DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,414,899. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 13-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eliuk (2006/0259195).
In re claim 7, Eliuk discloses a robotic system (at least figs.15a-c, 52a-b, and 53a-d) operable for transfer of fluid between a container (vial or IV bags shown in figs.52a-b) and a fluid transfer assembly (syringe with luer lock needle connector shown in figs.46 and 52a-53d) comprising a fluid transfer unit (syringe barrel and plunger shown in figs.46, 52a-53d) accessible via a fluid transfer connector (luer lock needle connector shown in figs. 46, 52a-53d), said fluid transfer connector being configured to facilitate connection of the fluid transfer assembly with the container for said transfer of fluid (paras.450-462), the robotic system comprising:
a controller (at least paras.76, and 179-180); and
a manipulator (at least one of the manipulators shown in figs.15a-c, 52a-b, or 53a-d) controllable by the controller and configured to hold and manipulate the fluid transfer assembly, said manipulator being configured to hold the fluid transfer assembly at the fluid transfer connector (best shown in figs.52a-b and 53a-d and described in paras.450-462).
In re claim 8, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 7, wherein the manipulator comprises a gripping arm (“fingers” para.451) having at least one gripper element (“notch” para.451) configured to grip a gripping portion of the fluid transfer connector.
In re claim 9, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 7, wherein the manipulator comprises an engaging arm (“fingers” para.451) configured to engage an engaging portion of the fluid transfer connector.
In re claim 10, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 7, wherein the manipulator is configured to manipulate the fluid transfer assembly while maintaining the fluid transfer unit free of hold by the manipulator (has all of the structure required to meet the claim, paras.450-462).
In re claim 11, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 7, wherein the manipulator is configured to manipulate the fluid transfer assembly while holding the fluid transfer assembly at a portion distant from the fluid transfer unit (has all of the structure required to meet the claim, paras.450-462, figs.15a-c, 52a-b, and 53a-d).
In re claim 13, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 7, further comprising a fluid transfer connector (luer lock needle connector shown in figs. 46 and 52a- 53d) configured to connect to a fluid transfer unit of the fluid transfer assembly and to facilitate connection of the fluid transfer unit with the container for said transfer of fluid, wherein the manipulator comprises a gripping arm (“fingers” para.451) having at least one gripper element (“notch” para.451) configured to grip a gripping portion of the fluid transfer connector.
In re claim 14, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 13, wherein the fluid transfer connector comprises the gripping portion (needle portion of the luer lock needle connector and/or the cap removed by the gripper) configured to be gripped by the gripping arm of the manipulator.
In re claim 15, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 14, wherein the gripping portion comprises at least one grip-able element (gripping portion of the cap removed) configured to be gripped by the gripper element of the gripping arm.
In re claim 1, Eliuk discloses a method for transferring fluid between a syringe assembly and a container, see the rejection of claim 7, below. The method is anticipated by the normal use of the robotic system. The robotic system merely uses broader terminology for the syringe assembly, syringe, and syringe connector.
In re claim 2, the method is anticipated by the normal use of the device as rejected in claim 8.
In re claim 3, the method is anticipated by the normal use of the device as rejected in claim 9
In re claim 5, the method is anticipated by the normal use of the device as rejected in claim 13.
In re claim 6, the method is anticipated by the normal use of the device as rejected in claim 14.
In re claim 19, see the rejection of claim 7 above.
In re claim 20, see the rejection of claim 7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliuk in view of Kriheli (8,196,614).
In re claim 4, Eliuk discloses the container comprises a container septum (septum of vial/IV bag) and wherein the manipulator manipulates the syringe assembly to secure contact between the syringe connect and the container-septum of the container while holding the syringe assembly at the syringe connector (paras.450-462). However, Eliuk fails to explicitly disclose the sheathed needle syringe with the protective septum for the needle.
Kriheli teaches another grippable syringe with a needle and septum (figs.8-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Kriheli in Eliuk as an obvious engineering design choice for swapping two known equivalent items. It has been held that “reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle”. See MPEP 2144.06 and 2144.07. Additionally, Kriheli teaches the benefit form utilizing such a connector is the safer transfer of hazardous drugs.
In re claims 12 and 18, see the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eliuk in view of Perazzo (9,466,088)
In re claim 16, Eliuk discloses the robotic system according to claim 15, wherein the gripper element comprises a corresponding recess (“notch” para.451) configured to receive therein, at least partially, said protrusion. However, Eliuk fails to explicitly disclose he at least one grip-able element comprises a protrusion.
Perazzo teaches corresponding protrusions on items gripped (col.26 ln.51-58, figs.5 and 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Perazzo in Eliuk for the purpose of ensuring a more secure grip.
In re claim 17, see the rejection of claim 16 above. Modified Eliuk discloses all the limitations of the claims, except for the notch and protrusion are swapped. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to switch the location of the notch/protrusion, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04. Regardless, Perazzo teaches the grooves and ridges, see, e.g. col.26 ln.51-58.
Conclusion
/Timothy P. Kelly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753