DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10, 13-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weiss et al. (2024/0415689).
With respect to claim 1, Weiss discloses a persona hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising an outer shell 102 configured to be disposed on a patient, as shown in figure 2D, and an inner absorbent material 120 disposed interior to the outer shell and forming a single unit with the shell, as shown in figure 2B. A tube 108 having a first end and a second end 109 disposed interior to the inner absorbent material, as shown in figure 1, is configured to remove liquid from the absorbent material when suction is applied to the second end, as disclosed in paragraph [0061].
With respect to claim 4, the tube 108 is disposed between the inner absorbent material 120 and the outer shell 102, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 5, the external surface of the outer shell 102 is provided with a soft material to reduce chaffing, as disclosed in paragraph [0044], and therefore comprises padding.
With respect to claim 7, the outer shell 102 comprises a continuous construction that is capable of being used without adhesive tabs, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 8, the outer shell 102 comprises a plurality of adhesive tabs, as disclosed in paragraphs [0036], [0051], and [0075].
With respect to claim 10, Weiss discloses a method of manufacturing a personal hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising forming an outer shell 102 configured to be disposed on a patient, as shown in figure 2D, disposing an inner absorbent material 120 interior to the outer shell 102 to form a single unit, and disposing a tube 108 having a first end and a second end 109 interior to the inner absorbent material 120, wherein the first end of the tube 108 is configured to remove a liquid from the absorbent material when suction is applied to the second end, as disclosed in paragraph [0061].
With respect to claim 13, the tube 108 is disposed between the inner absorbent material 120 and the outer shell 102, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 14, the external surface of the outer shell 102 is provided with a soft material to reduce chaffing, as disclosed in paragraph [0044], and therefore comprises padding.
With respect to claim 16, the outer shell 102 comprises a continuous construction that is capable of being used without adhesive tabs, as shown in figure 1.
With respect to claim 17, the outer shell 102 comprises a plurality of adhesive tabs, as disclosed in paragraphs [0036], [0051], and [0075].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 11-12, 15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. (2024/0415689) in view of Sharma et al. (11,207,206).
With respect to claim 2, Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a manifold coupled to the tube and a plurality of tubes extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field. Sharma discloses a personal hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising a tube 24, a manifold 32, and a plurality of tubes 18 and 22 extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field, as shown in figure 2. Sharma teaches that the plurality of tubes frame the device to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, as disclosed in column 13, lines 63-66. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Weiss with a manifold coupled to the tube and a plurality of tubes extending from the manifold, as taught by Sharma, to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, and to achieve the predictable result of pulling liquid from a larger area of the device than a single tube.
With respect to claim 3, Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of a manifold coupled to the tube and a structure extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field. Sharma discloses a personal hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising a tube 24, a manifold 32, and a structure 18 and 22 extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field, as shown in figure 2. Sharma teaches that the structure frame the device to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, as disclosed in column 13, lines 63-66. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Weiss with a manifold coupled to the tube and a structure extending from the manifold, as taught by Sharma, to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, and to achieve the predictable result of pulling liquid from a larger area of the device than a single tube.
With respect to claim 6, Weiss discloses a suction device coupled to the tube, as disclosed in paragraph [0061]. Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the suction device being configured to detect when a suction pressure has dropped below a predetermined level and to generate an alert. Sharma teaches a suction device configured to detect suction pressure, as disclosed in column 35, lines 32-43. Sharma discloses that the sensor output of suction pressure is used to automatically control the suction source by changing the applied pressure, and therefore is configured to detect when a suction pressure has dropped below a predetermined level, but remains silent as to generating an alert. Generating an alert to indicate a suction pressure level to a user is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the suction device of Weiss to detect when a suction pressure has dropped below a predetermined level, as taught by Sharma, and generate an alert to achieve the predictable result of allowing the correct pressure to be maintained during use of the device and indicating to a user if the device is not working correctly.
With respect to claim 11, Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of forming a manifold coupled to the tube and a plurality of tubes extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field. Sharma discloses a personal hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising a tube 24, a manifold 32, and a plurality of tubes 18 and 22 extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field, as shown in figure 2. Sharma teaches that the plurality of tubes frame the device to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, as disclosed in column 13, lines 63-66. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Weiss with a manifold coupled to the tube and a plurality of tubes extending from the manifold, as taught by Sharma, to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, and to achieve the predictable result of pulling liquid from a larger area of the device than a single tube.
With respect to claim 12, Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of forming a manifold coupled to the tube and a structure extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field. Sharma discloses a personal hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising a tube 24, a manifold 32, and a structure 18 and 22 extending from the manifold to form a distributed suction field, as shown in figure 2. Sharma teaches that the structure frame the device to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, as disclosed in column 13, lines 63-66. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Weiss with a manifold coupled to the tube and a structure extending from the manifold, as taught by Sharma, to increase stiffness and reduce deformation that can lead to vacuum lock, and to achieve the predictable result of pulling liquid from a larger area of the device than a single tube.
With respect to claim 15, Weiss discloses coupling a suction device to the tube, as disclosed in paragraph [0061]. Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the suction device being configured to detect when a suction pressure has dropped below a predetermined level and to generate an alert. Sharma teaches a suction device configured to detect suction pressure, as disclosed in column 35, lines 32-43. Sharma discloses that the sensor output of suction pressure is used to automatically control the suction source by changing the applied pressure, and therefore is configured to detect when a suction pressure has dropped below a predetermined level, but remains silent as to generating an alert. Generating an alert to indicate a suction pressure level to a user is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the suction device of Weiss to detect when a suction pressure has dropped below a predetermined level, as taught by Sharma, and generate an alert to achieve the predictable result of allowing the correct pressure to be maintained during use of the device and indicating to a user if the device is not working correctly.
With respect to claim 19, Weiss discloses a method of using a disposable personal hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising disposing the device on a user, as shown in figure 2D, and connecting a suction tube to a suction device, as disclosed in paragraph [0061].
Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of generating a notification when a suction power level has dropped below a predetermined level. Sharma teaches a suction device configured to detect suction pressure, as disclosed in column 35, lines 32-43. Sharma discloses that the sensor output of suction pressure is used to automatically control the suction source by changing the applied pressure, and therefore is configured to detect when a suction pressure has dropped below a predetermined level, but remains silent as to generating an alert. Generating a notification to indicate a suction pressure level to a user is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the suction device of Weiss to generate a notification when a suction power level has dropped below a predetermined level, as taught by Sharma, to achieve the predictable result of allowing the correct pressure to be maintained during use of the device and indicating to a user if the device is not working correctly.
With respect to claim 20, the suction device of Weiss draws fluids, as disclosed in paragraph [0061], and therefore is a wet suction device.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiss et al. (2024/0415689) in view of James, II (2023/0293339).
With respect to claims 9 and 18, Weiss discloses all aspects of the claimed invention with the exception of the tube comprising a plurality of holes disposed along a length of the tube. James discloses a person hygiene device, as shown in figure 1, comprising an outer shell 106, an inner absorbent material 102, and a tube 108 configured to remove a liquid from the absorbent material when suction is applied to the tube, as disclosed in paragraph [0025]. James teaches providing a plurality of holes 118 disposed along a length of the tube, as shown in figure 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tube of Weiss with a plurality of holes along its length, as taught by James, to combine known prior art elements to achieve the predictable result of removing liquid from the entire length of the inner absorbent material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent 4,886,508; 5,792,132; 6,641,567; and 7,939,736 disclose personal hygiene devices for removing liquid from an absorbent article.
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781