DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on the Boock, et al. application filed with the Office on 22 April 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of a chain of continued US Patent Application, originating with a US Provisional Patent Application, 61/707,652, filed on 28 September 2012. Thus, the effective filing date of the instant application is 28 September 2012.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted regarding the present application filed on 22 July 2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) have/has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends from claim 1, which recites the limitation, “wherein the one or more zwitterionic compounds from surface-active end groups…” Claim 3 further recites, “the surface of the sensing membrane most distal to the sensor comprises surface-active end groups configured for cross-linking with the zwitterionic compounds”. It is unclear whether the claimed “surface-active end groups” are formed from the zwitterionic compounds (as laid forth in claim 1) or they are cross-linked to the zwitterionic compounds (as laid forth in claim 3), as be formed from or cross-linked to seem to be mutual exclusive to each other.
Claim 6 recites the term, “preferably”. Thus, it is unclear if the limitation following this term is a positively recited limitation necessarily present or is a preferred embodiment.
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 5-9, 11 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,788,765. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of instant claim 1 are taught by patented claims 1 and 2; limitations of instant claim 5 are taught by patented claim 3; limitations of instant claim 6 are taught by patented claims 4 and 5; limitations of instant claim 7 are taught by patented claim 6; limitations of instant claim 8 are taught by patented claim 7; limitations of instant claim 9 are taught by patented claim 8, limitations of instant claim 11 are taught by patented claim 9; and limitations of instant claim 20 are taught by patented claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by a US Patent Application Publication to Chen, et al. (US 2011/0192726 A1; hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an invention providing a method of determining concentration of target analyte particles in a sample ([0027]; reading upon of the instantly claimed, “[a] device for measurement of a concentration of an analyte”). Chen teaches signal from each electrode is recorded individually and compiled to assess the relative quantity of each cell type ([0125]; reading upon “a sensor configured to generate a signal associated with the concentration of the analyte”). Chen further teaches antibody specifically immobilized on the electrode areas of the microchip, which is surrounded by a silicon oxide biocompatible layer that has been coated with a cell-repellent material to prevent non-specific adhesion of anti-CD34 antibodies prior to immobilization and of cells during cell trapping step ([0111]; which reads on “a sensing membrane located over the sensor”). Chen also teaches a cell-repellent material to reduce non-specific adherence of cells to surface, wherein the cell-repellent materials include poly-ethylene glycol, polystyrene, bovine sera albumin, zwitterionic molecules such as betaine ([0077]; which reads on “wherein the sensing membrane comprises one or more zwitterionic compounds, wherein the one or more zwitterionic compounds form surface-active end groups located at one or more ends of a polymer backbone”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Chen teaches a cell-repellent material to reduce non-specific adherence of cells to surface, wherein the cell-repellent materials include poly-ethylene glycol, polystyrene, bovine sera albumin, zwitterionic molecules such as betaine ([0077]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches electrodes ([0072]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the sensing membrane located over a planar surface of the sensor (Figure 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 10, 12-14, 16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Chen does not anticipate nor render obvious the limitations of the indicated claims.
Interview with the Examiner
If at any point during the prosecution it is believe an interview with the Examiner would further the prosecution of an application, please consider this option.
The Automated Interview Request form (AIR) is available to request an interview to be scheduled with the Examiner. First, an authorization for internet communications regarding the case should be filed prior or with an AIR online request.
The internet communication authorization form (SB/0439), which authorizes or withdraws authorization for internet-based communication (e.g., video conferencing, email, etc.) for the application must be signed by the applicant or the attorney/agent for applicant. The form can be found at:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf
The AIR form can be filled out online, and is automatically forwarded to the Examiner, who will call to confirm a requested time and date, or set up a mutually convenient time for the interview. The form can be found at:
https://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html
The Examiner encourages, but does not require, interviews by the USPTO Microsoft Teams video conferencing. This system allows for file-sharing along audio conferencing. Microsoft Teams can be used as an internet browser add-on in Microsoft IE, Google Chrome, or Mozilla Foxfire, or as a temporary Java-based application on these browsers. Steps for joining an Examiner setup Microsoft Teams can be found at the USPTO website:
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice#step3
Additionally, a blank email to the Examiner at the time of a telephonic interview can be used for a reply to easily allow for Microsoft Teams communication. Please note, policy guidelines regarding Internet communications are detailed at MPEP §500-502.3, and office policy regarding interviews are detailed at MPEP §713.
Conclusion
/J. Christopher Ball/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795