DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
*The examiner notes that priority may be affected by specification amendments. See below.
Specification
The examiner notes the specification appears to have numerous errors and requests the applicant’s assistance in correcting the errors.
For example, these errors may include contradictions to the subject matter of the claims. Confusion particularly arises in these sections:
Para. 0047 cites the relation between medium group and ink drop size, however different sizes for each group are recited in para. 0049 and 0050.
Para. 0051 cites that “controller 7 increases” ink ejection amount with increased smoothness which is opposite to claims 1 and 2.
While the clear understanding of the claims may come from the data provided in Fig. 8, corrections are needed to either confirm if, for example, para. 0047 is the intended interpretation or if para. 0049- 0051 is the intended interpretation.
Further, the specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the subject matter of claim 6 is not indicated in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should remove “and higher”, or replace “becomes higher and higher” with “increases”; claim 2, should include “interposed therebetween” as mostly defined in para. [0031];
claim 4, should remove “the” of repeating “the”; and
claim 5, should add “from” after “differs”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that the term “Oken type smoothness” may not be explicitly recited by prior art. However, this is understood as a property of recording media. As such, recitation of the recording media that would have the particular property may be used instead.
Further, the applicant has already defined specific recording media that has particular Oken type smoothnesses (at para. 0023). As such, the specified recording media may be used for basis of rejection related to “Oken type smoothness”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, as noted above in regard to para. 0047 and 0049-0051, there appears to be inconsistency with the specification as to how the controller changes the ink ejection quantity in response to Oken type smoothness when adjoining pixel areas already have ink.
Regarding claim 4, from reading the specification for understanding, the claim language is cited, with a “for example” for explanation in para. 0065: “For example, the correction of faulty nozzles 52 does not necessarily need to change all the corrective pixel areas Ap2 out of the image pattern in response to sheet S′ Oken type smoothness. That is, an increment of the ink ejection quantity for part of the corrective pixel areas Ap2 out of the image pattern may also remain unchanged independent of sheet S′ Oken type smoothness.” As best understood from plain language, the example (“For example…”) and the claim language (“That is…”) do not appear to mean the same thing. Therefore, the scope of the claim is not understood and will not be further examined at this time.
Regarding claim 6, as noted above, the claim language or such is not present in the specification. That is, a “specified value” and a “maximum value” are not found in the specification. Further, the term “the increment of ink ejection quantity to all the corrective pixel areas” has insufficient antecedent basis and is not understood as to what it encompasses. Therefore, the scope of the claim is not understood and will not be further examined at this time.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites “only when ink drops have already been ejected to adjoining pixel areas oppositely adjacent to the faulty pixel area with the corrective pixel areas in the intersectional direction, the controller decreases the quantity of ink ejection to the corrective pixel areas according as Oken type smoothness of the recording medium becomes higher and higher” while claim 1 of which claim 2 is dependent on recites “the controller decreases the quantity of ink ejection to the corrective pixel areas according as Oken type smoothness of the recording medium becomes higher and higher.” At present, claim 2 provides a conditional limitation that would interfere with claim 1. That is, the language of claim 1 appears to have the controller always changing the quantity of ink ejection dependent on Oken type smoothness while claim 2 appears to have the controller sometimes changing the quantity of ink ejection dependent on Oken type smoothness.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudo et al. (US 20150258807 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sudo, in view of Konno et al. (US 20080143776 A1), hereinafter referred to as Konno.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Sudo teaches an inkjet recording apparatus (inkjet printer 1; Fig. 3, 4) comprising:
a recording head (head unit 60 with heads 61 and nozzles 64; Fig. 3, 4) for ejecting ink (ink droplet 67; Fig. 3) onto a recording medium (print material 400; Fig. 3, 4);
a drive unit for moving at least one of the recording medium and the recording head (mechanism unit 50 with paper transport mechanism 53; Fig. 3); and
a controller for controlling relative movement of the recording medium and the recording head relative to each other to record an input image pattern on the recording medium (nozzles 64 move relative to the print material 400 to form dots DT; at para. 0029; controlled by controller 10 with dot formation unit U2; at para. 0050) wherein
the recording head includes a plurality of nozzles (nozzles 64; Fig. 3, 4) which are arrayed along an intersectional direction (e.g. D1, D2; Fig. 1, 2, 4) intersecting a relative movement direction (e.g. D2, D3; Fig. 1, 2, 4) of the recording head relative to the recording medium, and which differ in ejection order of ink drops from one another (droplets are ejected first from second array #2, then by first array #1; at para. 0032), and
for correction of a faulty nozzle of the recording head, the controller (complemental unit 44 of controller 10; at para. 0077; Fig. 3, 8) increases a quantity of ink ejection to corrective pixel areas (PX1, PX2; Fig. 1, 8) adjacent in the intersectional direction to a faulty pixel area (PXL; Fig. 1, 8) corresponding to the faulty nozzle (LN; Fig. 1) to more extent than another quantity of ink ejection to other pixel areas (may increase data of PX1, PX2 to complement missing pixel; at para. 0079-0082).
Further, Sudo notes that the phenomenon of droplet attraction between droplets to a corrective pixel area (PX 1, 2; Fig. 10) and an adjoining pixel area oppositely adjacent to the faulty pixel area with the corrective pixel areas interposed therebetween in the intersectional direction (e.g. PX3, PX4; Fig. 10) may occur in recording media with low absorbency, such as glossy paper (at para. 0031-0032; Fig. 10), and therefore with increased Oken type smoothness. To prevent this, Sudo adjusts the hitting position of corrective pixel area droplets as a way to reduce the attraction (at para. 0033; Fig. 1). Further, the controller is able to decrease the quantity of ink ejection to the adjoining pixel areas (may decrease secondary adjacent pixel data; at para. 0079-0082; Fig. 8). However, Sudo fails to teach that the controller decreases the quantity of ink ejection to the corrective pixel areas according as Oken type smoothness of the recording medium increases, and more specifically in cases wherein ink drops have already been ejected to adjoining pixel areas oppositely adjacent to the faulty pixel area with the corrective pixel areas interposed therebetween in the intersectional direction.
Konno teaches an image forming apparatus wherein a controller may limit or decrease the quantity of ink ejection to the pixel areas (at para. 0077, 0093, 0100) according as Oken type smoothness of the recording medium increases (e.g. glossy or semi-glossy as opposed to other types; at para. 0100) to prevent beading (as the surface of the medium becomes less absorbent (i.e. smoother), overflow and beading may occur; at para. 0009, 0100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the controller of Sudo to be able to decrease the quantity of ink ejection, for example to corrective pixel areas, according to an increase in Oken type smoothness when adjoining pixel areas also have ink droplets for the purpose of preventing beading from attraction of unabsorbed, adjacent ink droplets as taught by Konno (at para. 0009, 0100).
Regarding claim 3, Sudo further teaches wherein the controller is enabled to change the quantity of ink ejection, whichever it is increased or decreased, in plural steps (range from 0 to 3 for no droplet to large droplet; at para. 0072-0082; Fig. 8). Sudo does not teach wherein the recording medium is classified into three groups and that the quantity of ink ejection to the corrective pixel areas decreases stepwise in descending order of the third recording medium group, the second recording medium group, and the first recording medium group.
Konno further teaches wherein the wherein the controller is enabled to change the quantity of ink ejection, whichever it is increased or decreased, in plural steps (by 20%, from 100% to 240%; at para. 0068; Fig. 3), the recording medium is classified into
a first recording medium group having the recording-medium's Oken type smoothnesses of 2000 sec. or more (e.g. Glossy paper B; Fig. 12),
a second recording medium group having the recording-medium's Oken type smoothnesses of not less than 500 sec. and less than 2000 sec. (e.g. Semi-glossy paper A; Fig. 12), and
a third recording medium group having the recording-medium's Oken type smoothnesses of less than 500 sec. (e.g. Mat paper A; Fig. 12), and
the quantity of ink ejection to the corrective pixel areas decreases stepwise in descending order of the third recording medium group, the second recording medium group, and the first recording medium group (e.g. for 12-passes: Mat paper B has 180%, Semi-glossy paper A has 160%, and Glossy paper B has 140%; Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the controller of Sudo to be able to adjust the quantity of ink ejection stepwise according to recording medium group designated by Oken type smoothness for the purpose of preventing beading from attraction of unabsorbed, adjacent ink droplets as taught by Konno (at para. 0009, 0100).
Regarding claim 5, Sudo further teaches wherein an ink ejection pattern for the corrective pixel areas differs from an ink ejection pattern for other pixel areas (for correction when PXL has a value other than 0, ink ejection to PX1, PX2 for correction of PXL may increase while others decrease; at para. 0072-0082; Fig. 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Numata et al. (JP 2019055497 A, from IDS) teaches ink ejection correction to pixel areas adjacent to faulty pixel areas.
Shibata et al. (US 20020054180 A1) teaches an ink ejection correction method for faulty nozzles.
Wada (US 20060139394 A1) teaches an ink ejection correction method for faulty nozzles.
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853