DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2026 and 04/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The Examiner suggests deleting the first line of the abstract and amending line 2 to read “An electronic device…”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [00100] (lines 2-3) reads “…are described based on whether the magnetic force component overlaps the magnetic force component…”. This should be corrected to clarify that the magnetic force component overlaps the antenna pattern (see para. [0099]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 (line 2): “disposed on one surface” should read “disposed on the one surface”.
Claim 4 (line 3): “the other portion of the antenna pattern” should read “the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim 4 (line 3): “the other surface” should read “the another surface” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Claim 9 recites “a contact pad” (line 2) and “any one of the contact pads” (lines 5-6). This claim should be amended to recite either one contact pad or at least one contact pad.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5-6 are objected to due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein a first gap between two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern in an area such that a first area is between the magnetic force component and the rear surface and is larger than a second gap between two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern in a second area different from the first area”. The scope of the limitation and the claim is not clear for the following reason.
The term “in an area such that a first area is between the magnetic force component and the rear surface” is unclear because the relationship between an area and a first area is not clear. The Examiner understands “the area” where the first gap between adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is larger than the second gap to be identical to the first area (¶99 of the instant Specification). The first area is denoted by A1 in figure 6 and is understood to be where the antenna pattern overlaps a magnetic force component. The second area is understood to be an area where the antenna pattern does not substantially overlap the magnetic force component (¶99).
The above limitation recites “in a second area different from the first area”.
Para. [00100] of the instant Specification states “for convenience of description, the first area A1 and the second area A2 are described based on whether the magnetic force component overlaps the magnetic force component [sic] in the Z-axis direction, but it should be noted that embodiment(s) of the disclosure are not limited thereto. In an example, the first area A1 may refer to an area in which a conductive foreign substance is maintained on the upper supporting member 260a by an attraction force of the magnetic force component”. It is therefore not clear how the second area differs from the first area with respect to the position of the antenna loop and the magnetic force component, and which embodiment of the invention claim 1 is directed to. Claim 1 is therefore indefinite as the scope of the claim cannot be ascertained.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted by the Examiner as “wherein a first gap between two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern in a first area where the antenna pattern substantially overlaps the magnetic force component, as viewed from the rear surface, is larger than a second gap between two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern in a second area where the antenna pattern does not substantially overlap the magnetic force component, and wherein the second area is different from the first area”.
Claim 3 recites “in the first area, any one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on one surface of the supporting member, and the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on another surface of the supporting member facing the front surface”. This is shown in figures 9 and 12 of the drawings. However, looking at fig. 9, two adjacent portions in the first area A1 are w11 and w14. These two adjacent portions w11 and w14 are both disposed on one surface of the supporting member and the gap between them is larger than the second gap between two adjacent portions (e.g., w21 and w22) in the second area A2. Two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern in A1 where one adjacent portion (w11) is disposed on one surface of the supporting member and the other one of the adjacent portions (w12) is disposed on another surface of the supporting member are separated by the same size gap as two adjacent portions in A2. It is therefore not clear how in the first area, any one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern can be disposed on one surface of the supporting member, and the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern can be disposed on another surface of the supporting member. Clarification is required.
Claim 3 is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the antenna pattern includes: a first portion at least partially disposed on a surface, facing the front surface, of two opposite surfaces of the supporting member in an area such that a first area is between the magnetic force component and the rear surface, and a second portion disposed on a surface, facing the rear surface, of the two opposite surfaces of the supporting member in a second area different from the first area”. The scope of the limitation and the claim is not clear for the following reason.
The term “in an area such that a first area is between the magnetic force component and the rear surface” is unclear because the relationship between an area and a first area is not clear. The Examiner understands “the area” where the first gap between adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is larger than the second gap to be identical to the first area (¶99 of the instant Specification). The first area is denoted by A1 in figure 6 and is understood to be where the antenna pattern overlaps a magnetic force component. The second area is understood to be an area where the antenna pattern does not substantially overlap the magnetic force component (¶99).
The above limitation recites “in a second area different from the first area”.
Para. [00100] of the instant Specification states “for convenience of description, the first area A1 and the second area A2 are described based on whether the magnetic force component overlaps the magnetic force component [sic] in the Z-axis direction, but it should be noted that embodiment(s) of the disclosure are not limited thereto. In an example, the first area A1 may refer to an area in which a conductive foreign substance is maintained on the upper supporting member 260a by an attraction force of the magnetic force component”. It is therefore not clear how the second area differs from the first area with respect to the position of the antenna loop and the magnetic force component, and which embodiment of the invention claim 7 is directed to. Claim 7 is therefore indefinite as the scope of the claim cannot be ascertained.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted by the Examiner as “wherein the antenna pattern includes: a first portion at least partially disposed on a surface, facing the front surface, of two opposite surfaces of the supporting member in a first area where the antenna pattern substantially overlaps the magnetic force component, as viewed from the rear surface, and a second portion disposed on a surface, facing the rear surface, of the two opposite surfaces of the supporting member in a second area where the antenna pattern does not substantially overlap the magnetic force component, and wherein the second area is different from the first area”.
Claims 2, 4-6 and 8-15 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2019/0294217; “Yoon”).
Claim 1: Yoon discloses, as best understood, (first embodiment shown in figs. 1-4) An electronic device (electronic device 10), comprising: a housing including a front surface (display 17) and a rear surface (cover 11) facing in a direction opposite to the front surface;
a magnetic force component (¶83, magnetic part 80) disposed between the front surface (17) and the rear surface (11);
a supporting member (substrate 41) at least partially disposed between the magnetic force component (80) and the rear surface (11); and
an antenna pattern (47) at least partially disposed on one surface of the supporting member (41) facing the rear surface (11), and disposed along a trajectory of a loop shape wound at least twice as viewed from the rear surface (see figs. 1 & 2),
wherein a first gap (annotated fig. 4, G1) between two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern in a first area (annotated fig. 4, A1) where the antenna pattern substantially overlaps the magnetic force component (80), as viewed from the rear surface, is larger than a second gap (annotated fig. 4, G2) between two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern in a second area (annotated fig. 4, A2) where the antenna pattern does not substantially overlap the magnetic force component (80), and wherein the second area (A1) is different from the first area (A2).
Claim 2: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
contact pads (connection terminals 49) provided on another surface (opposite surface, as shown in figure 1) of the supporting member (substrate 41); and
at least one first via disposed to penetrate the supporting member (¶70, “The wiring disposed on the first surface and the wiring disposed on the second surface may be connected to each other through a connection conductor (not shown), such as a conductive via.”), wherein at least one of two opposite ends of the antenna pattern is electrically connected to any one of the contact pads through the at least one first via (ends of antenna pattern are electrically connected to contact pads 49, and antenna patterns are connected by a conductive via, therefore the opposite ends of the antenna pattern are connected through a via).
Claim 7: Yoon discloses, as best understood, (fig. 4 & the second embodiment of fig. 10) An electronic device (10), comprising:
a housing including a front surface (display 17) and a rear surface (cover 11) facing in a direction opposite to the front surface;
a magnetic force component (¶83, magnetic part 80) disposed between the front surface and the rear surface (11);
a supporting member (substrate 41) at least partially disposed between the magnetic force component (80) and the rear surface (11); and
an antenna pattern (at least 47) disposed on the supporting member (41), and disposed along a trajectory of a loop shape wound at least twice as viewed from the rear surface (see, e.g., figs. 1 & 2), wherein the antenna pattern includes:
a first portion (43) at least partially disposed on a surface, facing the front surface, of two opposite surfaces of the supporting member (41) in a first area where the antenna pattern substantially overlaps the magnetic force component (80), as viewed from the rear surface, and a second portion (42, 46) disposed on a surface, facing the rear surface, of the two opposite surfaces of the supporting member in a second area where the antenna pattern does not substantially overlap the magnetic force component (80), and wherein the second area is different from the first area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0294217; “Yoon”).
Claim 3: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Yoon does not disclose, in the first embodiment of fig. 4, wherein, in the first area, any one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on the one surface of the supporting member, and the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on another surface of the supporting member facing the front surface.
As best understood, Yoon discloses in the second embodiment of fig. 10, wherein, in the first area (area below 80), any one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on the one surface of the supporting member, and the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on another surface of the supporting member facing the front surface (¶155, antenna wiring is disposed on both sides of the supporting member 41).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of the second embodiment to modify Yoon’s electronic device of fig. 4 wherein, in the first area, any one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on the one surface of the supporting member, and the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern is disposed on another surface of the supporting member facing the front surface. Doing so allows for the size of the antenna module to be reduced as the antenna wiring is partially configured in a parallel structure (¶164 of Yoon).
Claim 4: Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 3.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose, in the first embodiment, further comprising: at least one second via disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern disposed on the another surface of the supporting member is electrically connected to a portion of the antenna pattern disposed in the second area through the at least one second via.
However, Yoon discloses, in the second embodiment of fig. 10, that the first antenna wiring 45 is disposed both in the first area A1 and the second area A2. Yoon also discloses that portions of antenna patterns on different surfaces of the substrate can be connected using a via (¶70, “Most of the first antenna wiring 45 may be disposed on a first surface of the insulating substrate 41 and only an overlapping portion of the wiring may be disposed on a second surface of the insulating substrate 41. The wiring disposed on the first surface and the wiring disposed on the second surface may be connected to each other through a connection conductor (not shown), such as a conductive via.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of the second embodiment to modify Yoon’s electronic device of fig. 4 further comprising: at least one second via disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern disposed on the other surface of the supporting member is electrically connected to a portion of the antenna pattern disposed in the second area through the at least one second via. Doing so allows for the size of the antenna module to be reduced as the antenna wiring is partially configured in a parallel structure (¶164 of Yoon).
Claim 5: Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 3.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a pair of second vias disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein each of two opposite ends of the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern disposed on the another surface of the supporting member is electrically connected to a portion of the antenna pattern disposed in the second area through any one of the pair of second vias.
However, Yoon does disclose that the wiring disposed on the first surface of the supporting member (substrate 41) and the wiring disposed on the second surface of the supporting member can be connected to each other by a via (¶70). The third embodiment of figures 8 and 9 of Yoon shows an antenna pattern 44 formed on one side of the supporting member (substrate 41), and another antenna pattern (e.g., 42) formed on another side of the supporting member (¶¶157-159). Antenna pattern 44 is formed in area A2 which does not overlap the magnetic force component 80 (¶158). Yoon also discloses (¶158) that antenna pattern 44 can be connected to the another antenna pattern 42 through a connection conductor penetrating through the insulating substate 41. Figure 8 shows multiple portions of the loop shape 44 connected to multiple portions of loop shape 42. Yoon therefore discloses, in the embodiment of fig. 8, a pair of second vias disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein each of two opposite ends of the other one of the two adjacent portions of the antenna pattern disposed on the another surface of the supporting member is electrically connected to a portion of the antenna pattern disposed in the second area through any one of the pair of second vias.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of the third embodiment of figure 8 to modify Yoon’s electronic device of fig. 4 as modified by fig. 10 further comprising: a pair of second vias disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein each of two opposite ends of the other portion of the antenna pattern disposed on the other surface of the supporting member is electrically connected to a portion of the antenna pattern disposed in the second area through any one of the pair of second vias. Doing so allows for the size of the antenna module to be reduced as the antenna wiring is partially configured in a parallel structure (¶164 of Yoon).
Claim 6: Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the pair of second vias are disposed to penetrate the supporting member in the second area. Yoon discloses the third embodiment of fig. 9, wherein a portion of antenna pattern 44 on upper surface of supporting member 41 overlaps a portion 42 of antenna pattern on lower surface of supporting member 41, and ¶158 states that ends of wiring 42 can be connected to wiring 44 through a connection conductor penetrating through 41. As the antenna pattern 44 is only disposed in the second area, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the second vias would be disposed in the second area so that antenna pattern 42 can be connected to antenna pattern 44.
Claim 9: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 7.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose, in the second embodiment of fig. 10, further comprising: a contact pad provided on the surface, facing the front surface, of the two opposite surfaces of the supporting member; and at least one first via disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein one end of the second portion is electrically connected to any one of the contact pads through the at least one first via.
Yoon discloses, in the third embodiment of fig. 8, a contact pad (connection terminals 49) provided the surface, facing the front surface, of the two opposite surfaces of the supporting member (41); and
at least one first via disposed to penetrate the supporting member (¶70, “The wiring disposed on the first surface and the wiring disposed on the second surface may be connected to each other through a connection conductor (not shown), such as a conductive via.”), wherein one end of the second portion (42, 46) is electrically connected to any one of the contact pads (49) through the at least one first via (ends of all of the antenna patterns are electrically connected to contact pads 49, and antenna patterns are connected by a conductive via, therefore one end of the second portion is electrically connected to a contact pad through a via).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of the third embodiment of figure 8 to modify Yoon’s electronic device of fig. 10, further comprising: a contact pad provided on the surface, facing the front surface, of the two opposite surfaces of the supporting member; and at least one first via disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein one end of the second portion is electrically connected to any one of the contact pads through the at least one first via. Doing so allows for the size of the antenna module to be reduced as the antenna wiring is partially configured in a parallel structure (¶164 of Yoon).
Claim 11: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 7.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose, in the second embodiment of fig. 10, further comprising: at least one second via disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein the first portion is electrically connected to the second portion through the at least one second via.
However, discloses that portions of antenna patterns on different surfaces of the substrate can be connected using a via (¶70, “Most of the first antenna wiring 45 may be disposed on a first surface of the insulating substrate 41 and only an overlapping portion of the wiring may be disposed on a second surface of the insulating substrate 41. The wiring disposed on the first surface and the wiring disposed on the second surface may be connected to each other through a connection conductor (not shown), such as a conductive via.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of Yoon of fig. 10 to further comprising: at least one second via disposed to penetrate the supporting member, wherein the first portion is electrically connected to the second portion through the at least one second via. Doing so allows for the size of the antenna module to be reduced as the antenna wiring is partially configured in a parallel structure (¶164 of Yoon).
Claim 12: Yoon teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the at least one second via is disposed to penetrate the supporting member in the second area.
Yoon discloses, in the third embodiment of fig. 9, wherein a portion of antenna pattern 44 on upper surface of supporting member 41 overlaps a portion 42 of antenna pattern on lower surface of supporting member 41, and ¶158 states that ends of wiring 42 can be connected to wiring 44 through a connection conductor penetrating through 41. As the antenna pattern 44 is only disposed in the second area, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the second vias would be disposed in the second area so that antenna pattern 42 can be connected to antenna pattern 44.
Claim(s) 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0294217; “Yoon”) in view of Tsubaki (US 2014/0218262).
Claim 10: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 2.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a circuit board disposed between the front surface and the supporting member; and at least one contact terminal disposed on the circuit board, wherein the at least one contact terminal is configured to contact any one of the contact pads.
However, Yoon does disclose contact pads (connection terminals 49) for “electrical connection with the outside” (¶80).
Tsubaki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (figs. 2A-2B & fig. 15): a circuit board (circuit board 13) disposed between the front surface (surface of casing 11) and the supporting member (first substrate 17a which has an antenna coil 4e, 15 formed thereon); and at least one contact terminal disposed on the circuit board (¶61, “As illustrated in FIG. 15, the main coil antenna 15 may be connected to the feeding circuit, including the IC chip 32, through contact pins 114, such as spring pins.”), wherein the at least one contact terminal is configured to contact any one of the contact pads (one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the connection terminals 49 of Yoon, which are for electrical connection with the outside, could be connected to the spring pins 114 of Tsubaki).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Yoon further comprising: a circuit board disposed between the front surface and the supporting member; and at least one contact terminal disposed on the circuit board, wherein the at least one contact terminal is configured to contact any one of the contact pads, as taught by Tsubaki. Doing so provides for electrical connection to an IC chip 32 which is configured and programmed to control data communication with an NFC application installed therein (¶32).
Claim 14: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1
Yoon does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a processor or a communication module configured to perform near-field communication (NFC) using the antenna pattern.
However, Yoon does disclose (¶136) performing NFC using the antenna pattern (“The antenna module according to the example is disposed so that a portion 46 a (hereinafter, referred to as a divided wiring) of the second antenna wiring 46 used as a near field communication (NFC) antenna crosses an internal region of the second antenna wiring 46”).
Tsubaki teaches a processor or a communication module configured to perform near-field communication (NFC) using the antenna pattern (¶32, The feeding circuit includes an IC chip 32, and the IC chip 32 is configured and programmed to control data communication with the reader/writer 2 in accordance with an NFC application installed therein.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Yoon further comprising: a processor or a communication module configured to perform near-field communication (NFC) using the antenna pattern, as taught by Tsubaki. Doing so allows for the electronic device to utilize a short-range wireless communication standard in, for example, contactless payments or scanning NFC tags (¶4 of Tsubaki).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0294217; “Yoon”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0210616; “Lee”).
Claim 13: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a boss hole provided to penetrate the supporting member at a position adjacent to the first area or the second area.
Lee teaches a boss hole in a supporting member 403 (¶121 & fig. 4B). From fig. 4B it can be seen that the boss holes are adjacent the conductive pattern unit 405 which has an antenna loop pattern formed thereon.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Yoon further comprising: a boss hole provided to penetrate the supporting member at a position adjacent to the first area or the second area, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for fastening members, such as screws, to be fastened to the boss holes to secure the individual parts of the electronic device (¶122 of Lee).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0294217; “Yoon”) in view of IDS document Kim (US 2022/0149515).
Claim 15: Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose wherein the antenna pattern includes a laser direct structuring (LDS) pattern.
Kim teaches (fig. 1) an NFC antenna loop 20 that can be formed using LDS (¶31, “The LDS antenna 20 may be formed by a laser direct structure (LDS) method in which a radiation pattern is formed on one surface of the antenna carrier 10”, ¶33, “the LDS antenna 20 may be an NFC (Near Field Communication) antenna for short-range communication.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electronic device of Yoon wherein the antenna pattern includes a laser direct structuring (LDS) pattern, as taught by Kim. Doing so allows for an antenna pattern that can be formed directly on the supporting member thereby reducing the overall thickness of the antenna (¶34 of Kim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Yoon does not teach, or suggest, wherein the magnetic force component includes a speaker module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kaechi (US 2015/0188229) – loop antenna pattern is sandwiched between a substrate and a magnetic sheet (fig. 1). The magnetic sheet is a magnetic member for reducing an influence of a metal material existing near the non-contact type IC device (¶34).
Won (US 2019/0027826) – loop antenna pattern disposed on two sides of a support (fig. 4).
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845