Status of Claims
This office action for the 19/186252 application is in response to the communications filed April 22, 2025.
Claims 1-20 were initially submitted April 22, 2025.
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 were cancelled April 22, 2025.
Claims 11-15 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al. (US 2021/0304537; herein referred to as Reed) in view of Chafni et al. (US 2021/0358244; herein referred to as Chafni).
As per claim 11,
Reed teaches a smart gate system, comprising: at least one terminal having a thermometer and a QR code reader:
(Paragraphs [0016], [0017] and [0021] of Reed. The teaching describes that prior to visitors arriving for an appointment, a host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone, which contains a unique QR code. When the visitor arrives, the QR code is presented to a visitor management kiosk. The QR code contains information about the visitor and the visitor's scheduled appointment. The visitor management kiosk scans and validates the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment. Next, the visitor management kiosk scans the visitor's skin temperature to ensure it is within the kiosk operator's user-defined acceptable range. In one embodiment, the operator may define and establish the kiosk's temperature alarm setting. The visitor management kiosk will also check to ensure that the visitor is wearing a protective face mask. After the kiosk confirms the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment, records an acceptable skin temperature, and confirms that they are wearing a protective mask, the kiosk will print an admittance ticket for the visitor. Simultaneously, the kiosk generates an electronic message that notifies the host that the visitor has arrived and is permitted to enter the facility. In one embodiment, the operator of the system may either activate or deactivate, separately or collectively, all the above-described parameters. In one embodiment, a visitor then approaches a physical barrier (e.g., a turnstile, gate, door, elevator, etc.) In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
Reed further teaches a server for receiving a reading from the thermometer, and health status information and date range from the QR code reader, and determining authorization to enter through a gate based on the thermometer reading, the health status information, and the date range, and sending an confirmation signal indicating authorization to enter, or denying entry:
(Paragraphs [0021], [0165] and [0169] of Reed. The teaching describes that the access control reader 102 is desirably in communication with and is controlled by a central controller 104 (e.g., a computer network) that may include one or more servers, one or more central processing units (CPUs), software, computer applications, video monitors, and computer monitors. In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes an alarm 110 that may be activated if the system determines that an individual attempting to gain access to a controlled area fails one or more of the rules that have been established via the central control unit 104. For example, if the access control reader 102 detects that an individual attempting to gain access to a secure area has an unacceptable skin temperature (e.g., 103 degrees Fahrenheit), the access control reader 102 will send a signal to the alarm 110 to activate the alarm. In one embodiment, an access control system preferably includes a visitor management kiosk that can verify a visitor's identity and scheduled appointment [date range from the QR code reader], ensure that the visitor has an acceptable skin temperature, and confirm that the visitor is wearing a protective mask [health status information], all while recording the entire process for auditing and reporting purposes. In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
Reed further teaches a microcontroller for opening a gate based on the confirmation signal and based on an operation signal from a security terminal to allow a person to pass through the opened gate; and a timer to time a predetermined duration that the gate remains open:
(Paragraph [0171] of Reed. The teaching describes In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes a door status sensor 116 that periodically senses and/or detects whether the door 112 is open or closed/locked. In one embodiment, if the door 112 remains open after a predetermined time (e.g., 30 seconds), the access control reader 102 will recognize that the door 102 is open and will send an alarm signal to the alarm 110.)
Reed does not explicitly teach that this gate system is designed for or for the passage of vehicles.
However, Chafni teaches a health security check point that includes a gate to grant or deny access to an authorized user including a vehicle based on the health of the user associated with the vehicle:
(Paragraphs [0037] and [0055] and of Chafni. The teaching describes a decision tree for a processor to authorize a user to access an area according to exemplary embodiments of the disclosed subject matter. The system can be used in a number of use cases as shown in block 301. Use cases can include basic access control, access control plus electronic biometric detection (EBD) such as a thermal check for elevated body temperature, access control plus time clocking, access control plus mask detection, or access control plus density estimation. When the system is on, it is actively detecting activity or conditions (block 302), including detecting faces, detecting people, detecting personal devices, detecting gait, and detecting adverse conditions for facial recognition such as glare or bad lighting. Detections can occur using multiple modalities such as regular cameras, thermal detectors, lidar detectors, etc. As described further below, in some embodiments, an “authorized user” may be an inanimate object that can be security tagged for tracking through a facility. In some embodiments, “authorized user” may further comprise a personal vehicle such as an automobile associated with an authorized human user that can be recognized by the system.)
It would have been obvious to add to the teaching of Reed, the vehicle authentication teachings of Chani. The teaching of Chafni demonstrates that the field of health-based security check points has a wider applicability in the market compared to the narrow implementation of Reed. One of ordinary skill in the art in possession of Reed would have looked to Chafni to achieve this wider market appeal to have a more marketable invention beyond an individual person-based gate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have added to the teaching of Reed, the teaching of Chani based on this incentive without yielding unexpected results.
The combined teaching of Reed and Chani would have then taught a smart gate system for vehicles, comprising: at least one terminal having a thermometer and a QR code reader and a microcontroller for opening a gate based on the confirmation signal and based on an operation signal from a security terminal to allow a single vehicle to pass through the opened gate; and a timer to time a predetermined duration that the gate remains open:
(Paragraphs [0016], [0017] and [0021] of Reed. The teaching describes that prior to visitors arriving for an appointment, a host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone, which contains a unique QR code. When the visitor arrives, the QR code is presented to a visitor management kiosk. The QR code contains information about the visitor and the visitor's scheduled appointment. The visitor management kiosk scans and validates the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment. Next, the visitor management kiosk scans the visitor's skin temperature to ensure it is within the kiosk operator's user-defined acceptable range. In one embodiment, the operator may define and establish the kiosk's temperature alarm setting. The visitor management kiosk will also check to ensure that the visitor is wearing a protective face mask. After the kiosk confirms the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment, records an acceptable skin temperature, and confirms that they are wearing a protective mask, the kiosk will print an admittance ticket for the visitor. Simultaneously, the kiosk generates an electronic message that notifies the host that the visitor has arrived and is permitted to enter the facility. In one embodiment, the operator of the system may either activate or deactivate, separately or collectively, all the above-described parameters. In one embodiment, a visitor then approaches a physical barrier (e.g., a turnstile, gate, door, elevator, etc.) In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraph [0171] of Reed. The teaching describes In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes a door status sensor 116 that periodically senses and/or detects whether the door 112 is open or closed/locked. In one embodiment, if the door 112 remains open after a predetermined time (e.g., 30 seconds), the access control reader 102 will recognize that the door 102 is open and will send an alarm signal to the alarm 110.)
(Paragraphs [0037] and [0055] and of Chafni. The teaching describes a decision tree for a processor to authorize a user to access an area according to exemplary embodiments of the disclosed subject matter. The system can be used in a number of use cases as shown in block 301. Use cases can include basic access control, access control plus electronic biometric detection (EBD) such as a thermal check for elevated body temperature, access control plus time clocking, access control plus mask detection, or access control plus density estimation. When the system is on, it is actively detecting activity or conditions (block 302), including detecting faces, detecting people, detecting personal devices, detecting gait, and detecting adverse conditions for facial recognition such as glare or bad lighting. Detections can occur using multiple modalities such as regular cameras, thermal detectors, lidar detectors, etc. As described further below, in some embodiments, an “authorized user” may be an inanimate object that can be security tagged for tracking through a facility. In some embodiments, “authorized user” may further comprise a personal vehicle such as an automobile associated with an authorized human user that can be recognized by the system.)
As per claim 13,
The combined teaching of Reed and Chafni teaches the limitations of claim 11.
The combined teaching of Reed and Chafni further teaches comprising an object sensor, wherein the object sensor senses that a single vehicle has passed through the gate, wherein when the single vehicle is determined as passed the gate, the microcontroller closes the gate at a predetermined time measured by the timer:
(Paragraph [0171] of Reed. The teaching describes that the access control system 100 preferably includes an exit controller 118 that is in communication with the access control reader 102. In one embodiment, the exit controller 118 may include a depressible button or a motion sensor for indicating when an individual wishes to exit an area that is enclosed by the door 112. In one embodiment, an individual may depress a button on the exit controller 118 for transmitting a signal to the access control reader 102, which, in turn, generates a signal for unlocking the electric lock 114 so that the door 112 may be opened. This means that this controller signals the door to open and close based on the motion sensor information in addition to the clearance information.)
(Paragraphs [0037] and [0055] and of Chafni. The teaching describes a decision tree for a processor to authorize a user to access an area according to exemplary embodiments of the disclosed subject matter. The system can be used in a number of use cases as shown in block 301. Use cases can include basic access control, access control plus electronic biometric detection (EBD) such as a thermal check for elevated body temperature, access control plus time clocking, access control plus mask detection, or access control plus density estimation. When the system is on, it is actively detecting activity or conditions (block 302), including detecting faces, detecting people, detecting personal devices, detecting gait, and detecting adverse conditions for facial recognition such as glare or bad lighting. Detections can occur using multiple modalities such as regular cameras, thermal detectors, lidar detectors, etc. As described further below, in some embodiments, an “authorized user” may be an inanimate object that can be security tagged for tracking through a facility. In some embodiments, “authorized user” may further comprise a personal vehicle such as an automobile associated with an authorized human user that can be recognized by the system.)
As per claim 14,
The combined teaching of Reed and Chafni teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Reed further teaches wherein the gate is a door and the microcontroller transmits control signals to open and close the door:
(Paragraph [0171] of Reed. The teaching describes that the access control system 100 preferably includes an exit controller 118 that is in communication with the access control reader 102. In one embodiment, the exit controller 118 may include a depressible button or a motion sensor for indicating when an individual wishes to exit an area that is enclosed by the door 112. In one embodiment, an individual may depress a button on the exit controller 118 for transmitting a signal to the access control reader 102, which, in turn, generates a signal for unlocking the electric lock 114 so that the door 112 may be opened. This means that this controller signals the door to open and close based on the motion sensor information in addition to the clearance information.)
As per claim 15,
The combined teaching of Reed and Chafni teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Chafni further teaches wherein the QR code reader reads a health status QR code and records a current date when the health status information is read, wherein the server compares the date range to the current date, wherein when the current date is after date range, the server sends a control signal indicating that the entry is denied:
(Paragraph [0090] of Chafni. The teaching describes For example but not limitation, authorized times of entry may be varied according to the classification of an authorized user. A permanent employee may have authorized time of entry for 24 hour/7 day access, access during normal business hours or the like depending on their security classification. Regular visitors or contractors may have authorized time of entry limited to certain days and/or hours within normal business hours. Visitors may be assigned one-time access limited to a period of time associated with a predetermined visit schedule such as a calendar entry in the system. For example, a meeting or appointment entered in a calendaring function of a mobile phone or a computer can be linked to the system to provide an expected time of entry for a visitor. For example, a meeting invitation and acceptance can book a calendar entry for visitor(s), human host(s), meeting room, central calendaring system at the host facility, and the system. The system can check whether visitors are authorized users of the system and authorize time of entry credentials in the visitors' devices and tag biometric characteristics of the visitors for use at the time of entry. If the visitor is not in the system as an authorized user, the system can prompt the visitor, host or administrator to enter the necessary credentialing information into the system, such as for example adding an app to a smart device and providing a picture for biometric characterization. This means that when a QR code is scanned but outside the date range for the given appointment, an unauthorized user will not be given access.)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed in view of Chafni in further view of Lickfelt et al. (US 2019/0051071; herein referred to as Lickfelt).
As per claim 12,
The combined teaching of Reed and Chafni teaches the limitations of claim 11.
The combined teaching of Reed and Chafni does not explicitly teach wherein the timer includes a display component for displaying a countdown signal indicating remaining time until the gate will be reclosed.
However, Lickfelt teaches a barrier control system which opens and closes based on authentication wherein the barrier remains open based on a timer, wherein the timer includes a display component for displaying a countdown signal indicating remaining time until the barrier will be closed:
(Paragraph [0131] of Lickfelt. The teaching describes that in one or more embodiments, upon completely traversing from the opened state to the closed state, the barrier controller 124 may utilize the transceiver 128 to send the current state data signal(s) to indicate the state of the barrier 104. Upon the vehicle communication system 122 receiving the current state data signal(s), and the barrier TOC module 144 evaluating the signal(s), the barrier TOC module 144 may present a notification on the countdown interface that indicates that the barrier 104 has completed traversing from the opened state to the closed state. As an illustrative example, the countdown notification may be presented as a graphic that represents a number of seconds and milliseconds remaining for the barrier 104 to traverse from the opened state to the closed state. When the barrier 104 has completely traversed from the opened state to the closed state, the countdown notification may be presented as a graphic that represents the barrier 104 in the closed state.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add to the time of the combined teaching of Reed and Chafni, the timer display teachings of Lickfelt. Both the combined teaching of Reed and Chafni, and the teaching of Lickfelt exist in the same field of endeavor of controlled barrier access. All of the limitation of the claim are taught by the prior art, although in separate references. Each of the prior arts would have operated the same individually as they would being combined. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add to the combined teaching of Reed and Chafni, the teachings of Lickfelt.
Conclusion
/CHAD A NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681