DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 USC § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 8, claim elements “recording unit” and “connection unit” are limitations that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses (they use) a generic placeholder “…component”, “... unit” or “... module”, modified by functional language “configured to...” or “for...” or “so that...”, and the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure to achieve the claimed function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier (MPEP 2181). However, the written description fails to clearly link or associate the disclosed structure, material, or acts to the claimed function such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function.
In the instant case, the original written description (see Figs. 1, 2, and corresponding descriptions) shows the use of a general purpose computer that perform the claimed functions of limitations and merely references to a general purpose computer without providing any detailed explanation of the appropriate programming/algorithm to support a structure for that corresponding module to perform the claimed function. For that reason, the claims are indefinite.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links or associates the corresponding structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) State on the record where the corresponding structure, material, or acts are set forth in the written description of the specification and linked or associated to the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 depend on claims 1 and 8, respectively, and are so rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eniwumide, USPGPUB 2022/0256231 (hereinafter “Eniwumide”).
Regarding claim 1, Eniwumide discloses a central recording device (Figs. 1,2, 8, and corresponding descriptions; Server/ Hub 30, ¶ [64]), coupled to at least one sub-recording device (10, 20), wherein the central recording device comprises:
a recording unit, configured to generate central image data based on an environment (The central hub receives recording/ image data from devices distributed as detailed in Fig. 8);
a processing unit (Devices of Figs. 1, 2, 8 have processors), coupled to the recording unit (Processors are connected to memories and other components to execute instructions) and configured to:
receive at least one sub-image data from the at least one sub-recording device (¶¶ [36]-[37], [57], [70]-[77]);
perform an image synchronization process on the central image data and the at least one sub-image data to generate streaming image data (¶¶ [36]-[37], [57], [70]-[77]); and
in response to receiving a trigger signal (User/ viewer selection and/or motion; ¶¶ [44], [69], [125]), retrieve a portion of the streaming image data corresponding to a specified time period to generate a streaming video (¶¶ [36]-[37], [57], [70]-[77]);
a storage unit, coupled to the processing unit and configured to store the streaming video (¶¶ [38], [47], [64]); and
a connection unit (As depicted in Fig. 8), coupled between the processing unit and a server, and configured to upload the streaming image data and the streaming video to the server (¶¶ [44], [72], [79], [149]).
Regarding claim 2, Eniwumide discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to perform the image synchronization process by:
analyzing time information and display information of each of the central image data and the at least one sub-image data (¶¶ [80], [119], [135], [145], [162]);
selecting at least one synchronized sub-image data from the at least one sub-image data, wherein the time information of the at least one synchronized sub-image data is same as the time information of the central image data (¶¶ [70]-[77]); and
combining the display information of the central image data and the display information of the at least one synchronized sub-image data to generate the streaming image data (¶¶ [47], [70]-[77]).
Regarding claim 3, Eniwumide discloses a trigger unit (User selection via user interface or detected motion, ¶¶ [44], [69]) coupled to the processing unit, wherein when the trigger unit detects a trigger action, the trigger unit is configured to generate the trigger signal to the processing unit (¶¶ [44], [69]).
Regarding claim 4, Eniwumide discloses wherein the central recording device and the at least one sub-recording device are set up in a same network domain (As shown in Figs 1, 2, and 8). Note: It has been well known in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, that in a distributed network, devices/ components could be set up in the same geographic domain and/or network segments with the same domain name. It is not clear to the Examiner as to why the Applicant considers the limitations of this claim, as written, necessary and/or patentable subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, Eniwumide discloses wherein the central recording device and the at least one sub-recording device are coupled to a network center through a plurality of network cables (Figs. 1, 2, and 8 show connectivity) respectively, so as to receive an operating power through the network center (network centers/ devices have sources of power!), and transmit the at least one sub-image data through the plurality of network cables and the network center, wherein the network center is set up in the network domain (transmissions are either wireless or through cable connections (Table 1). See the note in claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Eniwumide discloses a network unit, wherein the network unit is coupled between the processing unit and a computer interface, and configured to receive the trigger signal from the computer interface, wherein the computer interface is set up in the network domain (¶¶ [44], [69], [120]). See the note in claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Eniwumide discloses wherein the processing unit is further configured to transmit a setting command to the at least one sub-recording device, so as to adjust a recording parameter of the at least one sub-recording device (¶¶ [47], [69], [160]).
The systems of claims 8-14 recite similar features as those of the device of claims 1-7, respectively, therefore, are rejected by the same analysis.
The methods of claims 15-20 recite similar features as those of the device of claims 1-7, effectuating the same, therefore, are rejected by the same analysis.
Contacts
/JAMES R MARANDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421