DETAILED ACTION
The present application has been made of the record and currently claims 1, 3, and 5-21 are pending while claims 2 and 4 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
On the IDS filed 4/22/2025, Foreign Patent Documents EP-1215433, FR-1535688, GB-2130325, and WO-2007049053 and Non-Patent Literature “EP-1215433 translation” has not been considered because a copy of the document has not been provided as required by 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a rearward rim shaped and sized for abutting against the rearward portion of the bulge when the securing ring is mounted over the bulge when in the connecting mode” of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
the abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art, in particular, “Quick and easy.” (see lines 12 of the abstract).
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 3, and 5-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 6, “second mode” should be “connecting mode”.
In claims 1, 3, 5-19, there are multiple instances in each claim where there is double spacing that should be single spacing. For example, claim 1, line 1, there is double spacing where “(1)” was crossed out.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim 21, the limitation “The connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the securing ring includes a rearward rim shaped and sized for abutting against the rearward portion of the bulge when the securing ring is mounted over the bulge when in the connecting mode” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention because there appears there is no instance in fig. 12 when “the rearward rim” would abut against the “rearward portion of the bulge … when in the connecting mode”.
For example, the specification on page 17 supports:
“Optionally also, the securing ring (17) may include a rim (17c) being positioned, shaped and sized for abutting against a rearward portion (9b) of the at least one bulge (9) when the securing ring (17) is mounted over the at least one bulge (9) and onto the given length span (7c) of the at least one insert portion (7).
The rim (17c) may simply be a rearward rim (17b) defined about a corresponding inner recess of the securing ring (17), for example. This particular embodiment is a clever way of providing a retaining component (15) for retaining the at least one securing device (11), so as to avoid the securing ring (17) from falling off the connecting assembly (1) when mounted over the at least one bulge (9) and onto the given length span (7c) of the at least one insert portion (7)”.
Therefore, the specification does not support the rearward rim of the securing device abutting against the rearward portion of the bulge when in the connecting mode (ex., when the hose is present) because it appears the only time the rearward rim would abut against the rearward portion is when no hose is present as this feature is used to prevent the securing device from falling off the insert portion (ex., compare fig. 12 and fig. 10).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 21, the limitation “a rearward rim shaped and sized for abutting against the rearward portion of the bulge when the securing ring is mounted over the bulge when in the connecting mode” is unclear to the examiner as to how the “rearward rim” would abut against the “rearward portion” in the connecting mode as there is a hose that appears would prevent such contact as shown in figure 12.
To proceed with prosecution, the limitation “a rearward rim shaped and sized for abutting against the rearward portion of the bulge when the securing ring is mounted over the bulge when in the connecting mode” will be interpreted as “a rearward rim shaped and sized for abutting against the rearward portion of the bulge when the securing ring is mounted over the bulge” because it is unclear as to how the rearward rim would abut against a rearward portion when in the connecting mode (ex., when the hose is present).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-11, 13-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibellina (U.S. Patent No. 4,750,764) in view of Buerli (EP-1215433).
In regards to claim 1, Gibellina discloses:
A connecting assembly (see fig. 12 hereinafter unless otherwise noted) for fluidly connecting a first hose segment (32) and a second hose segment (see fig. 8),
the connecting assembly comprising:
a main body (ex., entire circular main body near 62 in fig. 9)
an insert portion (65, fig. 9) extending from the main body and being removably insertable into an inner diameter of a first extremity of the first hose segment (ex., compare figs. 12 and 14),
the insert portion having a given length span (ex., see fig. 12, where the insert portion is longer than the ring 73), and having a first end (ex., near 72) insertable into said first extremity of the first hose segment, and an opposite second end (ex., near 64);
a bulge (72) provided about the first end of the insert portion,
the bulge comprising a frontward portion (see annotated fig. 12 below) proximate the first end of the insert portion, a rearward portion (see annotated fig. 12) between the first and second ends of the insert portion along the length span of the insert portion, and a tapered insertion portion (see annotated fig. 12) extending between the frontward and rearward portions,
the bulge comprising a substantially flat portion extending between the tapered insertion portion and the rearward portion,
said bulge being positioned, shaped and sized for abutting against an inner wall of the inner diameter of the first extremity of the first hose segment (ex., see fig. 13), and for allowing an outward overlapping of said first extremity of the first hose segment over the bulge (ex., see fig. 13);
a securing device (73) being positioned, shaped and sized for removably mounting onto a portion of the given length span of the insert portion and defining a through-hole (81, fig. 10) shaped and sized for allowing passage of the bulge therethrough,
the securing device being shaped and sized for displacement along said given length span of the insert portion and for operation between:
a release mode (ex., fig. 13), where the securing device is drawn away from the bulge with the rearward portion of the bulge being positioned along the length span of the insert portion beyond the through-hole of the securing ring and thus the first extremity of the first hose segment being allowed to be removed from the bulge (ex., see fig. 13, where the entire bulge is beyond the entire securing device), and
a connecting mode (ex., see fig. 14), where the securing device is removably displaced over the outward overlapping of the first extremity of the first hose segment extending over the bulge, so as to securely maintain said first extremity of the first hose segment in place-against the bulge and thus, prevent the first extremity of the first hose segment from being removed from said bulge (ex., see fig. 14, where the inclined surface presses against the hose which presses against the bulge); and
a fluid passage (69, fig. 11) extending through the insert portion for fluidly connecting the inner diameter of the first extremity of the first hose segment to a corresponding inner diameter of a second extremity of the second hose segment when the securing device is operated in the connecting mode,
but does not disclose:
the bulge comprising a substantially rounded portion extending between the tapered insertion portion and the rearward portion, and/or between the tapered insertion portion and the frontward portion.
In regards to the rounded portion, Buerli discloses a similar device comprising a t-shaped coupling (see fig. 3c) comprising a main body (2), multiple insert portions (21) each comprising a bulge comprising a a substantially rounded portion (260, fig. 4D) extending between a tapered insertion portion (26, fig. 4D) and a rearward portion (ex., flat surface adjacent to 260 in fig. 4D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the shape of flat portion of the bulge of Gibellina such that the flat portion is a rounded portion because Buerli discloses a similar device where it is known to have a rounded portion between a tapered surface and a rearward surface, both a rounded portion and a flat portion appear would work equally as well, and it has been held that a change in shape has been found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. See In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). In this case, modify the known flat portion of the bulge of Gibellina to be a known rounded portion as shown by Buerli would not have produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to claim 3, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the frontward portion of the bulge includes a front face being part of a front annulus (71, fig. 11) of the frontward portion of the bulge, and
the rearward portion of the bulge includes a rear face being part of a rear annulus (ex., see near 72 in fig. 8, which explicitly shows a rear annulus) of the rearward portion of the bulge .
In regards to claim 5, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the bulge has a maximal outer span being substantially equal or greater than the inner diameter of the first extremity of the first hose segment to be mounted onto said bulge (ex., see fig. 9).
In regards to claim 6, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 5, wherein the first hose segment is made of a substantially elastic material (ex., see fig. 9, where the hose is deformable),
wherein the first extremity of said first hose segment is deformable when inserted over the bulge (ex., see fig. 9).
In regards to claim 7, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 6, wherein the insert portion has a substantially cylindrical outer body and a substantially cylindrical inner diameter (ex., see fig. 11, where the insert portion is cylindrical) and
wherein the inner diameter of the at least one insert portion is smaller than the inner diameter of the first extremity of the first hose segment to be mounted onto the at least one bulge (ex., see fig. 9, where the bulge pushes the hose radially outward).
In regards to claim 8, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 7, wherein the securing device includes a retaining component (see annotated fig. 12 above hereinafter) for retaining the securing device about the insert portion when the securing device is mounted over the bulge and onto the given length span of the insert portion.
In regards to claim 9, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according claim 7, wherein the securing device includes a securing ring having an inner surface being shaped and sized so as to securely maintain the first extremity of the first hose segment in place (ex., see fig. 9), against the bulge, when the securing ring is displaced along the insert portion towards the second mode of the securing device (ex., compare fig. 11 and fig. 12).
In regards to claim 10, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 9, wherein the securing ring is made of a substantially elastic material so that the through-hole is resiliently deformable when passed over the bulge (ex., see fig. 9, where the inner surface of the securing ring appears to be deformed and both cross-hatching of the hose and the securing device appear to be the same and thus are deformable).
In regards to claim 11, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 10, wherein the securing ring includes an outwardly-projecting flange (82, fig. 10, where the flange is going axially outward) for facilitating manual handling and operating of the securing device between the release and connecting modes (there is nothing structurally preventing the axially outward flange from meeting the functional limitation of the claim).
In regards to claim 13, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 12, wherein the main body of the connecting assembly includes a shouldering portion (see annotated fig. 12) for abutting against the securing device when mounted onto the given length span of the insert portion the shouldering portion of the main body including an abutment surface (64, fig. 8).
In regards to claim 14, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 13, wherein the insert portion is a first insert portion,
the connecting assembly comprising n insert portions, with n being an integer greater than 1 (see fig. 9),
each of the insert portions comprising an inner fluid passage with a corresponding longitudinal axis extending at a separation angle with respect to a neighboring one of the insert portions (see fig. 11).
In regards to claim 15, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 14, wherein each longitudinal axis of each inner fluid passage lies within a same and common imaginary plane of the connecting assembly (see fig. 11).
In regards to claim 16, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connecting assembly further includes a second insert portion (ex., see opposite insert portion in fig. 9),
the first and second insert portions sharing a common inner fluid passage extending along a longitudinal axis of the connecting assembly (ex., see 69 in fig. 11).
In regards to claim 17, Gibellina in view of Buerli discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connecting assembly further includes a second insert portion (ex., see opposite insert portion in fig. 9),
the first and second insert portions sharing a common inner fluid passage extending along a longitudinal axis of the connecting assembly (ex., see 69 in fig. 11),
each of the first and insert portions having an inner fluid passage with a corresponding longitudinal axis
but does not disclose:
wherein the connecting assembly further includes a third insert portion,
each of the first, second and third insert portions having an inner fluid passage with a corresponding longitudinal axis, and
wherein at least one corresponding insertion portion of the at least first, second and third insert portions extends beyond a plane defined by each longitudinal axis of each inner fluid passage of other remaining insert portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the connecting assembly of Gibellina in view of Buerli such that the connection assembly of Gibellina in view of Buerli is a T-shaped connector comprising three identical and orthogonal connector ends because Buerli discloses that there a finite number of identified solutions of using either a T-fitting shown in fig. 3a for connection three hoses or a straight fitting as shown in fig. 2 for connecting two hoses. A person of ordinary skill could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying the straight fitting of Gibellina in view of Buerli with an additional orthogonal insert portion to allow the addition of another hose segment is within their technical grasp and would produce no new results.
In regards to claim 18, Gibellina in view of Buerli further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 17, wherein said at least first, second and third insert portions are mutually orthogonal.
In regards to claim 21, as best understood, Gibellina further discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 1, wherein the securing ring includes a rearward rim (see annotated fig. 12 above) shaped and sized for abutting against the rearward portion of the bulge when the securing ring is mounted over the bulge when in the connecting mode.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibellina in view of Buerli as applied to claim 11 above and in further view of Foote (U.S. Patent No. 4,299,053).
In regards to claim 12, Gibellina in view of Buerli discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 11,
but does not disclose:
wherein the main body of the connecting assembly has an outer cross-sectional profile which is polygonal with a corresponding number of sides.
In regards to the shape of the main body, Foote discloses a similar connector assembly comprising a main body that is square (see near 12, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the shape of the circular main body of Gibellina in view of Buerli such that the main body is polygonal because Foote discloses that it is known for similar devices to comprise a polygonal main body (ex., see fig. 1) and it has been held that a change in shape has been found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. See In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). In this case, simply changing the shape of the circular main body of Gibellina in view of Buerli to be a polygonal main body would not produce any new or unexpected results.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin (U.S. Patent No. 4,366,648) in view of Gibellina in view of Buerli.
In regards to claim 19, Morin discloses:
A harvesting system for harvesting sap from a plurality of maple trees, the harvesting system comprising:
a network of hose segments (see fig. 1) being fluidly connected to one another, and being fluidly connected between corresponding taps (considered as 12 in Fig. 1) of the maple trees to be harvested for sap, and a centralized collecting center (considered as 26 in Fig. 1); 34
a vacuum device (considered as 22 in Fig. 1) operatively connectable to the network of hose segments for drawing sap harvested from the corresponding taps of the maple trees towards the centralized collecting center; and
at least one connecting assembly (considered as a “tee connection” and shown as 16 in Fig. 5; see Col. 2, Lines 14-15 where it explicitly describes it as a “tee connection”), and provided about 5the network of hose segments (see element 16 in Fig. 1) for operatively and fluidly connecting at least first and second hose segments (considered as 14 in Figs. 1 and 5) together,
for allowing sap to flow from the corresponding taps of the maple trees to be harvested to the centralized collecting center (see Col. 3, Lines 1-2),
but does not disclose
a securing device of the connection assembly according to claim 1. In regards to the connection assembly, Gibellina discloses:
A connecting assembly (see fig. 12 hereinafter unless otherwise noted) for fluidly connecting a first hose segment (32) and a second hose segment (see fig. 8),
the connecting assembly comprising:
a main body (ex., entire circular main body near 62 in fig. 9)
an insert portion (65, fig. 9) extending from the main body and being removably insertable into an inner diameter of a first extremity of the first hose segment (ex., compare figs. 12 and 14),
the insert portion having a given length span (ex., see fig. 12, where the insert portion is longer than the ring 73), and having a first end (ex., near 72) insertable into said first extremity of the first hose segment, and an opposite second end (ex., near 64);
a bulge (72) provided about the first end of the insert portion,
the bulge comprising a frontward portion (see annotated fig. 12 below) proximate the first end of the insert portion, a rearward portion (see annotated fig. 12) between the first and second ends of the insert portion along the length span of the insert portion, and a tapered insertion portion (see annotated fig. 12) extending between the frontward and rearward portions,
the bulge comprising a substantially flat portion extending between the tapered insertion portion and the rearward portion,
said bulge being positioned, shaped and sized for abutting against an inner wall of the inner diameter of the first extremity of the first hose segment (ex., see fig. 13), and for allowing an outward overlapping of said first extremity of the first hose segment over the bulge (ex., see fig. 13);
a securing device (73) being positioned, shaped and sized for removably mounting onto a portion of the given length span of the insert portion and defining a through-hole (81, fig. 10) shaped and sized for allowing passage of the bulge therethrough,
the securing device being shaped and sized for displacement along said given length span of the insert portion and for operation between:
a release mode (ex., fig. 13), where the securing device is drawn away from the bulge with the rearward portion of the bulge being positioned along the length span of the insert portion beyond the through-hole of the securing ring and thus the first extremity of the first hose segment being allowed to be removed from the bulge (ex., see fig. 13, where the entire bulge is beyond the entire securing device), and
a connecting mode (ex., see fig. 14), where the securing device is removably displaced over the outward overlapping of the first extremity of the first hose segment extending over the bulge, so as to securely maintain said first extremity of the first hose segment in place-against the bulge and thus, prevent the first extremity of the first hose segment from being removed from said bulge (ex., see fig. 14, where the inclined surface presses against the hose which presses against the bulge); and
a fluid passage (69, fig. 11) extending through the insert portion for fluidly connecting the inner diameter of the first extremity of the first hose segment to a corresponding inner diameter of a second extremity of the second hose segment when the securing device is operated in the connecting mode,
but does not disclose:
the bulge comprising a substantially rounded portion extending between the tapered insertion portion and the rearward portion, and/or between the tapered insertion portion and the frontward portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the connection assembly of Morin with the connection assembly comprising a securing device of Gibelin because Morin discloses a device which differs from the claim device by a replacement of the connection assembly of Gibelin and a change in shape of the flat portion of the bulge of Gibelin, Gibelin discloses a similar connection assembly that at least provides the benefit of sealing attach a hose to the connection assembly by simply pushing an end of the hose into engagement with the connection assembly (2:12-44), and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the known connection assembly of Morin for the know connection assembly of Gibelin because replacing one known connection assembly for another known connection assembly would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to the change in shape of the flat portion of the bulge, Buerli discloses a similar device comprising a t-shaped coupling (see fig. 3c) comprising a main body (2), multiple insert portions (21) each comprising a bulge comprising a substantially rounded portion (260, fig. 4D) extending between a tapered insertion portion (26, fig. 4D) and a rearward portion (ex., flat surface adjacent to 260 in fig. 4D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the shape of flat portion of the bulge of Morin in view of Gibellina such that the flat portion is a rounded portion because Buerli discloses a similar device where it is known to have a rounded portion between a tapered surface and a rearward surface, both a rounded portion and a flat portion appear would work equally as well, and it has been held that a change in shape has been found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. See In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). In this case, modify the known flat portion of the bulge of Morin in view of Gibellina to be a known rounded portion as shown by Buerli would not have produced any new or unexpected results.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibellina in view of Buerli as applied to claim above and in further view of Offutt (U.S. Patent No. 4,321,911).
In regards to claim 20, Gibellina in view of Buerli discloses:
The connecting assembly according to claim 9, wherein the inner surface of the securing ring is an angled inner surface (ex., see 81 in fig. 12),
said angled inner surface extending at a deviation angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the insert portion (it is inherent that the surface is at an angle as shown in fig. 12), and being shaped and sized so as to progressively and increasingly constrict the first extremity of the first hose segment in place against the bulge by progressively reducing a spacing between said angled inner surface of the securing ring and an apex portion of the bulge (ex., compare fig. 13 and fig. 14, where the securing device increases pressure against the hose as its moved to the right),
but does not disclose:
the deviation angle being between about 12 degrees and about 18 degrees.
In regards to the angle, Offutt discloses a similar device comprising a securing device comprising an inner surface with an angle of 15 degrees.
However, while Gibellina in view of Buerli does not expressly disclose “the deviation angle being between about 12 degrees and about 18 degrees”, the “deviation angle” may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters because Offutt discloses that it is known for similar devices comprising a securing device to comprise an inner surface with an angle of 15 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the deviation angle of the inner surface of Gibellina in view of Buerli to have a deviation angle of 15 degrees, as the “ deviation angle” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable because Offutt discloses that it is known for similar devices to comprise an inner surface with an angle of 15 degrees (2:55-58). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 3, and 5-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-7, 12-20, and 23-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,756. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3, and 5-21 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 6-7, 12-20, and 23-28 of the reference patent. In other words, claims 1, 6-7, 12-20, and 23-28 of the reference patent fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 1, 3, and 5-21. Thus, the invention of claims 1-3 and 5 of the reference patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic invention of claims 1, 3, and 5-21. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1, 3, and 5-21 are anticipated by claims 1, 6-7, 12-20, and 23-28 of the reference patent, claims 1, 3, and 5-21 are not patentably distinct from claims 1, 6-7, 12-20, and 23-28, regardless of any additional subject matter presented in claims 1, 6-7, 12-20, and 23-28.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Olson (U.S. Patent No. 6,231,085) discloses a similar device where it is a known for multiple shapes to be used such as polygonal shapes (5:32-41).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679