion 16 directly contact the bottom of the foot of the wearer which while walking/running provides continuous stimulation and a massaging effect to the wearer's feet”; para 32.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that it is further comprising forming an anti-slip structure on an upper surface of the mesh, whereby when a user's foot is on the upper surface of the mesh, relative movement between the user's foot and the mesh is reduced by the anti-slip structure in order to yield a method that yields an insole that is capable of providing grip and/or stimulation and/or massaging, as taught by Sanders (paras 28 and 32).
Regarding claim 19:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, and Falken teach The method of claim 1, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose further comprising forming material dots on an upper surface of the mesh, whereby when a user's foot is on the upper surface of the mesh, relative movement between the user's foot and the mesh is reduced by the material dots.
However, Sanders teaches forming (i.e. screen printing) an material dots 22 on an upper surface of an insole, whereby when a user’s foot is on the upper surface, relative movement between the user’s foot and the mesh is reduced by the material dots: “shoe insole covering 10 further includes a plurality of raised dots 22 at the inner portion 16 to provide additional grip to the footwear”; para 28; “insole...10 comprises a plurality of raised rubberized or silicon dots 22...The plurality of raised dots 22 are...screen printed. The plurality of raised dots...enhance the grip...the plurality of raised dots 22 located at the inner portion 24 of the top portion 16 directly contact the bottom of the foot of the wearer which while walking/running provides continuous stimulation and a massaging effect to the wearer's feet”; para 32.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that it is further comprising forming material dots on an upper surface of the mesh, whereby when a user's foot is on the upper surface of the mesh, relative movement between the user's foot and the mesh is reduced by the material dots in order to yield a method that yields an insole that is capable of providing grip and/or stimulation and/or massaging, as taught by Sanders (paras 28 and 32).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Vizy, US 6,023,857], [Sato, US 2019/0090583], [Hurd, US 2020/0375307], [Falken, US 2019/0351592], and [Sanders, US 2015/0040427] as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of [Dojan, US 2015/0113834, previously cited].
Regarding claim 20:
Vizy in view of Sato, Hurd, Falken, and Sanders teach The method of claim 19, as set forth above.
Vizy does not expressly disclose wherein the material dots are formed from adhesive applied to the upper surface of the mesh and then dried.
In further view of Sanders:
Sanders teaches the material dots “screen printed” (para 32). Sanders is silent as to whether the screen printing is such that the material dots are formed from adhesive applied to the upper surface and then dried as claimed.
However, Dojan teaches and with the context of “footwear” a screen printing method wherein a screen printed material is formed from adhesive (i.e. “ink...suitable for screen printing” (para 44) wherein said ink is adhesive to the substrate applied thereto insofar as upon drying thereof, the material is “bonded” thereto (para 44)) applied to a surface of a substrate and then dried (“material” is “spread...over screen...coating” the surface of substrate and then dried (“Upon...drying, the material...forming the deposition layer...is...bonded...to” the surface of the substrate (para 44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Vizy such that its material dots are formed from adhesive applied to the upper surface of the mesh and then dried in order to yield the predictable result of a method that yields an insole whose material dots are secured to the upper surface of the mesh. One of ordinary skill would have been confronted with a decision as to which method step(s) to practice in order to apply the material dots by screen printing, and one of ordinary skill would have expected the “material dots are formed from adhesive applied to the upper surface of the mesh and then dried” as claimed to perform adequately well for this purpose based on the combined teachings of Sanders, which teaches screen printing is an acceptable way to form the dots, and Dojan, which provides detail regarding how, specifically, to perform screen printing to bond to a surface.
Conclusion
/GRADY ALEXANDER NUNNERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3732