DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-20
Claims amended: 1, 3, 11, 13,
Claims cancelled: n/a
New claims: n/a
Double Patenting
Applicants filed and approved terminal disclaimers overcomes the double patenting rejection raised; therefore, the Rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 07/01/2026, regarding
“…Jang does not disclose receiving data generated using additional user voice and additional information and displaying the data through a UI…. the cited references do not teach or suggest a controller configured to "based on a second user voice input corresponding to the content being received through the voice input receiver while the content is being output, receive data corresponding to the second user voice input from the server through the communicator; and control the display to output a UI included in an item corresponding to a plurality of pieces of content together with the content that is being output based on the received data, wherein the received data is generated based on the second user voice input and additional information,…”
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in further view of Jang, see detailed action below.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11, 2-10, 12-20 have been fully considered and are rejected based on the same reasons as claim(s) 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-3, 5, 7-13, 15, 17-20, is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over (US 20130041665) to (Jang) in view of (US 20140188485) to (Kim).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 11, Jang teach A display device comprising: a signal receiver configured to receive a broadcasting signal; a communicator, a voice input receiver; a display; and a processor (Fig. 1, 3, #111, P. 38-48, 59-61, 64-65, 95, in FIG. 3, the communication unit includes at least one of a broadcast receiving module 111, broadcast receiving module 111 receives broadcast signals and/or broadcast associated information from an external broadcast management server via a broadcast channel; users transmitting voice commands to the TV electronic device 100 (including processors), with user input unit, communicator, controller, and displaying content signal, while receiving a voice input): based on a first user voice input corresponding to a control of a channel received through the voice input receiver, change a channel, and control the display to output content corresponding to the broadcasting signal of the changed channel received through the signal receiver; (Fig. 1, 2, 4-7, P. 38-48, 59-61, 110-117, when a speaker speaks a voice command "Next Channel", the controller 180 can determine whether the voice command is matched with any one of a plurality of command databases, and apply the voice command "Next Channel" to the first content C1. Accordingly, the controller 180 can change the channel to "CH 14 ESPN" which is a program subsequent to "CH 13 CNN" of FIG. 6.) based on a second user voice input (S2, s3, s4, fig.1-2,) corresponding to the content being received through the voice input receiver while the content is being output, (Fig. 2, 7, P. 110-117, user S1 is commanding “next channel” to first content C1,) receive data corresponding to the second user voice input through the communicator; and control the display to output a UI included in an item corresponding to a plurality of pieces of content together with the content that is being output based on the received data, wherein the received data is generated based on the second user voice input and additional information (Fig. 2, 4-8, 20-23, P. 128-133, 167-176, user S1 can be using voice command to command changing of channel on broadcast on one side of the display, while another user S2 uses another voice command to “enlarge map” or perform other commands on the right side fig 6-8, C21, while both sets of contents are displayed on the same UI, display UI prompts are also used for interactive command affirmation, the concept of the system taught being able to perform those steps, which reads on (received data is generated based on second user voice input and additional information, and receiving data generated using additional user voice and additional information and displaying the data through a UI)).
Jang further teach internet module 113 within the communication unit 110 for display 100 (Fig 2-3,).
Jan fail to specifically teach server.
Kim further teach server. (Fig. 1, P. 7-9, 17, 37-39, 44, 46, 70, display 100 consists of communication unit 110, including internet module 113, which supports internet access with external servers for receive data corresponding to user voice input from a server through communicator)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Jang by having a server as taught by Kim in order to more efficiently use various wireless networks.
Regarding (claim(s) 2, 12, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the additional information, the content that is being output to the display is broadcast.
Jang further teach information about a channel in which content that is being output to display is broadcast. (Fig .11, P. 130, display a user interface for enabling the speaker to select content to which the common command will be applied in the display).
Regarding (claim(s) 3, 13, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the information about the channel, the server, through the communicator.
Jang further teach information about channel is transmitted. (Fig .2, 4-8, 20-23, P. 128-133, 167-176, user S1 is changing channel on broadcast on one side of the display, while other user S2 using voice command to “enlarge map” or perform other commands on the right side C21, C22, while both contents are displayed on the same UI, display UI prompts are also used for interactive command affirmation).
Regarding (claim(s) 5, 15, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the information about the channel, the server, through the communicator.
Jang further teach at least one of titles of the plurality of pieces of content, thumbnails corresponding to the plurality of pieces of content, channels in which the plurality of pieces of content are broadcast, or times on which the plurality of pieces of content are broadcast. (Fig 6-7, P. 114, 116, the channel(s) title that are being broadcast real time on the display as the command are executed).
Regarding (claim(s) 7, 17, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the content that is being output to the display, the communicator, the signal receiver.
Jang further teach content that is received through communicator, not signal receiver, and output to the display. (Fig. 1, 3, P. 39, 44-45, communication unit 110 (including 111, 113) reads on communicator, user input 120 reads on remote control receiver 10, broadcast content received such as CH 13 or maps are from the communication unit 110).
Regarding (claim(s) 8, 18, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the received data, the additional information, the second user voice input.
Jang further teach automatically generated based on additional information together with second user voice input without receiving any further user input. (Fig. 10-11, P. 127, 130, when the user input voice command “turn off”, and the display automatically prompt the question which content item to turn off? that reads on (automatically generated based on additional information together with second user voice input without receiving any further user input)))
Regarding (claim(s) 9, 19, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the received data, the additional information, the processor, the content, being received while the content is being output.
Jang further teach, based on a third user voice input corresponding to a control of a function, receive data corresponding to the third user voice input from the server through the communicator, and perform the function corresponding to the third user voice input based on the received data. (Fig. 1, 2, 4-7, 16, P. 38-48, 59-61, 110-117, P. 128-133, 167-176, different users s1-s4 shown in fig. 1, reads on (third user) using different input devices such as remote controller, mobile device, to do functions such as enlarge maps, or select the content to turn off, amongst other functions shown in the figures).
Regarding (claim(s) 10, 20, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the received data, the additional information, the voice input receiver.
Jang further teach whether data received from the server is generated based on additional information is based on whether a user voice input received through voice input receiver corresponds to the content or corresponds to the control of the function. (Fig. 10-11, P. 127, 130, when the user input voice command “turn off”, and the display automatically prompt the question which content item to turn off?).
Claim 4, 14, is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over (US 20130041665) to (Jang) in view of (US 20140188485) to (Kim) in view of (US 20130332965) to (Seyller).
Regarding (claim(s) 4, 14, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the additional information.
Seyller further teach includes information about a current time. (Fig 2, 5, P. 73-74, 80, command can be input using voice controls, and mosaic style display of contents with the current time displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify ang in view of Kim by includes information about a current time as taught by Seyller in order to provide good indicators of user’s interest as content progresses.
Claim 6, 16, is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over (US 20130041665) to (Jang) in view of (US 20140188485) to (Kim) in view of (US 20110078742) to (Kang).
Regarding (claim(s) 6, 16, Jang in view of Kim teach The display device, the method, the plurality of pieces of content included in the UI, the changed channel.
Kang further teach plurality of pieces of content correspond to a plurality of pieces of broadcast content that are broadcast in changed channel within a preset time from a current time. (Fig 5, P. 33, 47 search option for searching for broadcast programs which are re-airings, within a preset time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Jang in view of Kim by plurality of pieces of content correspond to a plurality of pieces of broadcast content that are broadcast in changed channel within a preset time from a current time as taught by Kang in order to reducing time taken for a viewer to search for a desired broadcast program in a digital broadcasting system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONG LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421