DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19, 21 filed June 17th, 2026, are pending in the current action.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed June 17th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 1-8, 13-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR10-2022-0037945) (the Examiner will be citing from the corresponding US publication US2023/0305658 to use as the translation of the Korean patent) in view of Wang et al. (US2019/0163306).
With regards towards applicant’s argument that Kim does not disclose a plurality of touch units, the Examiner must respectfully clarify the combination of Kim and Wang. Kim does not explicitly state the term “touch unit.” However, Kim ¶40 states “FIG. 10A is an enlarged plan view illustrating a second portion in FIG. 4, and FIG. 10B is an enlarged plan view illustrating a third portion in FIG. 4. FIG. 10C is a view illustrating an area variation for each position of first sub-dummy patterns according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 10D is a view illustrating an area variation for each position of third sub-dummy patterns according to an embodiment of the inventive concept.” Both Fig. 10A and Fig 4 are replicated below. The Examiner has added a circle around the pertinent label and area of Fig. 4.
Wang provides teachings that the intersection of the electrodes may be identified as a touch sensing unit. See Wang Fig. 2 where touch sensing unit 20 is presented individually; See Wang Fig. 6 where the touch sensing units 20 are arranged in a grid. In light of the teachings of Wang, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the area BB2 disclosed in Fig. 10A of Kim can logically be construed as a touch sensing unit without any changes to any of the physical structures. The combination of Kim and Wang requires no physical changes to Kim. Wang merely provides the understanding needed to label a touch unit within a grid.
In the arguments, the Applicant seems to emphasize the “self-contained” touch unit and “discrete” touch units. The Examiner finds no support for “self-contained” or discrete nature of each of these touch units.
With regards towards applicant’s arguments that Kim’s dummy patterns MP1 Are not a “floating electrode” provided in an “isolation gap” between the first touch electrode and a second touch electrode, the Examiner must respectfully disagree. If Kim does not fit the claim structure, then the applicant’s own specification does not fit the claim structure. Applicant’s Fig. 3 and ¶40 states that “The plurality of touch units 10 are arranged in an array on the substrate. For ease of description of the embodiments of the present application, the X-direction shown in FIG. 3 is a first direction, and the Y-direction is a second direction.” Note the lack of support for a “discrete touch unit” in the Applicant’s specification. To one of ordinary skill in the art, Kim’s TX and RX electrode rails map to electrode rails 110 and 120 of Applicant’s Fig. 3.
With regards towards applicant’s argument that the proposed combination of Kim and Wang does not yield the claimed structure, the Examiner must respectfully disagree. Applicant asserts that the combination would render Kim inoperable, however, Wang merely identifies the location of a touch sensing unit in a grid. Again, there is no change to the structure or operation of Kim in the combination of Kim and Wang. The “logical parsing” is a labeling change. Specifically, Kim’s Fig. 10A of BB2 can be construed as a touch sensing unit. The rational underpinning of the Examiner’s reasoning is that when presented with a touch grid, a touch unit may be defined.
Applicants’ argument pertaining to claims 14 and 15 are persuasive and are objected to as allowable below. The Examiner could draw a box around Kim Fig. 10A or Wang Fig. 6 and define a touch unit that meets the claimed percentages, however, the Hockerson-Halberstadt decision does not allow for such a citation.
With regards towards applicant’s argument regarding dependent claims 6-8, the Examiner must respectfully disagree. Wang Figs. 4, 6, and ¶47 pertain to the floating electrode 211. “where The floating electrode 211 is located between the adjacent first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202 and is insulated from the first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202.” Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Wang’s floating electrode 211 does not only refer to the labeled electrode, but rather the floating electrode 211 refers to all of the following floating electrodes within a single touch unit.
With regards towards applicant’s assertion that Kim does not teach “M-shaped,” the Examiner must respectfully disagree. The Examiner previously cited Fig. 10A of Kim which is replicated below.
Applicant’s argument pertaining to claim 13 is persuasive and are objected to as allowable below. The Examiner could draw a box around Kim Fig. 10A or Wang Fig. 6 and define a touch unit that meets the claimed ratio, however, the Hockerson-Halberstadt decision does not allow for such a citation.
With regards to the applicant’s assertion that Chou does not teach I-shaped, the Examiner must respectfully disagree. The Examiner’s interpretation of I-shaped was influenced by the Applicant’s Figure 8 and ¶86 whereas shown in FIG. 8, in this embodiment of the present application, the first touch electrode 110 and the second touch electrode 120 are both I-shaped. The Examiner does not consider the Applicant’s disclosed first touch electrode and second touch electrode as being “I-shaped” either.
Using the Applicant’s stretched definition of “I-shaped,” the Examiner found a reasonable proxy in Chou Fig. 1B which is a close approximation where the red outlined portions would form I-shaped electrodes as defined by the Applicant’s illustration. The Applicant argues that Chou’s pads are a monolithic cross, X, star, or polygonal shapes. The Examiner retorts by stating that the boundaries of the touch unit are undefined; within a grid of touch electrodes, the boundaries of a touch unit may be drawn to meet the claimed structure or inversely the boundaries of a touch unit may be drawn to not meet the claimed structure. The applicant’s argument here draws the touch unit boundaries differently from the Examiner’s touch unit boundaries to not meet the claimed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR10-2022-0037945) (the Examiner will be citing from the corresponding US publication US2023/0305658 to use as the translation of the Korean patent) in view of Wang et al. (US2019/0163306)
Consider claim 1, where Kim teaches a touch panel, (See Kim Fig. 8A and ¶4, 42 where the input sensor allows for touch-based input) comprising a substrate and an arrangement of touch electrodes, wherein the arrangement of touch electrodes are arranged in an array on the substrate, (See Kim Fig. 9 where the electrodes are arranged in a grid pattern) and the arrangement of touch electrodes a first touch electrode and at least one second touch electrode insulated from each other; (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶161-162 where Each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. ) and in the arrangement of touch electrodes, the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode has an isolation gap defined therebetween, at least part of the isolation gap has a floating electrode formed therein, and the floating electrode is insulated from both the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶136-138, 167 where the first dummy patterns MP1 may be provided through the same process as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1 and include the same material as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first dummy patterns MP1, as floating electrodes, are not electrically connected to the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first and second sensing patterns TP1 and RP1 and the first extension patterns EP1 may be disposed of on the same layer (e.g., the sensing insulation layer 203).) wherein the floating electrode comprises a plurality of sub-electrode arranged in sequence and spaced apart from each other. (See Kim Fig. 10A-C and ¶167 where each of the first dummy patterns MP1 may include a first sub-dummy pattern MP1a and a second sub-dummy pattern MP1b. MP1a and MP1b are arranged next to each other and spaced apart from each other)
Kim teaches an arrangement of touch electrodes; however, Kim does not explicitly teach touch units. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Wang teaches touch units. (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶36 where the touch panel 100 includes a substrate 10 and a plurality of touch sensing units 20 arranged in an array on the substrate 10. Each of the touch sensing units 20 includes a first touch sub-electrode 201 arranged in a first direction X, two second touch sub-electrodes 202 arranged on both sides of the first touch sub-electrode 201 in a second direction Y) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the grid pattern in Kim Fig. 9 can be logically organized into touch units at the intersection as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to logically parse the touch panel as units for the advantage of/ benefit of breaking down a large structure into manageable units.
Consider claim 2, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein each of the touch units comprises two second touch electrodes; and the first touch electrode is disposed between the two second touch electrodes, and the two second touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 3, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 2, wherein the two second touch electrodes are arranged on two sides of the first touch electrode in a first direction; in the same touch unit, the first touch electrode comprises a first electrode region and two second electrode regions; the two second electrode regions are respectively located on two sides of the first electrode region in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and the floating electrode is provided in the isolation gaps between the first electrode region and the second touch electrode and between the second electrode region and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 4, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 3, wherein the touch unit further comprises a bridge connecting the two second touch electrodes; and the bridge is disposed at a connection between the first electrode region and the second electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 5, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 3, wherein in the same touch unit, the size of the first electrode region in the first direction increases and then decreases in the second direction; and in the same touch unit, the size of the second electrode region in the first direction gradually decreases in a direction from the second electrode region to the first electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the central region of RP1 increases and then decreases in a diamond pattern while TP1 forms a triangle.) (See Wang Figs. 3, 4 which shows a similar pattern)
Consider claim 6, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 2, wherein edges of the isolation gap form boundaries with the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode, respectively; an extension direction of the floating electrode is consistent with an extension direction of the boundaries, and two sides of the floating electrode form insulation gaps with the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode, respectively, in an extension direction perpendicular to the boundaries; and the plurality of sub-electrodes arranged in sequence and spaced apart from each other in the extension direction of the boundaries. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.) (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶47 where the floating electrode 211 is located between the adjacent first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202 and is insulated from the first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202. The first touch sub-electrode 201, the second touch sub-electrode 202, and the floating electrode 211 are disposed in the same layer. There are a plurality of floating electrodes 211, thus each segment is a sub-electrode in the extension direction of the boundary)
Consider claim 7, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 6, wherein two second touch electrodes located in a same touch unit are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the first touch electrode in the first direction; one side of the edge of the isolation gap and the second touch electrode form an M-shaped boundary, and the other side of the isolation gap and the first touch electrode form an M-shaped boundary; and a bridge is provided between vertices, close to each other, of the M-shaped boundaries of the two second touch electrodes. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.) (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶47 where the floating electrode 211 is located between the adjacent first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202 and is insulated from the first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202. The first touch sub-electrode 201, the second touch sub-electrode 202, and the floating electrode 211 are disposed in the same layer.)
Consider claim 8, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 7, wherein the M-shaped boundary formed by the second touch electrode comprises a first border, a second border, a third border and a fourth border which are connected in sequence in the second direction; the first border, the second border, the third border and the fourth border are each configured as a straight-line segment; and each of the borders is formed with one of the sub-electrodes, and the one of the sub-electrodes is a linear electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the touch electrode TP1 forms an M shaped boundary and the floating electrode MP1 is located along TP1.)
Consider claim 16, where Kim teaches a display device, (See Kim Fig. 2C where DP is a display panel) comprising a touch panel, (See Kim Fig. 8A and ¶4, 42 where the input sensor allows for touch-based input) comprising a substrate and an arrangement of touch electrodes, wherein the arrangement of touch electrodes are arranged in an array on the substrate, (See Kim Fig. 9 where the electrodes are arranged in a grid pattern) and the arrangement of touch electrodes a first touch electrode and at least one second touch electrode insulated from each other; (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶161-162 where Each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. ) and in the arrangement of touch electrodes, the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode has an isolation gap defined therebetween, at least part of the isolation gap has a floating electrode formed therein, and the floating electrode is insulated from both the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶136-138, 167 where the first dummy patterns MP1 may be provided through the same process as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1 and include the same material as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first dummy patterns MP1, as floating electrodes, are not electrically connected to the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first and second sensing patterns TP1 and RP1 and the first extension patterns EP1 may be disposed on the same layer (e.g., the sensing insulation layer 203).) wherein the floating electrode comprises a plurality of sub-electrode arranged in sequence and spaced apart from each other. (See Kim Fig. 10A-C and ¶167 where each of the first dummy patterns MP1 may include a first sub-dummy pattern MP1a and a second sub-dummy pattern MP1b. MP1a and MP1b are arranged next to each other and spaced apart from each other)
Kim teaches an arrangement of touch electrodes; however, Kim does not explicitly teach touch units. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Wang teaches touch units. (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶36 where the touch panel 100 includes a substrate 10 and a plurality of touch sensing units 20 arranged in an array on the substrate 10. Each of the touch sensing units 20 includes a first touch sub-electrode 201 arranged in a first direction X, two second touch sub-electrodes 202 arranged on both sides of the first touch sub-electrode 201 in a second direction Y) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the grid pattern in Kim Fig. 9 can be logically organized into touch units at the intersection as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to logically parse the touch panel as units for the advantage of/ benefit of breaking down a large structure into manageable units.
Consider claim 17, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the display device according to claim 16, wherein each of the touch units comprises two second touch electrodes; and the first touch electrode is disposed between the two second touch electrodes, and the two second touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 18, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the display device according to claim 17, wherein the two second touch electrodes are arranged on two sides of the first touch electrode in a first direction; in the same touch unit, the first touch electrode comprises a first electrode region and two second electrode regions; the two second electrode regions are respectively located on two sides of the first electrode region in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and the floating electrode is provided in the isolation gaps between the first electrode region and the second touch electrode and between the second electrode region and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 19, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the display device according to claim 18, wherein the touch unit further comprises a bridge connecting the two second touch electrodes; and the bridge is disposed at a connection between the first electrode region and the second electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.) and in the same touch unit, the size of the first electrode region in the first direction increases and then decreases in the second direction; and in the same touch unit, the size of the second electrode region in the first direction gradually decreases in a direction from the second electrode region to the first electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the central region of RP1 increases and then decreases in a diamond pattern while TP1 forms a triangle.) (See Wang Figs. 3, 4 which shows a similar pattern)
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Chou et al. (US2013/0194213)
Consider claim 9, where Kim teaches a touch panel, comprising a substrate and a plurality of touch units, (See Kim Fig. 8A and ¶4, 42 where the input sensor allows for touch-based input) wherein the plurality of touch units are arranged in an array on the substrate, (See Kim Fig. 9 where the electrodes are arranged in a grid pattern) and each of the touch units comprises a first touch electrode and at least one second touch electrode insulated from each other; (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶161-162 where Each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2.) and in the same touch unit, the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode has an isolation gap defined therebetween, at least part of the isolation gap has a floating electrode formed therein, and the floating electrode is insulated from both the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode(See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶136-138, 167 where The first dummy patterns MP1 may be provided through the same process as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1 and include the same material as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first dummy patterns MP1, as floating electrodes, are not electrically connected to the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first and second sensing patterns TP1 and RP1 and the first extension patterns EP1 may be disposed on the same layer (e.g., the sensing insulation layer 203).)
Kim teaches an arrangement of touch electrodes; however, Kim does not explicitly teach touch units. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Wang teaches touch units. (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶36 where the touch panel 100 includes a substrate 10 and a plurality of touch sensing units 20 arranged in an array on the substrate 10. Each of the touch sensing units 20 includes a first touch sub-electrode 201 arranged in a first direction X, two second touch sub-electrodes 202 arranged on both sides of the first touch sub-electrode 201 in a second direction Y) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the grid pattern in Kim Fig. 9 can be logically organized into touch units at the intersection as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to logically parse the touch panel as units for the advantage of/ benefit of breaking down a large structure into manageable units.
Kim teaches touch electrodes however they do not explicitly teach wherein the touch unit comprises the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode which are both I-shaped; and wherein the entirety of the first touch electrode extends in the first direction, the entirety of the second touch electrode extends in the second direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Chou teaches the limitation. (See Chou Fig. 1A, 1B where the touch unit outlined by the red square has the electrodes 122 and 132 arranged as substantially I-shaped.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the electrodes in Kim to be differently shaped as taught by Chou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of changing the shape to meet design requirements. (See Chou ¶29)
Consider claim 10, where Kim in view of Wang in view of Chou teaches the touch panel according to claim 9, wherein the first touch electrode comprises a first electrode tip, a first electrode middle portion, an electrode connecting portion, a second electrode middle portion and a second electrode tip which are connected in sequence in the second direction; lengths of the first electrode tip, the first electrode middle portion and the electrode connecting portion in the first direction decrease in sequence, and lengths of the second electrode tip, the second electrode middle portion and the electrode connecting portion in the first direction decrease in sequence; (See Chou Fig. 1B (replicated above) where the electrode 122 in the red square has flared tips, a rectangular middle, and a connection portion that are in descending order) the second touch electrode comprises a third electrode tip, a third electrode middle portion, an electrode overlapping portion, a fourth electrode middle portion and a fourth electrode tip which are connected in sequence in the first direction; and widths of the third electrode tip, the third electrode middle portion and the electrode overlapping portion in the second direction decrease in sequence, and widths of the fourth electrode tip, the fourth electrode middle portion and the electrode overlapping portion in the second direction decrease in sequence. (See Chou Fig. 1B (replicated above) where the electrode 132 in the red square has flared tips, a rectangular middle, and a connection portion that are in descending order)
Consider claim 11, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 10, wherein the electrode overlapping portion comprises a first electrode overlapping portion and a second electrode overlapping portion located on opposite sides of the electrode connecting portion, (See Kim Fig. 6B, 10B where the connecting portion EP1 is located in between the large regions of RP1 and a bridging member connecting the first electrode overlapping portion and the second electrode overlapping portion; and the bridging member comprises a plurality of metal wires connected in parallel, (See Kim Fig. 7A where the bridge patterns may comprise a pair of metal wires in parallel) and the bridging member and the electrode connecting portion are located in different metal layers. (See Kim fig. 6B and ¶136 where A sensing insulation layer 203 may be disposed between the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, and each of the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1 may be connected to the corresponding first sensing patterns TP1 through contact holes TP_CH defined in the sensing insulation layer 203.)
Consider claim 12, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 10, wherein the first touch electrode is axially symmetric with respect to a straight line that is across a geometric center of the electrode connecting portion and is in the first direction; and the second touch electrode is axially symmetric with respect to a straight line that is across the geometric center of the electrode connecting portion and is in the second direction. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the touch electrode is axially symmetric about AX1 as well as in the direction DR2)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15, 21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant’s argument and citation of Hockerson-Halberstadt is persuasive. The Examiner does not have access to a lab and Kim’s touch panel arrangement to assert the claimed ratios, nor does the Examiner have an understanding of how Hockerson-Halberstadt should apply when the boundaries of a touch unit can be drawn to meet the limitation or drawn to not meet the limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US2020/0371644) Fig. 9 teaches a similar electrode arrangement to Kim and Wang but was not used as the teachings were redundant.
Zhang et al. (US2023/0061413) ¶97 teaches “the floating electrodes 17 are distributed in a region (e.g., a rectangular region 27) where the touch units 21 are located, with a ratio of distribution area less than 40%.” However, this area distribution teaching is redundant with the area analysis of Fig. 6 presented in Wang.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624