DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 7 and 8, “the existing base support plate” lack proper antecedent basis. It appears Applicant should recite –the existing base plate--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected based on its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Commins et al. (US Pat. No. 4,665,672).
In regards to claim 1, Commins teaches a replacement anchoring plate system capable of use for a commercial storage rack system, the storage rack system comprising an existing vertical column (2, Fig. 7) secured perpendicularly to a horizontal floor (3) with a horizontal existing base plate (23), the base plate secured to the floor (via 6/8), the replacement anchoring plate system, comprising: a metal replacement anchoring plate (1) positioned over the existing base plate and secured to the existing base plate, the column, and the floor (via 6, 13 and 14), wherein the replacement anchoring plate comprises: a vertical substantially perpendicular portion (10) configured to be fixed to a lower portion of the a column (via 13 and 14); and a horizontal portion (24) extending horizontally from the substantially perpendicular portion, wherein the horizontal portion extends over at least a portion of the
In regards to claim 2, Commins teaches the substantially perpendicular portion (10) is bolted directly to the column (2) (via 13 and 14).
In regards to claim 3, Commins teaches an anchoring shim (16, Fig. 2), wherein the anchoring shim is between the substantially perpendicular portion (10) and the column (2), and wherein the substantially perpendicular portion is anchored to the column through the anchoring shim (via 11, 17 and 13).
In regards to claim 4, Commins teaches the thickness of the anchoring shim (16) is the same as the thickness of the substantially perpendicular portion (10) (i.e.; both are formed from a strip of 12 gauge galvanized sheetmetal; Col 5, Lines 24-28).
In regards to claim 7, Commins teaches one or more gussets (34, 35) are between the horizontal portion and the existing base support plate.
In regards to claim 8, Commins teaches an anchoring shim, wherein the anchoring shim (4) is between the horizontal portion (24) and at least a portion of the existing base support plate (23).
In regards to claim 10, Commins teaches the substantially perpendicular portion has one or more pre-drilled bolt receiving holes (11, 12) for attachment to the column.
In regards to claim 11, Commins teaches the horizontal portion has plural pre-drilled bolt receiving holes (5, 25) for attachment to the existing base plate and floor.
In regards to claim 12, Commins teaches corners of the horizontal portion are beveled or curved (see 40, 41, Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Commins et al. (US Pat. No. 4,665,672) in view of Linehan (US Pat. No. 2,321,221).
In regards to claim 5, Commins does not teach there are two replacement anchoring plates, and wherein the two replacement anchoring plates are on opposite sides of the column. Linehan teaches two replacement anchoring plates (21) on opposite sides of a column (33, Fig. 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Commins’s system to have two replacement anchoring plates on opposite sides of the column. The motivation would be for the purpose of use where studs (columns) are spaced from each other without any adjacent joists as taught by Linehan (Page 2, Col 2, Lines 31-35).
In regards to claim 6, modified Commins teaches the substantially perpendicular portion (Commins: 10) of one of the two replacement anchoring plates is anchored directly to the column (Commins: 2); and the substantially perpendicular portion of the other replacement anchoring plate is anchored to the column through an anchoring shim (Commins: 16, Fig. 2) or is anchored directly to the column.
In regards to claims 13 and 14, Commins is silent to at least a portion of the perimeter of the horizontal portion is within the perimeter of the existing base plate (claim 13); and at least a portion of the perimeter of the horizontal portion is outside the perimeter of the existing base plate (claim 14).
Lineham teaches a system with an anchoring plate (21), with at least a portion of the perimeter of the horizontal portion (23) being within the perimeter of the existing base support plate (34, Fig. 5). In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would recognize the portion of the perimeter of the horizontal portion could be outside the perimeter of the existing base support plate due to manufacturing tolerances, such that the horizontal portion can have dimensions that are manufactured to substantially align with the base support plate while allowing for slight differences in the dimensions in both the horizontal portion and base support plate.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Commins system such that at least a portion of the perimeter of the horizontal portion is within the perimeter of the existing base plate (claim 13) as taught by Lineham; while allowing for slight variations in dimensions, such that at least a portion of the perimeter of the horizontal portion is outside the perimeter of the existing base plate (claim 14). The motivation would be for the purpose of ensuring a substantially flush attachment of the horizontal portion to the existing base plate.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Commins et al. (US Pat. No. 4,665,672).
In regards to claim 9, Commins does not teach the thickness of the anchoring shim is the same as the thickness of the horizontal portion. However, Commins teaches a shim (16) for the perpendicular portion (10) share the same thickness (i.e.; both are formed from a strip of 12 gauge galvanized sheetmetal; Col 5, Lines 24-28).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Commins’s anchoring shim for the horizontal portion such that it is the same thickness of the horizontal portion as similarly taught with the other anchoring shim. The motivation would be for the purpose of forming the horizontal portion and anchoring shim out of the same sheet metal piece to simplify the manufacturing process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in regards to the following issues.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on the 35 USC 112 issue of “substantially perpendicular”, the rejection was based on the term “perpendicular”. The term was not defined in relation to the claimed structure. In other words, it was unclear what the portion was perpendicular to. Based on the current amendment, the term is interpreted as meaning perpendicular to the horizontal plane because the perpendicular portion is vertical.
In response to applicant's argument that Commins’s anchor plate is not for a commercial rack structure, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Commins’s anchor plate is capable of being used for a commercial rack structure because it includes all the recited structure of the claims.
Applicant also argues Commins does not teach a pre-existing base plate and vertical column secured to the floor with the existing base plate. The examiner disagrees because the base plate, column, and floor have to exist in order to secure the anchor plater thereto. The anchor plate is bolted to the column (2), base plate (23) and floor (3) with respective bolts (13, 14, 6).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., a method of repairing a damaged base plate structure) is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In particular, Applicant’s claims are directed to an apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20 are allowed. Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Commins et al. (US Pat. No. 4,665,672) in view of Linehan (US Pat. No. 2,321,221) are considered the closest prior art of record as discussed above. The prior art of record does not teach modifying Commins to add an anchor guard having the combination of structural and functional limitations of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631