DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2 and 7-15 under 35 U.S.C. §102 and claims 3-6 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further limiting amendments made to the claims, changing the scope of the claimed invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-17, 22-30, and 35-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210237572 A1, filed October 9th, 2020, hereinafter “Jahns”, in view of US 20150227492 A1, filed February 7th, 2014, hereinafter “Bai”.
Regarding claim 1, Jahns teaches A computer system, comprising: a display generation component; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions. See at least [0041] and figure 1B, wherein the system includes a display screen 128 and a computing device 104 configured to control the display screen. Additionally, see at least [0103]-[0104] and figure 16.
for: providing information to the display generation component that defines an appearance of a vehicle instrument cluster for display, via the display generation component, as a first vehicle instrument cluster interface with a first appearance, the first vehicle instrument cluster interface including a first set of one or more instrument cluster elements. See at least [0100] and figure 15, step 1506, wherein a first content view (template) of the instrument cluster is displayed. The first template can be any one of the templates 302-310. See at least [0058] and figure 5, which provides an example of template 306, with first vehicle instrument cluster interface 106a with a first appearance, including one or more instrument cluster elements 502a-d.
subsequent to providing information to the display generation component that defines an appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, detecting a sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs directed to a reconfiguration user interface for the vehicle instrument cluster, wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs directed to the reconfiguration user interface includes selection of a first template instrument cluster interface from among a plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces. See at least [0101] and figure 15, step 1508, wherein a user input is detected at a cluster control (reconfiguration user interface), the user input indicating that the user wants to select a new layout to view. See at least [0102] and figure 15, step 1510, wherein the user input indicates selection of a particular template instrument panel (either a favorites view, an expanded view, or a contracted view). See at least [0050] and figure 3A, which shows the plurality of different templates 302-310 that the user can select based on interacting with the cluster control 122a.
and after receiving the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs, providing information to the display generation component that defines an updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster for display, via the display generation component, as a second vehicle instrument cluster interface with a second appearance that is different from the first appearance. See at least [0102] and figure 15, step 1516, wherein, after receiving user input indicating selection of a template 308, the instrument cluster on the display is updated to display the selected template 308. See at least [0060] and figure 6A, which shows template 308, comprising second vehicle instrument cluster interface 106a which has a different appearance than the template 306 displayed in figure 5.
the second vehicle instrument cluster interface including a second set of one or more instrument cluster elements that are different in appearance, location and/or arrangement from the first set of one or more instrument cluster elements. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has a second set of instrument cluster elements 602a-g that have different appearances, locations, and arrangements from the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Jahns remains silent on wherein the reconfiguration user interface is displayed via a second display generation component, and wherein the plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces is displayed via the second display generation component.
Bai teaches wherein the reconfiguration user interface is displayed via a second display generation component, and wherein the plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces is displayed via the second display generation component. See at least [0027] and figure 1, wherein a user interface for selecting templates is displayed via an application running on mobile devices 120/121. See at least [0020] and figure 3, wherein the user interface graphically displays style templates so that the user may visualize and select a style template, and the selected template is then rendered on the in-vehicle display 110.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Bai’s technique of displaying a reconfiguration user interface with a plurality of style templates via a second display. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved systems and methods for selecting and controlling the layout of display content in on-board vehicle displays, as recognized by Bai (see at least [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected at one or more input devices of the computer system. See at least [0050] and figures 1B, 2A-B, and 3A-B, wherein the sequence of user inputs are detected at an input device 122a/b of the computer system.
Regarding claim 7, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes an addition and/or removal of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 adds instrument cluster elements compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306. See at least [0055] and figures 4A-B, wherein, if the user instead selects templates 302 or 304, the instrument cluster interface removes instrument cluster elements compared to template 306.
Regarding claim 8, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in shape of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has instrument cluster elements 602 that have a different shape compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Regarding claim 9, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in a quantity of instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has a higher quantity of instrument cluster elements compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306. See at least [0055] and figures 4A-B, wherein, if the user instead selects templates 302 or 304, the instrument cluster interface has a smaller quantity of instrument cluster elements compared to template 306.
Regarding claim 10, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in location of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has instrument cluster elements 602 that have a different location compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Regarding claim 11, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein: prior to providing information to the display generation component that defines the updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, the first vehicle instrument cluster interface with the first appearance is an initial instrument cluster displayed, via the display generation component, upon start of a vehicle in which the display generation component is located. See at least [0100], wherein the first vehicle cluster interface displayed is a default interface. See at least [0078] and figure 11, step 1102, wherein the default view is displayed when the vehicle starts operation.
and subsequent to providing information to the display generation component that defines an updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, the second vehicle instrument cluster interface with the second appearance is an initial instrument cluster displayed, via the display generation component, upon start of the vehicle in which the display generation component is located. See at least [0078] and figure 11, step 1102, wherein, after a driver sets up a template 302-308, the most recently selected template is displayed when the vehicle starts operation.
Regarding claim 12, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the first appearance of the first vehicle instrument cluster interface is determined by the computer system and the second appearance of the second vehicle instrument cluster interface is determined by the computer system. See at least [0061] and figure 1, wherein the appearance (inclusion and placement of instrument cluster elements) of the vehicle cluster interface for the templates is determined by gauge layout application 130 of the computer system.
Regarding claim 13, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance is based on the selection of the first template instrument cluster interface. See at least [0060] and figure 6A, which shows template 308, comprising an updated appearance, wherein the updated appearance is based on the selected template 308.
Regarding claim 14, Jahns teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component, the one or more programs including instructions. See at least [0041] and figure 1B, wherein the system includes a display screen 128 and a computing device 104 configured to control the display screen. Additionally, see at least [0103]-[0106] and figure 16.
for: providing information to the display generation component that defines an appearance of a vehicle instrument cluster for display, via the display generation component, as a first vehicle instrument cluster interface with a first appearance, the first vehicle instrument cluster interface including a first set of one or more instrument cluster elements. See at least [0100] and figure 15, step 1506, wherein a first content view (template) of the instrument cluster is displayed. The first template can be any one of the templates 302-310. See at least [0058] and figure 5, which provides an example of template 306, with first vehicle instrument cluster interface 106a with a first appearance, including one or more instrument cluster elements 502a-d.
subsequent to providing information to the display generation component that defines an appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, detecting a sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs directed to a reconfiguration user interface for the vehicle instrument cluster, wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs directed to the reconfiguration user interface includes selection of a first template instrument cluster interface from among a plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces. See at least [0101] and figure 15, step 1508, wherein a user input is detected at a cluster control (reconfiguration user interface), the user input indicating that the user wants to select a new layout to view. See at least [0102] and figure 15, step 1510, wherein the user input indicates selection of a particular template instrument panel (either a favorites view, an expanded view, or a contracted view). See at least [0050] and figure 3A, which shows the plurality of different templates 302-310 that the user can select based on interacting with the cluster control 122a.
and after receiving the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs, providing information to the display generation component that defines an updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster for display, via the display generation component, as a second vehicle instrument cluster interface with a second appearance that is different from the first appearance. See at least [0102] and figure 15, step 1516, wherein, after receiving user input indicating selection of a template 308, the instrument cluster on the display is updated to display the selected template 308. See at least [0060] and figure 6A, which shows template 308, comprising second vehicle instrument cluster interface 106a which has a different appearance than the template 306 displayed in figure 5.
the second vehicle instrument cluster interface including a second set of one or more instrument cluster elements that are different in appearance, location and/or arrangement from the first set of one or more instrument cluster elements. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has a second set of instrument cluster elements 602a-g that have different appearances, locations, and arrangements from the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Jahns remains silent on wherein the reconfiguration user interface is displayed via a second display generation component, and wherein the plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces is displayed via the second display generation component.
Bai teaches wherein the reconfiguration user interface is displayed via a second display generation component, and wherein the plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces is displayed via the second display generation component. See at least [0027] and figure 1, wherein a user interface for selecting templates is displayed via an application running on mobile devices 120/121. See at least [0020] and figure 3, wherein the user interface graphically displays style templates so that the user may visualize and select a style template, and the selected template is then rendered on the in-vehicle display 110.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Bai’s technique of displaying a reconfiguration user interface with a plurality of style templates via a second display. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved systems and methods for selecting and controlling the layout of display content in on-board vehicle displays, as recognized by Bai (see at least [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Jahns teaches A method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component. See at least [0041] and figure 1B, wherein the system includes a display screen 128 and a computing device 104 configured to control the display screen. Additionally, see at least figure 15, method 1500.
for: providing information to the display generation component that defines an appearance of a vehicle instrument cluster for display, via the display generation component, as a first vehicle instrument cluster interface with a first appearance, the first vehicle instrument cluster interface including a first set of one or more instrument cluster elements. See at least [0100] and figure 15, step 1506, wherein a first content view (template) of the instrument cluster is displayed. The first template can be any one of the templates 302-310. See at least [0058] and figure 5, which provides an example of template 306, with first vehicle instrument cluster interface 106a with a first appearance, including one or more instrument cluster elements 502a-d.
subsequent to providing information to the display generation component that defines an appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, detecting a sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs directed to a reconfiguration user interface for the vehicle instrument cluster, wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs directed to the reconfiguration user interface includes selection of a first template instrument cluster interface from among a plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces. See at least [0101] and figure 15, step 1508, wherein a user input is detected at a cluster control (reconfiguration user interface), the user input indicating that the user wants to select a new layout to view. See at least [0102] and figure 15, step 1510, wherein the user input indicates selection of a particular template instrument panel (either a favorites view, an expanded view, or a contracted view). See at least [0050] and figure 3A, which shows the plurality of different templates 302-310 that the user can select based on interacting with the cluster control 122a.
and after receiving the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs, providing information to the display generation component that defines an updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster for display, via the display generation component, as a second vehicle instrument cluster interface with a second appearance that is different from the first appearance. See at least [0102] and figure 15, step 1516, wherein, after receiving user input indicating selection of a template 308, the instrument cluster on the display is updated to display the selected template 308. See at least [0060] and figure 6A, which shows template 308, comprising second vehicle instrument cluster interface 106a which has a different appearance than the template 306 displayed in figure 5.
the second vehicle instrument cluster interface including a second set of one or more instrument cluster elements that are different in appearance, location and/or arrangement from the first set of one or more instrument cluster elements. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has a second set of instrument cluster elements 602a-g that have different appearances, locations, and arrangements from the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Jahns remains silent on wherein the reconfiguration user interface is displayed via a second display generation component, and wherein the plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces is displayed via the second display generation component.
Bai teaches wherein the reconfiguration user interface is displayed via a second display generation component, and wherein the plurality of template instrument cluster interfaces is displayed via the second display generation component. See at least [0027] and figure 1, wherein a user interface for selecting templates is displayed via an application running on mobile devices 120/121. See at least [0020] and figure 3, wherein the user interface graphically displays style templates so that the user may visualize and select a style template, and the selected template is then rendered on the in-vehicle display 110.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Bai’s technique of displaying a reconfiguration user interface with a plurality of style templates via a second display. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved systems and methods for selecting and controlling the layout of display content in on-board vehicle displays, as recognized by Bai (see at least [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein: the computer system is in communication with an external device, the external device is separate from the computer system and separate from the display generation component. See at least [0047] and figure 1B, wherein the system 104 is in communication with mobile computing device 126, which is separate from computer system 104 and display screen 128.
Jahns remains silent on and the external device includes the second display generation component.
Bai teaches and the external device includes the second display generation component. See at least [0027] and figure 1, wherein a user interface for selecting templates is displayed via an application running on mobile devices 120/121. See at least [0017] and figure 1, wherein mobile devices 120/121 are external from display 110 and are communicatively coupled to display 110, and have their own displays.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Bai’s external device including a second display generation component. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved systems and methods for selecting and controlling the layout of display content in on-board vehicle displays, as recognized by Bai (see at least [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected at one or more input devices of the computer system. See at least [0050] and figures 1B, 2A-B, and 3A-B, wherein the sequence of user inputs are detected at an input device 122a/b of the computer system.
Regarding claim 22, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes an addition and/or removal of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 adds instrument cluster elements compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306. See at least [0055] and figures 4A-B, wherein, if the user instead selects templates 302 or 304, the instrument cluster interface removes instrument cluster elements compared to template 306.
Regarding claim 23, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in shape of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has instrument cluster elements 602 that have a different shape compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Regarding claim 24, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in a quantity of instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has a higher quantity of instrument cluster elements compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306. See at least [0055] and figures 4A-B, wherein, if the user instead selects templates 302 or 304, the instrument cluster interface has a smaller quantity of instrument cluster elements compared to template 306.
Regarding claim 25, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in location of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has instrument cluster elements 602 that have a different location compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Regarding claim 26, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein: prior to providing information to the display generation component that defines the updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, the first vehicle instrument cluster interface with the first appearance is an initial instrument cluster displayed, via the display generation component, upon start of a vehicle in which the display generation component is located. See at least [0100], wherein the first vehicle cluster interface displayed is a default interface. See at least [0078] and figure 11, step 1102, wherein the default view is displayed when the vehicle starts operation.
and subsequent to providing information to the display generation component that defines an updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, the second vehicle instrument cluster interface with the second appearance is an initial instrument cluster displayed, via the display generation component, upon start of the vehicle in which the display generation component is located. See at least [0078] and figure 11, step 1102, wherein, after a driver sets up a template 302-308, the most recently selected template is displayed when the vehicle starts operation.
Regarding claim 27, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the first appearance of the first vehicle instrument cluster interface is determined by the computer system and the second appearance of the second vehicle instrument cluster interface is determined by the computer system. See at least [0061] and figure 1, wherein the appearance (inclusion and placement of instrument cluster elements) of the vehicle cluster interface for the templates is determined by gauge layout application 130 of the computer system.
Regarding claim 28, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance is based on the selection of the first template instrument cluster interface. See at least [0060] and figure 6A, which shows template 308, comprising an updated appearance, wherein the updated appearance is based on the selected template 308.
Regarding claim 29, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein: the computer system is in communication with an external device, the external device is separate from the computer system and separate from the display generation component. See at least [0047] and figure 1B, wherein the system 104 is in communication with mobile computing device 126, which is separate from computer system 104 and display screen 128.
Jahns remains silent on and the external device includes the second display generation component.
Bai teaches and the external device includes the second display generation component. See at least [0027] and figure 1, wherein a user interface for selecting templates is displayed via an application running on mobile devices 120/121. See at least [0017] and figure 1, wherein mobile devices 120/121 are external from display 110 and are communicatively coupled to display 110, and have their own displays.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Bai’s external device including a second display generation component. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved systems and methods for selecting and controlling the layout of display content in on-board vehicle displays, as recognized by Bai (see at least [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 30, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected at one or more input devices of the computer system. See at least [0050] and figures 1B, 2A-B, and 3A-B, wherein the sequence of user inputs are detected at an input device 122a/b of the computer system.
Regarding claim 35, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes an addition and/or removal of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 adds instrument cluster elements compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306. See at least [0055] and figures 4A-B, wherein, if the user instead selects templates 302 or 304, the instrument cluster interface removes instrument cluster elements compared to template 306.
Regarding claim 36, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in shape of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has instrument cluster elements 602 that have a different shape compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Regarding claim 37, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in a quantity of instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has a higher quantity of instrument cluster elements compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306. See at least [0055] and figures 4A-B, wherein, if the user instead selects templates 302 or 304, the instrument cluster interface has a smaller quantity of instrument cluster elements compared to template 306.
Regarding claim 38, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in location of one or more instrument cluster elements relative to the first appearance. See at least [0058]-[0060] and figures 5 and 6A, wherein the second vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 308 has instrument cluster elements 602 that have a different location compared to the first vehicle instrument cluster interface associated with template 306.
Regarding claim 39, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein: prior to providing information to the display generation component that defines the updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, the first vehicle instrument cluster interface with the first appearance is an initial instrument cluster displayed, via the display generation component, upon start of a vehicle in which the display generation component is located. See at least [0100], wherein the first vehicle cluster interface displayed is a default interface. See at least [0078] and figure 11, step 1102, wherein the default view is displayed when the vehicle starts operation.
and subsequent to providing information to the display generation component that defines an updated appearance of the vehicle instrument cluster, the second vehicle instrument cluster interface with the second appearance is an initial instrument cluster displayed, via the display generation component, upon start of the vehicle in which the display generation component is located. See at least [0078] and figure 11, step 1102, wherein, after a driver sets up a template 302-308, the most recently selected template is displayed when the vehicle starts operation.
Regarding claim 40, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the first appearance of the first vehicle instrument cluster interface is determined by the computer system and the second appearance of the second vehicle instrument cluster interface is determined by the computer system. See at least [0061] and figure 1, wherein the appearance (inclusion and placement of instrument cluster elements) of the vehicle cluster interface for the templates is determined by gauge layout application 130 of the computer system.
Regarding claim 41, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein the updated appearance is based on the selection of the first template instrument cluster interface. See at least [0060] and figure 6A, which shows template 308, comprising an updated appearance, wherein the updated appearance is based on the selected template 308.
Regarding claim 42, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns additionally teaches wherein: the computer system is in communication with an external device, the external device is separate from the computer system and separate from the display generation component. See at least [0047] and figure 1B, wherein the system 104 is in communication with mobile computing device 126, which is separate from computer system 104 and display screen 128.
Jahns remains silent on and the external device includes the second display generation component.
Bai teaches and the external device includes the second display generation component. See at least [0027] and figure 1, wherein a user interface for selecting templates is displayed via an application running on mobile devices 120/121. See at least [0017] and figure 1, wherein mobile devices 120/121 are external from display 110 and are communicatively coupled to display 110, and have their own displays.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Bai’s external device including a second display generation component. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables improved systems and methods for selecting and controlling the layout of display content in on-board vehicle displays, as recognized by Bai (see at least [0002]-[0005]).
Claims 3-6, 18-21, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jahns and Bai in combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20180067634 A1, filed October 31st, 2017, hereinafter “Dai”.
Regarding claim 3, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected while the computer system is not connected to the display generation component.
Dai teaches wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected while the computer system is not connected to the display generation component. See at least [0034] and figure 2, wherein a user selects the information panel appearance at a computer system comprising a personal computer or a smart phone while being remote from the vehicle.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s remote computer system accepting user reconfiguration inputs. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in font relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in font relative to the first appearance. See at least [0036]-[0037] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to the displayed fonts. See at least [0048] and figure 7, step 705, wherein text modifications are made in the updated information panel appearance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in font. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in color relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in color relative to the first appearance. See at least [0036]-[0037] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to the displayed colors. See at least [0048] and figure 7, step 705, wherein color modifications are made in the updated information panel appearance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in colors. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in line widths relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in line widths relative to the first appearance, the changes made by brushes or line drawers. See at least [0039] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to displayed pixel lines. See at least [0043] and figure 4, wherein the pixel modifications include changing a brush size, or line width.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in line width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected while the computer system is not connected to the display generation component.
Dai teaches wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected while the computer system is not connected to the display generation component. See at least [0034] and figure 2, wherein a user selects the information panel appearance at a computer system comprising a personal computer or a smart phone while being remote from the vehicle.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s remote computer system accepting user reconfiguration inputs. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 19, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in font relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in font relative to the first appearance. See at least [0036]-[0037] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to the displayed fonts. See at least [0048] and figure 7, step 705, wherein text modifications are made in the updated information panel appearance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in font. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 20, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in color relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in color relative to the first appearance. See at least [0036]-[0037] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to the displayed colors. See at least [0048] and figure 7, step 705, wherein color modifications are made in the updated information panel appearance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in colors. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 21, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in line widths relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in line widths relative to the first appearance, the changes made by brushes or line drawers. See at least [0039] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to displayed pixel lines. See at least [0043] and figure 4, wherein the pixel modifications include changing a brush size, or line width.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in line width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 31, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected while the computer system is not connected to the display generation component.
Dai teaches wherein the sequence of one or more user reconfiguration inputs are detected while the computer system is not connected to the display generation component. See at least [0034] and figure 2, wherein a user selects the information panel appearance at a computer system comprising a personal computer or a smart phone while being remote from the vehicle.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s remote computer system accepting user reconfiguration inputs. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 32, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in font relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in font relative to the first appearance. See at least [0036]-[0037] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to the displayed fonts. See at least [0048] and figure 7, step 705, wherein text modifications are made in the updated information panel appearance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in font. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 33, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in color relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in color relative to the first appearance. See at least [0036]-[0037] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to the displayed colors. See at least [0048] and figure 7, step 705, wherein color modifications are made in the updated information panel appearance.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in colors. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 34, Jahns and Bai in combination teach all of the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above, and Jahns remains silent on wherein the updated appearance includes a change in line widths relative to the first appearance.
Dai teaches wherein the updated appearance includes a change in line widths relative to the first appearance, the changes made by brushes or line drawers. See at least [0039] and figure 3, wherein the updated appearance 310 includes edits made to displayed pixel lines. See at least [0043] and figure 4, wherein the pixel modifications include changing a brush size, or line width.
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Jahns with Dai’s updated appearance including changes in line width. It would have been obvious to modify because doing so enables users of vehicles to better configure the vehicle’s display devices, as recognized by Dai (see at least [0022]-[0023]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667