DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 5/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 is amended and also independent claims 8 and 15 to be dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-11, 13-19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10085905, Bhimavarapu et al. (hereinafter Bhimavarapu) in view of U.S. Patent Application 2015/0179061 Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
2. Regarding Claim 1, Bhimavarapu discloses A patient support apparatus (Col. 6 lines 30-35, “Person support apparatus 20 of FIG. 1 includes a support surface 22 on which a mattress 24 is positioned to allow a person to lie or sit thereon. Person support apparatus 20 further includes a base 26 having a plurality of wheels 28”) comprising:
a support surface adapted to support a patient thereon (Col. 6 lines 30-35, “Person support apparatus 20 of FIG. 1 includes a support surface 22 on which a mattress 24 is positioned to allow a person to lie or sit thereon); and
a controller adapted to determine a type of television the television remote control is adapted to control based on an analysis of the signals, to generate a television control message based on the type of television (Fig. 8; Col. 9 lines 21-24, “messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set; and messages containing audio packets generated from one or more microphones”, Bhimavarapu generates TV control messages, but not keyed to a detected TV type.), and to forward the television control message to the television in response to receipt of a television command from a user interface onboard the patient support apparatus (Col. 9 lines 16-22, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38 at least the following additional messages: messages to turn on or off one or more room lights; messages to turn on or off one or more reading lights; messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set”).
However, Bhimavarapu does not explicitly disclose a controller adapted to determine a type of television the television remote control is adapted to control based on an analysis of the signals;
an infrared receiver adapted to receive signals from a television remote control;
Kim teaches an infrared receiver adapted to receive signals from a television remote control ([0011], “a display apparatus including a signal receiver configured to receive an infrared (IR) signal from a remote controller which is configured for controlling at least one from among the display apparatus and an external apparatus” see also [0040] and [0041]);
a controller adapted to determine a type of television the television remote control is adapted to control based on an analysis of the signals (Fig. 6: (S610), Fig. 9: (S910); Abstract, “a controller configured to analyze a feature of the IR signal, and to extract, from among the plurality of control code sets, a control code set which corresponds to the IR signal” [0047]-[0050], [0070]);
generate a television control message based on the type of television (Fig. 6: (S620), Fig. 9: (S920), (S940), (S950); [0042], [0047], “the controller 140 may analyze a feature of an IR signal which is received via the signal receiver 110, and extract, from among the stored plurality of control code sets, a control code set which corresponds to the received IR signal.” [0082])
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Kim’s IR signal analysis and TV-type detection technique into Bhimavarapu’s patient support apparatus system because both references operate in the same technical field of IR remote control of television. Bhimavarapu’s system already includes an IR transceiver and forwards TV commands to a television via a wall unit, but requires manual configuration of the TV type. Incorporating Kim’s automatic TV-type detection into Bhimavarapu’s bed/headwall system would yield predictable results of allowing the system to automatically determine the TV brand and generate appropriately formatted control signals.
3. Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 22 wherein the controller is further adapted to determine the type of television that the television remote control is adapted to control by analyzing a header within a packet sent by the television remote control ([0048], “The IR signal may include a lead code 10, a custom code 20, and a data code 30.” The IR packet has a header structure (lead code + custom code). [0049], “The custom code 20 may include information which relates to a manufacturer of an electronic apparatus which is controllable by the remote controller 300.” The header/custom code identifies the TV type/brand. [0050] “Because the custom code 20 and the data code 30 vary according to a manufacturer… the controller 140 may analyze at least one of the custom code 20 and/or the data code 30, and analyze the received IR signal.” The controller analyzes the header to determine TV type/manufacturer.).
4. Regarding Claim 3, Bhimavarapu discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 22 further comprising a first RF transceiver (mobile wireless unit 36) adapted to wirelessly communicate with a second RF transceiver (headwall interface 38) positioned onboard a wall unit adapted to be mounted to a wall of a room in a healthcare facility, wherein the controller is further adapted to forward the television control message to the wall unit via the first RF transceiver (Fig. 1; Col. 11 line 56-Col. 12 line8, “Mobile wireless unit 36 communicates wirelessly with headwall interface 38 via radio module 60. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 4, radio module 60 includes four separate transceivers: a Bluetooth transceiver (IEEE 802.15.1) 82a, a WiFi transceiver (IEEE 802.11) 84a, a ZigBee transceiver (IEEE 802.15.4) 86a, and a 900 MHz transceiver 88a. It will be understood that the number of transceivers within radio module 60 can vary from the four shown in FIG. 4, and that the protocols used for the transceivers can take on different forms than those illustrated in FIG. 4. Radio module 60 communicates wirelessly with a radio module 90 contained within headwall interface 38. Radio module 90 includes four transceivers: a Bluetooth transceiver 82b that communicates with Bluetooth transceiver 82a of mobile wireless unit 36; a WiFi transceiver 84b that communicates with WiFi transceiver 84a of mobile wireless unit 36; a ZigBee transceiver 86b that communicates with ZigBee transceiver 86a of mobile wireless unit 36; and a 900 MHz transceiver 88b that communicates with 900 MHz transceiver 88a.” Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38… messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set.” Controller forwards TV control messages to the wall unit via the RF transceiver link).
5. Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 22 wherein the type of television includes a brand of the television ([0042], “The display apparatus 100 is configured to transmit different control code sets according to a manufacturer and/or a model of various electronic apparatuses which are controllable by the remote controller 300.” [0050] “Because the custom code 20 and the data code 30 vary according to a manufacturer… the controller 140 may analyze at least one of the custom code 20 and/or the data code 30, and analyze the received IR signal.” The controller analyzes the header to determine TV type/manufacturer.).
6. Regarding Claim 5, Bhimavarapu in view of Kim discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 22 wherein the controller is adapted to change the television control message based on the type of television (Kim: [0047], “the controller 140 may analyze a feature of an IR signal… the controller 140 may analyze a feature of an IR signal.” The extracted control code set is type/brand specific, the TV control message is determined (changed) based on the identified TV type) and
based on the television command received from the user interface (Bhimavarapu: Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38… messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set.” TV commands originate from user interface onboard the bed and are forwarded accordingly), wherein the television command is one of a channel changing command (claimed in the alternative), a volume changing command (Bhimavarapu: Col. 1 lines 39-42, “a patient positioned on a bed is able to control the volume of a television in the room via controls on the bed due to the proper cable being connected from the bed to the headwall”), a closed- captioning command (claimed in the alternative), or a power command (claimed in the alternative).
7. Regarding Claim 6, Bhimavarapu The patient support apparatus of claim 22 wherein the infrared receiver is further adapted to receive a unique identifier from a wall unit adapted to be mounted to a wall of a room in a healthcare facility, and wherein the unique identifier differentiates the wall unit from other wall units positioned within the healthcare facility (Col. 13 lines 55-59, “Each fixed locator unit 94 includes a controller 96…a fixed locator transceiver 100. Controller 96 is programmed with a unique ID that uniquely identifies each individual fixed locator unit 94 within a given healthcare facility.” Wall unit has a unique ID that differentiates it from others. “Controller 96 is programmed to respond to any interrogation from a mobile locator transceiver 64.” Wall unit has a unique ID to the bed’s transceiver.).
8. Regarding Claim 7, Bhimavarapu The patient support apparatus of claim 22 further comprising an exit detection system adapted to detect when a patient exits the patient support apparatus (Col. 11 lines 16-20, “Sensors 78 include sensors that are adapted to detect parameters of person support apparatus 20, such as, but not limited to… the presence, absence, and/or movement of an occupant of person support apparatus 20 on support surface 22.” Exit detection system onboard the bed.), and wherein the controller is further adapted to change a voltage on a particular pin of the set of pins of the cable interface in response to the exit detection system detecting the patient exiting the patient support apparatus (Col. 8 lines 62-67, “whenever headwall interface 38 receives a message from mobile wireless unit 36 that a person has exited from person support apparatus 20, headwall interface 38 will change the status of pins #30 and #31 such that they switch from whatever state they are normally in to their opposite state.” Controller changes voltage/state on specific pins of the cable interface in response to exit detection. Col. 9 lines 3-6, “The nurse call system 46… interprets this opening or closing of pins #30 and #31 in the same manner as if a cable were coupled between headwall connector 44.” Confirms the pin voltage change mechanism triggered by exit detection.).
9. Regarding Claim 8, Bhimavarapu The A patient support apparatus of claim 1 wherein the infrared receiver is an infrared transceiver:
adapted to communicate with a second infrared transceiver incorporated into a wall unit (Col. 13 lines 63-66, “Fixed locator transceiver 100 utilizes infrared waves for communicating with mobile locator transceiver 64 in at least one embodiment.” First IR transceiver onboard bed communicates with second IR transceiver in wall unit.) adapted to be mounted to a wall of a room in a healthcare facility (Col. 5 lines 12-16, “The first, second, and third transceivers are radio frequency transceivers, and the fourth transceiver is an optical transceiver, such as an infrared transceiver, in at least some embodiments.” Confirms IR transceiver onboard the bed.); and
the controller is further adapted to forward the television control message to the television by sending the television control message to the wall unit in response to receipt of the television command from the user interface onboard the patient support apparatus (Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38 at least the following additional messages: messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set.” Controller sends TV control messages to wall unit in response to user interface commands. Col. 8 lines 11-15, “headwall interface 38 is adapted to wirelessly receive signals from person support apparatus 20 and deliver the signals to headwall connector 44 in a manner that matches the way the signals would otherwise…were a conventional cable connected.” Wall unit receives TV control message and forwards to television).
10. Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 8 wherein the controller is further adapted to determine the type of television that the television remote control is adapted to control by analyzing a header within a packet sent by the television remote control ([0048], “The IR signal may include a lead code 10, a custom code 20, and a data code 30.” The IR packet has a header structure (lead code + custom code). [0049], “The custom code 20 may include information which relates to a manufacturer of an electronic apparatus which is controllable by the remote controller 300.” The header/custom code identifies the TV type/brand. [0050] “Because the custom code 20 and the data code 30 vary according to a manufacturer… the controller 140 may analyze at least one of the custom code 20 and/or the data code 30, and analyze the received IR signal.” The controller analyzes the header to determine TV type/manufacturer.).
11. Regarding Claim 10, Bhimavarapu The patient support apparatus of claim 8 further comprising a first RF transceiver (mobile wireless unit 36) adapted to wirelessly communicate with a second RF transceiver (headwall interface 38) incorporated into the wall unit, wherein the first RF transceiver is adapted to forward the television control message to the wall unit (Fig. 1; Col. 11 line 56-Col. 12 line8, “Mobile wireless unit 36 communicates wirelessly with headwall interface 38 via radio module 60. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 4, radio module 60 includes four separate transceivers: a Bluetooth transceiver (IEEE 802.15.1) 82a, a WiFi transceiver (IEEE 802.11) 84a, a ZigBee transceiver (IEEE 802.15.4) 86a, and a 900 MHz transceiver 88a. It will be understood that the number of transceivers within radio module 60 can vary from the four shown in FIG. 4, and that the protocols used for the transceivers can take on different forms than those illustrated in FIG. 4. Radio module 60 communicates wirelessly with a radio module 90 contained within headwall interface 38. Radio module 90 includes four transceivers: a Bluetooth transceiver 82b that communicates with Bluetooth transceiver 82a of mobile wireless unit 36; a WiFi transceiver 84b that communicates with WiFi transceiver 84a of mobile wireless unit 36; a ZigBee transceiver 86b that communicates with ZigBee transceiver 86a of mobile wireless unit 36; and a 900 MHz transceiver 88b that communicates with 900 MHz transceiver 88a.” Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38… messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set.” Controller forwards TV control messages to the wall unit via the RF transceiver link).
12. Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 8 wherein the type of television includes a brand of the television ([0042], “The display apparatus 100 is configured to transmit different control code sets according to a manufacturer and/or a model of various electronic apparatuses which are controllable by the remote controller 300.” [0050], “Because the custom code 20 and the data code 30 vary according to a manufacturer… the controller 140 may analyze at least one of the custom code 20 and/or the data code 30, and analyze the received IR signal.” The controller analyzes the header to determine TV type/manufacturer.).
13. Regarding Claim 13, Bhimavarapu The patient support apparatus of claim 8 wherein the first infrared transceiver is further adapted to receive a unique identifier from the wall unit, and wherein the unique identifier differentiates the wall unit from other wall units positioned within the healthcare facility (Col. 13 lines 55-59, “Each fixed locator unit 94 includes a controller 96…a fixed locator transceiver 100. Controller 96 is programmed with a unique ID that uniquely identifies each individual fixed locator unit 94 within a given healthcare facility.” Wall unit has a unique ID that differentiates it from others. “Controller 96 is programmed to respond to any interrogation from a mobile locator transceiver 64.” Wall unit has a unique ID to the bed’s transceiver.).
14. Regarding Claim 14, Bhimavarapu The patient support apparatus of claim 10 further comprising an exit detection system adapted to detect when a patient exits the patient support apparatus (Col. 11 lines 16-20, “Sensors 78 include sensors that are adapted to detect parameters of person support apparatus 20, such as, but not limited to… the presence, absence, and/or movement of an occupant of person support apparatus 20 on support surface 22.” Exit detection system onboard the bed.), and wherein the controller is further adapted to send an exit detection message to the wall unit via the first RF transceiver (Col. 9 Lines 27-42, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38… messages indicating the current status of an exit detection system (e.g. whether the exit detection system is armed or not).” Controller sends exit detection messages to wall unit wirelessly.) in response to the exit detection system detecting the patient exiting the patient support apparatus (Col. 11 lines 56-62, “Mobile wireless unit 36 communicates wirelessly with headwall interface 38 via radio module 60… radio module 60 includes… a Bluetooth transceiver (IEEE 802.15.1) 82a, a WiFi transceiver (IEEE 802.11) 84a, a ZigBee transceiver (IEEE 802.15.4) 86a, and a 900 MHz transceiver 88a.” Exit detection message sent via first RF transceiver to wall unit).
15. Regarding Claim 15, Bhimavarapu The patient support apparatus of claim 1 further comprising:
an RF transceiver adapted to communicate with a wall unit (Col. 11 line 56-Col. 12 line 8, “Mobile wireless unit 36 communicates wirelessly with headwall interface 38 via radio module 60… radio module 60 includes… a Bluetooth transceiver (IEEE 802.15.1) 82a, a WiFi transceiver (IEEE 802.11) 84a, a ZigBee transceiver (IEEE 802.15.4) 86a, and a 900 MHz transceiver 88a.” RF transceiver onboard bed communicates with wall unit) adapted to be mounted to a wall of a room in a healthcare facility (Col. 5 lines 12-16, “The first, second, and third transceivers are radio frequency transceivers, and the fourth transceiver is an optical transceiver, such as an infrared transceiver, in at least some embodiments.” Confirms IR transceiver onboard the bed.);
wherein the controller is further adapted to forward the television control message to the television by sending the television control message to the wall unit in response to receipt of the television command from the user interface onboard the patient support apparatus (Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38 at least the following additional messages: messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set.” Controller sends TV control messages to wall unit in response to user interface commands. Col. 8 lines 11-15, “headwall interface 38 is adapted to wirelessly receive signals from person support apparatus 20 and deliver the signals to headwall connector 44 in a manner that matches the way the signals would otherwise…were a conventional cable connected.” Wall unit receives TV control message and forwards to television).
16. Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 15 wherein the controller is further adapted to determine the type of television that the television remote control is adapted to control by analyzing a header within a packet sent by the television remote control ([0048], “The IR signal may include a lead code 10, a custom code 20, and a data code 30.” The IR packet has a header structure (lead code + custom code). [0049], “The custom code 20 may include information which relates to a manufacturer of an electronic apparatus which is controllable by the remote controller 300.” The header/custom code identifies the TV type/brand. [0050] “Because the custom code 20 and the data code 30 vary according to a manufacturer… the controller 140 may analyze at least one of the custom code 20 and/or the data code 30, and analyze the received IR signal.” The controller analyzes the header to determine TV type/manufacturer.).
17. Regarding Claim 17, Bhimavarapu discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 15 wherein the controller is further adapted to forward the television control message to the wall unit via the RF transceiver (Col. 11 line 56-Col. 12 line8, “Mobile wireless unit 36 communicates wirelessly with headwall interface 38 via radio module 60…radio module 60 includes…a Bluetooth transceiver (IEEE 802.15.1) 82a, a WiFi transceiver (IEEE 802.11) 84a, a ZigBee transceiver (IEEE 802.15.4) 86a, and a 900 MHz transceiver 88a. RF transceiver onboard bed forwards messages to wall unit).
18. Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 15 wherein the type of television includes a brand of the television ([0042], “The display apparatus 100 is configured to transmit different control code sets according to a manufacturer and/or a model of various electronic apparatuses which are controllable by the remote controller 300.” [0050] “Because the custom code 20 and the data code 30 vary according to a manufacturer… the controller 140 may analyze at least one of the custom code 20 and/or the data code 30, and analyze the received IR signal.” The controller analyzes the header to determine TV type/manufacturer.).
19. Regarding Claim 19, Bhimavarapu discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 15 wherein the controller is adapted to change the television control message based on the television command received from the user interface (Bhimavarapu: Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38… messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set.” TV commands originate from user interface onboard the bed and are forwarded accordingly), and wherein the television command is one of a channel changing command (claimed in the alternative), a volume changing command (Bhimavarapu: Col. 1 lines 39-42, “a patient positioned on a bed is able to control the volume of a television in the room via controls on the bed due to the proper cable being connected from the bed to the headwall”), a closed-captioning command (claimed in the alternative), or a power command (claimed in the alternative).
20. Regarding Claim 21, Bhimavarapu discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 1 further including a cable interface adapted to electrically couple to a nurse call cable (Col. 7 lines 3-9, “mobile wireless unit 36 and headwall interface 38 are adapted to establish a communication link that allows person support apparatus 20 to communicate with the conventional nurse call system 46 and/or the conventional room environmental control 48 without the need, such as in prior systems, to connect a cable between person support apparatus 20 and headwall connector 44.” Fig. 2; Col. 7 lines 9-11, “This relieves a caregiver of a patient supported on person support apparatus 20 of the need to make this manual wired connection.” Also, Col. 7 lines 18-24. Mobile wireless unit 36 is the wireless equivalent of the cable- cable interface (headwall hardware interface 62) is the physical coupling point.),
the cable interface including a set of pins adapted to electrically couple to a plurality of conductors defined in the nurse call cable (Col. 7 lines 30-36, “FIG. 2, plug 50 is a 37 pin connector that includes 37 pins adapted to be inserted into 37 mating sockets of headwall connector 44. Such 37 pin connections are one of the most common types of connectors found on existing headwalls of medical facilities for making connections to the nurse call system 46 and/or the environmental controls 48.” Col. 7 lines 36-40, “Headwall interface 38 of FIG. 2 is therefore configured to mate with one of the most common type of headwall connectors 44 used in medical facilities. Such 37 pin connectors, however, are not the only type of connectors” also Col. 8 lines 49-64), and wherein the set of pins includes a television control pin (Col. 1 lines 32-34, “Existing headwall connectors also typically communicate with one or more environmental controls, such as one or more controls for in-room televisions.” Col. 8 lines 58-67, “depending upon the particular configuration that has been implemented at a particular healthcare facility, the connection between pins #30 and #31 may be normally open or it may be normally closed. Regardless of whether it is normally open or normally closed, whenever headwall interface 38 receives a message from mobile wireless unit 36 that a person has exited from person support apparatus 20, headwall interface 38 will change the status of pins #30 and #31 such that they switch from whatever state they are normally in to their opposite state.” Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38 at least the following additional messages: messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set; and messages containing audio packets”).
21. Regarding Claim 22, Bhimavarapu discloses The patient support apparatus of claim 21 wherein the controller is adapted to forward the television control message to the television through the television control pin (Col. 2 lines 58-66, “the person support apparatus further includes a room environmental control in communication with the controller, wherein the controller is adapted to transmit a room environmental control signal to the headwall interface using the first transceiver in response to the user of the person support apparatus activating the room environmental control. The room environmental control may be adapted to control one or more aspects of a television.” Col. 9 lines 16-23, “mobile wireless unit 36 is configured, to wirelessly send to headwall interface 38 at least the following additional messages: messages to increase or decrease the volume of a nearby television set; messages to change a channel of the nearby television set; and messages containing audio packets generated from one or more microphones on the person support apparatus 20.” Col. 8 lines 49-54, “Headwall interface 38 communicates the data and signals it receives from mobile wireless unit 36 to connector 44 by directing the incoming data and signals it receives to the appropriate pin or pins of headwall connector 44. For example, when headwall connector 44 includes 37 sockets for coupling to a 37 pin plug”).
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422