DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s response to the restriction requirement without traverse filed 5/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 remain pending in the current application.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein a length of of each of the ultrasonic transducer units”. Applicant is required to remove the repeated word ‘of’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi (US 20090001853 A1) in view of Takezaki (US 20130241345 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adachi teaches an ultrasonic transducer device ([0020] An ultrasound transducer)
comprising a first electrode ([0021] a first electrode into which a control signal for transmitting ultrasound is input)
a second electrode ([0023] a second electrode that is a ground electrode facing the first electrode)
and a third electrode ([0033] a third electrode)
an oscillating membrane having a first surface and a second surface, disposed between the second electrode and the third electrode ([0031] a membrane on which the second electrode is formed and which vibrates and generates the ultrasound when voltage is applied between the first and second electrodes; [0032] a first piezoelectric film formed on the second electrode formed on a surface of the membrane; and [0033] a third electrode that is connected to the first piezoelectric film and faces the second electrode via the piezoelectric film)
and an insulating layer having a top surface and a bottom surface, disposed on the first electrode ([0041] a substrate on which the first electrode is formed)
wherein the third electrode is disposed between the oscillating membrane and the insulating layer (observe configuration of insulation film 11, membrane 5, and electrode 7 in fig. 1)
and the third electrode is in direct contact with the insulating layer (observe configuration of insulation film 11 and electrode 7 in fig. 1)
to form a plurality of sub-cavities defined by the third electrode, the second surface of the oscillating membrane, and the top surface of the insulating layer ([0152] On the surface of the substrate 3 between the supporting members 4, the bottom electrode 7 is formed. On the bottom electrode 7, the insulation film 82 is formed. The cavity 6 is enclosed by the membrane 5, the supporting member 4, and the insulation film 82)
Adachi fails to teach the insulating layer is located between the third electrode and the first electrode, the third electrode is a mesh structure, and the sub-cavities defined by the mesh structure, the second surface of the oscillating membrane, and the top surface of the insulating layer.
However, Takezaki teaches the insulating layer is located between the third electrode and the first electrode ([0057] Referring to FIG. 3, a fundamental structure of a CMUT and activities thereof will be described below. A hollow portion 102 enclosed with an insulating film 103 is formed in an upper layer of a lower electrode 101. An upper electrode 104 is disposed over the hollow portion 102 with the insulating film 103 between them. When a dc voltage and ac voltage are convoluted between the upper electrode 104 and lower electrode 101, electrostatic force works between the upper electrode 104 and lower electrode 101. A membrane 105 including the insulating film 103 and upper electrode 104 over the hollow portion 102 is vibrated at the frequency of the applied ac voltage, whereby an ultrasonic wave is originated)
the third electrode is a mesh structure ([0044] FIG. 11 is a top view of the ultrasonic transducer in accordance with the embodiment 1 of the present invention showing a case where the rigid members are cruciform; a clear mesh structure can be seen in this figure)
Adachi and Takazaki are considered analogous because both disclose designs for ultrasonic transducer devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to design one of the three electrodes in a mesh configuration so that the ultrasonic wave can be detected as a change in a capacitance (Takazaki [0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Adachi teaches a bias voltage is applied to the third electrode to generate a voltage difference between the third electrode and the first electrode ([abst] a membrane on which the second electrode is formed and which vibrates and generates the ultrasound when a voltage is applied between the first and second electrodes)
Regarding claim 3, Adachi teaches the sub-cavities are closed spaces and are separated from each other ([0168] FIG. 10 shows a cross section of the MUT according to the present embodiment … the cavities 6)
Regarding claim 4, Adachi teaches the second electrode comprises a plurality of main parts (cells) and a plurality of connecting parts (wires), the main parts overlap the sub-cavities respectively (through holes), wherein each of the connecting parts is connected between corresponding two of the main parts and wherein an area of each of the main parts is greater than that of each of the connecting parts ([0134] Further, a bridge wire 65 between upper electrodes 10 of adjacent cells is provided on a bottom 61 of each interstice 60 so that the upper electrodes 10 of the adjacent cells are electrically continuous to each other through a via wire 64. Also, the respective bottom electrodes 7 of the respective cells are electrically continuous to each other by a bridge wire 62 between bottom electrodes of adjacent-cells through a via wire 63; [0089] through holes 13 and 19, a through hole wire 14 which is formed on the side wall of the through hole 13 and is electrically continuous to the bottom electrode 7, a through hole wire 15 which is formed on the side wall of the through hole 19 and electrically continuous to the upper electrode 10; one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a cell occupies more surface area than a connecting wire)
Regarding claim 11, Adachi teaches the second electrode comprises a plurality of main parts (cells) and a plurality of connecting parts (wires), the main parts overlap the sub-cavities respectively (through holes), wherein each of the connecting parts is connected between corresponding two of the main parts and wherein an area of each of the main parts is greater than that of each of the connecting parts in a first direction and is connected between corresponding two of the main parts in a second direction ([0134] Further, a bridge wire 65 between upper electrodes 10 of adjacent cells is provided on a bottom 61 of each interstice 60 so that the upper electrodes 10 of the adjacent cells are electrically continuous to each other through a via wire 64. Also, the respective bottom electrodes 7 of the respective cells are electrically continuous to each other by a bridge wire 62 between bottom electrodes of adjacent-cells through a via wire 63; [0089] through holes 13 and 19, a through hole wire 14 which is formed on the side wall of the through hole 13 and is electrically continuous to the bottom electrode 7, a through hole wire 15 which is formed on the side wall of the through hole 19 and electrically continuous to the upper electrode 10)
to constitute a plurality of second openings ([0133] The spaces between the adjacent cells are referred to as interstices 60)
Regarding claim 12, Adachi fails to teach each of the second openings is cross-shaped, rectangular, round, or zigzag.
However, Takezaki teaches each of the second openings is cross-shaped, rectangular, round, or zigzag ([0044] FIG. 11 is a top view of the ultrasonic transducer in accordance with the embodiment 1 of the present invention showing a case where the rigid members are cruciform)
Adachi and Takazaki are considered analogous because both disclose designs for ultrasonic transducer devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to design the openings in a cruciform fashion so that the ultrasonic wave can be detected as a change in a capacitance (Takazaki [0058]).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi in view of Takezaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kiyose (US 20140296715 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Adachi as modified fails to teach the mesh structure includes a plurality of longitudinal portions arranged along a first direction and a plurality of transverse portions arranged along a second direction, wherein the first direction and the second direction intersect with each other, and wherein a plurality of first openings of the mesh structure are defined by the longitudinal portions and the transverse portions.
However, Kiyose teaches the mesh structure includes a plurality of longitudinal portions arranged along a first direction and a plurality of transverse portions arranged along a second direction, wherein the first direction and the second direction intersect with each other, and wherein a plurality of first openings of the mesh structure are defined by the longitudinal portions and the transverse portions ([0039] FIG. 3 schematically shows a plan view of the element unit 17 according to the first embodiment. The element unit 17 is provided with a base 21. An element array 22 is formed on the base 21. The element array 22 is constructed of ultrasonic transducer elements (hereinafter referred to as "element") 23 arranged in an array pattern. The array is formed in a matrix having a plurality of rows and a plurality of columns. In addition, a zigzag pattern may be used in the array. In the zigzag pattern, a group of the elements 23 in an even column may be displaced with respect to a group of the elements 23 in an odd column by one-half of the row pitch. The number of the elements in one of an odd column and an even column may be smaller than the number of the elements in the other of an odd column and an even column by one; [0048] As shown in FIG. 4, the base 21 is equipped with a substrate 46 and a flexible film 47. The flexible film 47 is formed on the entire surface on the surface of the substrate 46. An opening 48 is formed in each of the elements 23 on the substrate 46. The openings 48 are arranged in an array pattern on the substrate 46. The outline of the area in which the openings 48 are arranged correlates to the outline of the element array 22. A partition wall 49 divides between two adjacent openings 48. The adjacent openings 48 are partitioned by, the partition wall 49. The wall thickness of the partition wall 49 correlates to the gap of the openings 48. The partition wall 49 defines two wall surfaces on the inside of the plane that expand parallel to each other. The wall thickness correlates to the distance between the two wall surfaces. Specifically, the wall thickness can be defined as the length of the vertical line orthogonal to the wall surface and sandwiched between the wall surfaces).
Adachi as modified and Kiyose are considered analogous because both disclose designs for ultrasonic transducers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to design the mesh structure through a series of horizontal and vertical grid components in order to decrease the detection sensitivity of the ultrasonic waves (Kiyose [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Adachi as modified fails to teach the mesh structure, the insulating layer, the oscillating membrane and the sub-cavities constitute a plurality of ultrasonic transducer units arranged in an array, wherein the ultrasonic transducer units correspond to the first openings of the mesh structure respectively, wherein a width of each of the ultrasonic transducer units is equal to that of each of the first openings of the mesh structure, and wherein a length of each of the ultrasonic transducer units is equal to that of each of the first openings of the mesh structure.
However, Kiyose teaches the mesh structure, the insulating layer, the oscillating membrane and the sub-cavities constitute a plurality of ultrasonic transducer units arranged in an array, wherein the ultrasonic transducer units correspond to the first openings of the mesh structure respectively, wherein a width of each of the ultrasonic transducer units is equal to that of each of the first openings of the mesh structure, and wherein a length of each of the ultrasonic transducer units is equal to that of each of the first openings of the mesh structure ([0048] As shown in FIG. 4, the base 21 is equipped with a substrate 46 and a flexible film 47. The flexible film 47 is formed on the entire surface on the surface of the substrate 46. An opening 48 is formed in each of the elements 23 on the substrate 46. The openings 48 are arranged in an array pattern on the substrate 46. The outline of the area in which the openings 48 are arranged correlates to the outline of the element array 22. A partition wall 49 divides between two adjacent openings 48. The adjacent openings 48 are partitioned by, the partition wall 49. The wall thickness of the partition wall 49 correlates to the gap of the openings 48. The partition wall 49 defines two wall surfaces on the inside of the plane that expand parallel to each other. The wall thickness correlates to the distance between the two wall surfaces. Specifically, the wall thickness can be defined as the length of the vertical line orthogonal to the wall surface and sandwiched between the wall surfaces).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi in view of Takezaki and Kiyose as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 20180015504 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Adachi as modified fails to teach the oscillating membrane is wavy after the bias voltage is applied to the third electrode, wherein wave crests of the oscillating membrane corresponds to the sub-cavities, and valleys of the oscillating membrane correspond to the third electrode.
However, Zhao teaches the oscillating membrane is wavy after the bias voltage is applied to the third electrode, wherein wave crests of the oscillating membrane corresponds to the sub-cavities, and valleys of the oscillating membrane correspond to the third electrode ([0004] A 2D array may include multiple elements arranged in both the lateral dimension and the elevation dimension. As one example, the spacing between two adjacent elements may be one-half wavelength in both the lateral and the elevation dimensions; [0041] the membrane 116, as the first electrode 102, may be deformed by applying an AC voltage (TX) between the first electrode 102 and the second electrode 109, or may be deformed by an impinging ultrasound wave (RX). Thus, the membrane 116 is able to move back and forth within the transducing gap 122 in response to an electrical signal when producing ultrasonic energy (TX), or in response to receiving ultrasonic energy (RX). Factors that can affect the resonant frequency of CMUT cells 110 include the length and width of the respective cavities 120, which correspond to the membrane area over each cavity)
Adachi and Zhao are considered analogous because both disclose ultrasonic transducer devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to have the oscillating member vibrate at a specific frequency that will allow different portions of the wave to correspond to different elements of the device such as electrodes and cavities in order to reduce a large impedance mismatch (Zhao [0002])
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi in view of Takezaki and Kiyose as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Takeuchi (US 20240023936 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Adachi teaches a plurality of filling materials (fig. 7, pads 17, 18) wherein the oscillating membrane has a plurality of through holes (through holes 13; [0089] A MUT element 2 includes a semiconductor substrate 3, supporting members 4, a membrane 5, cavities 6, a bottom electrode 7, a common ground electrode 8, a piezoelectric film 9, an upper electrode 10, an insulation film 11, a diffusion layer 12, through holes 13 and 19)
wherein each of the filling materials contacts the first surface of the oscillating membrane and passes through the through holes of the oscillating membrane respectively to be in direct contact with the top surface of the insulating layer (fig. 7, spatial relationship between through holes 13, insulation film 11, and pads 17 and 18 is noted)
Adachi as modified fails to teach a material of each of the filling materials comprises cured photoresist, silicon-containing nitride, or silicon-containing oxide.
However, Takeuchi teaches a material of each of the filling materials comprises cured photoresist, silicon-containing nitride, or silicon-containing oxide ([0034] The filler used for the groove filling material is preferably a highly elastic filler from a viewpoint of improving acoustic characteristics, and is at least one selected from the group consisting of diamond, aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, silicon carbide).
Adachi as modified and Takeuchi are considered analogous because both disclose designs of ultrasonic transducers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a material such as silicon oxide to design the pads that will be used to fill through holes in the device in order to improve acoustic characteristics (Takeuchi [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Adachi teaches each of the filling materials does not contact the longitudinal portions and the transverse portions of the mesh structure (there is nothing in the Adachi reference or any of the cited reference to indicate that the pads considered analogous to the filling materials would contact the vertical or horizontal grid components forming the mesh structure disclosed in the secondary reference)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi in view of Takezaki, Kiyose, and Takeuchi as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ona (US 20160007964 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Adachi as modified fails to teach the mesh structure, the insulating layer, the oscillating membrane and the sub-cavities constitute a plurality of ultrasonic transducer units arranged in an array, wherein the ultrasonic transducer units are located in an active region and are not in a peripheral region surrounding the active region, wherein the filling materials are distributed in the active region and the peripheral region.
However, Ona teaches the mesh structure, the insulating layer, the oscillating membrane and the sub-cavities constitute a plurality of ultrasonic transducer units arranged in an array
wherein the ultrasonic transducer units are located in an active region and are not in a peripheral region surrounding the active region ([0030] an ultrasonic probe which comprises an ultrasonic transducer array formed by arraying a plurality of ultrasonic transducers provided with electrodes on end faces and a multilayer body configured to extract electric wirings from the respective electrodes. The plurality of ultrasonic transducers are classified into at least a first group and a second group; [0039] FIG. 2 is a plan view of the ultrasonic probe 2 according to this embodiment)
wherein the filling materials are distributed in the active region and the peripheral region ([0040] Each ultrasonic transducer 20 includes a dielectric body 200, acoustic matching layers 202a and 202b, and an intermediate layer 204; these layers are present in both groups mentioned above).
Adachi as modified and Ona are considered analogous because both disclose designs of ultrasonic transducer devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to separate the ultrasonic transducers into two separate groups in order to minimize the number of wirings required (Ona [0004]).
Conclusion
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797 /SERKAN AKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797