DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abotabl et al. (2022/0416867) [Abotabl].
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Abotabl discloses a channel information obtaining method, comprising:
obtaining a frequency division duplex (FDD) downlink channel and a time division duplex (TDD) channel (paragraphs 0053-0054 and 0061);
determining a first channel based on the FDD downlink channel and the TDD channel (at least one channel will have a reference signal with channel state information, paragraph 0064);
performing inverse discrete Fourier transform (IDFT) on the first channel to obtain a second channel (paragraph 0069); and
sending first information based on the second channel (reference signal transmitted from user equipment, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Abotabl discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 6, wherein sending the first information based on the second channel comprises:
obtaining first energy of the second channel based on the second channel wherein the first energy is a sum of energy of all coefficients in the second channel (paragraphs 0011 and 0056);
determining second energy based on the first energy, wherein the second energy is a sum of energy coefficient in a set A; and determining the first information based on the second energy, wherein the first information comprises position information and phase information of the set A on the second channel (determining the channel based on measurements send form user equipment, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Abotabl discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 7, wherein obtaining the FDD downlink channel and the TDD channel comprises:
receiving a first reference signal, wherein the first reference signal is from a network device; and obtaining the FDD downlink channel and the TDD channel based on the first reference signal (paragraph 0064).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Abotabl discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 6, wherein the determining a first channel based on the FDD downlink channel and the TDD comprises:
performing a first operation on the FDD downlink channel and the TDD channel based on first indication information to obtain the first channel wherein the first indication information comprises a start point and an end point of a bandwidth of the first channel (physical layer, paragraph 0065).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Abotabl discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 4 and 9, wherein the first operation comprises concatenation (paragraph 0068-0072).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-17 are allowed. The claimed invention is directed towards a channel information obtaining apparatus the receives an FDD uplink channel and TDD channel and performs FDD downlink channel discovery based on the received uplink channel. Essentially the inverse of what is conventionally done in the prior art (as shown above, where a client receiver is in communication with a base station, receives downlink channels and returns measurements to said base station in the form of a reference signal for establishing communication). The examiner found no teaching or reasonably suggestion to determine FDD downlink channels in the manner claimed in the prior art at the time of effective filing.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421