DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments change scope of previous claims, thereby necessitating a new grounds thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to below claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 5 & 11- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. 2012/0083312 A1) in view of Meek (U.S. 2023/0128749 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses: a device (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8: mobile terminal device 100; disclosed in ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], & ¶ [0030]) comprising:
a display (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8: mobile terminal device 100 includes a display; disclosed in ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0037], ¶ [0040], & ¶ [0047]- ¶ [0048]);
a sensor (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], & ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0098]);
memory comprising one or more storage media storing instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8: mobile terminal device 100 including memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], & ¶ [0060]),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: identify, using the sensor, a gaze of a user identify whether the gaze of the user is positioned within an execution screen of an application being displayed via the display; based on the gaze being identified as positioned within the execution screen of the application, display, via the display, the execution screen by performing three-dimensional (3D) rendering of one or more of objects included in the execution screen; and based on the gaze being identified as positioned out of the execution screen of the application, display, via the display, the execution screen by performing two-dimensional (2D) rendering of the objects included in the execution screen (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}).
Kim fails to explicitly disclose: the device includes the utility of being wearable.
However, Meek discloses: the device includes the utility of being wearable (Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
Meek and Kim are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to headset phone display devices (Kim, figs. 1-3 & ¶ [0058]; Meek, fig. 1 & abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Kim to include: the utility of being wearable, as taught by Meek, in order to give users the ability to multitask and perform other tasks hands-free (Meek, abstract).
In regards to claim 2, Kim in combination above discloses: the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on the gaze of the user being identified as moved to out of the execution screen of the application while the execution screen of the application is displayed by performing the 3D rendering of the one or more of the objects, display, via the display, the execution screen of the application by performing the 2D rendering of the objects; and based on the gaze being identified as positioned moved to within the execution screen of the application while the execution screen of the application is displayed by performing the 2D rendering of the objects, display, via the display, the execution screen of the application by performing the 3D rendering of the one or more of the objects (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; in addition, please note, elapsed time {fig. 6, S320}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
In regards to claim 3, Kim in combination above discloses: the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on the gaze being identified as positioned within the execution screen of the application, display, via the display, the execution screen of the application in which at least one function of the execution screen of the application to interact with the user is permitted (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
In regards to claim 4, Kim in combination above discloses: the wearable device of claim 3, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on the gaze being identified as positioned out of the execution screen of the application, display, via the display, the execution screen of the application in which the at least one function is ceased (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
In regards to claim 5, Kim in combination above discloses: the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: identify whether a reference time is elapsed from a time point at which the execution screen of the application is displayed by performing 2D rendering of the objects; and based on identifying that the reference time is elapsed from the time point, display, via the display, an image representing the execution screen of the application (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; in addition, please note, elapsed time {fig. 6, S320}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
In regards to claim 11, Kim discloses: a method of a device (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8: mobile terminal device 100; disclosed in ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], & ¶ [0030]), the method comprising:
identifying, using a sensor of the wearable device, a gaze of a user; identifying whether the gaze of the user is positioned within an execution screen of an application being displayed via a display of the wearable device; based on the gaze being identified as positioned within the execution screen of the application, displaying, via the display, the execution screen by performing three-dimensional (3D) rendering of one or more of objects included in the execution screen; and based on the gaze being identified as positioned out of the execution screen of the application, displaying, via the display, the execution screen by performing two-dimensional (2D) rendering of the objects included in the execution screen (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}).
Kim fails to explicitly disclose: the device includes the utility of being wearable.
However, Meek discloses: the device includes the utility of being wearable (Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
Meek and Kim are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to headset phone display devices (Kim, figs. 1-3 & ¶ [0058]; Meek, fig. 1 & abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Kim to include: the utility of being wearable, as taught by Meek, in order to give users the ability to multitask and perform other tasks hands-free (Meek, abstract).
In regards to claim 12, Kim in combination above discloses: the method of claim 11, further comprising: based on the gaze of the user being identified as moved to out of the execution screen of the application while the execution screen of the application is displayed by performing the 3D rendering of the one or more of the objects, displaying, via the display, the execution screen of the application by performing the 2D rendering of the objects; and based on the gaze being identified as positioned moved to within the execution screen of the application while the execution screen of the application is displayed by performing the 2D rendering of the objects, displaying, via the display, the execution screen of the application by performing the 3D rendering of the one or more of the objects (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; in addition, please note, elapsed time {fig. 6, S320}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
In regards to claim 13, Kim in combination above discloses: the method of claim 11, further comprising: based on the gaze being identified as positioned within the execution screen of the application, displaying, via the display, the execution screen of the application in which at least one function of the execution screen of the application to interact with the user is permitted (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
In regards to claim 14, Kim in combination above discloses: the method of claim 13, further comprising: based on the gaze being identified as positioned out of the execution screen of the application, displaying, via the display, the execution screen of the application in which the at least one function is ceased (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
In regards to claim 15, Kim in combination above discloses: the method of claim 11, further comprising: identifying whether a reference time is elapsed from a time point at which the execution screen of the application is displayed by performing 2D rendering of the objects; and based on identifying that the reference time is elapsed from the time point, displaying, via the display, an image representing the execution screen of the application (Kim, figs. 1-3, 6, & 8a-8b: mobile terminal device 100 including gaze camera sensor 121, memory 160 & processor controller 180; disclosed in ¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0022], ¶ [0025], ¶ [0027], ¶ [0030], ¶ [0056]- ¶ [0057], ¶ [0060], ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0100], & ¶ [0117]- ¶ [0118]; the office relies on the operation concept described with respect to figs. 6 & 8, where the user’s gaze may input a 3D emphasized image input {e.g., illustration of element 410 in fig. 8b} with respect to being fixed in an image window execution screen {illustrated in fig. 8a}, and if not, end operation {e.g., fig. 6, S340} and reverting {e.g., fig. 6 reverting line} to 2D display images of fig. 8a {i.e., gaze is outside of image window execution screen}; in addition, please note, elapsed time {fig. 6, S320}; Meek, fig. 1: phone + holder = claimed wearable device; disclosed in ¶ [0008] & abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 & 15-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Duane N. Taylor Jr.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2626
/DUANE N TAYLOR JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626