DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Birdsell (US 10398279).
Regarding claim 1; Birdsell discloses;
A bottle cap device (Fig. 2A, 40) comprising:
a main body (Fig. 2A, 42) defining an open end configured for receiving an outlet of a bottle (Fig. 2A depicts the bottle cap 40 receiving a bottle 32 through its open end) having an external thread (Fig. 6A depicts the bottle having external threads).
wherein the main body comprises:
(i) an internal thread arranged to threadedly couple with the external thread of the bottle (Fig. 3C, 58; col. 5, lines 47-53)
(ii) a hub (Fig. 2A, 82) extending within a periphery of the internal thread, wherein the hub defines an internal space (see annotated Fig. 2B below depicting the internal space);
and a valve member (Fig. 2A, 74) disposed within the internal space (Fig. 2A depicts the valve member 74 in the internal space of the hub 82) defined by the hub, wherein the valve member is movable relative to the main body between a closed position (Fig. 2A depicts the closed position) in which the valve member blocks fluid flow through the hub of the bottle cap device and an open position (Fig. 2B depicts the open position) in which fluid is allowed to flow through the hub of the bottle cap device (col. 6, lines 55-56; In the closed position, fluid is prevented from exiting out of the container 32 through the orifice 72. In the open position, fluid is able to pass through the orifice 72 and out of the container)
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations in claim 1, Birdsell discloses;
a spring disposed within the internal space defined by the hub, wherein the spring biases the valve member towards the closed position (col. 6, lines 58-61; a bias element, such as a spring shown in FIGS. 2A-2B, is able to urge or return the plunger 74 from the open position (FIG. 2B) to the closed position).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations in claim 1, Birdsell discloses;
an annular cap seal member (Fig. 2A, 46) disposed around the hub (Fig. 2A 82) and arranged to seal against the outlet of the bottle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birdsell (US 10398279) in view of Luch et al (US 20050269282).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations in claim 1, Birdsell does not disclose;
wherein the main body comprises a one-way tooth feature that configures the bottle cap device to resist being unthreaded from the bottle to which the bottle cap device is threadedly coupled.
However, Luch teaches;
wherein the main body (Fig. 1, 21) comprises a one-way tooth feature (Fig. 2, elements 81, 82 & 83 make up the one-way tooth feature) that configures the bottle cap device to resist being unthreaded from the bottle to which the bottle cap device is threadedly coupled ([0100]; Thus the interengagement of teeth 81 and 51 prevent unscrewing the cap). The advantage of having a cap with a one-way tooth feature that configures the bottle cap to be resistant to being unthreaded from a bottle is to prevent the contents of the bottle to be tampered with. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Luch with the invention of Birdsell to provide a bottle cap with a one-way tooth feature.
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations in claim 2, Birdsell does not disclose;
wherein the main body comprises at least four of the one-way tooth features that configure the bottle cap device to resist being unthreaded from the bottle to which the bottle cap device is threadedly coupled.
However, Luch teaches;
wherein the main body comprises (Fig. 1, 21) at least four of the one-way tooth features (see annotated Fig. 2 below depicting at least four one-way tooth features) that configure the bottle cap device to resist being unthreaded from the bottle to which the bottle cap device is threadedly coupled ([0100]; Thus the interengagement of teeth 81 and 51 prevent unscrewing the cap). The advantage of having a cap with at least 4 one-way tooth features is to have a backup locking feature in case one of the one-way tooth features are broken during transport or handling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Luch with the invention of Birdsell to provide a bottle cap with at least 4 one-way tooth features.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birdsell (US 10398279) in view of Kim (US 20230380614).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations in claim 1, Birdsell discloses;
a valve member (Fig. 2A, 74).
Birdsell does not disclose;
wherein the valve member defines a seal groove in which an annular seal member is seated.
However, Kim teaches;
wherein the valve member (Fig. 19, 10) defines a seal groove in which an annular seal member is seated (Fig. 19, 14; [0213]). The advantage of having an annular seal member in the groove of the valve is to better prevent the leakage of water when in the closed position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Kim with the invention of Birdsell to provide an annular seal member that is seated in a groove defined by the valve member.
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations in claim 4, Birdsell does not disclose;
wherein an end of the hub includes a frustoconical surface against which the seal member is seated when the valve member is in the closed position.
However, Kim teaches;
wherein an end of the hub (Fig. 87, 54) includes a frustoconical surface (see annotated Fig. 87 below depicting the frustoconical surface) against which the seal member (Fig. 87, 57) is seated when the valve member (Fig. 87, 56) is in the closed position (Fig. 87 depicts the closed position). The advantage of having includes a frustoconical surface against which the seal member is seated when the valve member is in the closed position is to provide a better seal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Kim with the invention of Birdsell to provide a frustoconical surface against which the seal member is seated when the valve member is in the closed.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birdsell (US 10398279) in view Feng (US 20230294885).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitation in claim 1, Birdsell does not disclose;
a removable member adhered to the main body and covering an end of the internal space defined by the hub.
However, Feng teaches;
a removable member (Fig. 7b, 16) adhered to the main body (Fig. 7b, 15) and covering an end of the internal space defined by the hub (Fig. 7c depicts the removable member 16 being capable of covering the internal space defined by the hub). The advantage of having a removable member adhered to the main body of a cap is that users can open the cap by a simple one-step operation by removing the top plate, which thereby reduces actions of users and greatly improves user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have incorporated the teachings of Feng with the invention of Birdsell to provide a cap with a removable member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. US Patent 20240140654 A1 is directed to the state of the art of bottle caps.
/B.K.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754