Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,315,329, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,986, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,568,705. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application recite the same essential subject matter covering similar but not identical scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 14-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castro (US 20150087403) in view of Hoernig (US 20120051520)
In claims 1, 16 and 20, Castro discloses
A cabinet (figure 1 #11, paragraph 24 “a cabinet 11”)
A button deck adjustably coupled to the cabinet, the button deck comprising: (figure 1 #130, #20. paragraph 24 “inclined touchscreen display area 130”, “include buttons 20 on a button panel or on the touchscreen display area 130”)
An upper surface comprising a touchscreen element, A lower surface opposite the upper surface, and a button deck body extending therebetween and (paragraph 24 discloses that this is a touchscreen display area, the lower surface and body extending therebetween is simply the back and inside of the devices respectively)
An extendable arm pivotably coupled to the button deck and coupled to the cabinet, the extendable arm being telescopically extendable away from and towards the cabinet for translating and pivoting the button deck relative to the cabinet (paragraphs 51-54, figure 7 shows telescopically extending away from and towards the cabinet and translating and pivoting the button deck relative to the cabinet. “OD” shows the horizontal offset distance, as well as describing that the touchscreen display can be raised or lowered in elevation)
Castro fails to disclose that the button deck is transparent and permits a user to see through the transparent button deck, however Hoernig discloses a transparent touch screen device which permits a user to see thru the transparent touch screen device (figure 1 shows that the person can be seen thru the glass. Paragraph 20 describes a transparent touchscreen coating applied to an OLED which is on a transparent radiation wall S as further described in paragraphs 24 and 26), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Castro with Hoernig in order to allow for a slicker more aesthetically pleasing design for the button deck of Castro.
In claims 2, 17, Castro in view of Hoernig discloses at least one of the transparent lower surface and transparent button deck body comprise one or more transparent display elements, the one or more transparent display elements configured to generate one or more images of gaming device control actuators viable on the upper surface, the transparent touchscreen element configured to receive from a user at least one of touches and gestures indicating control input to the gaming device, the at least one of the touches and gestures corresponding to the generated images (castro discloses buttons for the gaming device, as per paragraph 24, Hoernig discloses buttons which are transparent within the body and viewable thru the upper surface as per paragraph 20, 24, 26)
In claims 5 and 19, Castro discloses the extendable arm is coupled to the transparent lower surface of the transparent button deck (paragraphs 51-54, figure 7)
In claim 14, Hoernig discloses a transparency element configured to control an opacity level of at least one region of the transparent button deck (as can be seen in figure 2, some portions of the screen are opaque)
In claim 15, Hoernig discloses opaque components positioned within said transparent button deck body, said one or more transparent display elements configured to disguise an appearance of said opaque components (figure 2#10 local computer. With respect to “disguise an appearance” this is a very broad limitation which appears to be relying upon an intention to the user rather than any particularly specified hardware components. In this case the computer 10 is placed below the display elements to disguise it)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castro in view of Hoernig in view of Fitch (US 7479946)
In claim 3, Castro discloses a player tracking card reader(fig 1 #24) however the card reader is not positioned within the button deck and accessible through a slot in the front edge of the button deck, however Fitch discloses a card reader positioned within the front edge of a touchscreen display device (figure 1A #20, 240). This would teach the invention as claimed in combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Castro in view of Hoernig with Fitch in order to allow for the card reader to be in a more convenient location.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-13, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715