DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, Line 3 recites: “when exexuted by…”, which should be rewritten to read “when executed by…”.
Due to their dependency on claim 8, dependent claims 9-14 are also objected to.
Claim 15, Line 1 recites: “when exexuted by…”, which should be rewritten to read “when executed by…”.
Due to their dependency on claim 15, dependent claims 16-20 are also objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,332,438 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1, 8, and 15 are a broader recitation of independent claims 1 and 9 of Patent No. ‘438. Thus, the claims 1, 8, and 15 are anticipated by claims 1 and 9 of Patent No. ‘438 as shown below.
Application 19/187,000
1. A method comprising: detecting a physical color reference card in an output of a digital image sensor of a camera of a computing device by identifying in the output of the digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the physical color reference card positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera; generating a color calibration user interface (UI) including a virtual color reference card and having user-selectable elements to color-calibrate a see-through display by updating one or more color parameters used by the see-through display in color rendering; and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the computing device, wherein the virtual color reference card is displayed at a second location proximate to the physical color reference card; and receiving user input via an interaction with a user-selectable element of the color calibration UI, and in response, updating one or more values of the color parameters of the see-through display.
Patent No. 12,332,438 B2
1. A method to calibrate a head-worn computing device with a see-through display and transparent lens, the method comprising: detecting a physical color reference card in an output of a digital image sensor of a camera of the head-worn computing device by identifying in the output of the digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the physical color reference card positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera and having at least a predetermined number of different colors in substantially adjacent locations; in response to detecting the physical color reference card, generating a color calibration user interface (UI) including a virtual color reference card and having user-selectable elements to color-calibrate the see-through display by updating one or more values of one or more color parameters used by the see-through display in color rendering; and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the computing device, wherein i) the virtual color reference card is displayed at a second location, proximate to the physical color reference card, when the physical color reference card is in the field of view of the camera, such that the virtual color reference card does not obscure the view of the physical color reference card through the transparent lens of the head-worn computing device, and ii) the virtual color reference card is rendered with the one or more color parameters having a first set of values; and receiving user input via an interaction with a user-selectable element of the color calibration UI, and in response, updating the one or more color parameters of the see-through display to have a second set of values, thereby adjusting the color rendering of the virtual color reference card.
8. A system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storage device storing thereon instructions, which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising: detecting a physical color reference card in an output of a digital image sensor of a camera of the system by identifying in the output of the digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the physical color reference card positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera; generating a color calibration user interface (UI) including a virtual color reference card and having user-selectable elements to color-calibrate a see-through display by updating one or more color parameters used by the see-through display in color rendering; and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the system, wherein the virtual color reference card is displayed at a second location proximate to the physical color reference card; and receiving user input via an interaction with a user-selectable element of the color calibration UI, and in response, updating one or more values of the color parameters of the see-through display.
15. An apparatus storing thereon instructions, which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising: detecting a physical color reference card in an output of a digital image sensor of a camera by identifying in the output of the digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the physical color reference card positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera; generating a color calibration user interface (UI) including a virtual color reference card and having user-selectable elements to color-calibrate a see-through display by updating one or more color parameters used by the see-through display in color rendering; and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the apparatus, wherein the virtual color reference card is displayed at a second location proximate to the physical color reference card; and receiving user input via an interaction with a user-selectable element of the color calibration UI, and in response, updating one or more values of the color parameters of the see-through display.
9. A head-worn computing device, comprising: a camera; a see-through display; a transparent lens; one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: detecting a physical color reference card in an output of a digital image sensor of the camera of the head-worn computing device by identifying in the output of the digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the physical color reference card positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera and having at least a predetermined number of different colors in substantially adjacent locations; in response to detecting the physical color reference card, generating a color calibration user interface (UI) including a virtual color reference card and having user-selectable elements to color-calibrate the see-through display by updating one or more values of one or more color parameters used by the see-through display in color rendering; and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the computing device, wherein i) the virtual color reference card is displayed at a second location, proximate to the physical color reference card, when the physical color reference card is in the field of view of the camera, such that the virtual color reference card does not obscure the view of the physical color reference card through the transparent lens of the head-worn computing device, and ii) the virtual color reference card is rendered with the one or more color parameters having a first set of values; and receiving user input via an interaction with a user-selectable element of the color calibration UI, and in response, updating the one or more color parameters of the see-through display to have a second set of values, thereby adjusting the color rendering of the virtual color reference card.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S Patent No. 12,332,438 B2 in view of Wyble (US 20210065459 A1), hereinafter Wyble.
Regarding claim 9, Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 discloses the system of claim 8. Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 does not recites wherein the system comprises augmented reality (AR) glasses having the see-through display, and wherein the user interaction with the user-selectable element comprises a hand gesture detected by the camera of the AR glasses. Patent No. ‘438 claim 14 further discloses
“detecting a user interaction with a control from the user-selectable elements” – Patent No. ‘438 Claim 13
NOTE: Claim 14 depends on claim 13 and would therefore include the limitations disclosed in claim 13.
comprises a hand gesture detected by the camera of the AR glasses.
“wherein the user interaction is a hand gesture” – Patent No. ‘438 Claim 14
Claim 14 of Patent No. ‘438 still does not teach wherein the system comprises augmented reality (AR) glasses having the see-through display. However, Wyble teaches wherein the system comprises augmented reality (AR) glasses having the see-through display
“ FIG. 10A depicts a second example scenario 1000 involving a traditional AR display, and FIG. 10B depicts a corresponding AR color calibration interface view 1050 presented to a user, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The example scenario depicted in FIG. 10A includes an observer 1002 looking through an AR display (e.g., a glass see through AR visor) 1004 at an object 1012 that is sitting on a table. ” – Par 70
NOTE: Wyble discloses a color calibration interface presented to a user wearing a AR display such as a see-through visor. This functionally corresponds to AR glasses having the see through display. After the combination, the AR glasses device for color calibration as taught by Wyble can modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 to enable the user to wear the glasses and interact with user-selectable elements by performing hand gestures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the present invention to modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 to include the teachings of Wyble to have the system comprise a see-through AR glasses display device to allow a user performing hand gestures to interact with user-selectable elements. One would be motivated to make this combination since Patent No. 439 claim 9 addresses using a head worn computing device for color calibration. This would lead to the predicted result of performing the color calibration with the AR glasses to maintain accurate color reproduction between the virtual physical reference card and the physical color reference card. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 9 would have been an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in claim 6 of Patent No. ‘438 in view of Wyble and is not patentably distinct from Patent No. ‘438 claim 6.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 9. Therefore, method claim 2 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
NOTE: Claim 6 of Patent No. ‘438 recites the additional limitations of claim 2 and follows the same reasoning as described in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 9. Therefore, apparatus claim 16 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S Patent No. 12,332,438 B2 in view of Baker et al (US 7522767 B2), hereinafter Baker.
Regarding claim 10, Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 discloses the system of claim 8. Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 further recites wherein the virtual color reference card is rendered with the one or more color parameters having a first set of values,
““the virtual color reference card is rendered with the one or more color parameters having a first set of values” – Patent No. ‘438, Claim 9, Col 18, Lines 16-22
and wherein updating the one or more values of the color parameters adjusts the color rendering of the virtual color reference card
“updating the one or more color parameters of the see-through display to have a second set of values, thereby adjusting the color rendering of the virtual color reference card.” – Patent No. ‘438 Claim 9, Col 18, Lines 19-22
Patent No. ‘439 claim 9 does not recite to more closely match the physical color reference card. However, Baker teaches to more closely match the physical color reference card
“Color correction component 204 then generates a color correction function (e.g., 210) which eliminates the discrepancy between reference color 202a and control color 203a, if any exists.” – Lines 52-54
NOTE: Baker discloses eliminating the discrepancy between a reference color and a control color. One example is the comparison of a reference color to a physical color: “ In FIG. 2B, imaged reference color set 202 is shown in display 221 and a physical control reference color set 222 is disposed proximate thereto.” – Col 7, Lines 11-13. The elimination of differences between the reference and physical color corresponds to matching the virtual color to the physical color. After the combination, the concept of matching the physical color can modify the system of Patent No. ’438 as disclosed by claim 9 for updating the virtual color reference card parameters so that it matches the values of the physical color reference card.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 by incorporating the teachings of Baker to match the virtual color reference card with the physical color reference card. One would be motivated to make this combination since eliminating the differences between the two references card would lead to the predicted result of an adjusted view of the virtual colors that best matches the physical colors that may have been altered due to lighting conditions of the environment seen through the AR headwear device. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 10 would have been an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in claim 9 of Patent No. ‘438 in view of Baker and is not patentably distinct from Patent No. ‘438 claim 9.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, method claim 3 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, apparatus claim 17 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S Patent No. 12,332,438 B2 in view of Webb et al (US 20130329993 A1), hereinafter Webb.
Regarding claim 11, Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 discloses the system of claim 8. Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 does not recite wherein the user-selectable elements comprise a first control configured as a slider to adjust a tint parameter and a second control configured as a slider to adjust a temperature parameter, and wherein the color calibration UI does not include a control for adjusting brightness. However, Webb teaches wherein the user-selectable elements comprise a first control configured as a slider to adjust a tint parameter and a second control configured as a slider to adjust a temperature parameter, and wherein the color calibration UI does not include a control for adjusting brightness.
“In some embodiments, when the image editing application receives the selection of the UI item that represents the temperature and tint color balance mode, the image editing application automatically presents the UI controls (the slider controls 835 and 840 and the selectable UI controls 845 and 850 in this example) for the temperature and tint color balance mode of the color balance tool 425.” – Par 127, Lines 9-15
NOTE: Webb discloses an image editing application comprises presenting user interface controls wherein the user can adjust two sliders to control the temperature and tint color. Webb does not disclose adjusting the brightness using the UI. This functionally corresponds to user-selectable elements comprising a first and second slider that adjusts temperature and tint parameter values wherein the UI does not include a control for adjusting brightness. After the combination, the user-selectable controls for adjusting tint and temperature as taught by Webb can modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 to enable the color calibration UI disclosed in claim 9 of Patent No. ‘438 to include sliders adjusting tint and temperature color parameter values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 by incorporating the teachings of Webb to have the user-selectable elements comprise a first slider adjusting color tint and a second slider adjusting color temperature. Applying the slider controls for adjusting tint and temperature would lead to the predicted result of enabling a user to adjust the respective color parameters while retaining the color-calibration functionality described by the claims of Patent No. ‘438. One of ordinary skill would also recognize that a user-controllable element to adjust brightness is an optional design choice in which removing does not change the functionality of the invention. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 11 would have been an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in claim 9 of Patent No. ‘438 in view of Baker and is not patentably distinct from Patent No. ‘438 claim 9.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, method claim 4 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, apparatus claim 18 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim 5, 12, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S Patent No. 12,332,438 B2 in view of Kwong et al (US 8379060 B2), hereinafter Kwong.
Regarding claim 12, Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 discloses the system of application claim 8. Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 does not recite wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a change in ambient lighting conditions; automatically initiating a new color calibration process in response to the detected change; and displaying a notification on the see-through display prompting the user to perform a new color calibration. However, Kwong teaches wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a change in ambient lighting conditions;
“In some embodiments, recalibration indicator 138 may retrieve the stored data in order to process the data, and may detect a change in conditions (for example, a change of ambient light, temperature, CCFL light and/or LED backlight) measured by sensors 133-135.” – Kwong (US 8379060 B2) Col 5, Lines 65-67 and Col 6, lines 1-2
automatically initiating a new color calibration process in response to the detected change;
“recalibration mechanism to initiate recalibration of the display unit of the mobile device based on a change in ambient light measured by the one or more ambient light sensors.” – Kwong Claim 6
NOTE: Kwong teaches measuring ambient light and performing recalibration based on the change in ambient light.
and displaying a notification on the see-through display prompting the user to perform a new color calibration
“For example, in case the change in conditions exceeds the pre-defined threshold, an audible signal or a message shown on the display may be generated, recommending the user to perform a recalibration of the display, and allowing the user to respond to the recommendation by selecting to recalibrate the display.” – Kwong Col 6, Lines 3-9
NOTE: Kwong further teaches displaying a notification to prompt the user to perform recalibration. After the combination the concept of recalibrating the display based on a change in ambient light and displaying a notification prompting the user to recalibrate the display as taught by Kwong can modify Patent No. 438 claim 9’s disclosure of color calibrating the display by identifying a physical color reference card and adjusting the virtual color reference card parameters. The combination would allow the system disclosed in Patent No. 438 claim 9 to detect ambient light change, automatically perform color calibration, and notify the user to perform a new color calibration via a notification on the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 by incorporating the teachings of Kwong to automatically initiate a color calibration process in response to a detected change in ambient lighting and displaying a notification on the see-through display to prompt the user to perform the new color calibration process. One would be motivated to make this combination so that the user is informed of lighting changes in the environment that may warrant recalibration of the display. The notification would naturally be displayed on the user interface disclosed in Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 to prompt the user to perform a new color calibration. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 12 would have been an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in claim 9 of Patent No. ‘438 in view of Kwong and is not patentably distinct from Patent No. ‘438 claim 9.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, method claim 5 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, apparatus claim 19 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim 6, 13, and 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S Patent No. 12,332,438 B2 in view of Brunner et al (US 20080304741 A1), hereinafter Brunner.
Regarding claim 13, Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 discloses the system of application claim 8. Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 does not recite wherein the physical color reference card comprises a predetermined pattern of color samples arranged in a grid, and wherein detecting the physical color reference card comprises identifying the predetermined pattern in the output of the digital image sensor. However, Brunner teaches wherein the physical color reference card comprises a predetermined pattern of color samples arranged in a grid,
“Color chart 102 comprises a grid of color squares used to calibrate the captured image. Each square is a known color.” – Par 24, Lines 17-18
and wherein detecting the physical color reference card comprises identifying the predetermined pattern in the output of the digital image sensor
“Method 200 further executes a processing loop (blocks 206-212) to locate a particular reference color chart (N.times.M color chart) in the image. At block 208, method 200 searches for a particular N.times.M chart in the image. N refers to the number of color square columns in the color chart and M is the number of color square rows” – Par 29
NOTE: Brunner further discloses that a digital still image camera takes an image comprising a scene with the color chart/grid of colors, see Par 24, Lines 1-4. After the combination, the concept of a physical grid of color samples identified by the output of a digital still camera as taught by Brunner can modify Patent No. ‘438 claim 9’s disclosure for detecting a physical color reference card and updating a virtual color reference card parameter. This modification would allow the digital image sensor discloses in Patent No. 438 claim 9 to detect the physical color reference card which is in the form of a grid of color samples.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 by incorporating the teachings of Brunner to detect the physical color reference card by identifying the predetermined pattern in the output of the digital image sensor wherein the physical colored refence card is a predetermined pattern of color samples arranged in a grid. One would be motivated to make this combination since Patent ‘438 claim 9 discloses detecting a physical color reference card for color calibration purposes which functionally corresponds to the grid of color samples used for color calibration as disclosed by Brunner. Applying Brunner’s technique for detecting the color chart to Patent No. ‘438 claim 9’s would reliably locate the physical color reference card to be used for color calibration processing. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 12 would have been an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in claim 9 of Patent No. ‘438 in view of Brunner and is not patentably distinct from Patent No. ‘438 claim 9.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, method claim 6 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, apparatus claim 20 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S Patent No. 12,332,438 B2 in view of Molholm et al (US 10911748 B1) and Dekel (US 12073754 B2), hereinafter Molholm and Dekel respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 discloses the system of application claim 8. Patent No. ‘438 claim 9 does not teach wherein the operations further comprise storing a calibration profile comprising the updated color parameter values, wherein the calibration profile is associated with current ambient lighting conditions and is automatically applied when similar lighting conditions are detected. However, Molholm teaches wherein the operations further comprise storing a calibration profile comprising the updated color parameter values,
“Device 60 may store the calibration data for display 14 in device 10 at storage circuitry 66.” – Col 10, Lines 9-10 and “Thereafter, when display 14 in device 10 is operated (e.g., used to display images during normal display operations), display 14 can apply the calibration data that has been loaded into the storage circuitry in device 10 (e.g., such that color offsets, intensity offsets, and other corrections may be applied)” – Col 9, Lines 4-8
NOTE: Molholm teaches storing calibration data into the storage circuitry of the device. The calibration data can be obtained from storage to be used to apply corrections to the display. This functionally corresponds to storing a calibration profile comprising color parameter values. After the combination, the concept of storing color parameter values as taught by Molholm can modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 to enable storing the calibration data comprising the updated color parameter values disclosed in claim 9 of Patent ‘439.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 by incorporating the teachings of Molholm to store a calibration profile comprising the updated color parameter values. One would be motivated to make this combination to retain the updated color parameter values generated to be reused for further processing rather than repeatedly performing the same calibration process.
wherein the calibration profile is associated with current ambient lighting conditions
“The spectrometer is also configured to measure ambient lighting conditions but with a higher degree of color granularity than the light sensor. In particular, the approach uses the spectral sensing data to select a spectral light source profile corresponding to a particular light source from a plurality of different spectral light source profiles corresponding to different spectral light sources (e.g., florescent light, day light, incandescent light). Each of the spectral light source profiles include color calibration values that are used to adaptively control display color of the display to have desired color characteristics when the display is illuminated by light in the corresponding environment.” – Col 2, Lines 2-11
NOTE: Dekel teaches a plurality of stored profiles containing calibration values associated with different ambient lighting conditions such as florescent light, day light, incandescent light.
and is automatically applied when similar lighting conditions are detected.
“Further, display color of the display may be adaptively controlled by switching between different spectral light source profiles to apply different color calibration values to maintain accurate display color of the display as ambient lighting conditions vary.” – Col 2, Lines 11-15
NOTE: Dekel further discloses that the system can adaptively detect the current ambient light, determining which of the stored profiles are associated with the particular ambient light and apply the calibration values to the display. This functionally corresponds to applying the calibration profile when a similar ambient light condition is detected. After the combination, the concept of automatically applying the calibration profile based on detecting a similar ambient light as taught by Dekel can modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 in view of Molholm. This combination would allow the updated color parameters disclosed in claim 9 of Patent No. ‘438 to be stored as a profile described by Molholm associated with a current ambient light condition detected using the spectrometer of Dekel. Then, the system can automatically apply the calibration profile to the display when a similar ambient light condition is detected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the claims of Patent No. ‘438 by incorporating the teachings of Dekel to have the calibration profile associated with the ambient light condition and automatically apply the calibration profile when a similar ambient light condition is detected. One would be motivated to make this combination to consistently maintain a color calibrated display for the see-through device without having to manually calibrate the device every time the ambient lighting conditions change. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 14 would have been an obvious variation of the subject matter claimed in claim 9 of Patent No. ‘438 in view of Molholm and Dekel and is not patentably distinct from Patent No. ‘438 claim 9.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, method claim 7 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyble (US 20210065459) and Brunner et al (US 20080304741 A1), hereinafter Wyble and Brunner respectively.
Regarding claim 8, Wyble teaches a system comprising: at least one processor;
“In an exemplary embodiment, an AR system includes a forward-facing camera, an AR display, a processor, and a user interface. The processor is configured to receive image data from the forward-facing camera and identify any known objects depicted in the image data.” – Abstract
and at least one memory storage device storing thereon instructions, which, when executed by the at least one processor,
In addition, the processor 1318 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 1330 and/or the removable memory 1332. The non-removable memory 1330 may include random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), a hard disk, or any other type of memory storage device.” – Par 88 Lines 8-14
cause the system to perform operations comprising: detecting a
“In flow 100, a calibrated forward-facing camera images a present field of view to generate color image data and detects the field of view of a wearer 104. In some embodiments the forward-facing camera is mounted to an AR HMD. In some embodiments the forward-facing camera is embedded in an AR HMD. The color image data is received at a processor 106 (of the HMD or of an AR server) and the processor uses this data to identify an object in the scene that matches an object in a known-object database at step 108.” – Par 42, Lines 1-10
NOTE: Wyble discloses using a forward-facing camera embedded in an AR head mounted display which receives images of the environment in the user’s field of view and identifies an object in the scene. This functionally corresponds to detecting an object in the output of a digital image sensor of a camera by identifying in the output of a digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the object positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera. However, Wyble does not teach detecting a physical color reference card.
generating a color calibration user interface (UI)
‘’The AR system presents the AR color calibration interface 850 of FIG. 8B to the viewer. At this point, the synthetic content overlay includes the AR color calibration interface. In some embodiments the interface includes a prompt to select a closest color or preferred option and at least one candidate RGB color option in the form of a rendering of the identified real-world object.” – Par 68, Lines 11-17
and having user-selectable elements to color-calibrate a see-through display by updating one or more color parameters used by the see-through display in color rendering;
“The AR system may iterate the calibration process by presenting new options to the viewer and receiving new viewer input. At each iteration a display calibration model is updated using the color parameters of the viewers selection in comparison with the known parameters of the identified real-world object. In one embodiment, a display color calibration model is adjusted so that when the AR system renders a synthetic content overlay which includes the known colors of the identified real-world object, those colors are rendered using the RGB value of the selected option.” – Par 68, Lines 23- 33
NOTE: Wyble discloses that the calibration process may iterate multiple times presenting the user with new color options to select which updates the calibration model by updating the color parameters. Then the synthetic content overlay is rendered using the updated color parameters. This functionally corresponds to having user-selectable elements for color calibration by updating color parameters. The color calibration process comprises of showing synthetic content overlay consisting of the object in different color options that the user can pick to match the real-world object, see par 68, Lines 17-22. Wyble demonstrates an example of the user looks through an AR display such as a glass see through AR visor, see Par 70
and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the system,
“FIG. 8A depicts a visual overview 800 of a first example scenario involving a traditional HMD, and FIG. 8B depicts a corresponding AR color calibration interface view 850 presented to a user, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The overview of FIG. 8A includes a viewer 806, an AR visor 804, a synthetic content overlay visible to the viewer and displayed by the AR visor 804, and an identified real-world object 802 also visible to the viewer through the AR visor 804.” – Par 68, Lines 1-9
NOTE: Wyble demonstrates in Fig 8A a user interface view of the AR visor which displays synthetic content overlay depicting the real-world object in different color options proximate to the physical real-world item. However, Wyble does not teach the physical color reference card and the virtual color reference card.
and receiving user input via an interaction with a user-selectable element of the color calibration UI, and in response, updating one or more values of the color parameters of the see-through display.
“The AR system may iterate the calibration process by presenting new options to the viewer and receiving new viewer input. At each iteration a display calibration model is updated using the color parameters of the viewers selection in comparison with the known parameters of the identified real-world object. In one embodiment, a display color calibration model is adjusted so that when the AR system renders a synthetic content overlay which includes the known colors of the identified real-world object, those colors are rendered using the RGB value of the selected option.” – Par 68, Lines 23- 33
Wyble does not teach performing operations comprising: detecting a physical color reference card in an output of a digital image sensor of a camera of the system by identifying in the output of the digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the physical color reference card positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera; generating a color calibration user interface (UI) including a virtual color reference card; and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the system, wherein the virtual color reference card is displayed at a second location proximate to the physical color reference card. However, Brunner teaches performing operations comprising: detecting a physical color reference card in an output of a digital image sensor of a camera of the system by identifying in the output of the digital image sensor of the camera a portion of the output corresponding to the physical color reference card positioned at a first location in a field of view of the camera;
“Method 200 further executes a processing loop (blocks 206-212) to locate a particular reference color chart (N.times.M color chart) in the image. At block 208, method 200 searches for a particular N.times.M chart in the image. N refers to the number of color square columns in the color chart and M is the number of color square rows” – Par 29
NOTE: Brunner further discloses that a digital still image camera takes an image comprising a scene with the color chart/grid of colors, see Par 24, Lines 1-4 and Fig. 4. This color chart, which functionally corresponds to a physical color reference card, is then identified in the digital image. After the combination, the concept of detecting a physical color chart in the form of a grid of colors as taught by Brunner can modify the AR color calibration device taught by Wyble. This combination would allow the detection of the physical color reference card in the scene as an object when the user wearing the AR device sees it in their field of view.
generating a color calibration user interface (UI) including a virtual color reference card;
‘’The AR system presents the AR color calibration interface 850 of FIG. 8B to the viewer. At this point, the synthetic content overlay includes the AR color calibration interface. In some embodiments the interface includes a prompt to select a closest color or preferred option and at least one candidate RGB color option in the form of a rendering of the identified real-world object.” – Wyble Par 68, Lines 11-17
NOTE: After the combination, the detection of a physical color reference card as taught by Brunner can modify the AR color calibration device taught by Wyble. Wyble discloses the synthetic color rendering of a real-world object and displaying it next to the real-world object. Therefore, the system would generate a synthetic color rendering of the physical color rendering card to create the virtual color rendering card.
and causing display of the color calibration UI on the see-through display of the system, wherein the virtual color reference card is displayed at a second location proximate to the physical color reference card
“FIG. 8A depicts a visual overview 800 of a first example scenario involving a traditional HMD, and FIG. 8B depicts a corresponding AR color calibration interface view 850 presented to a user, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The overview of FIG. 8A includes a viewer 806, an AR visor 804, a synthetic content overlay visible to the viewer and displayed by the AR visor 804, and an identified real-world object 802 also visible to the viewer through the AR visor 804.” – Wyble Par 68, Lines 1-9
NOTE: Wyble as modified after the combination would then enable the color calibration UI on the see-through AR device to display the virtual color reference card next to the physical color reference card.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Wyble by incorporating the teachings of Brunner to detect the physical color reference card with the AR device, generate a color calibration UI including a virtual color reference card and display the virtual color reference card next to the physical color reference card. One would be motivated to make this combination to allow the user to visualize both colors through the AR device and visually identify the differences in color between the virtual and physical color reference card to adjust the color parameters so that they match.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 8. Therefore, method claim 1 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 8. Therefore, apparatus claim 15 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 10, Wyble teaches the system of claim 8. Wyble as modified further teaches wherein the virtual color reference card is rendered with the one or more color parameters having a first set of values,
‘’The AR system presents the AR color calibration interface 850 of FIG. 8B to the viewer. At this point, the synthetic content overlay includes the AR color calibration interface. In some embodiments the interface includes a prompt to select a closest color or preferred option and at least one candidate RGB color option in the form of a rendering of the identified real-world object.” – Wyble Par 68, Lines 11-17
NOTE: Wyble discloses overlaying a synthetic rendering of a real-world object with the physical real-world object using the AR device. This synthetic rendering is displayed in different color options which is then modified by updating the color parameter values based on user selection. After the combination, Wyble as modified by Brunner would then allow the system to generate a synthetic rendering of the grid of color samples (which can be understood as the physical color reference card) in order to create the virtual color reference card. The initial rendering of the virtual color reference card would naturally be rendered with a first set of initial color values which can then be updated using the steps from Wyble’s system.
wherein updating the one or more values of the color parameters adjusts the color rendering of the virtual color reference card
“The AR system may iterate the calibration process by presenting new options to the viewer and receiving new viewer input. At each iteration a display calibration model is updated using the color parameters of the viewers selection in comparison with the known parameters of the identified real-world object. In one embodiment, a display color calibration model is adjusted so that when the AR system renders a synthetic content overlay which includes the known colors of the identified real-world object, those colors are rendered using the RGB value of the selected option.” – Wyble Par 68, Lines 23- 33
NOTE: Wyble discloses user selection of color options to update the color parameters of the synthetic content overlay to match with the physical object. The color parameters are then used to render the synthetic content overlay with the updated colors. After the combination, Wyble can perform these steps with the grid of color samples (which corresponds to the physical color reference card) as disclosed by Brunner to adjust the color parameters of the generated “virtual color reference card” to match the “physical color reference card”.
to more closely match the physical color reference card
“At step 314, the procedure then prompts the user to select which displayed rendering is a closest visual match to the known object. In at least one embodiment, step 314 includes a prompt that further requests the user to select a level of closeness (i.e., acceptability) of the match.” – Wyble Par 49 Lines 21-25
NOTE: Wyble discloses prompting the user to select the generated synthetic content rendering options that closely match the colors of the physical object. After the combination, the user would instead be prompted to select from the generated synthetic content overlay which of the color options best match with the physical color reference card obtained by the steps disclosed in Brunner. This would then allow the user to select the colors for the virtual color reference card that matches the color of the physical color reference card as seen by the AR device.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, method claim 3 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10. Therefore, apparatus claim 17 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 13, Wyble teaches the system of claim 8. Wyble as modified further teaches wherein the physical color reference card comprises a predetermined pattern of color samples arranged in a grid,
“Color chart 102 comprises a grid of color squares used to calibrate the captured image. Each square is a known color.” – Brunner Par 24, Lines 17-18
and wherein detecting the physical color reference card comprises identifying the predetermined pattern in the output of the digital image sensor
“Method 200 further executes a processing loop (blocks 206-212) to locate a particular reference color chart (N.times.M color chart) in the image. At block 208, method 200 searches for a particular N.times.M chart in the image. N refers to the number of color square columns in the color chart and M is the number of color square rows” – Brunner Par 29
NOTE: Brunner further discloses that a digital still image camera takes an image comprising a scene with the color chart/grid of colors, see Par 24, Lines 1-4. After the combination, the concept of a physical grid of color samples identified by the output of a digital still camera as taught by Brunner can modify Wyble’s disclosure for detecting a physical real-world object and updating the color parameter of a synthetic content overlay depicting the real-world object. This modification would allow the Wyble’s system to detect the physical color reference card which is in the form of a grid of color samples.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 13. Therefore, method claim 6 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 13 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 13. Therefore, apparatus claim 20 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 13 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyble, Brunner, and Rafii (US 8836768 B1), hereinafter Rafii.
Regarding claim 9, Wyble teaches the system of claim 8. Wyble as modified further teaches wherein the system comprises augmented reality (AR) glasses having the see-through display,
“ FIG. 10A depicts a second example scenario 1000 involving a traditional AR display, and FIG. 10B depicts a corresponding AR color calibration interface view 1050 presented to a user, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The example scenario depicted in FIG. 10A includes an observer 1002 looking through an AR display (e.g., a glass see through AR visor) 1004 at an object 1012 that is sitting on a table. ” – Wyble Par 70
Wyble does not teach wherein the user interaction with the user-selectable element comprises a hand gesture detected by the camera of the AR glasses. However, Rafii teaches wherein the user interaction with the user-selectable element comprises a hand gesture detected by the camera of the AR glasses
“Depending upon display mounting, the user can thus look up or down or sideways to view a display with one eye, which display can show computer type imagery to which the user can respond by natural hand gestures. The imagery may include GUIs created by and presented on a display attached to the glasses imagery obtained from at least one camera aligned with the user's line of sight” – Col 4, Lines 51-56
NOTE: Rafii discloses using natural hand gestures to interact with Guided User interfaces (GUIs) displayed in an AR glasses device. After the combination, the concept of using hand gestures to interact with user selectable elements can modify Wyble’s system for color calibration of an AR device. This modification would then allow the color calibration user interface to present the user-selectable elements such as the color options for the user to choose from and have the user perform hand gestures to make the selection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Wyble by incorporating the teachings of Rafii to have the user interaction comprise a hand gesture detected by the camera of the AR glasses. One would be motivated to make this combination since it would lead to the predicted result of having an intuitive way for the user to perform the selection of elements in the color calibration interface since hand gestures are a natural and well-known method for AR devices.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 9. Therefore, method claim 2 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 9. Therefore, apparatus claim 16 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyble, Brunner, and Webb et al (US 20130329993 A1), hereinafter Webb.
Regarding claim 11, Wyble teaches the system of claim 8. Wyble as modified still does not teach wherein the user-selectable elements comprise a first control configured as a slider to adjust a tint parameter and a second control configured as a slider to adjust a temperature parameter, and wherein the color calibration UI does not include a control for adjusting brightness. However, Webb teaches wherein the user-selectable elements comprise a first control configured as a slider to adjust a tint parameter and a second control configured as a slider to adjust a temperature parameter, and wherein the color calibration UI does not include a control for adjusting brightness.
“In some embodiments, when the image editing application receives the selection of the UI item that represents the temperature and tint color balance mode, the image editing application automatically presents the UI controls (the slider controls 835 and 840 and the selectable UI controls 845 and 850 in this example) for the temperature and tint color balance mode of the color balance tool 425.” – Par 127, Lines 9-15
NOTE: Webb discloses an image editing application comprises presenting user interface controls wherein the user can adjust two sliders to control the temperature and tint color. Webb does not disclose adjusting the brightness using the UI. This functionally corresponds to user-selectable elements comprising a first and second slider that adjusts temperature and tint parameter values wherein the UI does not include a control for adjusting brightness. After the combination, the user-selectable controls for adjusting tint and temperature as taught by Webb can modify the color calibration UI disclosed Wyble to include sliders adjusting tint and temperature color parameter values.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Wyble by incorporating the teachings of Webb to have the user-selectable elements comprise a first slider adjusting color tint and a second slider adjusting color temperature. Applying the slider controls for adjusting tint and temperature would lead to the predicted result of enabling a user to adjust the respective color parameters while retaining the color-calibration functionality described by Wyble. One of ordinary skill would also recognize that a user-controllable element to adjust brightness is an optional design choice in which removing does not change the functionality of the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 11. Therefore, method claim 4 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 11 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 11. Therefore, apparatus claim 18 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 11 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyble, Brunner, and Kwong et al (US 8379060 B2), hereinafter Kwong.
Regarding claim 12, Wyble teaches the system of claim 8. Wyble as modified does not teach wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a change in ambient lighting conditions; automatically initiating a new color calibration process in response to the detected change; and displaying a notification on the see-through display prompting the user to perform a new color calibration. However, Kwong teaches wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a change in ambient lighting conditions;
“In some embodiments, recalibration indicator 138 may retrieve the stored data in order to process the data, and may detect a change in conditions (for example, a change of ambient light, temperature, CCFL light and/or LED backlight) measured by sensors 133-135.” – Kwong (US 8379060 B2) Col 5, Lines 65-67 and Col 6, lines 1-2
automatically initiating a new color calibration process in response to the detected change;
“recalibration mechanism to initiate recalibration of the display unit of the mobile device based on a change in ambient light measured by the one or more ambient light sensors.” – Kwong Claim 6
NOTE: Kwong teaches measuring ambient light and performing recalibration based on the change in ambient light.
and displaying a notification on the see-through display prompting the user to perform a new color calibration
“For example, in case the change in conditions exceeds the pre-defined threshold, an audible signal or a message shown on the display may be generated, recommending the user to perform a recalibration of the display, and allowing the user to respond to the recommendation by selecting to recalibrate the display.” – Kwong Col 6, Lines 3-9
NOTE: Kwong further teaches displaying a notification to prompt the user to perform recalibration. After the combination the concept of recalibrating the display based on a change in ambient light and displaying a notification prompting the user to recalibrate the display as taught by Kwong can modify Wyble’s disclosure of color calibrating the display by identifying a physical color reference card and adjusting the virtual color reference card parameters. The combination would allow Wyble’s color calibration process to detect ambient light change, automatically perform color calibration, and notify the user to perform a new color calibration via a notification on the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Wyble by incorporating the teachings of Kwong to automatically initiate a color calibration process in response to a detected change in ambient lighting and displaying a notification on the see-through display to prompt the user to perform the new color calibration process. One would be motivated to make this combination so that the user is informed of lighting changes in the environment that may warrant recalibration of the display. The notification would naturally be displayed on the user interface disclosed in Wyble to prompt the user to perform a new color calibration.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 12. Therefore, method claim 5 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 12 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 12. Therefore, apparatus claim 19 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 12 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyble, Brunner, in view of Molholm et al (US 10911748 B1) and Dekel (US 12073754 B2), hereinafter Molholm and Dekel respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Wyble teaches the system of claim 8. Wyble as modified does not teach wherein the operations further comprise storing a calibration profile comprising the updated color parameter values, wherein the calibration profile is associated with current ambient lighting conditions and is automatically applied when similar lighting conditions are detected. However, Molholm teaches wherein the operations further comprise storing a calibration profile comprising the updated color parameter values,
“Device 60 may store the calibration data for display 14 in device 10 at storage circuitry 66.” – Col 10, Lines 9-10 and “Thereafter, when display 14 in device 10 is operated (e.g., used to display images during normal display operations), display 14 can apply the calibration data that has been loaded into the storage circuitry in device 10 (e.g., such that color offsets, intensity offsets, and other corrections may be applied)” – Col 9, Lines 4-8
NOTE: Molholm teaches storing calibration data into the storage circuitry of the device. The calibration data can be obtained from storage to be used to apply corrections to the display. This functionally corresponds to storing a calibration profile comprising color parameter values. After the combination, the concept of storing color parameter values in storage circuitry as taught by Molholm can modify Wyble to enable storing the calibration data comprising the updated color parameter values based on user interaction..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Wyble by incorporating the teachings of Molhom to store a calibration profile comprising the updated color parameter values. One would be motivated to make this combination to retain the updated color parameter values generated to be reused for further processing rather than repeatedly performing the same calibration process.
Wyble in view of Molholm still does not teach wherein the calibration profile is associated with current ambient lighting conditions and is automatically applied when similar lighting conditions are detected. However, Dekel teaches wherein the calibration profile is associated with current ambient lighting conditions
“The spectrometer is also configured to measure ambient lighting conditions but with a higher degree of color granularity than the light sensor. In particular, the approach uses the spectral sensing data to select a spectral light source profile corresponding to a particular light source from a plurality of different spectral light source profiles corresponding to different spectral light sources (e.g., florescent light, day light, incandescent light). Each of the spectral light source profiles include color calibration values that are used to adaptively control display color of the display to have desired color characteristics when the display is illuminated by light in the corresponding environment.” – Col 2, Lines 2-11
NOTE: Dekel teaches a plurality of stored profiles containing calibration values associated with different ambient lighting conditions such as florescent light, day light, incandescent light.
and is automatically applied when similar lighting conditions are detected.
“Further, display color of the display may be adaptively controlled by switching between different spectral light source profiles to apply different color calibration values to maintain accurate display color of the display as ambient lighting conditions vary.” – Col 2, Lines 11-15
NOTE: Dekel further discloses that the system can adaptively detect the current ambient light, determining which of the stored profiles are associated with the particular ambient light and apply the calibration values to the display. This functionally corresponds to applying the calibration profile when a similar ambient light condition is detected. After the combination, the concept of automatically applying the calibration profile based on detecting a similar ambient light as taught by Dekel can modify the Wyble in view of Molholm. This combination would allow the updated color parameters Wyble to be stored as a profile described by Molholm associated with a current ambient light condition detected using the spectrometer of Dekel. Then, the system can automatically apply the calibration profile to the display when a similar ambient light condition is detected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Wyble by incorporating the teachings of Dekel to have the calibration profile associated with the ambient light condition and automatically apply the calibration profile when a similar ambient light condition is detected. One would be motivated to make this combination to consistently maintain a color calibrated display for the see-through device without having to manually calibrate the device every time the ambient lighting conditions change. Since the real-world lighting environment can constantly change, the user would not have to manually perform the color calibration for every change.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 14. Therefore, method claim 7 corresponds to the system disclosed in claim 14 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
/DAVID VAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617