Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed April 23, 2025 fails to fully comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. Specifically, DE 3880850 T2 lacks a concise explanation in English explaining its relevance. This appears to be because the reference document provided lacks an English abstract. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but DE 3880850 T2, the struck through reference, has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishimoto et al. (US 5619784 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimoto et al. discloses a method for producing an assembly for a vehicle, wherein at least two subassemblies are aligned with one another in that the subassemblies are each arranged on a component (Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49, see how the second and first subassemblies are arranged on a component via the arrows indicating the insertion of the components into position).
Regarding claim 2, Nishimoto et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in an aligning position, each subassembly is aligned on the component via positioning aids (Nishimoto et al. Col. 7 Lines 20-24 disclose that the front floor 1, part of the second subassembly, is inserted into an engaging groove 33A, which is a positioning aid. As for the first subassembly, Nishimoto et al. Col. 8 Lines 12-16 disclose that the front body portion BF/first subassembly has a transverse flange portion that engages with and is fixed to the front floor 1 via adhesive. For this engagement to occur, the transverse flange portion must be in contact with the front floor 1. Furthermore, Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49 show a section of engaging groove 33 that is not occupied by the second subassembly. Since this portion of groove is not occupied by the second subassembly, the transverse flange portion must extend through this portion of groove to reach the front floor. Therefore, the first subassembly is in part aligned onto the component via the engaging groove 33, which is a positioning aid).
Regarding claim 3, Nishimoto et al. discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein to transfer the individual subassemblies into an aligning position with respect to one another, each subassembly is aligned on the component (Nishimoto et al Annotated Figures 48 and 49, the process of inserting/aligning the subassemblies onto the component also brings the subassemblies into contact with each other, aligning them with respect to one another).
Regarding claim 4, Nishimoto et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising: establishing a materially bonded connection between the subassemblies (Nishimoto et al. Col. 8 Lines 12-16 disclose that the front body portion BF/first subassembly has a transverse flange portion that engages with and is fixed to the front floor 1/second subassembly via adhesive, which per the application paragraph [0009] is a materially bonded connection).
Regarding claim 6, Nishimoto et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the component is a subassembly (Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49).
Regarding claim 7, Nishimoto et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the subassembly is a large module (Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49, the front end of a vehicle and a vehicle undercarriage both qualify as large modules).
Regarding claim 8, Nishimoto et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first subassembly is a front end (Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49), the second assembly is an undercarriage (Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49), and the third component is a lateral frame (Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49, the “lateral frame” of the reference extends from one side sill to another side sill, incorporating the vehicle’s roof and rear. This extends in a lateral direction, forming a lateral frame).
Regarding claim 9, Nishimoto et al. discloses an assembly having at least two subassemblies which are aligned with one another, wherein the subassemblies are each arranged on a component (Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49, see how the second and first subassemblies are arranged on a component via the arrows indicating the insertion of the components into position. In this process, the two subassemblies are aligned with respect to each other).
Regarding claim 10, Nishimoto et al. discloses the assembly according to claim 9, wherein in an aligning position, each subassembly is arranged on the component via positioning aids (Nishimoto et al. Col. 7 Lines 20-24 disclose that the front floor 1, part of the second subassembly, is inserted into an engaging groove 33A, which is a positioning aid. As for the first subassembly, Nishimoto et al. Col. 8 Lines 12-16 disclose that the front body portion BF/first subassembly has a transverse flange portion that engages with and is fixed to the front floor 1 via adhesive. For this engagement to occur, the transverse flange portion must be in contact with the front floor 1. Furthermore, Nishimoto et al. Annotated Figures 48 and 49 show a section of engaging groove 33 that is not occupied by the second subassembly. Since this portion of groove is not occupied by the second subassembly, the transverse flange portion must extend through this portion of groove to reach the front floor. Therefore, the first subassembly is in part aligned onto the component via the engaging groove 33, which is a positioning aid).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimoto et al. (US 5619784 A) in view of Sung (DE 102021128236 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nishimoto et al. discloses the method according to claim 1.
Nishimoto et al. fails to disclose the method according to claim 1, comprising: establishing a force-fitting connection between the subassemblies.
Sung teaches the method according to claim 1, comprising: establishing a force-fitting connection between the subassemblies (Sung Page 6 Lines 23-27 discloses a force form fit/force-fitting connection between a front module 20 and a center module 30. These modules are analogous to the first and second subassemblies, respectively).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to the region of contact between the first subassembly and the second subassembly, as disclosed by Nishimoto et al., and modify it to have one or more pairs of blind holes and accompanying extrusions that are slightly larger than the dimensions of the holes such that when pressed together, the holes and extrusions form a force fit, as taught by the force fit subassemblies of Sung, because this modification would strengthen the bond between the subassemblies to a level beyond what adhesive connections are easily capable of.
Regarding claim 11, Nishimoto et al. as modified by Sung, discloses the assembly according to claim 10, wherein the subassemblies are connected via a materially bonded (Nishimoto et al. Col. 8 Lines 12-16 disclose that the front body portion BF/first subassembly has a transverse flange portion that engages with and is fixed to the front floor 1/second subassembly via adhesive, which per the application paragraph [0009] is a materially bonded connection) and/or force-fitting connection (Sung Page 6 Lines 23-27 discloses a force form fit/force-fitting connection between a front module 20 and a center module 30. These modules are analogous to the first and second subassemblies, respectively. Furthermore, Sung Page 6 Lines 38-41 further discloses an adhesive connection between the first fixing portion 35 and the first recess 25, which may coexist with the force form fit/force-fitting connection of Sung Page 6 Lines 23-27, such that the and portion of the and/or limitation of claim 11 is satisfied).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to the region of contact between the first subassembly and the second subassembly, as disclosed by Nishimoto et al., and modify it to have one or more pairs of blind holes and accompanying extrusions that are slightly larger than the dimensions of the holes such that when pressed together, the holes and extrusions form a force fit, as taught by the force fit subassemblies of Sung, because this modification would strengthen the bond between the subassemblies to a level beyond what adhesive connections are easily capable of.
Conclusion
/G.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612