DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9 was withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 31, 2026.
Accordingly, requirement is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ke1 (US20180366317).
Regarding claim 1, Ke1 teaches a method of depositing a film selectively onto the surface of a substrate (abstract, paragraph 0008). Ke1 teaches to provide a substrate with an exposed first material 10 (second film) and an exposed second material 20 (first film) (paragraphs 0008, 0027 and 0051, Figures 1A and 5A) (preparing a substrate including a first film and a second film made of material different from that of the first film in different regions of a surface of the substrate). Ke1 teaches to selectively form a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) on the surface on the first material 10 (second film) (paragraphs 0027 and 0054, Figure 5B), wherein the SAM is formed by a long-carbon molecules (organic compound) (B selectively forming a SAM on a surface of the second film with respect to a surface of the first film, using an organic compound) (paragraphs 0025-0026 and 0051). Ke1 teaches after exposure to the SAM molecules, the substate with SAM are subjected to a heating process and an activation process (paragraphs 0055-0056), and the activation includes providing the surface with water vapor with a carrier gas (paragraphs 0030 and 0045) (C after the B, supplying a removal gas for removing the organic compound attached to the surface of the first film onto the surface of the substate). Since Ke1 teaches the heating removes the low quality SAM formed on the surface of the substrate (including the first film) during the SAM deposition (paragraphs 0028- 0030), and heating and activation can occur at same time (paragraph 0042), the water vapor reads on the limitation of the removal gas that facilitate the removal of the organic compound attached to the surface of the first film onto the surface of the substrate. Ke1 teaches to form a selective deposition process with a film on the second material 20 (first film), and substantially no film is deposited on the first material 10 (second film) (paragraph 0060, figure 6) (D after the C, forming a target film on the surface of the first film while suppressing formation of the target film on the surface of the second film using the SAM).
Regarding claim 2, Ke1 teaches the removal gas, water vapor, is converted into plasm (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 6, Ke1 teaches the deposition of SAM on the second film (B) and the heating/activation (C) are repeated for cycles (paragraphs 0030, 0051-0059, figures 5A to 5H).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ke2 (US20190157079).
Regarding claim 1, Ke2 teaches a method of improved selectively for SAM based selective depositions, wherein the SAM is formed on a second surface and film is formed on the first surface (abstract, paragraphs 0010-0011). Ke2 teaches a substrate comprising a first surface 220 and a second surface 230 (paragraph 0033-0036), figure 2) (preparing a substrate including a first film and a second film made of a material different from that of the first film in different regions of a surface of the substrate). Ke2 teaches to selective form to form SAM on the second surface by SAM molecules (selectively forming a SAM on a surface of the second film with respect to a surface of the first film, using an organic compound) while forming carbonized layer on the first surface (paragraphs 0037-0038), wherein the carbonized layer is formed by the SAM molecules reacted on the first surface (pargraph 0026), thus the carbonized layer is considered as the organic compound attached to the surface of the first film. Ke2 teaches to provide an oxygenating agent to remove the carbonized layer form the first surface (paragraph 0041), wherein the oxygenating agent to ozone (paragraph 0042) (supplying a removal gas for removing the organic compound attached to the surface of the firs film onto the surface of the substrate). Ke2 teaches to form a target film on the surface of the first film (pargraph 0046).
Regarding claim 4, Ke2 teaches the removal gas is ozone gas (paragraph 0042).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azumo (WO2020184284, using co-pending US Patent Application Publication US20220186362 as English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Azumo teaches a film formation method (abstract). Azumo teaches to provide a substrate with first region A1 which a first material (second film) is exposed and a second region A2 in which a second material (first film) different from the first material is exposed (paragraph 0058, figure 6A) (step A). Azuma teaches SAM is selectively formed on the surface of the first material (second film) (paragraph 0065) *selectively forming a SAM for a surface of the second film with respect to a surface of the first film, using an organic compound). Azumo teaches to SAM attached on the second material (first film) is removed by sublimation of the intermediate film formed on the second material (paragraphs 0064 and 0038-00039, figure 6E), wherein the sublimation is conduced with supplying an inert gas (removal gas) (paragraph 0088) (after B supplying a removal gas form removing the organic compound attached to the surface of the first film onto the surface of the substrate). Azumo teaches to form a target film on the second material (first film) wile suppressing formation of the target film on the surface of the second film, using the SAM (paragraphs 0064 and 0040, figure 6F)
Regarding claim 7, Azuma teaches the first material is metal (paragraph 0058) and the second material is silicon oxide, which is insulator (paragraph 0058). Azuma teaches the SAM compound is thiol based (paragraph 0059).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke1 (US20180366317), as applied to claims 1-2 and 6 above, and further in view of Wang (CN106992114).
Regarding claim 3, Ke1 teaches the water vapor activation forms hydroxy groups (hydroxylation) on the surface (paragraphs 0031 and 0036). Thus, Ke1 teaches all limitations of this claim, except the removal gas includes the claimed gases. However, Wang teaches a method of depositing silicon oxide (abstract) and discloses to provide hydroxyl group on the film by supplying water vapor plasma or plasma of combination of hydrogen and oxygen (paragraphs 0038, 0077 and 0127).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute water vapor plasma for O2 and H2 gas plasma as hydroxylation agent in the method of Ke1.
Regarding claim 4, Ke1 teaches all limitations of this claim, except the removal gas includes an O3 gas. However, Wang teaches a method of depositing silicon oxide (abstract) and discloses to provide hydroxyl group on the film by supplying water plasma or plasma of combination of hydrogen and oxygen (paragraphs 0038, 0077 and 0127). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute water vapor for ozone gas plasma as hydroxylation agent in the method of Ke1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke1 (US20180366317), as applied to claims 1-2 and 6 above, and further in view of Xie (US20230115211).
Regarding claim 5, Ke1 teaches all limitations of this claim, except the removal gas is 5 seconds or less. However, Xie teaches a method of selectively depositing SAM on a metallic surface of a substrate and then selective depositing a liner on a dielectric surface of the substrate (abstract, paragraphs 0005-0006). Xie teaches the duration of plasma exposure to remove the SAM depends on the composition, packing of thickness of SAM, which is about 2s to 60s (pargraph 0056), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the duration of the heating and reactivating to remove of the SAM in the process to yield desire removal of the SAM based on the composition, packing and thickness. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke1 (US20180366317), as applied to claims 1-2 and 6 above, and further in view of Saly (US20200168453).
Regarding claim 7, Ke1 teaches the first substate surface may be metal (second film is a conductive film) and the second surface is Si containing dielectric (first film is an insulating film) (paragraph 0022) and the SAM are chosen such that the head group selectively reacts with the substrate materials to be blocked during deposition (paragraph 0025). Thus, Ke1 teaches limitations of this claim, except the organic compound is the claimed compound. However, Saly teaches a method of depositing a SAM blocking film selectively onto a first substrate surface relative to a second substrate surface, and then selectively forming a layer on the second substrate surface (abstract, paragraphs 0008-0010, 0019). Saly teaches when the first material is metal, the head group consisting of (HO)2OP- (phosphonic acid), HS- (thiol) (paragraph 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thiol based or phosphonic acid based organic compound to form the SAM as suggested by Saly in the method of Ke1, because Saly teaches such organic molecule comprising the reactive head group that is chemical moiety of the metal surface which facilitate selectively forming the SAM on the metal first surface (paragraphs 0026-0027 and 0029).
Regarding claim 8, Ke1 teaches the first substate surface may be metal and the second surface is Si containing dielectric (first film is an insulating film) (paragraph 0022) and the SAM are chosen such that the head group selectively reacts with the substrate materials to be blocked during deposition (paragraph 0025). Thus, Ke1 teaches limitations of this claim, except the organic compound is silane. However, Saly teaches the method of improving integrated circuit for semiconductor device (paragraphs 0003 and 0016), which is similar to Ke1 (paragraph 0003). Saly teaches to deposit a SAM blocking film selectively onto a first substrate surface relative to a second substrate surface, and then selectively forming a layer on the second substrate surface (abstract, paragraphs 0008-0010, 0019), wherein the first material is metal or silicon and the second material is dielectric material, such as silicon oxide (paragraph 00222-23). Silicon is the considered as a dielectric material in instant specification (see table 2, specifications 0069-0070). Silicon and metal are considered as functionally equivalent material in making integrated circuits by method using SAM as blocked material as evidenced Saly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute silicon (dielectric material in the instant application) for metal as the first in method as disclosed Ke1. Saly further teaches when the first material is metal or silane, the head group consisting of H3Si- (silane) (paragraph 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a silane organic compound to form the SAM as suggested by Saly in the method of Ke1, because Saly teaches such organic molecule comprising the reactive head group that is chemical moiety of the metal/silane surface which facilitate selectively forming the SAM on the silane first surface (paragraphs 0026-0027 and 0029).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke2 (US20190157079) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above.
Regarding claim 5, Ke2 teaches the treatment time is controlled to optimize SAM removal from metals without impacting the integrity of the SAM layer on the dielectric film (paragraph 0029). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the supply time of the removal gas in the process to optimize SAM removal from metals without impacting the integrity of the SAM layer on the dielectric film. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ke2 (US20190157079) as applied to claims 1 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Ke1 (US20180366317).
Regarding claim 6, Ke2 teaches all limitations of this claim, except step B and C are repeatedly performed a plurality of times. However, Ke1 teaches a method of depositing a film selectively onto the surface of a substrate (abstract, paragraph 0008). Ke1 teaches the deposition of SAM on the second film (B) and the heating/activation (C) are repeated for cycles (paragraphs 0030, 0051-0059, figures 5A to 5H), wherein the heating removes the low quality SAM formed on the surface of the substrate (including the first film) during the SAM deposition (paragraphs 0028- 0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to repeatedly perform B and C a plurality of times as suggested by Ke1 in the method of Ke2 because Ke1 teaches such technique can form SAM blocking layers with reduced defects and reduce the particulate formation on the surfaces not being blocked (paragraphs 0028-0029).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azumo (WO2020184284, using co-pending US Patent Application Publication US20220186362 as English translation) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Xie (US20230115211).
Regarding claim 5, Azumo teaches all limitations of this claim, except the removal gas is 5 seconds or less. However, Xie teaches a method of selectively depositing SAM on a metallic surface of a substrate and then selective depositing a liner on a dielectric surface of the substrate (abstract, paragraphs 0005-0006). Xie teaches the duration of remove the SAM depends on the composition, packing of thickness of SAM, which is about 2s to 60s (pargraph 0056), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize the duration of the sublimation to remove of the SAM and intermediate layer in the process to yield desire removal of the SAM and intermediate layer based on the composition, packing and thickness. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-27 of copending Application No. 18837904 in view of Azumo (WO2020184284, using co-pending US Patent Application Publication US20220186362 as English translation). Claim 1 of the instant application overlaps with claim 12 of Application 18837904, except the step C. However, such limitation is disclosed by Azumo (see rejections above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include step C in the claimed invention of Application 18837904 because Azumo teaches such removal step (by using an intermediate layer) ensure SAM is not formed on the first layer (paragraphs 0037 and 0065).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-10 of copending Application No. 18/857,016 in view of Azumo (WO2020184284, using co-pending US Patent Application Publication US20220186362 as English translation). Claim 1 of the instant application overlaps with claim 12 of Application 18837904, except the step C. However, such limitation is disclosed by Azumo (see rejections above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include step C in the claimed invention of Application 18/857,016 because Azumo teaches such removal step (by using an intermediate layer) ensure SAM is not formed on the first layer (paragraphs 0037 and 0065).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 1717