DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
controller in claim 1 (and dependent claims).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 13-14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondoh U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20070106475.
Regarding claim 1 (independent):
A remote control assistance system for a working machine, the remote control assistance system comprising: (Kondoh Abstract A vehicle driving assist system)(Kondoh [0056] Based on the risk potential(s) with respect to the preceding obstacle(s), the controller 50 controls an actuation reaction force exerted by a driver-operated driving operation device operated by the driver in order to drive the host vehicle. In this embodiment, the driver-operated driving operation device is the accelerator pedal 72. Additionally, the status of the actuation reaction force control executed based on the risk potential is conveyed to the driver as visual information and display control is executed so as to encourage the driver to adjust his or her operation of the driving operation device (e.g., the accelerator pedal 72) in an appropriate direction.) where the assistance is remote from the user. Further, (Kondoh [0050] Referring initially to FIGS. 1 and 2, a vehicle driving assist system 1 is illustrated that is installed on a host vehicle (FIG. 2) in accordance with a first embodiment of the present invention.) where the assistance system is attached to, but distinct from the host vehicle.
a sensor (Kondoh [0050] The vehicle driving assist system 1 is equipped with a laser radar 10, a forward camera 20, a vehicle speed sensor 30, a steering angle sensor 35 for detecting a steering angle of a steering wheel 36, an eye point detecting device 37, a controller 50, a driving force control device 60, an accelerator pedal reaction force control device 70, a servomotor unit 71 built into a linkage mechanism of an accelerator pedal 72, a display control device 80, a display device 81 and an alarm device 90.).
and a remote apparatus including a display to display sensing information obtained through sensing by the sensor and a controller to configured or programmed to control the display (Kondoh 0058] In response to a command from the controller 50, the display control device 80 generates an image to be displayed on the display device 81. The display device 81 is preferably a head up display (HUD) that is configured to use the entire front windshield as an image projection surface. The display device 81 displays the image in accordance with a signal from the display control device 80 and is designed to convey information regarding the risk potential, etc., to the driver while the driver is looking forward.) where the radar, camera and sensors are remote/separate from the display device as shown in Fig. 1-2.
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to cause the display to display a sensing map indicating a surrounding area of the working machine and a caution zone in the surrounding area and, (Kondoh [0193] In the example shown in FIG. 28, the two contour lines closest to the vehicle are displayed in red and the colors of the other contour lines change from yellow to blue to green as one moves farther from the vehicle. Although in this embodiment the colors of the contour lines vary gradually from green to red, it is also possible to establish a plurality of predetermined ranges of risk potential RP values and assign a specific color to each range.)
when the sensing information includes a target in the surrounding area of the working machine, (Kondoh [0142] In step S2000, the controller 100 determines if actuation reaction force control is currently being executed based on the risk potential. More specifically, the controller 50 determines if the laser radar 10 has detected an obstacle in front of the host vehicle, making it possible to execute actuation reaction force control based on the risk potential RP. If the result of step S2000 is positive, then the controller 100 proceeds to step S2010. If the result of step S2000 is negative, then the controller 100 ends the control loop.)
cause the display to display a target object indicating a position of the target on the sensing map (Kondoh [0079] A round reference frame or risk potential marker 82 is displayed on the display device 81 so as to be centered on the reference point P2. The reference frame or 82 indicates the obstacle targeted by the calculation of the risk potential RP and is displayed in such a position as to overlap the preceding vehicle when viewed by the driver.).
(Kondoh [0131] The third embodiment can also be combined with the second embodiment.)(Kondoh [0255] It is also possible to combine the fourth embodiment with the fifth embodiment.)(Kondoh [0255] The fifth embodiment can also be combined with the sixth or seventh embodiment.) Kondoh discloses the above elements in several embodiments. With the embodiments being disclosed in a single reference, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention being aware of one embodiment would also have been aware of the others, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have combined these elements from two or more embodiments into a single arrangement for the benefit of enjoying the advantages of all the embodiments disclosed combined into a single arrangement.
Regarding claim 2:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to:
cause an emergency stop zone and a warning zone which are included in the caution zone to be displayed on the sensing map, the emergency stop zone being configured such that the working machine makes an emergency stop when a predetermined target is present in the emergency stop zone, (Kondoh [0171] In the embodiments described heretofore, the actuation reaction force exerted by a driver-operated driving operation device is controlled based on the risk potential RP of the vehicle with respect to an obstacle. However, the present invention is not limited to controlling an actuation reaction force. It is also acceptable, for example, to control a braking/driving force acting on the vehicle based on the risk potential RP. While it is certainly feasible to execute the braking/driving force control based on a risk potential RP calculated using the aforementioned Equation 3, it is also possible to execute the braking/driving force control based on the concept described in the following paragraphs.). the warning zone being configured such that a warning indicating that the predetermined target is approaching the working machine is issued when the predetermined target is present in the warning zone (Kondoh [0086] The degree of the risk potential marker 82 is set such that it increases as the risk potential RP increases, as indicated in FIG. 10. When the risk potential RP is equal to or above a prescribed value, e.g., 2, the risk potential marker 82 is displayed in a flashing fashion so as to alert the driver. [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP. More specifically, as shown in FIG. 11, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is varied gradually from green to blue, from blue to yellow, and from yellow to red as the risk potential RP increases. Although in this embodiment the color of the risk potential marker 82 is changed gradually from green to red, it is also possible to establish a plurality of predetermined ranges of risk potential RP values and assign a specific color to each range.)
and change a manner in which the target object is displayed, based on whether the target object is in the emergency stop zone, in the warning zone, or outside the emergency stop zone and the warning zone (Kondoh [0091] In this way, the controller 50 determines the display format of the risk potential marker 82 and sends a signal to the display control device 80 such that the risk potential marker 82 is displayed on the display device 81 at the set size, color, and brightness.)(Kondoh [0086] When the risk potential RP is equal to or above a prescribed value, e.g., 2, the risk potential marker 82 is displayed in a flashing fashion so as to alert the driver. [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP. More specifically, as shown in FIG. 11, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is varied gradually from green to blue, from blue to yellow, and from yellow to red as the risk potential RP increases. Although in this embodiment the color of the risk potential marker 82 is changed gradually from green to red, it is also possible to establish a plurality of predetermined ranges of risk potential RP values and assign a specific color to each range.).
Regarding claim 3:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 2, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to cause the target object in the warning zone to be displayed in a more emphasized manner than the target object outside the emergency stop zone and the warning zone, and cause the target object in the emergency stop zone to be displayed in a more emphasized manner than the target object in the warning zone (Kondoh [0091] In this way, the controller 50 determines the display format of the risk potential marker 82 and sends a signal to the display control device 80 such that the risk potential marker 82 is displayed on the display device 81 at the set size, color, and brightness.)(Kondoh [0086] When the risk potential RP is equal to or above a prescribed value, e.g., 2, the risk potential marker 82 is displayed in a flashing fashion so as to alert the driver. [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP. More specifically, as shown in FIG. 11, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is varied gradually from green to blue, from blue to yellow, and from yellow to red as the risk potential RP increases. Although in this embodiment the color of the risk potential marker 82 is changed gradually from green to red, it is also possible to establish a plurality of predetermined ranges of risk potential RP values and assign a specific color to each range.).
Regarding claim 5:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches further comprising: a detector to detect a state of the working machine (Kondoh [0053] The vehicle speed sensor 30 detects the speed of the host vehicle in which the system 1 is installed by measuring the rotational speed of the wheels or the rotational speed of the output side of the transmission and outputs the detected vehicle speed to the controller 50. The steering angle sensor 35 is an angle sensor installed in the vicinity of the steering wheel 36 or the steering column (not shown in figures). The steering angle sensor 35 detects the steering angle in terms of the rotation of the steering shaft and sends the detected steering angle to the controller 50.).
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to change a manner in which the caution zone is displayed based on a travel speed of the working machine detected by the detector (Kondoh [0065] The time to collision TTC is a physical quantity indicating the current degree of convergence of the host vehicle with respect to the preceding obstacle, which is, for example, a preceding vehicle. The time to collision TTC is a value that indicates how many seconds before the following distance D becomes zero and the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle contact each other assuming that the current traveling circumstances continue, i.e., assuming that the vehicle speed V, the preceding vehicle speed Vf, and the relative vehicle speed Vr remain constant. The relative velocity Vr equals the vehicle speed V minus the preceding vehicle speed Vf(Vr=V-Vf). The time to collision TTC is found using the Equation 1 shown below. TTC=D/Vr (Equation 1))(Kondoh [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP.).
Regarding claim 6:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to change a manner in which the caution zone is displayed based on specifications of a working device coupled to the working machine (Kondoh [0053] The vehicle speed sensor 30 detects the speed of the host vehicle in which the system 1 is installed by measuring the rotational speed of the wheels or the rotational speed of the output side of the transmission and outputs the detected vehicle speed to the controller 50. The steering angle sensor 35 is an angle sensor installed in the vicinity of the steering wheel 36 or the steering column (not shown in figures). The steering angle sensor 35 detects the steering angle in terms of the rotation of the steering shaft and sends the detected steering angle to the controller 50.)(Kondoh [0065] The time to collision TTC is a physical quantity indicating the current degree of convergence of the host vehicle with respect to the preceding obstacle, which is, for example, a preceding vehicle. The time to collision TTC is a value that indicates how many seconds before the following distance D becomes zero and the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle contact each other assuming that the current traveling circumstances continue, i.e., assuming that the vehicle speed V, the preceding vehicle speed Vf, and the relative vehicle speed Vr remain constant. The relative velocity Vr equals the vehicle speed V minus the preceding vehicle speed Vf(Vr=V-Vf). The time to collision TTC is found using the Equation 1 shown below. TTC=D/Vr (Equation 1))(Kondoh [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP.).
Regarding claim 7:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches further comprising:
a detector to detect a state of the working machine (Kondoh [0221] As shown in diagram (a) of FIG. 35, using the longitudinal center line of the vehicle as a reference (=0), obstacles for which the angle .theta.1 relative to the vehicle is within a prescribed angular range .theta..sub.1 (i.e., -.theta..sub.1/2.ltoreq..theta.1.ltoreq.+.theta..sub.1/2) are identified as obstacles that could become the targeted obstacle. The prescribed angular range .theta..sub.i can be calculated with the Equation 17 below using the width W.sub.1 of the lane in which the vehicle is traveling and the following distance D between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle. .theta..sub.1=2arctan W.sub.1/2D (Equation 17)).
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to cause the caution zone, which is present in a direction of travel of the working machine detected by the detector, to be displayed on the sensing map (Kondoh [0193] In the example shown in FIG. 28, the two contour lines closest to the vehicle are displayed in red and the colors of the other contour lines change from yellow to blue to green as one moves farther from the vehicle. Although in this embodiment the colors of the contour lines vary gradually from green to red, it is also possible to establish a plurality of predetermined ranges of risk potential RP values and assign a specific color to each range.)
Regarding claim 8:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 7, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to change a position at which the caution zone is displayed based on a steering angle of the working machine detected by the detector (Kondoh [0221] As shown in diagram (a) of FIG. 35, using the longitudinal center line of the vehicle as a reference (=0), obstacles for which the angle .theta.1 relative to the vehicle is within a prescribed angular range .theta..sub.1 (i.e., -.theta..sub.1/2.ltoreq..theta.1.ltoreq.+.theta..sub.1/2) are identified as obstacles that could become the targeted obstacle. The prescribed angular range .theta..sub.i can be calculated with the Equation 17 below using the width W.sub.1 of the lane in which the vehicle is traveling and the following distance D between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle. .theta..sub.1=2arctan W.sub.1/2D (Equation 17)).
Regarding claim 9:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches further comprising:
a detector to detect a state of the working machine wherein the controller is configured or programmed to predict a position of the working machine at a future time after a predetermined time period based on a travel direction and a travel speed of the working machine detected by the detector, and cause a predicted working machine object indicating the predicted position of the working machine at the future time after the predetermined time period and an actual working machine object indicating a current position of the working machine to be displayed on the sensing map (Kondoh [0065] The time to collision TTC is a physical quantity indicating the current degree of convergence of the host vehicle with respect to the preceding obstacle, which is, for example, a preceding vehicle. The time to collision TTC is a value that indicates how many seconds before the following distance D becomes zero and the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle contact each other assuming that the current traveling circumstances continue, i.e., assuming that the vehicle speed V, the preceding vehicle speed Vf, and the relative vehicle speed Vr remain constant. The relative velocity Vr equals the vehicle speed V minus the preceding vehicle speed Vf(Vr=V-Vf). The time to collision TTC is found using the Equation 1 shown below. TTC=D/Vr (Equation 1)).(Kondoh [0069] The risk potential RP is calculated with the Equation 3 below using the time to collision TTC and time to headway THW. RP=A/THW+B/TTC (Equation 3))(Kondoh [0086] The degree of the risk potential marker 82 is set such that it increases as the risk potential RP increases, as indicated in FIG. 10. When the risk potential RP is equal to or above a prescribed value, e.g., 2, the risk potential marker 82 is displayed in a flashing fashion so as to alert the driver.)
Regarding claim 10:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the sensor includes an imager to capture an image of the surrounding area of the working machine (Kondoh [0052] The forward camera 20 includes, for example, a small CCD camera or CMOS camera mounted on an upper portion of the front windshield serves to capture an image of the circumstances of a region of road in front of the host vehicle and send the image to the controller 50. The forward camera 20 constitutes a forward imaging section or device of the system 1. The detection region of the forward camera 20 is a region within .+-.30 degrees horizontally with respect to the longitudinal centerline of the host vehicle. The forward camera 20 captures an image of the forward road situation within this detection region).
and the controller is configured or programmed to cause the display to display an image captured by the imager and the sensing map on a screen (Kondoh [0113] A vehicle driving assist system in accordance with the second embodiment uses the display monitor of a navigation system as the display device 81 instead of an HUD. When actuation reaction force control in accordance with the risk potential RP starts, an image of a region in front of the host vehicle captured by the forward camera 20 is displayed on the display monitor 81. Additionally, a risk potential marker 82 is displayed overlapping the preceding obstacle that is targeted by the calculation of the risk potential RP. FIG. 16 illustrates an example of the image displayed on the display monitor 81.)(Kondoh [0119] In this variation, instead of displaying the image captured by the forward camera 20, an image of the obstacle targeted by the calculation of the risk potential RP is generated based on the detection results of the laser radar 10 and the forward camera 20 and the generated image is displayed on the display monitor 81.).
Regarding claim 13:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 10, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the sensor includes a target sensor to detect a distance from the working machine to the target and the controller is configured or programmed to cause an indication object indicating the target shown in the captured image to be displayed and change a manner in which the indication object is displayed based on the distance to the target (Kondoh [0051] The laser radar 10 is a radar device that is preferably mounted to a front grill portion, a bumper portion, or the like of the host vehicle and serves to horizontally scan a region in front of the host vehicle with infrared laser light pulses in order to detect obstacles in front of the vehicle. The laser radar 10 then measures the reflected light resulting from the infrared light reflecting off of a plurality of objects located in front of the host vehicle (normally, the rear ends of preceding vehicles). By measuring the time required for the reflected light to arrive, the laser radar 10 detects a following distance, which is known as a time to headway THW, and relative velocity with respect to a preceding vehicle(s). The detected following distances and relative velocities are sent to the controller 50. The region in front of the host vehicle scanned by the laser radar 10 is, for example, .+-.6 degrees with respect to the front of the host vehicle and the system detects preceding objects existing within this angular range.) (Kondoh [0065] The time to collision TTC is a physical quantity indicating the current degree of convergence of the host vehicle with respect to the preceding obstacle, which is, for example, a preceding vehicle. The time to collision TTC is a value that indicates how many seconds before the following distance D becomes zero and the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle contact each other assuming that the current traveling circumstances continue, i.e., assuming that the vehicle speed V, the preceding vehicle speed Vf, and the relative vehicle speed Vr remain constant. The relative velocity Vr equals the vehicle speed V minus the preceding vehicle speed Vf(Vr=V-Vf). The time to collision TTC is found using the Equation 1 shown below. TTC=D/Vr (Equation 1))(Kondoh [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP.).
Regarding claim 14:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 13, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to cause the indication object to be displayed in a more emphasized manner as the distance to the target indicated by the indication object decreases (Kondoh [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP.) (Kondoh [0086] The degree of the risk potential marker 82 is set such that it increases as the risk potential RP increases, as indicated in FIG. 10. When the risk potential RP is equal to or above a prescribed value, e.g., 2, the risk potential marker 82 is displayed in a flashing fashion so as to alert the driver. [0087] In addition to the degree of the risk potential marker 82, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is also changed in accordance with the risk potential RP. More specifically, as shown in FIG. 11, the color of the risk potential marker 82 is varied gradually from green to blue, from blue to yellow, and from yellow to red as the risk potential RP increases. Although in this embodiment the color of the risk potential marker 82 is changed gradually from green to red, it is also possible to establish a plurality of predetermined ranges of risk potential RP values and assign a specific color to each range.)
Regarding claim 19 (independent):
The claim is a parallel version of claim 1. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Claim(s) 4, 11-12, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondoh U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20070106475 in view of Seder U.S. Patent/PG Publication 20100253600.
Regarding claim 4:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein a plurality of the sensors are provided in or on the working machine and include a plurality of target sensors to detect targets located forward of, and the controller is configured or programmed to cause at least one monitored area of at least one of the plurality of target sensors that has detected at least one target to be displayed on the sensing map (Kondoh Fig. 5, 16, 32)(Kondoh [0225] When the prescribed angular range .theta..sub.i is expanded to the right as shown in diagram (b) of FIG. 35, adjacent vehicles that would not have been selected if there was no intent to change lanes (as shown in diagram (a) of FIG. 35) are selected as obstacles that could become the targeted obstacle. Thus, when it is estimated that the driver intends to change lanes, the prescribed angular range .theta..sub.i is expanded and, as a result, obstacles within a wider angular range can be detected as obstacles that could possibly become the targeted obstacle in the future.).
Kondoh does not teach rearward sensors. In a related field of endeavor, Seder teaches:
wherein a plurality of the sensors are provided in or on the working machine and include a plurality of target sensors to detect targets located forward of, rearward of, leftward of, and rightward of the working machine and the controller is configured or programmed to cause at least one monitored area of at least one of the plurality of target sensors that has detected at least one target to be displayed on the sensing map (Seder [0176] For example, radar devices and/or camera devices viewing areas to the sides or rear of the vehicle can identify traffic light information, vehicle trajectories, presence of emergency vehicles, or other pertinent information.)(Seder [0177] Although an exemplary EVS with only projection upon the front windscreen cannot register a graphical representation upon a visible object not within the viewable area of the windscreen, the EVS can prompt the vehicle operator to look toward the identified critical information. In the event critical information is identified behind the vehicle, a prompt can be displayed on the windscreen pointing to or outlining the rearview mirror. In the alternative, a virtual rearview mirror can be displayed upon the windscreen, utilizing a rearward pointing camera. In the alternative, a panoramic view could be projected using multiple camera, for instance, in a broad, vertically thin patch of display along the top of the windscreen, illustrating, for example, a view around the rear 180 degrees of the vehicle, thereby eliminating traditional blind-spots caused by known mirror configurations. In another example, a HUD can be utilized in a rear window of a vehicle to provide full screen parking assist by graphical images on the window. Such a rear window display can, for example, through voice recognition software, be selectably displayed in normal or reverse mode, enabling viewing directly or through the rearview mirror.)(Seder [0194] Represented views in the rearview mirror can be retained as simple images or can include information such as range to a target vehicle. Additionally, a wildlife indicator 274 is depicted, including an overlaid section of infrared image, depicted in FIG. 37 as a cross-hatched square, in order to assist the operator to see the wildlife outside of the headlight illumination 271. Additionally, wildlife indicator 274 includes a directional arrow and warning text describing the situation to the operator. Additionally, text warning 276 is depicted, describing detection of an audible siren, not yet correlated with visual information, indicating proximate location of an emergency vehicle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearward sensors as taught by Seder. The motivation for doing so would have been greater safety. Further the rationale for doing so would have been that it is obvious to try, where there are limited directions a vehicle can move and limited areas around a vehicle, and Kondoh views forward/sides, and Seder is merely adding rearward cameras where there are predictable results since it is behaving in the same manner, just showing an addition direction. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Seder with Kondoh to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 11:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 10, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh further teaches wherein the imager includes a plurality of cameras provided in or on the working machine to capture images of areas forward of,
and the controller is configured or programmed to cause the display to display at least one of (i) a plurality of captured images captured by the respective plurality of cameras (Kondoh [0113] A vehicle driving assist system in accordance with the second embodiment uses the display monitor of a navigation system as the display device 81 instead of an HUD. When actuation reaction force control in accordance with the risk potential RP starts, an image of a region in front of the host vehicle captured by the forward camera 20 is displayed on the display monitor 81. Additionally, a risk potential marker 82 is displayed overlapping the preceding obstacle that is targeted by the calculation of the risk potential RP. FIG. 16 illustrates an example of the image displayed on the display monitor 81.)(Kondoh [0119] In this variation, instead of displaying the image captured by the forward camera 20, an image of the obstacle targeted by the calculation of the risk potential RP is generated based on the detection results of the laser radar 10 and the forward camera 20 and the generated image is displayed on the display monitor 81.).
or (ii) a composite image obtained by combining the plurality of captured images and indicating an overhead view of the surrounding area of the working machine (Kondoh [0122] Diagram (c) of FIG. 17 is an example of a generated image showing the preceding vehicle from above. In this image, as indicated with the arrows, the lateral position of the displayed preceding vehicle 84 is changed in accordance with the relative traveling state between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle.).
Kondoh does not teach rearward sensors. In a related field of endeavor, Seder teaches:
rearward of, (Seder [0176] For example, radar devices and/or camera devices viewing areas to the sides or rear of the vehicle can identify traffic light information, vehicle trajectories, presence of emergency vehicles, or other pertinent information.)(Seder [0177] Although an exemplary EVS with only projection upon the front windscreen cannot register a graphical representation upon a visible object not within the viewable area of the windscreen, the EVS can prompt the vehicle operator to look toward the identified critical information. In the event critical information is identified behind the vehicle, a prompt can be displayed on the windscreen pointing to or outlining the rearview mirror. In the alternative, a virtual rearview mirror can be displayed upon the windscreen, utilizing a rearward pointing camera. In the alternative, a panoramic view could be projected using multiple camera, for instance, in a broad, vertically thin patch of display along the top of the windscreen, illustrating, for example, a view around the rear 180 degrees of the vehicle, thereby eliminating traditional blind-spots caused by known mirror configurations. In another example, a HUD can be utilized in a rear window of a vehicle to provide full screen parking assist by graphical images on the window. Such a rear window display can, for example, through voice recognition software, be selectably displayed in normal or reverse mode, enabling viewing directly or through the rearview mirror.)(Seder [0194] Represented views in the rearview mirror can be retained as simple images or can include information such as range to a target vehicle. Additionally, a wildlife indicator 274 is depicted, including an overlaid section of infrared image, depicted in FIG. 37 as a cross-hatched square, in order to assist the operator to see the wildlife outside of the headlight illumination 271. Additionally, wildlife indicator 274 includes a directional arrow and warning text describing the situation to the operator. Additionally, text warning 276 is depicted, describing detection of an audible siren, not yet correlated with visual information, indicating proximate location of an emergency vehicle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearward sensors as taught by Seder. The motivation for doing so would have been greater safety. Further the rationale for doing so would have been that it is obvious to try, where there are limited directions a vehicle can move and limited areas around a vehicle, and Kondoh views forward/sides, and Seder is merely adding rearward cameras where there are predictable results since it is behaving in the same manner, just showing an addition direction. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Seder with Kondoh to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 12:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 10, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh does not teach internal cameras. In a related field of endeavor, Seder teaches:
wherein the imager includes an internal camera provided inside a cabin of the working machine to capture an image of an area forward of the working machine and the controller is configured or programmed to cause the display to display the image captured by the internal camera (Seder [0171] Other displays can be projected upon the windscreen to minimize a need for the operator to remove eyes from the windscreen. For example, adjustable cameras in the rear of the vehicle can be used to project a small image of a sleeping infant in a car seat in a rear row of the vehicle, allowing the operator to monitor the child without turning around to look. A more panoramic view could be implemented to monitor multiple children. Such a monitoring function could be in real-time or could include a playback function.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use internal cameras as taught by Seder. The motivation for doing so would have been improved safety so that a drive does not have to turn around (Seder [0171]). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Seder with Kondoh to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 16:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 10, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh does not teach approach direction. In a related field of endeavor, Seder teaches:
wherein the sensor includes a target sensor to detect a distance from the working machine to the target and the controller is configured or programmed to:
determine a direction from which the target is approaching the working machine based on detection information from the target sensor and cause a notification object which provides a notification that the target is approaching to be displayed at a position at a periphery of the captured image that corresponds to the direction from which the target is approaching, and change a manner in which the notification object is displayed based on the distance to the target (Seder [0194] Additionally, a wildlife indicator 274 is depicted, including an overlaid section of infrared image, depicted in FIG. 37 as a cross-hatched square, in order to assist the operator to see the wildlife outside of the headlight illumination 271. Additionally, wildlife indicator 274 includes a directional arrow and warning text describing the situation to the operator.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate approach direction as taught by Seder. The motivation for doing so would have been more information for the user and greater safety. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Seder with Kondoh to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 17:
The remote control assistance system according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Kondoh. Kondoh does not teach map information. In a related field of endeavor, Seder teaches:
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to cause additional information based on map information regarding the surrounding area of the working machine to be displayed on the sensing map (Seder [0095] Directions (e.g. GPS map), that are currently displayed on the dashboard electronic display, may be projected onto the windows (e.g. front glass, wind shields) of the vehicle.)(Seder [0128] Some methods utilize tracks of other vehicles to synthesize or assist in establishing lane geometry in relation to the vehicle. GPS devices, utilized in conjunction with 3D map databases, make possible estimating a location of a vehicle according to global GPS coordinates and overlaying that position with known road geometries.)(Seder [0155] As described above, a GPS device utilized in conjunction with a 3D map database can be utilized to not only position the vehicle with respect to a cataloged road geometry, but also to place the vehicle in the context of road details, such as road surface type and road incline or grade. Additionally, a number of sensors and monitoring methods are known to quantify operating parameters within the vehicle. Additionally, remote processing made available through a wireless network allows for coordination between the vehicle location set by GPS device and real-time details, such as construction, weather, and traffic.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use additional map information as taught by Seder. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide additional information to the user that pertains to safety/navigation. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Seder with Kondoh to obtain the invention.
Conclusion
For the prior art referenced and the prior art considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure but not relied upon, see PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON PRINGLE-PARKER whose telephone number is (571) 272-5690 and e-mail is jason.pringle-parker@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30am-5:00pm est Monday-Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, King Poon can be reached on (571) 270-0728. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JASON A PRINGLE-PARKER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617