DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirschmann et al. (“Kirschmann” hereinafter) (US PN 4,691,850).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Kirschmann discloses a system (figure 1) for controlling chemical dispensing from a chemical delivery device (item 10, figure 1), comprising: means for dispensing (item 62, figure 3) a chemical (chemical from bottles 28a-28f, figure 1), wherein during dispensing an amount of the chemical from the chemical delivery device, the means for dispensing the chemical draws an equal amount of the chemical into the chemical delivery device as the amount of the chemical dispensed (column 5, lines 20-32 and column 7, lines 27-43, the pump pulls the same amount of liquid from bottles 28 through manifold 42 as the amount of liquid being transported to flush manifold 36, figures 2-3).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Kirschmann discloses means for dispensing a fluid (water solenoid 32 and pipes 18 and 20 that bring hot and cold water, figures 2-3, column 4, lines 13-28) and means for mixing (flush manifold 36 mixes flush water and one or more chemicals being dispensed via pump 62, figures 2-3, column 7, lines 10-51) the dispensed chemical and fluid dispensed from the means for dispensing the fluid.
Regarding claim 4, Kirschmann discloses means for controlling (items 96, 98, 102, figure 3) dispensing: of the chemical from the means for dispensing a chemical, of the fluid from the means for dispensing a fluid, or of mixtures of the chemical and the fluid (the control circuit board along with membrane switch 98, LED board, and memory 102 monitors and controls the entire dispensing operation including controlling the means for dispensing chemicals, the solenoids that control the chemicals and water delivery and the check-valve that controls dispensing, column 6, lines 27-45).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 15, Kirschmann discloses that the means for controlling dispensing comprises means for linearly controlling dispensing (the controller mechanism controls the operation of the entire dispensing system in a linear fashion, figures 2-4).
Regarding claims 6, 10, and 18, Kirschmann discloses that the means for controlling is integrated into an assembly comprising one or more of the means for dispensing a chemical or a plurality of chemicals, the means for dispensing a hot or cold or both waters, or the means for mixing the fluid and the chemical (the control board 96, the pump 62, the chemical manifold 42, the water manifold 32, and the flush manifold 36 are all integrated into one dispensing assembly 10, figures 2-4).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Kirschmann discloses that means (the control mechanisms including control board 96, switch 98, memory 102 control the diluting operation of the chemicals) for controlling a dilution ratio of the chemical and the fluid dispensed from the means for dispensing a chemical and the means for dispensing a fluid (column 2, lines 62-67: column 3, lines 1-20).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 11, and 17, Kirschmann discloses that means for coordinating (the control mechanisms including control board 96, switch 98, memory 102 control the coordination of the dispensing process) dispensing from a plurality of the means for dispensing a chemical and a plurality of the means for dispensing a fluid (column 6, lines 27-45 and column 7, lines 10-67: column 8, lines 1-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirschmann in view of Horie et al. (“Horie” hereinafter) (US PN 6,419,462).
Regarding claim 2, Kirschmann is silent to teaching means for sensing one or more properties of the dispensed chemical, of the chemical drawn into the chemical delivery device, or of the means for dispensing a chemical.
Horie teaches a liquid-delivery apparatus (figure 1) with metering means and contemplates use of various sensors such as pressure sensor (item 168, figure 8), flow sensor (column 3, lines 41-46), and leak sensor (item 160, figure 8) in the system to measure such characteristics related to the liquid being deployed and dispensed through the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kirschmann as taught by Horie to have provided one or more sensing means in the form of sensors that measure various parameters of the liquids being dispensed in the system in order to provide the control system of Kirschmann valuable operation specific data to improve the dispensing process. It is worth noting that use of sensors to measure liquid parameters is also old and well-known in the art.
Conclusion
/Vishal Pancholi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754