Status of Claims
This office action for the 19/186280 application is in response to the communications filed April 22, 2025.
Claims 1-20 were initially submitted April 22, 2025.
Claims 1-15 were cancelled April 22, 2025.
Claims 16-20 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed et al. (US 2021/0304537; herein referred to as Reed) in view of Kline et al. (US 2021/0025721; herein referred to as Kline).
As per claim 16,
Reed teaches a smart gate system, comprising: a memory storing health information of a user and a communication circuit; a mobile device having a communication circuit for communication, and a display device for graphical and textual display; a QR code reader reading a health status QR code from the display device of the mobile device:
(Paragraphs [0016], [0017] and [0021] of Reed. The teaching describes that prior to visitors arriving for an appointment, a host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone, which contains a unique QR code. When the visitor arrives, the QR code is presented to a visitor management kiosk. The QR code contains information about the visitor and the visitor's scheduled appointment. The visitor management kiosk scans and validates the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment. Next, the visitor management kiosk scans the visitor's skin temperature to ensure it is within the kiosk operator's user-defined acceptable range. In one embodiment, the operator may define and establish the kiosk's temperature alarm setting. The visitor management kiosk will also check to ensure that the visitor is wearing a protective face mask. After the kiosk confirms the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment, records an acceptable skin temperature, and confirms that they are wearing a protective mask, the kiosk will print an admittance ticket for the visitor. Simultaneously, the kiosk generates an electronic message that notifies the host that the visitor has arrived and is permitted to enter the facility. In one embodiment, the operator of the system may either activate or deactivate, separately or collectively, all the above-described parameters. In one embodiment, a visitor then approaches a physical barrier (e.g., a turnstile, gate, door, elevator, etc.) In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
Reed further teaches a server for receiving a body temperature reading, and health status information and date range from the QR code reader, and determining authorization to enter through a gate based on the body temperature reading, the health status information, and the date range, and sending an authorization signal indicating authorization to enter, or denying entry:
(Paragraphs [0021], [0165] and [0169] of Reed. The teaching describes that the access control reader 102 is desirably in communication with and is controlled by a central controller 104 (e.g., a computer network) that may include one or more servers, one or more central processing units (CPUs), software, computer applications, video monitors, and computer monitors. In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes an alarm 110 that may be activated if the system determines that an individual attempting to gain access to a controlled area fails one or more of the rules that have been established via the central control unit 104. For example, if the access control reader 102 detects that an individual attempting to gain access to a secure area has an unacceptable skin temperature (e.g., 103 degrees Fahrenheit), the access control reader 102 will send a signal to the alarm 110 to activate the alarm. In one embodiment, an access control system preferably includes a visitor management kiosk that can verify a visitor's identity and scheduled appointment [date range from the QR code reader], ensure that the visitor has an acceptable skin temperature, and confirm that the visitor is wearing a protective mask [health status information], all while recording the entire process for auditing and reporting purposes. In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
Reed further teaches a microcontroller for opening a gate based on the authorization signal to allow the user to pass through the opened gate; and a timer to time a predetermined duration that the gate remains open:
(Paragraph [0171] of Reed. The teaching describes In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes a door status sensor 116 that periodically senses and/or detects whether the door 112 is open or closed/locked. In one embodiment, if the door 112 remains open after a predetermined time (e.g., 30 seconds), the access control reader 102 will recognize that the door 102 is open and will send an alarm signal to the alarm 110.)
Reed does not explicitly teach that the device that measures the temperature of the user and communicates with the smart gate is a wearable smart bracelet that the user wears.
However, Kline teaches a smart bracelet that collects temperature data for a user and collects this data when a user approaches checkpoints during their travel:
(Paragraph [0035] of Kline. The teaching describes a multi- -mode transportation program 112 receives (218) user data along the route. In this embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set intervals (e.g., 10 seconds) along the route as the user travels between the origin location and the destination location. In another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the checkpoints are time and/or distance traveled based. In yet another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the set checkpoints are associated with an occurrence of a change of mode of transportation along the generated route. The user data includes subsets of data, such as blood pressure, heart rate, body temperature, oxygen levels, and other biometric values capable of being capture by a wearable electronic device (e.g., smart watch device). Multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine a level of anxiety a traveling user is experiencing along the generated route, along with an rapid change in level of anxiety. In other embodiments, multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine if the traveling user is fatigued and/or becoming ill (e.g., oncoming fever).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the temperature sensor of Reed to replace it with the wearable temperature sensor of Kline. The temperature sensor of Reed has issues with the mobile nature of the patient in relation to the sensor itself. Because a user has to move toward to the check point in open air, and the temperature sensor is ostensibly placed for a minimal amount of time, an inaccurate temperature reading is likely. One of ordinary skill in the art in possession of Reed would have looked to Kline and recognized that a wearable device such as a smart watch is much better suited to collect temperature readings. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Reed in this way with Kline based on this incentive without yielding unexpected results.
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline would have then taught a smart gate system, comprising: a smart bracelet device having a memory storing health information of a user wearing the smart bracelet device and a communication circuit; a mobile device having a communication circuit for communication with the smart bracelet device, and a display device for graphical and textual display; a QR code reader reading a health status QR code from the display device of the mobile device and a server for receiving a body temperature reading from the smart bracelet device, and health status information and date range from the QR code reader, and determining authorization to enter through a gate based on the body temperature reading, the health status information, and the date range, and sending an authorization signal indicating authorization to enter, or denying entry:
(Paragraphs [0016], [0017] and [0021] of Reed. The teaching describes that prior to visitors arriving for an appointment, a host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone, which contains a unique QR code. When the visitor arrives, the QR code is presented to a visitor management kiosk. The QR code contains information about the visitor and the visitor's scheduled appointment. The visitor management kiosk scans and validates the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment. Next, the visitor management kiosk scans the visitor's skin temperature to ensure it is within the kiosk operator's user-defined acceptable range. In one embodiment, the operator may define and establish the kiosk's temperature alarm setting. The visitor management kiosk will also check to ensure that the visitor is wearing a protective face mask. After the kiosk confirms the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment, records an acceptable skin temperature, and confirms that they are wearing a protective mask, the kiosk will print an admittance ticket for the visitor. Simultaneously, the kiosk generates an electronic message that notifies the host that the visitor has arrived and is permitted to enter the facility. In one embodiment, the operator of the system may either activate or deactivate, separately or collectively, all the above-described parameters. In one embodiment, a visitor then approaches a physical barrier (e.g., a turnstile, gate, door, elevator, etc.) In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraphs [0021], [0165] and [0169] of Reed. The teaching describes that the access control reader 102 is desirably in communication with and is controlled by a central controller 104 (e.g., a computer network) that may include one or more servers, one or more central processing units (CPUs), software, computer applications, video monitors, and computer monitors. In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes an alarm 110 that may be activated if the system determines that an individual attempting to gain access to a controlled area fails one or more of the rules that have been established via the central control unit 104. For example, if the access control reader 102 detects that an individual attempting to gain access to a secure area has an unacceptable skin temperature (e.g., 103 degrees Fahrenheit), the access control reader 102 will send a signal to the alarm 110 to activate the alarm. In one embodiment, an access control system preferably includes a visitor management kiosk that can verify a visitor's identity and scheduled appointment [date range from the QR code reader], ensure that the visitor has an acceptable skin temperature, and confirm that the visitor is wearing a protective mask [health status information], all while recording the entire process for auditing and reporting purposes. In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraph [0035] of Kline. The teaching describes a multi- -mode transportation program 112 receives (218) user data along the route. In this embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set intervals (e.g., 10 seconds) along the route as the user travels between the origin location and the destination location. In another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the checkpoints are time and/or distance traveled based. In yet another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the set checkpoints are associated with an occurrence of a change of mode of transportation along the generated route. The user data includes subsets of data, such as blood pressure, heart rate, body temperature, oxygen levels, and other biometric values capable of being capture by a wearable electronic device (e.g., smart watch device). Multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine a level of anxiety a traveling user is experiencing along the generated route, along with an rapid change in level of anxiety. In other embodiments, multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine if the traveling user is fatigued and/or becoming ill (e.g., oncoming fever).)
As per claim 17,
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline teaches the limitations of claim 16.
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline further teaches wherein the smart bracelet device includes a temperature sensor for obtaining a body temperature of the user wearing the smart bracelet device, wherein the communication circuit of the smart bracelet device transmits the body temperature reading to the mobile device, and wherein the communication circuit of the mobile device transmits the body temperature reading to the server when the QR code reader reads the health status QR code:
(Paragraphs [0016], [0017] and [0021] of Reed. The teaching describes that prior to visitors arriving for an appointment, a host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone, which contains a unique QR code. When the visitor arrives, the QR code is presented to a visitor management kiosk. The QR code contains information about the visitor and the visitor's scheduled appointment. The visitor management kiosk scans and validates the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment. Next, the visitor management kiosk scans the visitor's skin temperature to ensure it is within the kiosk operator's user-defined acceptable range. In one embodiment, the operator may define and establish the kiosk's temperature alarm setting. The visitor management kiosk will also check to ensure that the visitor is wearing a protective face mask. After the kiosk confirms the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment, records an acceptable skin temperature, and confirms that they are wearing a protective mask, the kiosk will print an admittance ticket for the visitor. Simultaneously, the kiosk generates an electronic message that notifies the host that the visitor has arrived and is permitted to enter the facility. In one embodiment, the operator of the system may either activate or deactivate, separately or collectively, all the above-described parameters. In one embodiment, a visitor then approaches a physical barrier (e.g., a turnstile, gate, door, elevator, etc.) In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraphs [0021], [0165] and [0169] of Reed. The teaching describes that the access control reader 102 is desirably in communication with and is controlled by a central controller 104 (e.g., a computer network) that may include one or more servers, one or more central processing units (CPUs), software, computer applications, video monitors, and computer monitors. In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes an alarm 110 that may be activated if the system determines that an individual attempting to gain access to a controlled area fails one or more of the rules that have been established via the central control unit 104. For example, if the access control reader 102 detects that an individual attempting to gain access to a secure area has an unacceptable skin temperature (e.g., 103 degrees Fahrenheit), the access control reader 102 will send a signal to the alarm 110 to activate the alarm. In one embodiment, an access control system preferably includes a visitor management kiosk that can verify a visitor's identity and scheduled appointment [date range from the QR code reader], ensure that the visitor has an acceptable skin temperature, and confirm that the visitor is wearing a protective mask [health status information], all while recording the entire process for auditing and reporting purposes. In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraph [0035] of Kline. The teaching describes a multi- -mode transportation program 112 receives (218) user data along the route. In this embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set intervals (e.g., 10 seconds) along the route as the user travels between the origin location and the destination location. In another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the checkpoints are time and/or distance traveled based. In yet another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the set checkpoints are associated with an occurrence of a change of mode of transportation along the generated route. The user data includes subsets of data, such as blood pressure, heart rate, body temperature, oxygen levels, and other biometric values capable of being capture by a wearable electronic device (e.g., smart watch device). Multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine a level of anxiety a traveling user is experiencing along the generated route, along with an rapid change in level of anxiety. In other embodiments, multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine if the traveling user is fatigued and/or becoming ill (e.g., oncoming fever).)
As per claim 18,
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline teaches the limitations of claim 16.
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline further teaches wherein the memory of the smart bracelet device stores the health status information, and the communication circuit of the smart bracelet device is configured to communicate with the microcontroller, the microcontroller is configured to receive the health status information, and temperature reading from the smart bracelet device and determine authorization to enter through the gate based on the health status information and the temperature reading:
(Paragraphs [0016], [0017] and [0021] of Reed. The teaching describes that prior to visitors arriving for an appointment, a host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone, which contains a unique QR code. When the visitor arrives, the QR code is presented to a visitor management kiosk. The QR code contains information about the visitor and the visitor's scheduled appointment. The visitor management kiosk scans and validates the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment. Next, the visitor management kiosk scans the visitor's skin temperature to ensure it is within the kiosk operator's user-defined acceptable range. In one embodiment, the operator may define and establish the kiosk's temperature alarm setting. The visitor management kiosk will also check to ensure that the visitor is wearing a protective face mask. After the kiosk confirms the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment, records an acceptable skin temperature, and confirms that they are wearing a protective mask, the kiosk will print an admittance ticket for the visitor. Simultaneously, the kiosk generates an electronic message that notifies the host that the visitor has arrived and is permitted to enter the facility. In one embodiment, the operator of the system may either activate or deactivate, separately or collectively, all the above-described parameters. In one embodiment, a visitor then approaches a physical barrier (e.g., a turnstile, gate, door, elevator, etc.) In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraphs [0021], [0165] and [0169] of Reed. The teaching describes that the access control reader 102 is desirably in communication with and is controlled by a central controller 104 (e.g., a computer network) that may include one or more servers, one or more central processing units (CPUs), software, computer applications, video monitors, and computer monitors. In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes an alarm 110 that may be activated if the system determines that an individual attempting to gain access to a controlled area fails one or more of the rules that have been established via the central control unit 104. For example, if the access control reader 102 detects that an individual attempting to gain access to a secure area has an unacceptable skin temperature (e.g., 103 degrees Fahrenheit), the access control reader 102 will send a signal to the alarm 110 to activate the alarm. In one embodiment, an access control system preferably includes a visitor management kiosk that can verify a visitor's identity and scheduled appointment [date range from the QR code reader], ensure that the visitor has an acceptable skin temperature, and confirm that the visitor is wearing a protective mask [health status information], all while recording the entire process for auditing and reporting purposes. In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraph [0035] of Kline. The teaching describes a multi- -mode transportation program 112 receives (218) user data along the route. In this embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set intervals (e.g., 10 seconds) along the route as the user travels between the origin location and the destination location. In another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the checkpoints are time and/or distance traveled based. In yet another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the set checkpoints are associated with an occurrence of a change of mode of transportation along the generated route. The user data includes subsets of data, such as blood pressure, heart rate, body temperature, oxygen levels, and other biometric values capable of being capture by a wearable electronic device (e.g., smart watch device). Multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine a level of anxiety a traveling user is experiencing along the generated route, along with an rapid change in level of anxiety. In other embodiments, multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine if the traveling user is fatigued and/or becoming ill (e.g., oncoming fever).)
As per claim 20,
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline teaches the limitations of claim 16.
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline further teaches wherein the gate is a locked door, wherein the microcontroller unlocks the door based on the authorization signal to allow the user wearing the smart bracelet device to pass through the unlocked door; and a timer to time a predetermined duration that the door remains unlocked, after which the door is relocked:
(Paragraphs [0016], [0017] and [0021] of Reed. The teaching describes that prior to visitors arriving for an appointment, a host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone, which contains a unique QR code. When the visitor arrives, the QR code is presented to a visitor management kiosk. The QR code contains information about the visitor and the visitor's scheduled appointment. The visitor management kiosk scans and validates the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment. Next, the visitor management kiosk scans the visitor's skin temperature to ensure it is within the kiosk operator's user-defined acceptable range. In one embodiment, the operator may define and establish the kiosk's temperature alarm setting. The visitor management kiosk will also check to ensure that the visitor is wearing a protective face mask. After the kiosk confirms the visitor's identity and scheduled appointment, records an acceptable skin temperature, and confirms that they are wearing a protective mask, the kiosk will print an admittance ticket for the visitor. Simultaneously, the kiosk generates an electronic message that notifies the host that the visitor has arrived and is permitted to enter the facility. In one embodiment, the operator of the system may either activate or deactivate, separately or collectively, all the above-described parameters. In one embodiment, a visitor then approaches a physical barrier (e.g., a turnstile, gate, door, elevator, etc.) In one embodiment, prior to a visitor arriving for their appointment, their host will send an invitation to the visitor's phone which contains a unique QR code. Creating the invitation is quick and easy. When the visitor arrives, they display their QR code to the visitor management kiosk.)
(Paragraph [0171] of Reed. The teaching describes In one embodiment, the access control system 100 preferably includes a door status sensor 116 that periodically senses and/or detects whether the door 112 is open or closed/locked. In one embodiment, if the door 112 remains open after a predetermined time (e.g., 30 seconds), the access control reader 102 will recognize that the door 102 is open and will send an alarm signal to the alarm 110.)
(Paragraph [0035] of Kline. The teaching describes a multi- -mode transportation program 112 receives (218) user data along the route. In this embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set intervals (e.g., 10 seconds) along the route as the user travels between the origin location and the destination location. In another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the checkpoints are time and/or distance traveled based. In yet another embodiment, multi-mode transportation program 112 receives user data from a client device associated with the user at set checkpoints along the generated route, where the set checkpoints are associated with an occurrence of a change of mode of transportation along the generated route. The user data includes subsets of data, such as blood pressure, heart rate, body temperature, oxygen levels, and other biometric values capable of being capture by a wearable electronic device (e.g., smart watch device). Multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine a level of anxiety a traveling user is experiencing along the generated route, along with an rapid change in level of anxiety. In other embodiments, multi-mode transportation program 112 utilizes the received user data to determine if the traveling user is fatigued and/or becoming ill (e.g., oncoming fever).)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed and Kline in further view of Chafni et al. (US 2021/0358244; herein referred to as Chafni).
As per claim 19,
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline teaches the limitations of claim 16.
The combined teaching of Reed and Kline does not explicitly teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to deny entry through the gate when a current date maintained by the microcontroller is after the date range.
However, Chafni teaches wherein the microcontroller is configured to deny entry through the gate when a current date maintained by the microcontroller is after the date range:
(Paragraph [0090] of Chafni. The teaching describes For example but not limitation, authorized times of entry may be varied according to the classification of an authorized user. A permanent employee may have authorized time of entry for 24 hour/7 day access, access during normal business hours or the like depending on their security classification. Regular visitors or contractors may have authorized time of entry limited to certain days and/or hours within normal business hours. Visitors may be assigned one-time access limited to a period of time associated with a predetermined visit schedule such as a calendar entry in the system. For example, a meeting or appointment entered in a calendaring function of a mobile phone or a computer can be linked to the system to provide an expected time of entry for a visitor. For example, a meeting invitation and acceptance can book a calendar entry for visitor(s), human host(s), meeting room, central calendaring system at the host facility, and the system. The system can check whether visitors are authorized users of the system and authorize time of entry credentials in the visitors' devices and tag biometric characteristics of the visitors for use at the time of entry. If the visitor is not in the system as an authorized user, the system can prompt the visitor, host or administrator to enter the necessary credentialing information into the system, such as for example adding an app to a smart device and providing a picture for biometric characterization. This means that when a QR code is scanned but outside the date range for the given appointment, an unauthorized user will not be given access.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to add to the combined teaching of Reed and Kline, the security teachings of Chafni. The security parameters allowing or denying entry to the gated area based on a specified window of time as taught in Chafni provides a higher level of security than that of the combined teaching of Reed and Kline. The QR code in Reed already is already based on an invitation to come into the gated space at an appointed time. This security measure of Chafni ensures that the gated space is not entered by persons unless necessary. One of ordinary skill in the art would have added to the combined teaching of Reed and Kline based on this incentive without yielding unexpected results.
Conclusion
/CHAD A NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681