DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 field April 23rd 2025 are pending in the current action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR10-2022-0037945) (the Examiner will be citing from the corresponding US publication US2023/0305658 to use as the translation of the Korean patent) in view of Wang et al. (US2019/0163306)
Consider claim 1, where Kim teaches a touch panel, (See Kim Fig. 8A and ¶4, 42 where the input sensor allows for touch-based input) comprising a substrate and an arrangement of touch electrodes, wherein the arrangement of touch electrodes are arranged in an array on the substrate, (See Kim Fig. 9 where the electrodes are arranged in a grid pattern) and the arrangement of touch electrodes a first touch electrode and at least one second touch electrode insulated from each other; (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶161-162 where Each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. ) and in the arrangement of touch electrodes, the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode has an isolation gap defined therebetween, at least part of the isolation gap has a floating electrode formed therein, and the floating electrode is insulated from both the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶136-138, 167 where The first dummy patterns MP1 may be provided through the same process as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1 and include the same material as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first dummy patterns MP1, as floating electrodes, are not electrically connected to the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first and second sensing patterns TP1 and RP1 and the first extension patterns EP1 may be disposed on the same layer (e.g., the sensing insulation layer 203).)
Kim teaches an arrangement of touch electrodes, however Kim does not explicitly teach touch units. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Wang teaches touch units. (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶36 where he touch panel 100 includes a substrate 10 and a plurality of touch sensing units 20 arranged in an array on the substrate 10. Each of the touch sensing units 20 includes a first touch sub-electrode 201 arranged in a first direction X, two second touch sub-electrodes 202 arranged on both sides of the first touch sub-electrode 201 in a second direction Y) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the grid pattern in Kim Fig. 9 can be logically organized into touch units at the intersection as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to logically parse the touch panel as units for the advantage of/ benefit of breaking down a large structure into manageable units.
Consider claim 2, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein each of the touch units comprises two second touch electrodes; and the first touch electrode is disposed between the two second touch electrodes, and the two second touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 3, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 2, wherein the two second touch electrodes are arranged on two sides of the first touch electrode in a first direction; in the same touch unit, the first touch electrode comprises a first electrode region and two second electrode regions; the two second electrode regions are respectively located on two sides of the first electrode region in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and the floating electrode is provided in the isolation gaps between the first electrode region and the second touch electrode and between the second electrode region and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 4, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 3, wherein the touch unit further comprises a bridge connecting the two second touch electrodes; and the bridge is disposed at a connection between the first electrode region and the second electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 5, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 3, wherein in the same touch unit, the size of the first electrode region in the first direction increases and then decreases in the second direction; and in the same touch unit, the size of the second electrode region in the first direction gradually decreases in a direction from the second electrode region to the first electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the central region of RP1 increases and then decreases in a diamond pattern while TP1 forms a triangle.) (See Wang Figs. 3, 4 which shows a similar pattern)
Consider claim 6, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 2, wherein edges of the isolation gap form boundaries with the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode, respectively; an extension direction of the floating electrode is consistent with an extension direction of the boundaries, and two sides of the floating electrode form insulation gaps with the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode, respectively, in an extension direction perpendicular to the boundaries; and the floating electrode comprises a plurality of sub-electrodes arranged in sequence and spaced apart from each other in the extension direction of the boundaries. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.) (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶47 where The floating electrode 211 is located between the adjacent first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202 and is insulated from the first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202. The first touch sub-electrode 201, the second touch sub-electrode 202, and the floating electrode 211 are disposed in the same layer. There are a plurality of floating electrodes 211, thus each segment is a sub-electrode in the extension direction of the boundary)
Consider claim 7, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 6, wherein two second touch electrodes located in a same touch unit are symmetrically arranged on two sides of the first touch electrode in the first direction; one side of the edge of the isolation gap and the second touch electrode form an M-shaped boundary, and the other side of the isolation gap and the first touch electrode form an M-shaped boundary; and a bridge is provided between vertices, close to each other, of the M-shaped boundaries of the two second touch electrodes. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.) (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶47 where The floating electrode 211 is located between the adjacent first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202 and is insulated from the first touch sub-electrode 201 and the second touch sub-electrode 202. The first touch sub-electrode 201, the second touch sub-electrode 202, and the floating electrode 211 are disposed in the same layer.)
Consider claim 8, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 7, wherein the M-shaped boundary formed by the second touch electrode comprises a first border, a second border, a third border and a fourth border which are connected in sequence in the second direction; the first border, the second border, the third border and the fourth border are each configured as a straight-line segment; and each of the borders is formed with one of the sub-electrodes, and the one of the sub-electrodes is a linear electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the touch electrode TP1 forms an M shaped boundary and the floating electrode MP1 is located along TP1 .)
Consider claim 13, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a length of the touch unit in the first direction to a length of the touch unit in the second direction is greater than or equal to 0.95 and less than or equal to 1.05. (See Wang Fig. 4, 6 where the touch unit is a square thus, a 1:1 ratio of width to length)
Consider claim 14, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein a region where the touch unit is located is a rectangular region; in the same touch unit, an orthographic projection area of the entire first touch electrode on the substrate is greater than or equal to 45% of an area of the entire touch unit and less than or equal to 55% of the area of the entire touch unit. (See Wang Fig. 6 where the touch unit 20 comprises touch electrode 202. A pixel area analysis of Fig. 6 using imagescalculator.com (replicated below) shows that the touch electrode 202 makes up roughly 46.6% of the area of the touch unit 20. The Examiner notes that only half of the region was measured, however, it would be obvious that the percentage area covered would be the same if all of the areas were doubled.)
Consider claim 15, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 1, wherein in the same touch unit, an orthographic projection area of the second touch electrode on the substrate is greater than or equal to 35% of the area of the entire touch unit and less than or equal to 45% of the area of the entire touch unit, (See Wang Fig. 6 where the touch unit 20 comprises touch electrode 201. A pixel area analysis of Fig. 6 (replicated below) shows that the touch electrode 201 makes up roughly 42.8% of the area of the touch unit 20. The Examiner notes that only half of the region was measured, however, it would be obvious that the percentage area covered would be the same if all of the areas were doubled.) wherein in the same touch unit, an orthographic projection area of the entire floating electrode on the substrate is greater than or equal to 7% of the area of the entire touch unit and less than or equal to 11% of the area of the entire touch unit. (See Wang Fig. 6 where the touch unit 20 comprises floating electrodes 211. A pixel area analysis of Fig. 6 (replicated below) shows that the floating electrodes 211 makes up roughly 10.7% (sum of regions 3 and 4) of the area of the touch unit 20. The Examiner notes that only half of the region was measured, however, it would be obvious that the percentage area covered would be the same if all of the areas were doubled.)
Consider claim 16, where Kim teaches a display device, (See Kim Fig. 2C where DP is a display panel) comprising a touch panel, (See Kim Fig. 8A and ¶4, 42 where the input sensor allows for touch-based input) comprising a substrate and an arrangement of touch electrodes, wherein the arrangement of touch electrodes are arranged in an array on the substrate, (See Kim Fig. 9 where the electrodes are arranged in a grid pattern) and the arrangement of touch electrodes a first touch electrode and at least one second touch electrode insulated from each other; (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶161-162 where Each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. ) and in the arrangement of touch electrodes, the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode has an isolation gap defined therebetween, at least part of the isolation gap has a floating electrode formed therein, and the floating electrode is insulated from both the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10B and ¶136-138, 167 where The first dummy patterns MP1 may be provided through the same process as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1 and include the same material as the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first dummy patterns MP1, as floating electrodes, are not electrically connected to the first sensing patterns TP1 and the second sensing patterns RP1. The first and second sensing patterns TP1 and RP1 and the first extension patterns EP1 may be disposed on the same layer (e.g., the sensing insulation layer 203).)
Kim teaches an arrangement of touch electrodes, however Kim does not explicitly teach touch units. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Wang teaches touch units. (See Wang Fig. 4 and ¶36 where he touch panel 100 includes a substrate 10 and a plurality of touch sensing units 20 arranged in an array on the substrate 10. Each of the touch sensing units 20 includes a first touch sub-electrode 201 arranged in a first direction X, two second touch sub-electrodes 202 arranged on both sides of the first touch sub-electrode 201 in a second direction Y) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the grid pattern in Kim Fig. 9 can be logically organized into touch units at the intersection as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to logically parse the touch panel as units for the advantage of/ benefit of breaking down a large structure into manageable units.
Consider claim 17, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the display device according to claim 16, wherein each of the touch units comprises two second touch electrodes; and the first touch electrode is disposed between the two second touch electrodes, and the two second touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 18, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the display device according to claim 17, wherein the two second touch electrodes are arranged on two sides of the first touch electrode in a first direction; in the same touch unit, the first touch electrode comprises a first electrode region and two second electrode regions; the two second electrode regions are respectively located on two sides of the first electrode region in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and the floating electrode is provided in the isolation gaps between the first electrode region and the second touch electrode and between the second electrode region and the second touch electrode. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 19, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the display device according to claim 18, wherein the touch unit further comprises a bridge connecting the two second touch electrodes; and the bridge is disposed at a connection between the first electrode region and the second electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A and ¶161-162 where each of the first sensing electrodes TE1 may include the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, which are arranged in the first direction DR1. At least one first bridge pattern BP1 may be connected between two adjacent first sensing patterns TP1. Each of the second sensing electrodes RE1 may include the plurality of second sensing patterns RP1 and the plurality of first extension patterns EP1, which are arranged in the second direction DR2. At least one first extension pattern EP1 may be connected between two adjacent second sensing patterns RP1.)
Consider claim 20, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the display device according to claim 19, wherein in the same touch unit, the size of the first electrode region in the first direction increases and then decreases in the second direction; and in the same touch unit, the size of the second electrode region in the first direction gradually decreases in a direction from the second electrode region to the first electrode region. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the central region of RP1 increases and then decreases in a diamond pattern while TP1 forms a triangle.) (See Wang Figs. 3, 4 which shows a similar pattern)
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Chou et al. (US2013/0194213)
Consider claim 9, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 1, however they do not explicitly teach wherein the touch unit comprises the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode which are both I-shaped; and wherein the entirety of the first touch electrode extends in the first direction, the entirety of the second touch electrode extends in the second direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Chou teaches the limitation. (See Chou Fig. 1A, 1B where the touch unit outlined by the red square has the electrodes 122 and 132 arranged as substantially I-shaped.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the electrodes in Kim to be differently shaped as taught by Chou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of changing the shape to meet design requirements. (See Chou ¶29)
Consider claim 10, where Kim in view of Wang in view of Chou teaches the touch panel according to claim 9, wherein the first touch electrode comprises a first electrode tip, a first electrode middle portion, an electrode connecting portion, a second electrode middle portion and a second electrode tip which are connected in sequence in the second direction; lengths of the first electrode tip, the first electrode middle portion and the electrode connecting portion in the first direction decrease in sequence, and lengths of the second electrode tip, the second electrode middle portion and the electrode connecting portion in the first direction decrease in sequence; (See Chou Fig. 1B (replicated above) where the electrode 122 in the red square has flared tips, a rectangular middle, and a connection portion that are in descending order) the second touch electrode comprises a third electrode tip, a third electrode middle portion, an electrode overlapping portion, a fourth electrode middle portion and a fourth electrode tip which are connected in sequence in the first direction; and widths of the third electrode tip, the third electrode middle portion and the electrode overlapping portion in the second direction decrease in sequence, and widths of the fourth electrode tip, the fourth electrode middle portion and the electrode overlapping portion in the second direction decrease in sequence. (See Chou Fig. 1B (replicated above) where the electrode 132 in the red square has flared tips, a rectangular middle, and a connection portion that are in descending order)
Consider claim 11, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 10, wherein the electrode overlapping portion comprises a first electrode overlapping portion and a second electrode overlapping portion located on opposite sides of the electrode connecting portion, (See Kim Fig. 6B, 10B where the connecting portion EP1 is located in between the large regions of RP1 and and a bridging member connecting the first electrode overlapping portion and the second electrode overlapping portion; and the bridging member comprises a plurality of metal wires connected in parallel, (See Kim Fig. 7A where the bridge patterns may comprise a pair of metal wires in parallel) and the bridging member and the electrode connecting portion are located in different metal layers. (See Kim fig. 6B and ¶136 where A sensing insulation layer 203 may be disposed between the plurality of first sensing patterns TP1 and the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1, and each of the plurality of first bridge patterns BP1 may be connected to the corresponding first sensing patterns TP1 through contact holes TP_CH defined in the sensing insulation layer 203.)
Consider claim 12, where Kim in view of Wang teaches the touch panel according to claim 10, wherein the first touch electrode is axially symmetric with respect to a straight line that is across a geometric center of the electrode connecting portion and is in the first direction; and the second touch electrode is axially symmetric with respect to a straight line that is across the geometric center of the electrode connecting portion and is in the second direction. (See Kim Fig. 10A where the touch electrode is axially symmetric about AX1 as well as in the direction DR2)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US2020/0371644) Fig. 9 teaches a similar electrode arrangement to Kim and Wang, but was not used as the teachings were redundant.
Zhang et al. (US2023/0061413) ¶97 teaches “the floating electrodes 17 are distributed in a region (e.g., a rectangular region 27) where the touch units 21 are located, with a ratio of distribution area less than 40%.” However, this area distribution teaching is redundant with the area analysis of Fig. 6 presented in Wang.
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624