DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi (US 2019/0127230 A1) in view of Jonschker (WO 2022226471 A1).
Claims 1, 5-6, 10, 12:
Taguchi teaches a method for manufacturing a cationic modified silica dispersion [0001] for use as an abrasive in CMP [0002]. The initial silica dispersion is either alkaline or made to be alkaline [0023; 0032], has a net negative charge (i.e., negative zeta potential) [0031], and is reacted with APTES [0040] at elevated temperature [0051]. This process inherently produces a surface-modified colloidal silica with a net negative surface charge. Thereafter, the surface charge is reversed through pH adjustment by acid addition during the measurement process [0065] where the zeta potential has become positive when adjusted to pH 3 or 4 (Table 1).
Taguchi does not teach reversing the surface charge by ion exchange resin.
However, Jonschker teaches a method for producing a cationic modified silica dispersion for use as an abrasive in CMP [0002] where it can be preferable that the pH of the dispersion is acidic and this is accomplished by, for example, passing the colloidal silica dispersion through an ion exchange resin or by addition of a suitable acid [0093]. This step can be performed before or after surface modification (Id.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Taguchi and substitute the acid addition with ion exchange resin treatment because Jonschker establishes this is a suitable alternative for the pH adjustment of a modified silica dispersion.
Claims 3-4:
The pH is between 7-10 (Taguchi [0032]).
Claims 7-9:
Prior to modification, the APTES can include a solvent other than water [0049]. From the perspective of convenience and recycling, it would have been obvious to use ethanol [0034].
Claim 11:
The amount of APTES added during modification is identified as a critical aspect and is preferably at most 20% by mass of the silica particles [0050].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi (US 2019/0127230 A1) in view of Jonschker (WO 2022226471 A1) in view of Torncrona (US 2021/0002139 A1).
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach a SAC exchange resin comprising sulfonic acid groups. However, Torncrona teaches a method for charge reversing a silica sol whereby the silica sol is passed through a strong acid cation exchange resin having sulfonic acid groups [0046]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the strong acid cation exchange resin having sulfonic acid groups of Torncrona as the ion exchange resin because Torncrona establishes that it is suitable for the purpose of reducing the pH of a silica sol.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759