October 8, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 1, in the preamble of the claim, the phrase “wherein that the hook” is not standard English, and appears to be either a mistranslation or a typo. Applicant should probably delete the word “that”. This issue exists in nearly all of the claims. For example, in Claim 2, “wherein that the accommodating portion…..”, in Clam 3, “wherein that the support component”, and in Claim 4, “wherein that the hook component” is improper.
Also, throughout the claims, Applicant starts each line of the claim with a capital letter. . Preferred USPTO formatting is that only the first word of the claim should be capitalized.
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In clam 2, line 3, “the assembled state” lacks antecedent basis. On lines 3 and 5-6, “the end of the elastic support member” (2 instances) lacks antecedent basis. On lines 7-8, “the direction of extension of the accommodating groove”, “the gap width” and “the corresponding gap width” lack antecedent basis. Also, in Claim 2, line 5, the language ““when assembling the elastic support member, a guiding area is provided…” is unclear and confusing because “when assembling” implies that what follows is only present during assembly. The “guiding area” being “provided to guide the end of the elastic support member into the retaining area” must or should exist at all times. The phrase “when assembling the elastic support member, a guiding area is provided…” introduces ambiguity as to the scope of the claim. Apparatus claims must define structural features that are present in the claimed article at all times, not only during assembly or operation. The recited “guiding area” appears to exist only in the context of assembling the elastic support member, rather than as a permanent structural feature of the accommodating groove. Additionally, the use of “is provided” in conjunction with “when assembling” further obscures whether the guiding area is a structural element of the apparatus or a method step associated with assembly. As such, it is unclear whether the guiding area is part of the claimed structure or exists only temporarily during assembly. For these reasons, Claim 2 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the structure of the apparatus, rendering the claim indefinite under 35 U.S.C. §112(b).
In claim 3, line 4, “the central area” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 4, line 2, “the top side direction” lacks antecedent basis. On line 5, “the central area” lacks antecedent basis. On line 6, to what is “itself” referring? Pronouns such as “it” and “itself” are not proper claim language. Applicant needs to replace “itself” with whatever structure is being referred to. On line 8, to what is “them” referring? As explained above, pronouns are not allowed in claim language.
In claim 5, lines 2 and 7, “the bottom surface” (2 instances) lacks antecedent basis. On lines 2-3, “the bottom of the first half portion and the second half portion” lacks antecedent basis. On lines 4 and 6, “the first surface” (2 instances) lacks antecedent basis. On lines 5-6, “the central area” (2 instances) and “the second surface” (2 instances) lack antecedent basis. On line 6, the is a period after the word “component” that needs to be removed. Applicant is reminded that a claim can only consist of a single sentence.
In claim 6, lines 1 and 3-4, “the stopper portion” (3 instances) lacks antecedent basis. On lines 2-3, “the direction of extension of the accommodating groove” lacks antecedent basis. On line 5, “the central portion” lacks antecedent basis. On line 5, “the first surface” and “the second surface” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 7, lines 1-2, “the top surfaces” (2 instances) lack antecedent basis.
In claim 8, lines 1-3, “the bottom side portion” and “the top side portion” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 9, line 2, “the direction of extension of the accommodating groove” lacks antecedent basis. On line 3, “the end of the elastic support member” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 10, line 2, to what is “its referring? Pronouns such as “it” are not proper claim language. On line 3, “the stepped positions” lacks antecedent basis. On line 3, “the assembly process” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 12, lines 4 and 9, “the inner side edge of the respective rib panels” (2 instances) lacks antecedent basis. On line 5, “the central area” lacks antecedent basis. On line 6, “second rib plate” lacks antecedent basis. On lines 7 and 11, “the top side direction” (2 instances) lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 13, line 3, “top side direction” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 14, “the bottom side” lacks antecedent basis. On lines 3-4, “the ends of the elastic support member” lacks antecedent basis. On one 6, “the top side” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 15, line 3, “the ends of the elastic support member” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 16, line 2, “the top side direction” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 17, lines 1-2, “the metal parts’ (2 instances) lack antecedent basis. Regarding claim 17, on line 2, the phrase "sheet-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In Claim 18, line 2, “the end of the spring” lacks antecedent basis. On line 3, the word - - a - - needs to be inserted in front of the first instance of the word “connecting”. On line 3, “the assembled state” lacks antecedent basis. On lines 4-5, “the direction of extension of the accommodating groove” lacks antecedent basis. On line 6, the word - - a - - needs to be inserted in front of the first instance of the word ”stopper”. On line 7, “the end of the spring” lacks antecedent basis. On line 8, “the direction of extension of the accommodating groove” lacks antecedent basis. On line 9, “the assembled state” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guillot (U.S. Patent No. 6,616,239 B2).
As for Claim 1, Guillot teaches a hook component 16, wherein that the hook component 16 is mounted on a support component 14 and is integrally formed with the support component through a blow-molded process (see column 4, lines 17-25 where it reads “Although the seat base 10 shown in FIG. 3 is the seat base for a sofa chair, the size and dimensions of the seat base can be configured for use in a range of furniture types such as a full-length couch, a recliner or a loveseat. The frame 11 of seat base 10 is shown in FIG. 3 as a wood frame but could also comprise a range of other materials, such as plastic or metal, to which the rail clips 14 and 15 can be firmly attached for the placement of the springs 18.”, and the hook component includes an end accommodating portion for accommodating an elastic support member 18.
As for Claim 19, Guillot teaches that the support component is a sofa cushion assembly, seat frame assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guillot (U.S. Patent No. 6,616,239 B2) in view of Bullard (U.S. Patent No. 9,022,474 B2).
Guillot teaches the structure substantially as claimed but does not teach that the support component is a sofa backrest assembly.
However, Bullard teaches a sofa backrest assembly in which the hook component of Guillot can be used. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to use the hook component of Guillot, in the sofa backrest assembly of Bullard, since the integrally molded support component and hook component of Guillot will provide lighter weight but sturdier support component for the backrest assembly for the sofa.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636