DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office Action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged and is found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement of 01/07/2026 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 21 recites a “computer readable storage medium”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of “computer readable storage medium”, as variations of the term “computer readable storage medium“ are not necessarily considered to limit a media claim to non-transitory embodiments because many disclosures conflate storage media and signals, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. The instant specification does explicitly state that a “computer readable storage medium” is non-transitory.
The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to “computer readable storage medium”, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable storage medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § I01 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Cf. Animals -Patentability, 1 077 0ff. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (suggesting that applicants add the limitation "non-human" to a claim covering a multi-cellular organism to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101). Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., Gentry Gallery, Inc. v. Berkline Corp., 134 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0256047 A1 to Huang et al. (hereinafter "Huang") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0011678 A1 to Kwak et al. (hereinafter "Kwak").
Regarding Claims 1, 20, and 21, Huang teaches a method (Claim 1 of Huang), an electronic device, and a computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by an electronic device (Fig. 2; Para. 40-50 of Huang; mobile computing device 200 has a housing 203 and includes presence-sensitive display device 202, one or more processors 220, one or more input components 222, one or more communication units 224, one or more output components 226, one or more sensors 204, a power source 228, and one or more storage devices 250) comprising: a front display (Figs. 2-5C; Para. 98-107 of Huang; Display device 202 may therefore comprise a waterfall or a non-waterfall screen… display device 502); a side display (Figs. 2-5C; Para. 98-107 of Huang; Display device 202 may therefore comprise a waterfall or a non-waterfall screen… An edge of mobile computing device 500 may, in certain examples, comprise a region at or near a side portion (e.g., left-side portion, right-side portion, top-side portion, bottom-side portion) of housing 503, and/or near an edge of display device 502); one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions (Fig. 2; Para. 40-50 of Huang; mobile computing device 200 has a housing 203 and includes presence-sensitive display device 202, one or more processors 220, one or more input components 222, one or more communication units 224, one or more output components 226, one or more sensors 204, a power source 228, and one or more storage devices 250…. One or more storage devices 250 within mobile computing device 200 may store information for processing during operation of mobile computing device 200 (e.g., during execution of one or more of UI module 230, applications 232, operating system 254, or gesture detection module 234)) for: detecting an input at the side display (Figs. 2-5C; Para. 40-107 of Huang; user may first use finger 516 to tap one or more side portions 570 of housing 503, as illustrated in FIG. 5A. An edge of mobile computing device 500 may, in certain examples, comprise a region at or near a side portion (e.g., left-side portion, right-side portion, top-side portion, bottom-side portion) of housing 503, and/or near an edge of display device 502. Gesture detection module 234 may identify this gesture based on the applied force of finger 516 as well as the corresponding motion on housing 503 of mobile computing device 500); and in response to detecting the input, displaying a portion of the control user interface on the front display (Figs. 2-5C; Para. 40-107 of Huang; Gesture detection module 234 may identify the swipe gesture based on one or more groups of screen capacitive sensing signals provided by sensors 204 and/or presence-sensitive input component 225. The use of the swipe gesture may invoke the edge interface of the inertia mode, and may either move along the screen edge of display device 502 for linear control, such as shown in FIG. 5B, or may move into the screen area for multi-target selection, such as shown in FIG. 5C).
Huang does not explicitly disclose while displaying a control user interface on the side display, detecting an input at the side display; displaying a portion of the control user interface on the front display.
However, Kwak teaches while displaying a control user interface on a side display, detecting an input at the side display (Fig. 19; Para. 159-161 of Kwak; In 1920 of FIG. 19, when the user terminal device 1000 receives a message, the controller 200 may display alarm information 1921 on the sub area 1020 of the bended touch screen 100 indicating that a new message has arrived. A user may recognize receiving the alarm information 1921 and rotate the user terminal device 1000 by a certain angle… According to the user rotating action, the controller 200 may further provide the alarm information 1921 and additional alarm information 1931, 1932, as illustrated in 1930 of FIG. 19); displaying a portion of the control user interface on the front display (Fig. 19; Para. 159-161 of Kwak; controller 200 may expand and display detailed information 1941, 1942, 1943 of the alarm information 1921, 1931, 1932 on the main area 1010 as illustrated in 1940 of FIG. 19).
Therefore, at the time when the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include while displaying a control user interface on the side display, detecting an input at the side display; displaying a portion of the control user interface on the front display using the teachings of Kwak in order to modify the device taught by Huang. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to provide a user terminal device capable of displaying a variety of contents using a bended touch screen divided into a main area and one or more sub areas (Para. 9-10 of Kwak).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the side display has a normal vector that is not parallel to a normal vector of the front display (Fig. 2; Para. 56 of Kwak; bended touch screen 100 may be divided into main area 1010 arranged on the front surface of the user terminal device 1000 and sub area 1020 arranged on the right side surface of the user terminal device 1000).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that displaying the portion of the control user interface comprises expanding the control user interface from the side display onto the front display (Fig. 19; Para. 159-161 of Kwak; controller 200 may expand and display detailed information 1941, 1942, 1943 of the alarm information 1921, 1931, 1932 on the main area 1010 as illustrated in 1940 of FIG. 19).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that displaying the portion of the control user interface comprises moving the control user interface such that the portion is displayed on the front display (Fig. 19; Para. 159-161 of Kwak; controller 200 may expand and display detailed information 1941, 1942, 1943 of the alarm information 1921, 1931, 1932 on the main area 1010 as illustrated in 1940 of FIG. 19).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the input is a stationary input (Figs. 5A-5B; Para. 102-104 of Huang; After gesture detection module 234 identifies this tap gesture, inertia mode module 242 may output graphical volume control 574).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the input includes movement (Fig. 19; Para. 159-161 of Kwak; controller 200 may expand and display detailed information 1941, 1942, 1943 of the alarm information 1921, 1931, 1932 on the main area 1010 as illustrated in 1940 of FIG. 19).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the control user interface comprises a volume control (Figs. 5A-5B; Para. 102-104 of Huang; If display device 502 has a waterfall screen or capacitive sensing on the edge, the edge user interface controls such as volume control 574 can be displayed near or around the side tap location (e.g., side portions 570)).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that displaying the portion of the control user interface on the front display comprises continuing to display a second portion of the control user interface on the side display (Fig. 41; Para. 259 of Kwak; Referring to FIG. 41, the controller 200 may display the object 4021 indicating the clear weather on the left side of the main area 1010, an object 4022 indicating that it gets cloudy while going to the first sub area 1020, and an object 4023 indicating that it is raining on the first sub area 1020).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the electronic device comprises a curved display that includes the front display and the side display (Fig. 2; Para. 56 of Kwak; bended touch screen 100 may be divided into main area 1010 arranged on the front surface of the user terminal device 1000 and sub area 1020 arranged on the right side surface of the user terminal device 1000).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the portion of the control user interface displayed on the front display includes information about media content for playback on the electronic device (Fig. 15; Para. 145-147 of Kwak; controller 200 may display an application 1531 to provide a list of contents, that can be reproduced on the main area 1010, on the sub area 1020).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that prior to detecting the input, displaying a respective portion of the control user interface at a first display location on the side display; and in response to the input: ceasing to display the respective portion of the control user interface at the first display location on the side display; and displaying the respective portion of the control user interface at a second display location on the side display (Fig. 23; Para. 170-173 of Kwak; when an application is displayed on the sub area, a user may reject the arriving call related with the alarm information 2321 by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a first direction… 2340 of FIG. 23 illustrates the situation when the controller 200 rejects the arriving call. According to 2340 of FIG. 23, the controller 200 may display an object 2341 on the sub area 1020 indicating that the arriving call has been rejected, in response to the user gesture 2331 rejecting the arriving call).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that while the control user interface is displayed, detecting a second input at the side display; and in response to detecting the second input, adjusting a parameter for a function represented in the control user interface in accordance with movement of the second input (Fig. 23; Para. 170-173 of Kwak; 2340 of FIG. 23 illustrates the situation when the controller 200 rejects the arriving call. According to 2340 of FIG. 23, the controller 200 may display an object 2341 on the sub area 1020 indicating that the arriving call has been rejected, in response to the user gesture 2331 rejecting the arriving call).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that while the control user interface is displayed, detecting a third input at the front display; and in response to detecting the third input, adjusting a parameter for a function represented in the control user interface in accordance with movement of the third input (Figs. 5A-5C; Para. 102-104 of Huang; After gesture detection module 234 identifies this tap gesture, inertia mode module 242 may output graphical volume control 574 and monitor for the identification (e.g., by gesture detection module 234) of a subsequent swipe gesture at display device 502… user may use finger 516 to manipulate a graphical volume control 574 via a slide gesture performed in region 572 of display device 502. The user may use finger 516 to perform a slide gesture up within region 572 to correspondingly move up volume control 574 and increase the volume, and the user may also perform a slide gesture down within region 572 to correspondingly move down volume control 574 and decrease the volume. In response, inertia mode module 242 may output a corresponding visual adjustment to graphical volume control 574 (e.g., a visual adjustment in an upward direction for an increase in volume, or a visual adjustment in a downward direction for a decrease in volume)).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that while the control user interface is displayed, detecting a fourth input; and in response to detecting the fourth input: in accordance with the fourth input meeting one or more criteria, adjusting a parameter for a first function represented in the control user interface in accordance with movement of the fourth input; and in accordance with the fourth input not meeting the one or more criteria, performing a second function represented in the control user interface (Fig. 23; Para. 170-173 of Kwak; when an application is displayed on the sub area, a user may reject the arriving call related with the alarm information 2321 by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a first direction. Further, the user may receive the arriving call by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a second direction different from the first direction on the sub area 1020).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that prior to detecting the fourth input, a first element is displayed in the control user interface; and the method further comprises, in accordance with the fourth input meeting the one or more criteria, ceasing to display the first element in the control user interface (Fig. 23; Para. 170-173 of Kwak; when an application is displayed on the sub area, a user may reject the arriving call related with the alarm information 2321 by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a first direction).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the input is a first type of gesture and is detected at a first location on the side display; and the method further comprises: detecting a fifth input at a second location on the side display, the fifth input being the first type of gesture and the second location being different than the first location; and in response to detecting the fifth input, performing a second function of the electronic device (Fig. 23; Para. 170-173 of Kwak; when an application is displayed on the sub area, a user may reject the arriving call related with the alarm information 2321 by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a first direction. Further, the user may receive the arriving call by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a second direction different from the first direction on the sub area 1020).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the control user interface or a respective portion of the control user interface is displayed on the side display in accordance with the electronic device being in a first state; and the method further comprises, in accordance with the electronic device being in a second state, forgoing displaying the control user interface or the respective portion of the control user interface on the side display (Fig. 52; Para. 297 of Kwak; When a user does not use the user terminal device 1000 for a certain time, or when the user pushes an inactivating button, the controller 200 may inactivate the main area 1010 and the sub area 1020. 5210 of FIG. 52 illustrates that the user terminal device 1000 is inactivated, and all of the main area 1010 and the sub area 1020 are turned off).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that the control user interface or a respective portion of the control user interface is displayed at a location on the side display in accordance with the electronic device having a first orientation; and the method further comprises, in accordance with the electronic device having a second orientation distinct from the first orientation, displaying the control user interface at a third location (Fig. 19; Para. 159-161 of Kwak; controller 200 may expand and display detailed information 1941, 1942, 1943 of the alarm information 1921, 1931, 1932 on the main area 1010 as illustrated in 1940 of FIG. 19… Para. 428 of Kwak; if the user terminal device 1000 is gripped such that the user terminal device 1000 is in a vertical orientation, the user terminal device 1000 may reconstitute and display the application in the second layout different from the first layout).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Huang and Kwak teaches that detecting a sixth input at a first input location; in response to detecting the sixth input, displaying the control user interface at a third display location that corresponds to the first input location; detecting a seventh input at a second input location, different than the first input location; and in response to detecting the seventh input, displaying the control user interface at a fourth display location that corresponds to the second input location (Fig. 23; Para. 170-173 of Kwak; when an application is displayed on the sub area, a user may reject the arriving call related with the alarm information 2321 by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a first direction. Further, the user may receive the arriving call by performing user gesture (e.g., dragging gestures or flicking gestures) 2331 toward a second direction different from the first direction on the sub area 1020).
Conclusion
/ABHISHEK SARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621