DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicants’ Communication received on April 23, 2025 for application number 19/186,998. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on April 23, 2025 and February 18, 2026 are noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fuel delivery system, first fuel, alternative fuel, electronic control unit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“fuel delivery system”, “emissions control system”, “electronic control unit”, “regeneration event” in claims 1-20.
“fuel supply system” in claims 1-12 and 15-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (CN 104847515 B), hereinafter “Guo”.
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a method of modifying the operation of an engine, having at least a fuel delivery system associated with a first fuel and an emissions control system, to enable operation with the first fuel and an alternative fuel (paragraph 17), the method comprising the steps of: providing the engine with a fuel supply system associated with the alternative fuel and an electronic control unit, the electronic control unit configured to communicate with at least the emissions control system, the fuel delivery system, and the fuel supply system (paragraphs 17 & 18); operating the engine using the alternative fuel; receiving, with the electronic control unit, notification from the emissions control system that a regeneration event is needed (paragraphs 19-21); and supplying, with the fuel delivery system, the first fuel to the emissions control system for the regeneration event (paragraphs 17-21).
Regarding claim 2, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of purging the alternative fuel from the engine prior to the regeneration event before supplying the first fuel to the emissions control system (paragraphs 17-20).
Regarding claim 3, Guo discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising the step of delaying the regeneration event until the purging step is complete (paragraphs 18-20).
Regarding claim 4, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of inhibiting the regeneration event from occurring until a message is sent to the emissions control system by the electronic control unit to begin the regeneration event (paragraphs 16-22).
Regarding claim 5, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising resuming operation of the engine using the alternative fuel after the regeneration event has completed (paragraphs 19, 20).
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first fuel is a petroleum-based fuel and the alternative fuel is a biogenic-based fuel (paragraphs 17-19).
Regarding claim 7, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the alternative fuel is unsuitable for a regeneration event (paragraphs 18, 19).
Regarding claim 8, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of operating the engine using the alternative fuel further comprises inhibiting the emissions control system from executing a regeneration event (paragraphs 18-21).
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the emissions control system comprises a dosing injector, a dosing fuel line, and a dosing flush valve in fluid communication with the engine’s fuel delivery system and the electronic control unit directs the dosing flush valve to flush the alternative fuel out of the dosing injector and dosing fuel line by supplying the fuel delivery system with the first fuel prior to the emissions control system undergoing a regeneration event (paragraphs 15-25).
Regarding claim 10, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the emissions control system comprises a dosing injector that is in fluid communication only with the first fuel (paragraphs 17-21).
Regarding claim 11, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the engine further comprises a fuel selection valve for selectively providing the first fuel or the alternative fuel to the engine (paragraphs 18-20).
Regarding claim 12, Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the engine further comprises cylinders having combustion chambers and the first fuel is supplied to the emissions control system by injection into the combustion chambers during an exhaust stroke of the cylinders (paragraphs 16-22).
Regarding claim 13, Guo discloses a method of modifying the operation of an engine to enable operation with a first fuel and an alternative fuel (paragraph 17), the method comprising the steps of: providing the engine with an electronic control unit (paragraphs 17 & 18), a fuel delivery system comprising a first fuel container for containing the first fuel and an alternative fuel container for containing the alternative fuel, and an emissions control system, the electronic control unit configured to communicate with the emissions control system and the fuel delivery system; operating the engine using the alternative fuel (paragraphs 19-21); receiving, with the electronic control unit, notification from the emissions control system that a regeneration event is needed; and supplying the first fuel to the emissions control system for the regeneration event (paragraphs 17-21).
Regarding claim 14, Guo discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the first fuel is a petroleum-based fuel and the alternative fuel is a biogenic-based fuel (paragraphs 17-19).
Regarding claim 15, Guo discloses a fuel delivery system for delivering fuel to an engine, the fuel delivery system (paragraph 17) comprising: an electronic control unit configured to communicate with an emissions control system of the engine and a fuel supply system comprising a first fuel supply and an alternative fuel supply (paragraphs 19-21), the controller comprising at least one processor programmed or configured to: operate the engine with an alternative fuel using the alternative fuel supply (paragraphs 17-21); receive notification from the emissions control system that a regeneration event is needed; and supply a first fuel using the first fuel supply to the emissions control system for the regeneration event (paragraphs 17-21).
Regarding claim 16, Guo discloses the fuel delivery system of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed or configured to purge the alternative fuel from the engine prior to the regeneration event before supplying the first fuel to the emissions control system (paragraphs 17-20).
Regarding claim 17, Guo discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further programmed or configured to resume operation of the engine using the alternative fuel after completion of the regeneration event (paragraphs 17-21).
Regarding claim 18, Guo discloses the fuel delivery system of claim 15, wherein the first fuel is a petroleum-based fuel and the alternative fuel is biodiesel, and wherein the alternative fuel is unsuitable for the regeneration event (paragraphs 16-22).
Regarding claim 19, Guo discloses the fuel delivery system of claim 15, wherein operating the engine using the alternative fuel further comprises inhibiting the emissions control system from executing a regeneration event (paragraphs 18-21).
Regarding claim 20, Guo discloses the fuel delivery system of claim 15, wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to communicate with a fuel selection valve for selectively providing the first fuel or the alternative fuel to the engine (paragraphs 18-20).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,583. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 are basically claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,583 with minor English language syntax differences. Further on, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,583 anticipates claims 1-20 of the instant present application. Still further, please refer to the following table for the correspondence of claims between the present application and U.S. Patent No. 12,305,583:
Application (19/186,998)
Claims
Patent (U.S. Patent No. 12,305,583)
Claims
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
13
14
14
15
15
16
16
17
17
18
18
19
19
20
20
Therefore, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,583 anticipate claims 1-20 of the instant present application separately alone or altogether.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747