Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first scaling control module” in claims 1 and 10 and “second scaling control module” in claims 11 and 20 (support in specification paragraph [0021], fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheong (US 2015/0358554) in view of Marcarian (US 2012/0316453).
Regarding claim 1, Cheong discloses A video processing device supporting free pairing of a picture-in-picture mode and a picture-by-picture mode, which is adapted to a first display device, the video processing device comprising:
a first scaling control module (fig. 1(130)) connected to the first input and the second input ([0019, 0022]);
wherein, when the first scaling control module receives a picture-in- picture mode command, the first scaling control module combines the first video stream and the second video stream to generate a first picture-in-picture video stream, and the first display device displays the first picture-in-picture video stream (fig. 5, [0009, 0023] user is given the option to display the two sources in PIP mode);
wherein, when the first scaling control module receives a picture-by-picture mode command, the first scaling control module combines the first video stream and the second video stream to generate a first picture-by-picture video stream, and the first display device displays the first picture-
by-picture video stream (fig. 5, [0009, 0023] user is given the option to display the two sources in PBP mode).
Cheong does not specifically disclose first input is a first hub and second input is a second hub; a first hub wherein the first hub is configured to obtain a first video stream from a first signal source; a second hub wherein the second hub is configured to obtain a second video stream from a second signal source.
Marcarian discloses first input is a first hub and second input is a second hub; a first hub wherein the first hub is configured to obtain a first video stream from a first signal source; a second hub wherein the second hub is configured to obtain a second video stream from a second signal source (fig. 3, [0038]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the hubs of Marcarian into the system of Cheong in order to easily manage multiple inputs and displays.
Regarding claim 2, Cheong discloses wherein the first scaling control module includes a video synthesis circuit, and the video synthesis circuit enables the first video stream and the second video stream to overlap with each other according to the picture-in-picture mode command, so as to generate the first picture-in-picture video stream; wherein the first scaling control module arranges the first video stream and the second video stream side by side according to the picture-by-picture mode command, so as to generate the first picture-by-picture video stream (fig. 5, [009, 0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Cheong discloses wherein, when the first display device displays the first picture-in-picture video stream, the first display device displays a first sub-picture and a second sub-picture that overlap with each other, and the first sub-picture and the second sub- picture respectively display the first video stream and the second video stream (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Cheong discloses wherein, when the first display device displays the first picture-by-picture video stream, the first display device displays a first sub-picture and a second sub-picture that are arranged side by side and do not overlap with each other, and the first sub- picture and the second sub-picture respectively display the first video stream and the second video stream (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Cheong discloses wherein the first scaling control module further includes a screen display processing circuit, the screen display processing circuit is connected to the video synthesis circuit, and the screen display processing circuit generates an on-screen display
menu according to an on-screen display activation command ([0009, 0026, 0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Cheong discloses wherein the screen display processing circuit includes an embedded display output port, the embedded display output port is connected to a video output port of the first scaling control module, and the embedded display output port outputs the on-screen display menu ([0027, 0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Cheong discloses wherein, when the first display device displays the first picture-in-picture video stream, the first display device displays a first sub-picture and a second sub-picture that overlap with each other, the first sub-picture and the second sub-picture respectively display the first video stream and the second video stream, and the on-screen display menu overlaps with the first sub-picture or the second sub-picture (fig. 5, [0026, 0028, 0030])
Regarding claim 8, Cheong discloses wherein, when the first display device displays the first picture-by-picture video stream, the first display device displays a first sub-picture and a second sub-picture that are arranged side by side and do not overlap with each other, the first sub- picture and the second sub-picture respectively display the first video stream and the second video stream, and the on-screen display menu overlaps with the first sub-picture or the second sub-picture (fig. 5, [0026, 0028, 0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Cheong discloses comprising a control interface, wherein the control interface outputs the picture-in- picture mode command and the picture-by-picture mode command (fig. 5, [0026, 0028, 0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Cheong in view of Marcarian discloses further comprising a second scaling control module, wherein the second scaling control module is connected to the first hub and the second hub, the second scaling control module obtains a third video stream and a fourth video stream respectively from the first hub and the second hub, and the second scaling control module is configured to connect to a second display device; wherein, when the second scaling control module receives the picture-in-picture mode command, the second scaling control module combines the third video stream and the fourth video stream to generate a second picture-in-picture video stream, and the second display device displays the second picture-in- picture video stream; wherein, when the second scaling control module receives the picture-by-picture mode command, the second scaling control module combines the third video stream and the fourth video stream to generate a second picture-by-picture video stream, and the second display device displays the second picture-by-picture video stream (fig. 3, [0038] of Marcarian, fig. 5, [0009, 0023] of Cheong).
Regarding claim 11, see the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, see the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, see the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, see the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, see the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejection of claims 7 and 8.
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection of claims 7 and 8.
Regarding claim 18, see the rejection of claims 7 and 8.
Regarding claim 19, see the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection of claim 10.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426